DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hui et al. (WO 2022/026445 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Hui discloses an apparatus to be used in a user equipment (UE), wherein the apparatus comprises: one or more processors; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) comprising instructions
that, upon execution of the instructions by the one or more processors, are to cause the UE to:
identify that the UE is to transmit a sidelink transmission; (figure 24)
identify whether the UE is to use a third generation partnership project (3GPP)
release-17 resource selection procedure related to resources for the sidelink transmission
or a 3GPP release-16 resource selection procedure related to resources for the sidelink
transmission (¶[0038]);
identify, based on the identified resource selection procedure, one or more
resources for the sidelink transmission (figure 24); and
transmit the sidelink transmission on the one or more resources (figure 24).
Regarding claim 22, Hui discloses wherein the identification of whether to use the
3GPP release-17 resource selection procedure or the 3GPP release-16 resource selection
procedure is based on pre-configuration of the UE (¶[0038],¶[0207], abstract).
Regarding claim 23, Hui discloses , wherein the pre-configuration of the UE includes
pre-configuring the UE is to use the 3GPP release-17 resource selection procedure (¶[0038], older and newer releases include 3GPP release 17).
Regarding claim 24, Hui discloses wherein the UE is a 3GPP release-17 UE (¶[0038])
Regarding claim 25 , Hui discloses wherein the 3GPP release-17 resource selection
procedure includes consideration of inter-UE coordination (IUC) feedback. (¶[0205],¶[0241])
Regarding claim 26, Hui discloses wherein the 3GPP release-16 resource selection
procedure does not include consideration of inter-UE coordination (IUC) feedback . (¶[0205],¶[0241], feedback may not be part of the selection procedure)
Regarding claim 27, Hui discloses wherein the sidelink transmission relates to inter-
UE coordination (IUC) feedback (¶[0205],¶[0241]).
Regarding claim 28, Hui discloses wherein the sidelink transmission relates to sensing
used for resource selection . (¶[0205]discovery information is used to signal its presence,¶[0241]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view of Intel Corporation , "Design of Inter-UE Coordination Solutions for Sidelink Communication , " R1-2111515, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #107 e, Nov 2021, ("Intel").
Regarding claim 29, Hui discloses an apparatus for use in a user equipment (UE), wherein the apparatus comprises: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by the one or more processors, are to cause the UE to: (figure 2B) identify a set of candidate resources related to transmission of a sidelink transmission;
Hui does not disclose identify, from the set of candidate resources, a subset of non-preferred resources;
remove, from the set of candidate resources, resources in the subset of non-
preferred resources to generate a subset of remaining candidate resources that is a subset
of the set of candidate resources; and
report, to higher layers, an indication of the subset of remaining candidate
resources.
Intel discloses identify, from the set of candidate resources, a subset of non-preferred resources(Section 2.1.1., 2.1.3, pages 1-4, section 2.13, pages 20-22).
;
remove, from the set of candidate resources, resources in the subset of non-
preferred resources to generate a subset of remaining candidate resources that is a subset
of the set of candidate resource (Sections 2.10-2.11 pages 13-20) s; and
report, to higher layers, an indication of the subset of remaining candidate
resources (section 2.3, 2.5, 2.8, 2.13, pages 9-12 and 20-22).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 30 , Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the instructions are to identify the subset of non-preferred resources based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement of respective resources in the subset of non-preferred resources. Intel discloses wherein the instructions are to identify the subset of non-preferred resources based on a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement of respective resources in the subset of non-preferred resources (section 2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 31, Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the instructions are to identify the subset
of non-preferred resources based on the respective resources having a RSRP value that is lower
than a threshold RSRP value. Intel discloses wherein the instructions are to identify the subset
of non-preferred resources based on the respective resources having a RSRP value that is lower
than a threshold RSRP value (section 2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 32, Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the instructions are to identify the subset of non-preferred resources based on identification that respective resources in the subset of non-
preferred resources have been previously reserved by another UE. Intel discloses wherein the instructions are to identify the subset of non-preferred resources based on identification that respective resources in the subset of non-
preferred resources have been previously reserved by another UE (section 2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 33, Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of , wherein the instructions are further to transmit the
sidelink transmission using at least one resource of the subset of remaining candidate resources section. Intel discloses sidelink transmission using at least one resource of the subset of remaining candidate resources section . Intel discloses , wherein the instructions are further to transmit the
sidelink transmission using at least one resource of the subset of remaining candidate resources section. Intel discloses sidelink transmission using at least one resource of the subset of remaining candidate resources section (2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 34, Hui does not disclose, wherein the instructions are further to:
identify a number of resources in the set of candidate resources;
compare the number of resources in the set of candidate resources to a threshold value of
a number of resources; and
remove the resources in the subset of non-preferred resources based on the number of
resources in the set of candidate resources being greater than the threshold value of the number of
resources.
