DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 01/20/2026. Currently claims 1-10 are pending in the application; and claim 10 withdrawn from consideration.
ELECTION / RESTRICTION
Applicant's election of Group I, claims 1-9, without traverse, drawn to a composite material chip, in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Simmons et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2014/00217332 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Simmons”.
Regarding claim 1, Simmons teaches a composite material chip, comprising carbon fibers in a cured adhesive, by teaching a panel prepared from multiple unidirectional prepreg layers, which are cured by autoclave to form a panel of 300 mm x 300 mm x 3 mm (para. [0120]). Simmons also teaches that the composite having a substantially constant thickness defined between two parallel opposite faces of the chip, each face including on the surface carbon fibers that are at least partially not included in the cured adhesive; by teaching a composite having a thickness of between 0.5 and 5 mm (para. [0067]). Simmons further teaches that epoxy resin and carbon fibers are oriented in parallel and unidirectionally in the form of a plate of dimensions 40 mm x 40 mm x 3 mm by forming specimens for test from the cured panel (para. [0120]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, therefore, to consider that the composite material would have a substantially constant thickness in the sense of the instant application. Simmons also explicitly teaches that these chips are sanded (mechanical cutting) so as to expose the carbon fibers (para. [0120]), therefore, it would also have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the surface carbon fibers are at least partially not included in the adhesive (epoxy resin), as the sanding would expose the carbon fibers.
Regarding claim 2, Simmons teaches a composite material chip comprising carbon fibers in a cured adhesive, by teaching a panel prepared from multiple unidirectional prepreg layers, which are cured by autoclave to form a panel (para. [0120]). Simmons also explicitly teaches that these chips are sanded (mechanical cutting) so as to expose the carbon fibers (para. [0120]), therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that a portion of the carbon fiber which is at least partially not included in the cured adhesive constitutes a bare fiber.
Regarding claim 3, Simmons teaches that the composite material chips are sanded (mechanical cutting) so as to expose the carbon fibers (para. [0120]). Simmons also teaches that excess sanding should be avoided as this will penetrate past the first ply, which will adversely affect the final article mechanical property. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the amount of bare portion of the carbon fiber would be optimized. Therefore, having a bare fiber area ratio which is greater than or equal to 22%, the percentage being related to the total surface area of the face of the chip which is analyzed; would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 4, Simmons teaches that the composite material chip surface roughness is a key parameter (para. [0095 Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that surface roughness of the composite material chip would be optimized. Therefore, a roughness measured by a mass loss which is greater than or equal to 0.008%, said mass loss being measured by an abrasion test performed on a linear abrasion meter using an H18 abrasive rubber for 100 cycles; would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 5, Simmons teaches a composite material chip, having a thickness between 200 μm and 1 mm; by teaching a composite material having a thickness of between 0.5 and 5 mm (para. [0067]).
Regarding claims 6-7, Simmons teaches a composite material chip, wherein said carbon fibers extend substantially parallel and oriented in the same direction, to said opposite faces of the chip; by teaching multiple unidirectional layers where the fiber orientation of subsequent layers in 0/90 (para. [0120]).
Regarding claim 8, Simmons teaches a composite material chip, having a rectangular shape; by teaching square (a specific form of rectangle) face of the specimens (para. [0120]).
Regarding claim 9, Simmons teaches a composite material chip, wherein each face of the chip has a surface area of at least 1 cm2; by teaching a specimen of 16 cm2 (para. [0120]).
Examiner’s Note
The examiner included a few prior arts which were not used in the rejection but are relevant to the disclosure.
US 2013/0065471 A1 (Mortimer): Mortimer teaches in Fig 3, an assembly of cured thermoplastic resin-based layers at the surface of which carbon fibers 22 are positioned in parallel and unidirectionally (para. [0043-0045]). Each layer appears to have a thickness of between 15 and 50 microns (para. [0035]). The chips may therefore be considered to have a substantially constant thickness. The middle layer has, on each surface, carbon fibers that are not at all contained (or at least partially uncontained) in the resin.
U.S. Tewari et al.: “Solid particle erosion of unidirectional carbon fibre reinforced polyetheretherketone composite”; Wear, 252, (2002), Page 992-1000 (Tewari et al.): Tewari teaches in Fig. 5, a composite based on carbon fibers oriented in parallel and unidirectionally, the fibers being exposed on both faces following a parallel or perpendicular abrasion process.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742