Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
2. Claim 43 is rejected under 35 USC § 101 for claim language "a computer-readable storage medium". The claim language does not exclude transitory medium e.g. signal, carrier wave, etc. Examiner suggests the applicant to amend the claims as “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium….”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-2, 9-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CMCC (“Discussion on Support of Non Continuous Coverage”, hereinafter CMCC).
Regarding claim 1, CMCC discloses a method comprising:
An information transmission method, applied to a user equipment (UE)
located within a service area of a second satellite cell (page 01’ section 2.1; UE should start measurements on neighbor cells before the serving cell stops covering the current area, wherein serving cell is equivalent to second satellite cell), comprising:
receiving first information (Sec 2.1; page 01 & page 02; network device/Cell broadcast the satellite assistance information to UE), the first information comprising a service start moment of a first satellite cell or comprising first satellite cell list information, the first satellite cell list information comprising a service start moment of at least one satellite cell (Sec 2.1: Proposal 1: For quasi-earth fixed cell, the satellite assistance information could include the stop time of the serving cell, the start time of the next cell, the reference location of the cell, and the cell footprint size); and determining, according to the first information, a service start moment of an incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (page Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage”).
Regarding claim 12, CMCC discloses an information transmission method, applied to a network device (Sec 2.1; page 01 & page 02; network device/base station/ Cell broadcast the satellite assistance information to UE), comprising: determining first information (Sec 1, Introduction – Satellite assistance information will be used by the UE it implies that the information is determined and then broadcasted), the first information comprising a service start
moment of a first satellite cell or comprising first satellite cell list information, the first
satellite cell list information comprising a service start moment of at least one satellite
cell (Sec 2.1: Proposal 1: For quasi-earth fixed cell, the satellite assistance information could include the stop time of the serving cell, the start time of the next cell, the reference location of the cell, and the cell footprint size); and determining, according to the first information, a service start moment of an incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimated how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage); and sending the first information to a user equipment (UE) within a service area of a second satellite cell (Sec 2.1; page 01 & page 02; Cell broadcast the satellite assistance information to UE).
Regarding claim 2, CMCC discloses wherein the first information comprises the service start moment of the first satellite cell, and the determining, according to the first information, the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE comprises: determining the service start moment of the first satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, CMCC discloses wherein the first satellite cell list information further comprises coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell, the coverage area information comprising ephemeris information and/or elevation angle information (Sec 2.1; page 02; the assistance information could include the satellite ephemeris info, the cell reference location, and the cell footprint size).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, CMCC discloses wherein the first satellite cell list information comprises the service start moment of only one satellite cell (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage).
Regarding claim 11, CMCC discloses wherein the determining, according to the first information, the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE comprises: determining the service start moment of the one satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CMCC in view of Lucky et al. (US 2019/0245614, hereinafter Lucky).
Regarding claim 3, CMCC does not explicitly disclose wherein the
first information comprises the first satellite cell list information, the first satellite cell
list information further comprises coverage area information of the at least one satellite
cell at a corresponding service start moment, and the determining, according to the first
information, the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service
for the UE comprises: determining, from the first satellite cell list information according to position information of the UE and the coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell at the corresponding service start moment, a third satellite cell capable of covering a position of the UE; and determining a service start moment corresponding to the third satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE.
In an analogous art, Lucky discloses wherein the first information comprises the first satellite cell list information, the first satellite cell list information further comprises coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell at a corresponding service start moment, and the determining, according to the first information, the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE comprises: determining, from the first satellite cell list information according to position information of the UE and the coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell at the corresponding service start moment (para 0010-0012; neighbor cell list), a third satellite cell capable of covering a position of the UE (para 0068-0069); and determining a service start moment corresponding to the third satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (para 0050; and 0119; 0129; and 0161– start time). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CMCC’s method/system by having Lucky’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation to facilitate the satellite communication system.
5. Claims 21-22, 29-32, 39-40 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CMCC in view of Yun et al. (US 2020/0178135, hereinafter Yun).
Regarding claim 21, CMCC discloses a user equipment located within a service area of a second satellite cell (page 01’ section 2.1; UE should start measurements on neighbor cells before the serving cell stops covering the current area, wherein serving cell is equivalent to second satellite cell), comprising:
receiving first information (Sec 2.1; page 01 & page 02; network device/Cell broadcast the satellite assistance information to UE), the first information comprising a service start moment of a first satellite cell or comprising first satellite cell list information, the first satellite cell list information comprising a service start moment of at least one satellite cell (Sec 2.1: Proposal 1: For quasi-earth fixed cell, the satellite assistance information could include the stop time of the serving cell, the start time of the next cell, the reference location of the cell, and the cell footprint size); and determining, according to the first information, a service start moment of an incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (page Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage”).
CMCC does not explicitly disclose that the UE comprises of a transceiver, a processor, and a memory communicatively connected to the processor, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the processor, and the processor, when executing the instructions, perform the method steps.
