DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6/5/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Back et al. (US 20240414601 A1).
Considering claim 1, Back teaches a method comprising:
establishing, by a TX user equipment (UE), PC5 connection with an RX UE [0030]);
determining, by the TX UE in radio resource control (RRC) IDLE or RRC INACTIVE or out of coverage (table 12, [0103], [0127]), a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for the RX UE ([0030] sidelink DRX configuration to the RX UE by the TX UE); and
reporting, to a base station (BS) by the TX UE in RRC CONNECTED, information related to the SL DRX configuration and SL assistant information received from the RX UE (Fig.11, [0031] transmitting a measurement report to a source base station (BS) by the TX UE, [0183] TX UE may report SL DRX-related information received from the RX UE to a serving BS…).
Considering claim 3, Back teaches wherein the TX UE receives a new SL DRX configuration, configured based on at least one of the information related to the SL DRX configuration or the SL assistant information, from the BS, and the TX UE transfers the new SL DRX configuration to the RX UE ([0182]-[0183] TX UE may report SL DRX-related information received from the RX UE to a serving BS…).
Considering claim 4, Back teaches wherein the new SL DRX configuration is transferred through an RRCReconfigurationSidelink message ([0043], [0182]).
Considering claim 5, Back teaches wherein the information related to the SL DRX configuration and the SL assistant information received from the RX UE are transferred through SidelinkUEInformation ([0182]-[0183], [0207].
Considering claim 6, Back teaches wherein the TX UE receives information (transmit an SL DRX configuration based on the assistance information to the TX UE) about whether the BS supports SL DRX ([0041]-[0042], [0114]).
Considering claim 7, Back teaches wherein based on handover of the TX UE to the BS supporting SL DRX, the TX UE transmits information notifying the RX UE of handover to the BS supporting SL DRX, to the RX UE (abstract, [0029]-[0030]).
Considering claim 8, Back teaches wherein the SL assistant information is received as a response to the information notifying that the handover is performed to the BS ([0029]-[0030], [0041]).
Considering claim 9, Back teaches a TX user equipment (UE) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions that cause the at least one processor to perform operations when being executed, the operations including:
establishing PC5 connection with an RX UE ([0030]);
determining, by the TX UE in radio resource control (RRC) IDLE or RRC INACTIVE or out of coverage (table 12, [0103], [0127]), a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for the RX UE ([0030] sidelink DRX configuration to the RX UE by the TX UE); and
reporting, to a base station (BS) by the TX UE in RRC CONNECTED, information related to the SL DRX configuration and SL assistant information received from the RX UE (Fig.11, [0031] transmitting a measurement report to a source base station (BS) by the TX UE, [0183] TX UE may report SL DRX-related information received from the RX UE to a serving BS…).
Considering claim 11, Back teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing at least one computer program including instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for a TX user equipment (UE), wherein the operations include:
establishing PC5 connection with an RX UE ([0030]);
determining, by the TX UE in radio resource control (RRC) IDLE or RRC INACTIVE or out of coverage (table 12, [0103], [0127]), a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for the RX UE ([0030] sidelink DRX configuration to the RX UE by the TX UE); and
reporting, to a base station (BS) by the TX UE in RRC CONNECTED, information related to the SL DRX configuration and SL assistant information received from the RX UE (Fig.11, [0031] transmitting a measurement report to a source base station (BS) by the TX UE, [0183] TX UE may report SL DRX-related information received from the RX UE to a serving BS…).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641