…Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of the application
Claims 1-11 have been canceled. Claims 12-17 are newly added. Claims 12-14 have been elected without traverse. Accordingly claims 15-17 have been withdrawn from further consideration.
35 USC 112(b)
The claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or, for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a reference cell … selected from cells with low and stable expression level of a pluripotency gene” and as stated fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention. While the specification reports Cq values and describes HFF as a reference cell it does not define how low the expression must be, the acceptable degree of variation, the period over which expression must remain stable, or the conditions under which stability is assessed, to comprise the claimed limitation. A claim must inform a skilled artisan of its scope with reasonable certainty. While relative or qualitative terms are not per se indefinite in this situation the term is indefinite when the specification does not provide an objective standard with which to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claim limitation. See Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 572 U.S. 898 (2014); MPEP § 2173.
Claim 12 is indefinite as it employs both the limitations of “optionally” and “preferably”. In the claimed context the term “optionally” identifies a nonrequired alternative, while “preferably” expresses a preference. While such terms are not per se indefinite; the question is whether the claim as a whole establishes reasonably certain scope. MPEP § 2173.05(d). A decision on whether a claim is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph requires a determination of whether those skilled in the art would understand what is claimed when the claim is read in light of the specification. See Power-One, Inc. v. Artesyn Techs., Inc., 599 F.3d 1343, 1350, 94 USPQ2d 1241, 1245 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Orthokinetics, Inc. v. Safety Travel Chairs, Inc., 806 F.2d 1565, 1 USPQ2d 1081 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this instance the combination of optionally and preferably introduces ambiguity so that the metes and bounds of the claimed invention fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is indefinite as it requires that RNA is extracted comprising two genome removal steps to ensure the “effect” of genome removal. The claim does not identify what operations constitute each of the two “genome removal steps.” The phrase “to ensure the effect of genome removal” is also unclear because “effect” is not an objective claim boundary, that is, the claim does not recite what effect is intended and what are the metes and bounds of the effect of genome removal? The specification describes a particular DNase-treatment and washing sequence and expressly states that the genomic-DNA-removal steps are repeated. Claim 13, however, is not limited to those operations and does not specify whether the two steps must be identical, sequential, or separately verifiable. Since a process claim must reasonably identify the required process steps and their scope. An intended result or functional phrase is indefinite when it does not provide an objective standard for determining whether the limitation is met. MPEP §§ 2173 and 2173.05(g).
Claim 14 is indefinite as it has an optional step involves in the detection and expression levels of the pluripotent gene in the sample using RT-qPCT which optionally includes a reverse transcriptase-free control (NRC). If the NRC limitation is not practiced, as it is optional, it is simply not required by the claim. The potential issue therefore concerns the metes and bounds of the NRC limitation is if it is practiced. In considering the metes and bounds of the NRC step by using RT-qPCR fails to recite how the detection is determined as such the claim fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regard as the invention.
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim broadly covers any reference cell having “low and stable expression” of a pluripotency gene. The specification does not define objective boundaries for “low” or “stable,” and repeated stability testing is concentrated on HFF and HSF. The specification expressly identifies HFF, HSF, BMMSC, ADMSC, UCMSC, human primary preadipocytes, human cerebral vascular pericytes, human chondrocytes, human primary aortic smooth muscle cells, and human primary osteoblasts as candidate reference cells. Tables 7 and 8 of the specification report OCT4 and NANOG expression data for those cell types. Tables 9 and 10 provide repeated testing primarily for HFF and HSF.
To satisfy the written description requirement the specification must reasonably convey possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. For a genus, representative species or a common structure or identifying characteristic may support possession. Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc); MPEP § 2163.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claim encompasses reference cells beyond those specifically tested for stability and does not specify the conditions or protocol for establishing that a cell is “low and stable.” Selecting and validating additional reference-cell sources could require experimentation.
