DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 42, the limitation, "the second sealing element", recited in lines 2-3, lacks sufficient antecedent basis rendering the claim indefinite. “a second sealing element” is introduced in claim 32, and not directly or indirectly in claim 39, the latter of which claim 42 depends. For examination purposes, claim 42 is interpreted as, “The atomizer according to claim 39, further comprising a second sealing element, wherein: the first vent channel further comprises a first notch provided on the second sealing element...”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30, 31, 47, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIU (CN209609872U).
Regarding claim 30, LIU teaches; An atomizer (Figure 1, reference character 1—‘atomizer body’) comprising: a housing (Figure 1, reference characters 11—‘sleeve’ and 12—‘air guide tube’ define and correspond to ‘a housing’), wherein a liquid storage cavity is defined and formed in the housing, wherein the liquid storage cavity is configured to store a liquid substrate (Figure 1, reference character 2—‘oil bottle cavity’ is formed in the space between 11 and 12 and is configured to store liquid substrate); a porous liquid guide element (Figure 1, reference character 5—'microporous ceramic oil guide component’), configured to comprise a hollow tubular structure, wherein the porous liquid guide element comprises a first section and a second section that are arranged in a longitudinal direction of the porous liquid guide element (see Figures 1-2 and [0032]—“One cylindrical section is inserted into the first pipe section 121, and the other cylindrical section is inserted into the second pipe section 122.”. The examiner notes that inner wall portions of pipe sections 121 and 122 in contact with 5 define and correspond to applicant’s limitations of ‘a first section’ and ‘a second section’ of the porous liquid guide element respectively and are hollow. Additionally, 121 and 122 are arranged in a longitudinal direction of 5.), an outer diameter of the first section is less than an outer diameter of the second section ([0032]—"…the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 includes two cylindrical sections with different diameters.”. Also see Figure 1; an outer diameter of 5 in contact with the inner wall of 121 is less than an outer diameter of 5 in contact with the inner all of 122), and a step surface is formed as a transition between the second section and the first section ([0032]—"the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 forms a stepped structure, which is convenient for installation and fixation…”. The examiner notes that the stepped structure of 5 forms a transition between 122 and 121 as seen in Figure 1); a heating element, wherein the heating element is fixed on the porous liquid guide element and configured to atomize the liquid substrate (Figure 1 reference character 4—‘heating element’, and [0034]—"…the heating element 4 can be installed on either side of the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 as needed, or it can be embedded inside the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 as needed…”); a bracket comprising an accommodating cavity, wherein the porous liquid guide element is accommodated in the accommodating cavity (see Figure 1; the examiner notes that 12—‘air guide tube’ corresponds with applicant’s limitation of ‘a bracket’, comprises an accommodating cavity by virtue of being a tube, and houses 5), wherein a hole is provided on the bracket and is configured to guide the liquid substrate to enter the accommodating cavity, to allow the liquid substrate to be absorbed by the porous liquid guide element (see Figures 1-2, reference character 123—‘oil passage hole’ provided on 12); and a first sealing element (Figure 1, reference character 21—‘sealing ring’), wherein at least a part of the first sealing element surrounds an outer side surface of the second section, to provide a seal between an inner wall surface of the accommodating cavity and the outer side surface of the second section (see Figure 1 reference character 21 and the two locations identified with circles; the outer edge of 21 surrounds the outer side surface of 122 to provide a seal between the inner wall of the cavity of 12 and the outer side surface of 122).
Regarding claim 31, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU further teaches; the heating element (4) is arranged to extend in the longitudinal direction of the porous liquid guide element (5); and the heating element is limited to extend in a longitudinal extension length range of the first section of the porous liquid guide element (see Modified Portion of Figure 1 below; 4 is limited to extend in a longitudinal extension length range of 121. The examiner notes that 4 is spatially limited such that it does not extend beyond 121 along a vector aligned with the longitudinal direction pointing towards 6—‘suction nozzle’).
