DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment filed on 2/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 18 is canceled. Currently, claims 1-17 and 19-20 are pending in the application with claims 9-15 and 19-20 being withdrawn from consideration.
Claim objections/Double Patenting rejection of claim 18 is withdrawn in view of the cancelation of the claim.
Previous 112 rejection of claim 2 is maintained since Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive to overcome the rejection.
Previous prior art rejection is maintained since Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive to overcome the rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
112(b) rejection:
Applicant points to a journal article of ACS Macro Letters Vol 4/Issue 9 and believes that the Flory-Huggins interaction parameter can be used as a measure of incompatibility of blocks of a block copolymer. However, Applicant does not define nor provide what measurement from the Flory-Huggins interaction parameter is considered to be “incompatible” and what measurement is considered to be compatible. In other words, the incompatible is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard, e.g. a measurement or a value, for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonable apprised of the scope of the invention.
103 rejection over Gerald (US Patent 8,618,624) in view of Ha (US 2014/0178675) and further in view of Xia (US 2006/0246296):
Applicant argues Ha fails to cure the deficiencies of Gerard, because Ha is silent regarding whether the (meth)acrylics monomers of Ha having a Tg>85oC. As explained in the office action, Ha is relied upon for teaching the percentage of alkoxysilane(meth)acrylic monomer, not for the (meth)acrylics monomers.
Applicant argues the monomers taught by Xia is used to form a pressure sensitive adhesive and high Tg polymer of Xia is not monomer.
Applicant then argues Gerard teaches away from the proposed modification by Ha and Xia because Gerard discloses an encapsulant with a Tg of greater than 0oC can result in having to use a large amount of plasticizer to lower the Tg and the modulus of encapsulant. Applicant then concludes that the proposed modification would cause this problem.
The examiner replies that, as explained in the office action, Gerard teaches mixing methyl methacrylate, which has Tg greater than 85% as explicitly claimed in claim 3 by Applicant, and a (meth)acrylic monomer having Tg of less than 0oC to obtain the adhesive having Tg less than 0oC; and Xia also teaches the same concept mixing high Tg (meth)acrylate such as methyl methacrylate with (meth)acrylic monomer having Tg of less than 0oC to achieve an adhesive having Tg of less than 0oC. Gerard and Xia both teaches using methyl methacrylate, or the same monomer having Tg greater than 85oC as claimed in claim 3. Applicant has not provided any factually supported objective evidence that resulting encapsulant/adhesive of the modification would have Tg greater than 0oC, when Xia explicitly teaches the resulting Tg is less than 0oC, and not greater than 0oC. It is well settled that arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Accordingly, the rejections are maintained since Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive to overcome the rejection. Below is the copy of previous rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “incompatible” in line 6 of claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “incompatible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerard et al. (US Patent 8,618,624) in view of Ha et al. (US 2014/0178675) and further in view of Xia et al. (US 2006/0246296).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 5-6, Gerard et al. discloses a photopolymerizable adhesive composition (or encapsulation having adhesion property) comprising:
preferable from 20% to 80% of acrylic or methacrylic block copolymer;
preferably from 20% to 80% of methacrylic monomer;
from 0.1 to 10% of photo-initiator; and
up to 20% of adhesion promoter such as methacryloxy or acryloxy silane (see paragraph bringing cols. 5-6).
Gerard et al. discloses overlapping ranges for the block copolymer and the photo-initiator. Gerard et al. does not disclose the exact ranges of 20 to 35% for the block copolymer and 0.1 to 5% for the photo-initiator.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portions 20% to 35% and 0.1 to 5% i in the range from 20% to 80% for the block copolymer and the range from 0.1% to 10% for the photo-initiator, respectively, disclosed by Gerard et a., because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Gerard et al. teaches using methacryloxy or acryloxy silane for the adhesion promoter. It is noted that methacryloxy or acryloxy silane is of an alkoxysilane(meth)acrylic monomer.
