DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US20180025844).
With respect to claim 1, Sato discloses a method of manufacturing (see paragraph 41) a ceramic capacitor (see FIG. 1, element 10), comprising: manufacturing a ceramic body (see FIG. 6, element 11) including a plurality of dielectric layers (see FIG. 6, element 11a2) and internal electrodes (see FIG. 6, element 11a1) and having first external electrodes (see FIG. 6, element 11c) disposed at both sides of at least one of a top surface (see FIG. 6, element 11c Top surface, see below picture) and a bottom surface (see FIG. 6, element 11c Bottom surface, see below picture); and forming a second external electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a) disposed on at least a portion of each of a first cross section and a second cross section facing each other in a longitudinal direction of the ceramic body (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture) and extending to the top surface and the bottom surface (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture) to be in contact with the first external electrode (see FIG. 6, element 11c), wherein in the forming of the second external electrode, the second external electrode is formed to have a shorter distance between each of the first cross section and the second cross section and one end portion thereof than the first external electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 11c, 12a and 13a, noting 12a and 13a has longer distance between first and second cross section than 11c, see below picture).
With respect to claim 2, Sato discloses in the forming of the second external electrode, the second external electrode is formed to surround the first cross section and the second cross section (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture), and a perimetric surface of an edge adjacent to each of the first cross section and the second cross section (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture).
With respect to claim 3, Sato discloses the manufacturing of the ceramic body includes: forming a stack including a plurality of first dielectric layers having the first external electrodes at both sides of one of top and bottom surfaces thereof (see FIG. 6, element 11c, see below picture), a plurality of second dielectric layers having internal electrodes disposed thereon (see FIG. 6, elements 11a1 and 11a2), and a plurality of third dielectric layers formed of only a dielectric layer (see FIG. 6, element 11b); and compressing, cutting, and sintering the stack (see paragraph 44).
With respect to claim 4, Sato discloses in the forming of the stack, the first dielectric layer on which the first external electrodes are disposed at both sides of the top surface thereof is disposed on an uppermost portion (see FIG. 6, top surface element 11c, see below picture), and the first dielectric layer on which the first external electrodes are disposed at both side of the bottom surface thereof is disposed on a lowermost portion (see FIG. 6, bottom surface element 11c, see below picture).
With respect to claim 5, Sato discloses in the forming of the stack, the plurality of second dielectric layers on which the internal electrodes are disposed (see FIG. 6, elements 11a1 and 11a2) are disposed between the first dielectric layers (see FIG. 6, elements 11c), and the plurality of third dielectric layers (see FIG. 6, elements 11b) formed of only the dielectric layer are disposed between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer (see FIG. 6, elements 11a1 and 11a2).
With respect to claim 6, Sato discloses the manufacturing of the ceramic body further includes forming side electrodes (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a) at both sides of each of the first side surface and the second side surface facing each other in a width direction (see FIG. 6, width direction), and in the forming of the second external electrode, the second external electrode extends to the perimetric surface as much as a length covering the side electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture).
With respect to claim 7, Sato discloses in the sintering, after the stack is compressed and cut (see paragraphs 43-47), side electrodes are formed at both sides of each of a pair of side surfaces facing each other in a width direction (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a), and the stack and the side electrode are sintered at the same time (see paragraphs 43-47), and in the forming of the second external electrode, the second external electrode extends to the perimetric surface as much as a length covering the side electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a).
With respect to claim 8, Sato discloses in the forming of the stack, each of the first dielectric layers on which the first external electrode is disposed is formed by printing an electrode material that is one of Ag and Cu (see paragraph 32), or a mixture thereof at both sides of one of top and bottom surfaces of a ceramic sheet (see FIG. 6, element 11c, paragraph 32).
With respect to claim 12, Sato discloses a ceramic capacitor (see FIG. 1, element 10) comprising: a ceramic body (see FIG. 6, element 11) including a plurality of dielectric layers (see FIG. 6, element 11a2) and internal electrodes (see FIG. 6, element 11a1) and having first external electrodes (see FIG. 6, element 11c) disposed at both sides of at least one of a top surface (see FIG. 6, element 11c Top surface, see below picture) and a bottom surface (see FIG. 6, element 11c Bottom surface, see below picture); and a second external electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture) disposed on at least a portion of each of a first cross section and a second cross section facing each other in a longitudinal direction of the ceramic body (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture) and extending to the top surface and the bottom surface to be in contact with the first external electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a), wherein the second external electrode is formed to have a shorter distance between each of the first cross section and the second cross section and one end portion thereof than the first external electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 11c, 12a and 13a, noting 12a and 13a has longer distance between first and second cross section than 11c, see below picture).