Modified Portion of Figure 1
Regarding claim 47, LIU teaches; A ceramic heating body used in an aerosol generating apparatus, comprising: a porous liquid guide element configured to store and transfer a liquid substrate (Figure 1, reference character 5—'microporous ceramic oil guide component’. The examiner notes that 5 corresponds to applicant’s limitations of ‘a ceramic heating body’ and ‘a porous liquid guide element’); and a heating element combined on the porous liquid guide element (Figure 1 reference character 4—‘heating element’, and [0034]—"…the heating element 4 can be installed on either side of the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 as needed, or it can be embedded inside the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 as needed…”), wherein: the porous liquid guide element is configured to comprise a hollow tubular structure; the porous liquid guide element comprises a first section and a second section that are arranged in a longitudinal direction (see Figures 1-2 and [0032]—“…microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 includes two cylindrical sections… cylindrical section is inserted into the first pipe section 121, and the other cylindrical section is inserted into the second pipe section 122…”. The examiner notes that the inner wall portions of pipe sections 121 and 122 in contact with 5 define and correspond to applicant’s limitations of ‘a first section’ and ‘a second section’ of the porous liquid guide element respectively and are hollow. Additionally, 121 and 122 are arranged in a longitudinal direction of 5.); an outer diameter of the first section is less than an outer diameter of the second section ([0032]—"…the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 includes two cylindrical sections with different diameters.”. Also see Figure 1; an outer diameter of 121 is less than an outer diameter of 122); a step surface is formed as a transition between the second section and the first section; and the heating element is configured to atomize the liquid substrate ([0032]—"…the microporous ceramic oil guiding component 5 forms a stepped structure, which is convenient for installation and fixation…”. The examiner notes that the stepped structure of 5 forms a transition between 122 and 121 as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 49, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU further teaches; An aerosol generating apparatus comprising the atomizer according to claim 30 ([0036]—“…an electronic heating device, which includes the aforementioned atomizer…”), and a power supply assembly that electrically drives the atomizer ([0036]—"The integrated structure electronic heating device generally integrates control components and batteries in addition to the aforementioned atomizer. The split structure electronic heating device generally has a detachable battery rod assembly in addition to the aforementioned atomizer.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32-33, 36-46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (CN209609872U) in view of ZHOU (CN214629890U).
Regarding claim 32, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU does not explicitly teach; a second sealing element, wherein the second sealing element at least partially surrounds an outer side surface of an end portion of the first section facing away from the second section.
ZHOU however does teach an atomizer for an electronic atomizing device that comprises; a second sealing element, wherein the second sealing element at least partially surrounds an outer side surface of an end portion of the first section facing away from the second section. In reference to Figure 7, ZHOU teaches, “…the atomizing component 14 may include a longitudinally arranged cylindrical atomizing core 141, a first sealing ring 142 sleeved on the upper end of the atomizing core 141, and a second sealing ring 143 sleeved on the lower end of the atomizing core 141.”—[0060], and that “…the first sealing ring 142 may include a cylindrical first sealing part 1421 and an annular second sealing part 1423…The first sealing part 1421 is sleeved on the outer wall surface of the upper end of the atomizing core 141, and the second sealing part 1423 covers the upper end surface of the atomizing core 141. The inner diameter of the second sealing part 1423 is preferably larger than the aperture of the atomizing core 141…”—[0061]. The examiner notes that in reference to Figure 7, 143 corresponds to a second sealing element and it is clear from Figure 7 that 143 at least partially surrounds an outer surface of 141, which reasonably corresponds to ‘an end portion of the first section facing away from the second section’.
LIU and ZHOU are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of structural components for atomizers.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the atomizer, as taught by LIU according to claim 30, such that it further comprised a second sealing element, wherein the second sealing element at least partially surrounds an outer side surface of an end portion of the first section facing away from the second section, as taught by ZHOU, for the explicit motivations ZHOU recites; to prevent leakage and liquid bypasses, so “…the air replenishment through the second sealing ring 143 is smoother.”—[0064] and for “…facilitating automated installation and saving on the mold opening cost of the sealing ring.”—[0062].
Regarding claim 33, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 32 as shown above.