The specification provides repeated stability studies mainly for HFF and HSF. Other cell types are evaluated in Tables 7 and 8 and identified as candidates in Example 5, but the application does not provide comparable repeated stability studies for every possible cell falling within the functional language. Under Wands, routine experimentation is not considered necessarily undue, however, the requirement for experimentation here is broad that it becomes undue because of its breath. The analysis that is considered, including the amount of guidance provided in the specification, the presence of working examples, the degree of predictability, and breadth of the claim, all mitigate against providing enablement for the amount of experimentation required. Accordingly, because of the recited protocol and large listed candidate cells, the specification is considered to not enable the invention as claimed.
Prior art
Claims 12–14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Slukvin et al., US 2019/0390168 A1, in view of Monterubbianesi et al., Scientific Reports 9, 1761 (2019), further in view of Liu et al., “Effects of Ectopic Nanog and Oct4 Overexpression on Mesenchymal Stem Cells,” Stem Cells and Development 18(7), 1013–1020 (2009), and further in view of Paganelli et al., US 2019/0284535 A1 and Kerkis et al., US 2019/0010462 A1.
Slukvin et al. (2019/0390168 A1) discloses a method for detecting residual, undifferentiated pluripotent stem cells in a culture of cells differentiated from PSCs. The method includes quantifying expression of a pluripotency marker in a test culture and comparing the marker expression in the test culture with marker expression in a reference culture containing a known proportion of PSCs. See pp. 1–2, Abstract and Summary; pp. 9–10; and pp. 24–30, Example 2, claim 6, and Examples 4, 7, and 12. Slukvin et al. identifies OCT4 and NANOG as suitable pluripotency markers, discloses total-RNA isolation and cDNA preparation, and quantifies marker expression by qRT-PCR. Slukvin et al. also discloses normalization to GAPDH. See pp. 9–10, 20, and 24–28.
Monterubbianesi et al. discloses analyzing OCT4 and NANOG expression in human foreskin fibroblasts using RNA isolation, cDNA synthesis, and quantitative real-time PCR. See pp. 1–4 and 9, Figures 4–5, and Table 1. The article identifies human foreskin fibroblasts as an accessible fibroblast population and reports relatively low basal expression of pluripotency-associated genes, including NANOG and OCT4, in the tested fibroblast populations. GAPDH is identified as a housekeeping gene used for normalization. See p. 9 and Table 1.
Liu et al. further discloses that NANOG and OCT4 are pluripotency-associated genes and evaluates their expression in human bone-marrow-derived mesenchymal stem cells using quantitative RT-PCR, with GAPDH used to normalize gene expression. See pp. 1013–1015, “Quantitative real time PCR,” Fig. 1, and pp. 1016–1019, including the sections titled “Stable expression of Nanog and Oct4 in MSCs” and “Targets of Nanog and Oct4 in undifferentiated MSCs.” Liu et al. report that endogenous OCT4 is expressed at low levels in early-passage MSCs and that NANOG is almost undetectable in MSCs. The reference also discusses the use of OCT4 and NANOG as markers associated with pluripotent and stem-cell states. Thus, Liu et al. provide additional evidence that OCT4 and NANOG expression levels in non-pluripotent mesenchymal or fibroblast-like cells can be measured and used as a comparator or indicator of stem-cell status.
Paganelli et al. (US 2019/0284535 A1) independently discloses use of NANOG, POU5F1/OCT4, and SOX2 as pluripotency markers and qRT-PCR for comparing expression in fibroblasts, iPSCs, and differentiated or iPSC-derived cell populations. See, Figures 1A–1D and 2A–2D; pp. 4–6; Example I; and Example II. Paganelli et al. also discloses GAPDH as an endogenous control in real-time RT-PCR.
Kerkis et al. (US 2019/0010462 A1) similarly disclose OCT4, NANOG, and other pluripotency-associated markers, qPCR-based expression analysis, RNA isolation, and comparison of marker expression among fibroblast, stem-cell, and differentiated-cell populations. See, Figures 5, 8, and 10–11; paragraphs [0049], [0052]– [0055], [0178], and [0204]; and Examples 1, 6, and 7.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use human foreskin fibroblasts, or another non-pluripotent fibroblast or mesenchymal cell population, as the reference-cell comparator in the method of Slukvin et al. because Monterubbianesi et al. identifies HFFs as readily accessible cells with relatively low OCT4 and NANOG expression. Liu et al. further teaches that low or nearly undetectable OCT4 and NANOG expression is characteristic of mesenchymal stem-cell populations and demonstrates qRT-PCR analysis of those genes normalized to GAPDH. Paganelli et al. and Kerkis et al. provide additional support for using OCT4/NANOG qRT-PCR expression profiles to compare fibroblast, stem-cell, and differentiated-cell populations. Selecting an accessible, low-expression fibroblast or mesenchymal reference cell would have been a predictable modification of Slukvin et al.’s reference-culture assay and would have provided a practical comparator for determining pluripotency-gene expression in a test sample.