Gerard et al. does not explicitly state using alkoxysilane(meth)acrylic monomer, nor do they teach the exact range of 2 to 15% of alkoxysilane (meth)acrylic monomer.
Ha et al. teaches including (meth)acrylic alkoxysilane monomer to improve reliability, adhesive strength or surface adhesion (or adhesion promoter, see [0061-0062]), and the amount of the (meth)acrylic alkoxysilane monomer is for example 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 wt% (see [0064]). 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 wt% is right within the claimed range of 2 to 15%.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used (meth)acrylic alkoxysilane monomer with an amount of 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 wt% as taught by Ha et al.; because Ha et al. teaches using meth)acrylic alkoxysilane monomer with an amount of 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 wt% would improve reliability, adhesive strength or surface adhesion, and Gerard et al. explicitly suggests using adhesion promoter of silane with an amount up to 20%.
Gerard et al. teaches the at least one (meth)acrylic monomer includes methyl methacrylate (see col. 5, lines 34-42) in addition to (meth)acrylic monomer having Tg of less than 0oC such as ethyl acrylate (see col. 5, lines 20-27). Methyl methacrylate of Gerard et al. corresponds to the (meth)acrylate monomer having a glass transition of at least 85oC of methyl methacrylate as claimed in claim 3, and (meth)acrylic monomer having Tg of less than 0oC such as ethyl acrylate of Gerard et al. corresponds to “at least one (meth)acrylate monomer having a glass transition temperature lower than 0oC chosen to be ethyl acrylate as claimed in claims 5-6.
Gerard et al. does not teach using 45 to 75% of (meth)acrylic monomer having a glass transition temperature (Tg) of at least 85oC.
Xia et al. teaches tailoring the glass transition temperature of the resulting adhesive by using monomers having glass transition temperature of less than 0oC such as butyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, octyl acrylate in conjunction with monomers having high glass transition temperature such as methyl methacrylate, isobornyl acrylate ([0024-0031]); wherein a glass transition temperature (Tg) of greater than 20oC is obtained by using 40% to 98% of monomers having glass transition temperature (Tg) of greater than 20oC ([0030]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Gerard et al. by using 40% to about 98% of monomers having glass transition temperature (Tg) of at least 85oC such as methyl methacrylate to obtain a glass transition temperature of greater than 20oC as taught by Xia et al.. In such modification, the amount of methyl methacrylate (or (meth)acrylic monomer having a glass transition temperature of at least 85oC) is found to be 8% (or 0.4*20) to 78.4% (or 0.98*80).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of 45% to 75% in the range of 8% to 78.4%, because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, modified Gerard et al. discloses a composition as in claim 1 above, wherein Gerard et al. discloses the block copolymer is a (meth)acrylic block copolymer comprises one block M comprising of methyl methacrylic (see block A in copolymer B-(A)n in claims 1 and 4) and at least 50 weight% of block B incompatible with block M by having a glass transition temperature (Tg) of less than 0oC (see block B described in claim 1). As such, the block M is found is found to be 0 wt% to 50 wt%. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of 50 wt% in the range 0 wt% to 50wt% disclosed by Gerard et al., because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 4, modified Gerard et al. discloses a composition as in claim 1 above, wherein Ha et al. discloses the alkoxysilane (meth)acrylate monomer is trialkoxysilane (meth)acrylate monomers (see [0059] of Ha et al.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gerard et al. discloses a composition as in claim 1 above, wherein Gerard et al. teaches the composition is a one-component composition (or the composition requires no second composition to perform the adhesion function).
Regarding claims 8 and 17-18, modified Gerard et al. discloses all the portions and materials of the claimed composition as in claim 1 above, the composition of Gerard et al. will display the same properties/characteristics of having a glass transition temperature of at least 85oC as claimed in claim 8 and a glass transition temperature of 100oC as claimed in claim 17-18. See MPEP 2112.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THANH-TRUC TRINH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/THANH TRUC TRINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726