LIU further teaches of a hole (123) defined and formed between an inner wall surface of the bracket (12) and a part of an outer wall surface of the porous liquid guide element (5) that is not surrounded by the first sealing element and the second sealing element (see Figures 1-2, and Modified Portion of Figure 2 below). The examiner notes that 123 corresponds to applicant’s limitation of a ‘liquid guide cavity’ and is capable of transporting liquid substrate through it.
Modified Portion of Figure 2
Regarding claim 36, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU further teaches; the accommodating cavity of the bracket (the cavity defined by the inner surface of 12) comprises a first part (121) and a second part (122); an inner diameter of the first part is less than an inner diameter of the second part (see Figure 1, an inner diameter of 121 is less than an inner diameter of 122); the first part of the accommodating cavity is configured to accommodate the first section of the porous liquid guide element (121 is configured to accommodate the portion of 5 in contact with the inner wall portion of pipe section 121); and the second part of the accommodating cavity is configured to accommodate the second section of the porous liquid guide element (122 is configured to accommodate the portion of 5 in contact with the inner wall portion of pipe section 122).
Regarding claim 37, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU teaches of a first sealing element but does not teach that; a first vent channel is formed between the first sealing element and the porous liquid guide element; and the first vent channel is configured to guide an external airflow to the liquid storage cavity.
ZHOU however, does teach that; a first vent channel is formed between the first sealing element and the porous liquid guide element; and the first vent channel is configured to guide an external airflow to the liquid storage cavity (see Figure 11 and [0090]—“…the inner wall surface of the first sealing ring 142a is formed with a labyrinthine first ventilation groove 1420a. The size of the first ventilation groove 1420a can be designed to be small enough to have capillary force in use, so as to connect the liquid storage chamber with the airflow channel in the ventilation pipe 12a…”. The examiner notes that the channel formed between 142a and 1411a—‘porous body’ corresponds to applicant’s limitation of ‘first vent channel’).
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify first sealing element, as taught by LIU according to claim 30, such that a first vent channel is formed between the first sealing element and the porous liquid guide element; and the first vent channel is configured to guide an external airflow to the liquid storage cavity, as taught by ZHOU, for the explicit motivation ZHOU recites; “…so as to achieve gas-liquid balance and prevent dry burning.”—[0090]
Regarding claim 38, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 37 as shown above.
ZHOU further teaches; the first vent channel comprises at least one groove extending on the outer side surface of the second section of the porous liquid guide element; and the groove is in communication with the liquid storage cavity (see Figure 11, reference character 1420a—‘first ventilation groove’). The examiner notes that the combination of LIU in view of ZHOU according to claim 38 shown immediately above would necessitate 1420a extending on the outer side surface of the second section, as defined according to claim 30, and be in communication with the liquid storage cavity, as defined according claim 30 (reference character 2).
Regarding claim 39, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 38 as shown above.
ZHOU further teaches an embodiment in which; the groove extends from a bottom end surface of the second section to the step surface; and the step surface is close to the liquid storage cavity (see Figure 7 and [0063]—“…the inner wall surface of the first sealing ring 142 is formed with a labyrinth-shaped first ventilation groove 1420, which penetrates the inner wall surfaces of the first sealing portion 1421 and the second sealing portion 1423.”).
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the groove of the first vent channel, as taught by LIU in view of ZHOU according to claim 38, such that it extends from a bottom end surface of the second section to the step surface; and the step surface is close to the liquid storage cavity, as taught by ZHOU, for the explicit motivation ZHOU recites; “…so as to achieve gas-liquid balance and prevent dry burning.”—[0063].
Regarding claim 40, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 39 as shown above.
ZHOU further teaches that; the groove extends non-linearly in the longitudinal direction (see Figure 7 and [0063]—“…a labyrinth-shaped first ventilation groove 1420…”). The examiner notes that the labyrinth-shaped groove of claim 39 corresponds to applicant’s limitation that it extends non-linearly in the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 41, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 39 as shown above.
