DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 23 February 2026 and 27 June 2024 have been received and considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5, and 10-11, in the reply filed on 19 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that Zhang does not teach the shared technical feature of a glass container with the features recited in claim 1. This argument is persuasive.
However, upon further consideration it is found that the shared technical feature of the glass container recited in claim 1 does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Wohleb (US 2005/0059162 A1), Pasán Garcia et al. (WO 2020/249834 A1; published 17 December 2020), and Li et al. (J. Mater. Chem. A, 2014, 2, 13868–13872), as analyzed below. Therefore the shared technical feature is not a special technical feature and Groups I and II lack unity of invention.
The requirement is therefore still deemed proper.
Claims 4 and 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 19 February 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “in an inverted radial manner.” This term is interpreted as being met when the coating is on the inside of the glass container and directed inward from the walls. Any coating covalently bonded to the inner wall as described by the remaining limitations of claim 1 will necessarily meet the limitation of being bonded in an inverted radial manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohleb (US 2005/0059162 A1) in view of Pasán Garcia et al. (WO 2020/249834 A1; published 17 December 2020) and Li et al. (J. Mater. Chem. A, 2014, 2, 13868–13872), and with respect to claims 3 and 11, as evidenced by Rocío-Bautista et al. (RSC Adv., 2018, 8, 31304–31310). An English language equivalent of WO 2020/249834 A1 is US PG Pub 2022/0266218 A1; all references to Pasán Garcia below cite the US document.
Regarding claim 1, Wohleb teaches a glass container for microextraction comprising an inner wall coated with a sorptive material (surface sorbent microextraction assembly…sorption vial 20 is made from a rigid, non-reactive material, such as silica glass; [0044]-[0045] and Fig. 1 and 2). Wohleb further teaches that the sorptive coating on their glass container can be PDMS ([0049]).
Wohleb does not teach the coating comprising a MOF or having the formula recited in the instant claim.
However, Pasán Garcia teaches a stationary phase for microextraction (abstract) comprising a coating of formula -surface-O-R-M-MOF that is covalently bonded to a fiber surface in an radial manner ([0013]), where surface is Ti/Ni, MOF is a metal-organic framework, and M is Al, the same metal as in the MOF ([0036]; the notation used for the terminal group in the prior art is “Al-O-C-metal organic framework”, but the final O-C can be itself be considered part of the MOF). Pasán Garcia further teaches a method to prepare their coatings that would yield an intermediate compound R with the structure -Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO- (reaction of the surface generated using (3-aminopropyl)triethoxysilane that is shown in Fig. 1 with terephthaloyl chloride; [0037]-[0038]), which is identical to the R group recited as option A of the instant claim.
It is noted that while claim 1 and [0036] of the Pasán Garcia patent application recite the intermediate compound of -Si-(CH2)-(CH2)4-(CH2)-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-, and not the variant -Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that treatment of the surface depicted in Fig. 1 with terephthaloyl chloride, as described in [0037]-[0038], would produce -Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-, and not - Si-(CH2)-(CH2)4-(CH2)-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-.1
Pasán Garcia also teaches that their MOF coatings provide significantly improved performance relative to conventional PDMS coatings for sorption of small-size hydrocarbons ([0035]).
Additionally, Li teaches that MOF sorbents for microextraction can be attached to silica surfaces via linkages of the same general structure as those used by Pasán Garcia (Scheme 1, copied below): surface-O-R-M-MOF, where surface is Si (quartz), MOF is a metal-organic framework, M is Cd, the same metal as in the MOF, and R is Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-C2H4-COO-, a variant of the Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO- linker used by Pasán Garcia.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the PDMS sorptive coating on the inner wall of the glass container taught by Wohleb with the MOF adsorptive coating taught by Pasán Garcia, where the coating is covalently attached to the silica surface of the silica, as taught by Li, thereby arriving at a glass container with a coating of formula -Si-O-R-M-MOF covalently bonded to the inner wall thereof in an inverted radial manner, where MOF is a metal-organic framework, where M is a metal dependent on a type of the MOF, and where R is an intermediate compound of -Si- (CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Pasán Garcia teaches that their coating has better sorption properties than the conventional PDSM used by Wohleb and because Li teaches that the same types of linkers used by Pasán Garcia to attach to metal are also effective at attaching to silica surfaces, such as would be provided by the glass vial of Wohleb.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wohleb teaches the container of claim 1, where Pasán Garcia teaches the metal is Al ([0036]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wohleb teaches the container of claim 1, where Pasán Garcia teaches assembling the MOF using conditions that would generate the CIM-80(Al) (aqueous solution (15 ml) containing 1 mmol of mesaconic acid, 1 mmol of aluminum nitrate nonahydrate and 0.5 mmol of urea in a 26 ml glass vial, sealed with Teflon and capped. The vial is kept at 150° C. for at least 2 hours, to then take it out of the oven and let it cool in the air; [0030]-[0031]), as evidenced by Rocío-Bautista (Section 2.3).