The combination of prior art references therefore teaches providing a sample to be tested; providing a reference-cell preparation having relatively low OCT4 or NANOG expression; extracting RNA; testing OCT4 or NANOG using GAPDH as an internal reference; and determining the expression level in the test sample by comparing it with expression in the reference-cell preparation, as recited in claim 12.
With respect to claim 13, Slukvin et al. discloses genomic-DNA removal during RNA isolation using a gDNA Eliminator spin column and subsequent on-membrane DNase treatment. See, pp. 24–26, Example 2, including the portions describing the gDNA Eliminator spin column and “On-Membrane DNase Treatment.” Under the instructed construction that the “two genome removal steps” limitation is met when the prior art teaches removing genomic DNA during RNA isolation, these disclosures teach or suggest the additional limitation of claim 13. It would have been obvious to use genomic-DNA-removal operations in the RNA-isolation protocol because removal of genomic DNA reduces contamination and improves the reliability of downstream qRT-PCR expression measurements.
With respect to claim 14, Slukvin et al. expressly discloses qRT-PCR for quantifying OCT4, NANOG, and other pluripotency markers. See pp. 9–10 and 24–30, claim 6, and Examples 4, 7, and 12. Slukvin et al. also discloses plus-reverse-transcriptase and minus-reverse-transcriptase reactions, with the minus-reverse-transcriptase reactions serving as negative controls. See pp. 24–28, Example 2. Monterubbianesi et al. likewise discloses quantitative real-time PCR following RNA isolation and cDNA synthesis. See p. 9. Liu et al. confirms the use of quantitative RT-PCR and GAPDH normalization for OCT4 and NANOG expression analysis. See pp. 1014–1015 and Fig. 1.
It would have been obvious to use RT-qPCR and a reverse-transcriptase-free control in the combined assay because those were routine techniques for quantifying pluripotency-marker expression and identifying amplification attributable to genomic-DNA contamination or reverse-transcription-independent amplification. Because the reverse-transcriptase-free control is recited as optional, claim 14 also encompasses embodiments in which the control is not used.
Motivation to Combine
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Slukvin et al., Monterubbianesi et al., Liu et al., Paganelli et al., and Kerkis et al. because the references address the same technical problem: measuring expression of pluripotency-associated genes in non-pluripotent, differentiated, or stem-cell-derived cell populations using nucleic-acid-based assays. Slukvin et al. provides the reference-comparison assay framework for detecting or assessing residual pluripotent cells. Monterubbianesi et al. identifies human foreskin fibroblasts as an accessible cell population in which OCT4 and NANOG expression can be measured and reports relatively low expression of those markers. Liu et al. confirms that OCT4 and NANOG expression can be quantitatively assessed in mesenchymal cells by RT-qPCR using GAPDH normalization and reports low or nearly undetectable expression in non-pluripotent mesenchymal stem cells. Paganelli et al. and Kerkis et al. further demonstrate the routine use of OCT4, NANOG, and related pluripotency markers in qPCR or RT-qPCR comparisons involving fibroblast, stem-cell, and differentiated-cell populations. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to select an accessible fibroblast or mesenchymal-cell population, particularly HFFs, as the low-expression reference comparator in the assay of Slukvin et al. and to use the qRT-PCR, GAPDH-normalization, RNA-purification, and negative-control techniques disclosed in the combined references. The combination would have been a predictable use of known assay components for their established purposes, with a reasonable expectation of obtaining a reference-based measurement of OCT4 or NANOG expression.
Conclusion
No Claim is allowed
GARY BENZION, Ph.D.
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1681
/GARY BENZION/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1681