ZHOU further teaches; the groove (1420) comprises a first groove segment and a second groove segment in communication with each other; a width of the second groove segment is greater than a width of the first groove segment; and the second groove segment is in communication with the liquid storage cavity (see Figure 7 and Modified Portion of Figure 7 below). The examiner notes that the groove, as taught by LIU in view of ZHOU according to claim 39, comprises all the limitations of claim 41.
Modified Portion of Figure 7
Regarding claim 42, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 39 as shown above.
ZHOU further teaches; a second sealing element (143—‘second sealing ring’), wherein; the first vent channel further comprises a first notch provided on the second sealing element (143); and the first notch is in communication with the groove and the liquid storage cavity (see Figure 7 and Modified Portion of Figure 7 below).
Modified Portion of Figure 7
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first vent channel, as taught by LIU in view of ZHOU according to claim 39, such that it further comprised ; a second sealing, wherein; the first vent channel further comprises a first notch provided on the second sealing element; and the first notch is in communication with the groove and the liquid storage cavity, as taught by ZHOU, for the explicit motivation ZHOU recites; to enhance sealing, prevent liquid bypasses, and “…so as to achieve gas-liquid balance and prevent dry burning.”—[0090].
Regarding claim 43, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 37.
LIU teaches that the porous liquid guide element (5) is accommodated in the accommodating cavity; and a bracket (12) comprising a hole (123).
LIU does not teach that; when the porous liquid guide element and the first sealing element are accommodated in the accommodating cavity, the first vent channel corresponds to a position of the hole on the bracket in the longitudinal direction.
ZHOU however, does teach that; that when the porous liquid guide element (141—‘atomizing core’ and [0065]—“…the atomizing core 141 may include a cylindrical porous body 1411…”) and the first sealing element are accommodated in the accommodating cavity, the first vent channel corresponds to a position of the hole (122—‘liquid inlet hole’ and [0062]—"The middle of the outer wall of the atomizing core 141 can be directly aligned with the liquid inlet hole 122.”) on the bracket in the longitudinal direction (see Figure 7 and Overlayed and Modified Portion of Figure 7 below).
Overlayed and Modified Portion of Figure 7
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first vent channel, as taught by LIU in view of ZHOU according to claim 37, such that the porous liquid guide element and the first sealing element are accommodated in the accommodating cavity, the first vent channel corresponds to a position of the hole on the bracket in the longitudinal direction, as taught by ZHOU, for the explicit motivation ZHOU states; to increase airflow to the atomizer, “…so as to achieve gas-liquid balance and prevent dry burning.”—[0063], and for other desirable heat transfer properties.
Regarding claim 44, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU does not teach a third sealing element at least partially accommodated in the bracket, wherein the third sealing element abuts against the porous liquid guide element in the longitudinal direction.
ZHOU however, does teach; a third sealing element at least partially accommodated in the bracket, wherein the third sealing element abuts against the porous liquid guide element in the longitudinal direction (see Figure 7 and [0062]—“…the second sealing ring 143 may include a cylindrical third sealing part 1431…”, and “The third sealing part 1431 is sleeved on the outer wall surface of the lower end of the atomizing core 141…”. The examiner notes that 1431 corresponds to applicant’s limitation of ‘a third sealing element’, and as seen in Figure 7, is accommodated in the bracket and abuts against 141, including 1411, in the longitudinal direction.)
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the atomizer, as taught by LIU according to claim 30, such that it comprised a third sealing element at least partially accommodated in the bracket, wherein the third sealing element abuts against the porous liquid guide element in the longitudinal direction, as taught by ZHOU, for the explicit motivations ZHOU outlines; enhanced sealing, preventing leakage, simplified mating of components—[0062], and to prevent dry burning—[0063].
Regarding claim 45, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 44 as shown above.
ZHOU further teaches that; the third sealing element comprises a cavity adjacent to an end surface of the second section, and the cavity is configured to receive condensate (see Overlay and Modified Portion of Figure 7 below). The examiner notes a vent hole is also provided on the third sealing element.
Overlay and Modified Portion of Figure 7
Regarding claim 46, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU further teaches electrode pins to power the atomizer but does not explicitly teach that two ends of the heating element are connected to conductive pins, and the conductive pins extend out from inside of the porous liquid guide element; and an extension direction of each of the conductive pins is arranged non-parallel to an axis of the porous liquid guide element.