Regarding claim 5, Wohleb teaches a thin film microextraction device comprising a glass container with an inner wall coated with a sorptive material (surface sorbent microextraction assembly…sorption vial 20 is made from a rigid, non-reactive material, such as silica glass; [0044]-[0045] and Fig. 1 and 2). Wohleb further teaches that the sorptive coating on their glass container can be PDMS ([0049]).
Wohleb does not teach the coating comprising a MOF or having the formula recited in the instant claim.
However, Pasán Garcia teaches a stationary phase for microextraction (abstract) comprising a coating of formula -surface-O-R-M-MOF that is covalently bonded to a fiber surface in an radial manner ([0013]), where surface is Ti/Ni, MOF is a metal-organic framework, and M is Al, the same metal as in the MOF ([0036]; the notation used for the terminal group in the prior art is “Al-O-C-metal organic framework”, but the final O-C can be itself be considered part of the MOF). Pasán Garcia further teaches a method to prepare their coatings that would yield an intermediate compound R with the structure -Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO- ([0037]-[0038]), which is identical to option A of the instant claim.
It is noted that while claim 1 and [0036] of the Pasán Garcia patent application recite the intermediate compound of -Si-(CH2)6-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-, and not the variant -Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that treatment of the surface depicted in Fig. 1 with terephthaloyl chloride, as described [0037]-[0038], would produce -Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-, and not -Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-.2
Pasán Garcia also teaches that their MOF coatings provide significantly improved performance relative to conventional PDMS coatings for sorption of small-size hydrocarbons ([0035]).
Additionally, Li teaches that MOF sorbents for microextraction can be attached to silica surfaces via linkages of the same general structure as those used by Pasán Garcia (Scheme 1, copied above): surface-O-R-M-MOF, where surface is Si (quartz), MOF is a metal-organic framework, and M is Cd, the same metal as in the MOF, and R is Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-C2H4-COO-, a variant of the Si-(CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO- linker used by Pasán Garcia.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the PDMS sorptive coating on the inner wall of the glass container taught by Wohleb with the MOF adsorptive coating taught by Pasán Garcia, where the coating is covalently attached to the silica surface of the silica, as taught by Li, thereby arriving at a TFME device comprising a glass container with a coating of formula -Si-O-R-M-MOF covalently bonded to the inner wall thereof in an inverted radial manner, where MOF is a metal-organic framework, where M is a metal dependent on a type of the MOF, and where R is an intermediate compound of -Si- (CH2)3-NH-CH(=O)-(C6H4)-COO-. Such a device would be capable of preconcentrating a sample in analytical chemistry by adsorbing it into the sorptive material, as supported by Pasán Garcia ([0004]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the device of Wohleb in such a manner because Pasán Garcia teaches that their coating has better sorption properties than the conventional PDSM used by Wohleb and because Li teaches that the same types of linkers used by Pasán Garcia to attach to metal are also effective at attaching to silica surfaces, such as would be provided by a glass vial.
Regarding claim 10, modified Wohleb teaches the device of claim 5, where Pasán Garcia teaches the metal is Al ([0036]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Wohleb teaches the device of claim 5, where Pasán Garcia teaches assembling the MOF using conditions that would generate the CIM-80(Al) (aqueous solution (15 ml) containing 1 mmol of mesaconic acid, 1 mmol of aluminum nitrate nonahydrate and 0.5 mmol of urea in a 26 ml glass vial, sealed with Teflon and capped. The vial is kept at 150° C. for at least 2 hours, to then take it out of the oven and let it cool in the air; [0030]-[0031]), as evidenced by Rocío-Bautista (Section 2.3).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
1 It is additionally noted the method described by Pasan Garcia in [0037]-[0038] utilizes the same reagents as the instant invention (p. 8, line 32 to p. 9, line 2) and would be expected to produce the same products.
2 It is additionally noted the method described by Pasan Garcia in [0037]-[0038] utilizes the same reagents as the instant invention (p. 8, line 32 to p. 9, line 2) and would be expected to produce the same products.