With respect to claim 13, Sato discloses the second external electrode is formed to surround the first cross section and the second cross section (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture), and a perimetric surface of an edge adjacent to each of the first cross section and the second cross section (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see below picture).
With respect to claim 14, Sato discloses the second external electrode includes: a first part disposed on each of the top surface and the bottom surface to be in contact with the first external electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 11c, 12a and 13a, see below picture); a second part formed subsequent to the first part and disposed on each of a first side surface and a second side surface facing each other in a width direction of the ceramic body (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, noting side surface part); and a third part (see below picture) formed subsequent to the second part and disposed on each of the first cross section and the second cross section (see FIG. 6, element 12b, see below picture), and the first part and the second part have the same width in a longitudinal direction of the ceramic body (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, noting Sato silently teaches elements 12a and 13a has the same width in a length direction at top portions and side portions).
With respect to claim 15, Sato discloses, wherein the ceramic body further includes side electrodes disposed at both sides of each of a first side surface and a second side surface (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a) facing each other in a width direction (see FIG. 6, width direction), and the second external electrode extends to the perimetric surface as much as a length covering the side electrode (see FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a).
With respect to claim 16, Sato discloses an interval between the first external electrodes in a longitudinal direction of the ceramic body is shorter than an interval between the second external electrodes (see FIG. 6, elements 11c, 12a and 13a, noting 12a and 13a has longer distance between first and second cross section than 11c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Park et al. (US20160088725).
With respect to claim 9, Sato teaches the ceramic capacitor (see FIG. 1, element 10) of claim 1.
Sato does not expressly teach that forming a third external electrode to cover each of the first cross section and the second cross section on which the second external electrode is disposed.
Park, on the other hand, teaches forming a third external electrode to cover each of the first cross section and the second cross section on which the second external electrode is disposed (see Park FIG. 1, elements 151 and 152, paragraph 63).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Sato and Park to form the claimed invention in order to reduce acoustic noise of the multilayer ceramic capacitor (see Park paragraph 12).
With respect to claim 10, the combined teachings of Sato and Park teach that the forming of the third external electrode includes forming the third external electrode by attaching a metal plate on each of the first cross section and the second cross section using a conductive adhesive (see Park FIG. 1, elements 151 and 152, paragraph 63).
With respect to claim 17, Sato teaches the ceramic capacitor (see FIG. 1, element 10) of claim 12.
Sato does not expressly teach that a third external electrode formed to cover each of the first cross section and the second cross section on which the second external electrode is disposed.
Park, on the other hand, teaches a third external electrode formed to cover each of the first cross section and the second cross section on which the second external electrode is disposed (see Park FIG. 1, elements 151 and 152, paragraph 63).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Sato and Park to form the claimed invention in order to reduce acoustic noise of the multilayer ceramic capacitor (see Park paragraph 12).
With respect to claim 18, the combined teachings of Sato and Park teach that the second external electrode is disposed on a central portion of the ceramic body in a width direction on each of the first cross section and the second cross section (see Sato FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see above picture).
With respect to claim 19, the combined teachings of Sato and Park teach that the second external electrode (see Sato FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a) includes: a first part disposed on each of the top surface (see Sato FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, noting top surface portion , see above picture) and the bottom surface to be in contact with the first external electrode (see Sato FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, noting bottom surface portion, see above picture); and a second part formed subsequent to the first part and disposed on each of the first cross section and the second cross section (see Sato FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, noting end surfaces portion, see above picture), and the first part and the second part have the same length in a width direction of the ceramic body (see Sato FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, noting Sato silently teaches elements 12a and 13a has the same length in a width direction at top portions and side portions).
With respect to claim 20, the combined teachings of Sato and Park teach that the second external electrode has the same length in the width direction of the ceramic body as the first external electrode (see Sato FIG. 6, elements 12a and 13a, see above picture).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato and Park, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Esaki (US20230170105).
With respect to claim 11, Sato and Park teaches the ceramic capacitor (see FIG. 1, element 10) of claim 9.
Sato and Park do not teach the forming of the third external electrode includes forming the third external electrode by depositing an electrode material on each of the first cross section and the second cross section in a sputtering method.
Esaki, on the other hand, teaches the forming of the third external electrode includes forming the third external electrode by depositing an electrode material on each of the first cross section and the second cross section in a sputtering method (see paragraph (see Esaki paragraph 125, noting sputtering method).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Sato, Park and Esaki to form the claimed invention in order to obtain high moisture resistance electrode of an electronic component (see Esaki paragraph 12).
Conclusion
/ESTHER N LIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2848
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847