ZHOU however, does teach; two ends of the heating element are connected to conductive pins, and the conductive pins extend out from inside of the porous liquid guide element; and an extension direction of each of the conductive pins is arranged non-parallel to an axis of the porous liquid guide element (see Figure 11 and [0091]—“… a first electrode 1413a disposed on the upper end of the inner wall surface of the porous body 1411a and electrically connected to the upper end of the heating element 1412a, and a second electrode 1414a disposed on the lower end of the inner wall surface of the porous body 1411a and electrically connected to the lower end of the heating element 1412a.”. The examiner notes that 1412a corresponds to applicant’s limitation of ‘heating element’, which has two ends connected to two electrodes, 1413a and 1414a, corresponding to applicant’s limitation of ‘conductive pins’, which extend out from inside of 1411a in a direction non-parallel to an axis of 1411a.)
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode pins in the atomizer, as taught by LIU according to claim 30, such that two ends of the heating element are connected to conductive pins, and the conductive pins extend out from inside of the porous liquid guide element; and an extension direction of each of the conductive pins is arranged non-parallel to an axis of the porous liquid guide element, as taught by ZHOU, for the explicit motivations ZHOU implies; so the electrodes are easily interchangeable—[0093], to realize the electrical connection to the heating element—[0100], and for beneficial manufacturing properties—[0109].
Regarding claim 48, LIU in view of ZHOU, teaches all the limitations of claim 47 as shown above.
LIU further teaches; at least one groove is provided on an outer wall of the porous liquid guide element (Figure 1 reference character 5, also see Modified Portion of Figure 1 below).
Modified Portion of Figure 1
Claims 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU (CN209609872U) in view of HODGSON (US20240292895A1).
Regarding claim 34, LIU teaches all the limitations of claim 30 as shown above.
LIU does not explicitly teach that a wall thickness of the first section is less than a wall thickness of the second section.
HODGSON however, does teach an aerosol provision system comprising a cooling section and hollow tubular element that have different wall thicknesses. Specifically in reference to Figure 1, HODGSON teaches, “The ‘wall thickness’ of the hollow tubular element 4 corresponds to the thickness of the wall of the tube 4… The wall thickness is advantageously greater than 0.9 mm…”—[0109], and “The cooling section 8 can have a wall thickness of at least about 1.5 mm and up to about 2 mm.”—[0087]. The examiner notes that the hollow tubular element and the cooling section correspond to applicant’s limitation of ‘first section’ and ‘second section’ respectively.
LIU and HODGSON are analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of shape and structure of electrical heating means for aerosol-generating devices.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and section, as taught by LIU according to claim 30, such that a wall thickness of the first section is less than a wall thickness of the second section, as taught by HODGSON, for the explicit motivations HODGSON recites; “…wall thickness within this range improves the retention of the source of aerosol-generating material…”—[0087], and for other desirable heat transfer properties.
Regarding claim 35, LIU in view of HODGSON, teaches all the limitations of claim 34 as shown above.
HODGSON further teaches that; the wall thickness of the first section ranges from 0.5 mm to 1.2 mm; and the wall thickness of the second section ranges from 1.2 mm to 3 mm (“The ‘wall thickness’ of the hollow tubular element 4 corresponds to the thickness of the wall of the tube 4… The wall thickness is advantageously greater than 0.9 mm…”—[0109], and “The cooling section 8 can have a wall thickness of at least about 1.5 mm and up to about 2 mm.”—[0087]). The examiner notes that the wall thickness values taught by HODGSON fall within applicant’s recited ranges.
It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wall thicknesses of the first and second sections, as taught by LIU, such that the wall thickness of the first section ranges from 0.5 mm to 1.2 mm; and the wall thickness of the second section ranges from 1.2 mm to 3 mm, as taught by HODGSON, for the explicit motivations HODGSON recites; “…wall thickness within this range improves the retention of the source of aerosol-generating material…”—[0087], and for other desirable heat transfer properties.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ARTHUR CEFARATTI/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749