In an analogous art, Yun discloses that the UE comprises of a transceiver (para 0147; a transceiver), a processor (para 0147; a processor), and a memory (para 0147; a memory) communicatively connected to the processor, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the processor, and the processor, when executing the instructions, perform the method steps (para 0147-0148; memory stores instructions to be executed by the processor to perform the method steps). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CMCC’s method/system by having Yun’s disclosure in order to implement the method steps.
Regarding claim 32, CMCC discloses a network device (Sec 2.1; page 01 & page 02; network device/base station/ Cell broadcast the satellite assistance information to UE) comprising: determining first information (Sec 1, Introduction – Satellite assistance information will be used by the UE it implies that the information is determined and then broadcasted), the first information comprising a service start moment of a first satellite cell or comprising first satellite cell list information, the first satellite cell list information comprising a service start moment of at least one satellite cell (Sec 2.1: Proposal 1: For quasi-earth fixed cell, the satellite assistance information could include the stop time of the serving cell, the start time of the next cell, the reference location of the cell, and the cell footprint size); and determining, according to the first information, a service start moment of an incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimated how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage); and sending the first information to a user equipment (UE) within a service area of a second satellite cell (Sec 2.1; page 01 & page 02; Cell broadcast the satellite assistance information to UE).
CMCC does not explicitly disclose that the network device comprises of a transceiver, a processor, and a memory communicatively connected to the processor, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the processor, and the processor, when executing the instructions, perform the method steps.
In an analogous art, Yun discloses that the network device comprises of a transceiver (para 0147; a transceiver), a processor (para 0147; a processor), and a memory (para 0147; a memory) communicatively connected to the processor, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the processor, and the processor, when executing the instructions, perform the method steps (para 0147-0148; memory stores instructions to be executed by the processor to perform the method steps). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CMCC’s method/system by having Yun’s disclosure in order to implement the method steps.
Regarding claim 22, CMCC discloses wherein the first information comprises the service start moment of the first satellite cell, and the processor is configured to: determine the service start moment of the first satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage).
Regarding claims 29 and 39, CMCC discloses wherein the first satellite cell list information further comprises coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell, the coverage area information comprising ephemeris information and/or elevation angle information (Sec 2.1; page 02; the assistance information could include the satellite ephemeris info, the cell reference location, and the cell footprint size).
Regarding claims 30 and 40, CMCC discloses wherein the first satellite cell list information comprises the service start moment of only one satellite cell (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage).
Regarding claim 31, CMCC discloses wherein the processor is configured to: determin the service start moment of the one satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (Sec 2.1; page 02; whether NTN system information include the start time of next cell is been discussing in W1 NR_NTN. If the start time is supported in NTN system information, the UE can estimate how long it will be out of coverage and when it is back in coverage).
Regarding claim 43, CMCC does not explicitly disclose a computer-readable storage medium, storing computer instructions thereon, wherein the computer instructions, when executed by a processor, implementing the information transmission method according to claim 1.
In an analogous art, Yun discloses a computer-readable storage medium (para 0149; computer readable medium), storing computer instructions thereon, wherein the computer instructions, when executed by a processor, implementing the information transmission method according to claim 1 (para 0149-0150). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CMCC’s method/system by having Yun’s disclosure in order to implement the method steps.
Regarding claim 44, CMCC does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer instructions thereon, wherein the computer instructions, when executed by a processor, implementing the information transmission method according to claim 12.
In an analogous art, Yun discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer instructions thereon, wherein the computer instructions, when executed by a processor, implementing the information transmission method according to claim 12 (para 0149-0150). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CMCC’s method/system by having Yun’s disclosure in order to implement the method steps.
6. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CMCC/Yun in view of Lucky.
Regarding claim 23, CMCC/Yun does not explicitly disclose wherein the
first information comprises the first satellite cell list information, the first satellite cell
list information further comprises coverage area information of the at least one satellite
cell at a corresponding service start moment, and the determining, according to the first
information, the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service
for the UE comprises: determining, from the first satellite cell list information according to position information of the UE and the coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell at the corresponding service start moment, a third satellite cell capable of covering a position of the UE; and determining a service start moment corresponding to the third satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE.
In an analogous art, Lucky discloses wherein the first information comprises the first satellite cell list information, the first satellite cell list information further comprises coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell at a corresponding service start moment, and the determining, according to the first information, the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE comprises: determining, from the first satellite cell list information according to position information of the UE and the coverage area information of the at least one satellite cell at the corresponding service start moment (para 0010-0012; neighbor cell list), a third satellite cell capable of covering a position of the UE (para 0068-0069); and determining a service start moment corresponding to the third satellite cell to be the service start moment of the incoming satellite cell that provides service for the UE (para 0050; and 0119; 0129; and 0161– start time). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CMCC/Yun’s method/system by having Lucky’s disclosure in order to improve resource allocation to facilitate the satellite communication system.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462