This is the first Office Action for the serial number 18/723,399, CHAIR, filed on 6/21/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 ,line 6, “the seatback being connected to the rocking mechanism through the seatback frame” is indefinite and it should be ---the seatback being connected to the rocking mechanism through the seatback base--- for clarification.
Claims 5-7 are rejected as depending on rejected claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication # 2015/0201758 to Serber.
Serber teaches a chair comprising a seatback (23), a seat (22), a rocking mechanism (36) and a chair base (26-27). The seatback comprising a frame and a seatback base (71). The chair base comprising a central support (29). The rocking mechanism comprising a supporting base (31) and being arranged on the central support. The seat is being affixed to the rocking mechanism. The seatback is being connected to the rocking mechanism through the seatback base. The seat back frame comprising an intermediate transverse plate to which a vertical plate (45) is fastened with one end thereof. The vertical plate is being fastened to the seatback base with an opposite end thereof. The seatback base is being connected to the supporting base of the rocking mechanism. The chair further comprises an element of stop and adjustment (97-98) of an initial position of the seatback is attached to the vertical plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Serber in view US Patent Application Publication # 2014/0103688 to Wilson.
Serber teaches the seatback frame further comprising an upper transverse plate (76), the intermediate transverse plate and a spring (51-52) connecting the upper transverse plate and intermediate transverse plate but fails to teach a gas strut installed between the upper transverse plate and the intermediate transverse plate. Wilson teaches the gas strut (280). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Serber’s spring with gas strut as taught by Wilson to provide the same result “to return stroke from reclined back to upright” (section 0100 in Wilson’s invention).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent Application Publication # 2017/0027328 to Su
US Patent Application Publication # 2022/0354254 to Collier
US Patent Application Publication # 2008/0067848 to Brauning
US Patent Application Publication # 2017/0354254 to Diffrient et al
The cited references above teach the chair with the rocking mechanism.
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK
Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632 12/9/25