DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 22-25 in the reply filed on 06/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 26-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/12/2026.
Claims 22-25 are under current examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The examiner recommends deleting the word “the” from the phrase “the complete coagulation” in claim 22, lines 6-7.
The examiner recommends amending claim 2, line 2 to recite “said film or sheet” to fully reflect the scope of the phrase “film or sheet” recited previously in the claim.
The examiner recommends amending claim 25 to recite “…wherein said connective tissue portion comprises .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the subject" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US20200171203; publication date: 06/04/2020) in view of Shetty et al. (US20060084338; publication date: 04/20/2026).
With regard to claim 22, Murray teaches a method of repairing torn or ruptured connective tissue (i.e. a damaged connective tissue portion; 0002) by contacting the torn ends of the connective tissue with a scaffold and introducing a repair material, specifically a blood composition into the scaffold (0036; 0014). The blood composition may be autologous blood (i.e. whole blood withdrawn from the subject; 0013). ”Contacting the ends of the connective tissue with a scaffold” embraces contacting a flat sheet that is rolled into a tube so as to define a hollow cavity (i.e. a lumen) and in some examples the scaffold may be formed into a tube shape and wrapped around a ligament (i.e. connective tissue; 0038). This corresponds to fitting a connective tissue guidance conduit having a lumen over said connective tissue portion such that said portion is within said lumen. Autologous blood can be added to the scaffold prior to or after the scaffold is placed over the affected area of connective tissue (0058; 0062).
Murray teaches the following benefits to the disclosed method of healing connective tissue:
[0003] Intra-articular tissues, such as the anterior cruciate ligament (ACL), do not heal after rupture. In addition, the meniscus and the articular cartilage in human joints also often fail to heal after an injury. Tissues found outside of joints heal by forming a fibrin clot, which connects the ruptured tissue ends and is subsequently remodeled to form scar, which heals the tissue. Inside a synovial joint, a fibrin clot either fails to form or is quickly lysed after injury to the knee, thus preventing joint arthrosis and stiffness after minor injury. Joints contain synovial fluid which, as part of normal joint activity, naturally prevent clot formation in joints. This fibrinolytic process results in premature loss of the fibrin clot scaffold and disruption of the healing process for tissues within the joint or within intra-articular tissues.
Murray teaches further “An implanted scaffold can either protect the blood from the synovial fluid environment and allow it to form a clot in the wound site to stimulate healing, or may contain other biologic stimuli to stimulate ligament healing” (0043). Murray also teaches including platelets (i.e. clot forming cells) as the repair material or platelet rich plasma (0063), that the scaffold may be a bioengineered substitute for a fibrin clot (0039), and that the scaffold itself can be formed from, inter alia, fibrin (0045). Murray teaches further including thrombin in the repair material that is injected into the scaffold (0062).
Thus, the purpose of Murray is to protect an injured ligament (or other connective tissue) and promote the clot formation step that is required for effective healing.
Murray does not disclose a mixture of whole blood withdrawn from the subject and a coagulating agent and/or anti-anticoagulating agent.
Shetty, in the analogous art of surgical devices (abstract, 0002), teaches that thrombin has procoagulant effects.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the autologous blood in Murray’s method with thrombin and inject this mixture into the scaffold. The artisan of ordinary skill would have been motivated to add thrombin in order to enhance formation of the blood clot around the connective tissue that promotes healing of the damaged area. The skilled artisan would have had reasonable expectation of success because Murray teaches using both of these substances, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to perform this step prior to complete coagulation so that the mixture remains liquid and injectable during the procedure.
With regard to claim 23, as noted above, the scaffold may be a sheet and may be folded around (i.e. envelope) the tear in the connective tissue.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US20200171203; publication date: 06/04/2020) and Shetty et al. (US20060084338; publication date: 04/20/2026) as applied to claims 22 and 23 above and further in view of VanKampen et al. (US20110224702; publication date: 09/15/2011).
The relevant disclosures of Murray and Shetty are set forth above. Neither disclose a method in which the connective tissue has been cut.
Van Kampen teaches that in some protocols an accepted practice involves prior to reconnecting the tendon via sutures, cutting the tendon (connective tissue) also can include the placement of scaffolds and patches over the repaired tendon to shield the sutured or repaired tendon area from anatomical load during rehabilitation (0009).
With regard to claim 24, it would have been prima facie obvious to cut the connective tissue in Murray’s method because this was a routine step as of the instant effective filing date (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
With regard to claim 25, as noted above, the cut ends are reconnected via sutures, i.e. they are surgically joined together or brought into proximity.
Double Patenting
Claims 22-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 19-25 of copending Application No. 19159593 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘593 patent embrace a method for treating damaged connective tissue portion comprising fitting a support matrix that may be a film, tube, or wrap around the damaged portion and injecting a mixture of whole blood and one or more coagulating agents prior to complete coagulation to form a mass over the damaged portion within the support matrix.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 22-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-24 of copending Application No. 18277511 (reference application) as evidenced by Friel (US 20190381144; publication date: 12/19/2019).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘511 patent embrace a method for treating damaged nerve portion comprising fitting a nerve enveloping hollow element having a lumen for enveloping said damaged nerve portion such that said portion resides in at least a portion of said lumen and introducing a mixture comprising whole blood withdrawn from the subject one or more coagulating inducers, into said lumen prior to its complete coagulation; and permitting the whole blood to coagulate in said lumen. The claims of the cited application embrace a method of treating damaged nerves; however, this method inherently embraces treating, inducing growth, or regenerating connective tissue because nerves are comprised of multiple neurons bound together by connective tissue (Friel: 0018). In reforming the nerve, one necessarily treats, induces growth, or regenerates connective tissue.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617