Intel discloses , wherein the instructions are further to:
identify a number of resources in the set of candidate resources;
compare the number of resources in the set of candidate resources to a threshold value of
a number of resources; and
remove the resources in the subset of non-preferred resources based on the number of
resources in the set of candidate resources being greater than the threshold value of the number of
resources.
(section 2.11, pages 18-20;section 2.10.3, pages 15-17).
).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 35, Hui discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors, are to cause a user equipment (UE) to: (figure 24 , figure 2B). Hui does not disclose
identify a set of candidate resources related to transmission of a sidelink transmission;
identify, from the set of candidate resources, a subset of non-preferred resources;
remove, from the set of candidate resources, resources in the subset of non-preferred
resources to generate a subset of remaining candidate resources that is a subset of the set of
candidate resources; and
report, to higher layers, an indication of the subset of remaining candidate resources.
Intel discloses
identify a set of candidate resources related to transmission of a sidelink transmission;
identify, from the set of candidate resources, a subset of non-preferred resources;
remove, from the set of candidate resources, resources in the subset of non-preferred
resources to generate a subset of remaining candidate resources that is a subset of the set of
candidate resources; and
report, to higher layers, an indication of the subset of remaining candidate resources 2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 36, Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the instructions are to identify
the subset of non-preferred resources based on a reference signal received power (RSRP)
measurement of respective resources in the subset of non-preferred resources. Intel discloses wherein the instructions are to identify
the subset of non-preferred resources based on a reference signal received power (RSRP)
measurement of respective resources in the subset of non-preferred resources. (2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 37, Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the instructions are to identify
the subset of non-preferred resources based on the respective resources having a RSRP value that
is lower than a threshold RSRP value. Intel discloses wherein the instructions are to identify
the subset of non-preferred resources based on the respective resources having a RSRP value that
is lower than a threshold RSRP value (2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 38, Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the instructions are to identify
the subset of non-preferred resources based on identification that respective resources in the
subset of non-preferred resources have been previously reserved by another UE.
Intel discloses wherein the instructions are to identify
the subset of non-preferred resources based on identification that respective resources in the
subset of non-preferred resources have been previously reserved by another UE.(2.1.1, 2.1.3, pages 1-4).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 39, Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of , wherein the instructions are further to
transmit the sidelink transmission using at least one resource of the subset of remaining candidate
resources. Intel discloses , wherein the instructions are further to
transmit the sidelink transmission using at least one resource of the subset of remaining candidate
resources ( Section 2.11, pages 18-20).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict.
Regarding claim 40 , Hui discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of wherein the instructions are further to:
identify a number of resources in the set of candidate resources;
compare the number of resources in the set of candidate resources to a threshold value of
a number of resources; and
remove the resources in the subset of non-preferred resources based on the number of
resources in the set of candidate resources being greater than the threshold value of the number of
resources. Intel discloses wherein the instructions are further to:
identify a number of resources in the set of candidate resources;
compare the number of resources in the set of candidate resources to a threshold value of
a number of resources; and
remove the resources in the subset of non-preferred resources based on the number of
resources in the set of candidate resources being greater than the threshold value of the number of
resources. ( Section 2.11, pages 18-20, section 2.10.3, pages 15-17).. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify Hui’s sidelink selection framework with Intel’s feedback and exclusion to improve sidelink reliability and to reduce conflict
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412