DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) for the following reasons:
because they fail to show a “control device” from p.11 L25, “seating bearing”, “rotating shaft” and “transition plate” from p.13 L2-5, “a first driving member” from p.13 L22-23, “second deflection correction device” from p.18 L18-19 and “third deflection device” from p.20 L17-18 as described in the specification;
the drawings fails to show every feature of the invention specified in the claims, including
Claim 1: “a first preset position and a second preset position”
Claim 6: “first deviation correcting device” and comprising components
Claim 10: “second deviation correcting device” and comprising components
Claim 12: “third deviation correcting device” and comprising components
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “a first pushing device” (303) mention on p.10 L4-5. Additionally, the drawings are objected to because they include the following reference character (s) not mentioned in the description: 106, 405 and 701-703. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
p.6 L15: a second detecting device disposed on the second belt layer conveying template;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 4-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close proximity” in claim 1 on L28 and in claim 7 on L4-5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close proximity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purpose of examination, the term “close proximity” will be interpreted to mean “directly adjacent”
As claims 2 and 4-15 are directly/indirectly dependent on claim 1 and claims 8-10 are dependent on claim 7, said claims stand as rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN110901122A) (machine translation) (of record) in view of Lin et al. (CN111086252) (see updated machine translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a two-stage feeding system comprising
a frame (unlabeled in Fig 1);
a laminating drum arranged on the frame (“belt layer drum” (30));
a first belt layer conveying template (“second feeding component” (20)) used for conveying a first belt layer and
a second belt layer conveying template (“first feeding component” (10)) used for conveying a second belt layer arranged at one side of the laminating drum (Fig 1); and
a tread conveying template (“fourth feeding assembling” (60)) provided on the other side of the laminating drum for conveying the tread (Fig 1); and
a control device electrically connected to the laminating drum, the first belt layer conveying template, the second belt layer conveying template and the tread conveying template (“chassis” (110), [0042] in that the device is enabled for “automatic bonding”), respectively, characterized in that,
the laminating drum can move in a first direction to switch between a first preset position and a second preset position ([0046]);
the first belt layer conveying template is disposed below the laminating drum, and the first belt layer conveying template can be close to or far away from the laminating drum (Fig 1, 2, [0040]);
the second belt layer conveying template is provided on one side of a bonding surface of the laminating drum and is located above the first belt layer conveying template (Fig 1, 2, [0043]), and
the tread conveying template is placed above the laminating drum (Fig 2), and the tread conveying template can be close to or far away from the laminating drum ([0050]);
when said laminating drum runs to said first pre-set position, said control device controls said first belt layer conveying template to move in the direction close to said laminating drum so as to laminate said first belt layer onto said laminating drum ([0040]), and said second belt layer conveyor template can be controlled to move in the direction close to said laminating drum so as to laminate said second belt layer onto said laminating drum ([0043]); and
when the laminating drum is in position, the tread delivery template is controlled to move towards the laminating drum so as to laminate the tread onto the laminating drum ([0052]); wherein
said first belt layer conveying template comprises a first belt layer front conveying template ([0040] regarding “second bonding template”) and a first belt layer rear conveying template ([0033] regarding "second feeding body") which are positioned in directly adjacent and aligned with each other ([0033]);
a rear end of the first belt layer front conveying template is rotatably connected to the frame (Fig 1), and a front end of the first belt layer front conveying template is provided with a first pushing device for pushing the first belt layer front conveying template to move in a vertical direction so as to approach or move away from the laminating drum (“second lifting device” (80), [0040]).
While Yang does not explicitly disclose that the second preset position corresponds to a position of the tread delivery template being separate from the first and second belt layer conveyor templates in terms of axial position in relation to the drum, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that
a) Yang teaches that there are multiple axially different positions that the drum can be moved to for the purpose of attaching additional tire components to the drum ([0051]);
b) Yang teaches that the two-stage feeding system is not limited to only one positional setup and may be altered ([0062]), which would include the relative axial positioning of the tread conveying template (“fourth feeding assembly” (60)) relative to other feeding assemblies; and
c) case law holds that mere reversal of movements and rearrangement of parts are obvious modifications (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
While Yang does not explicitly disclose that the first belt layer rear conveying template is slidably connected to the frame, and that the first belt layer rear conveying template is capable of sliding along the first direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that Lin, which is within the tire manufacturing art teaches that a feeding system with a conveying template comprising a contiguous front conveying template (“conveyor template” (5-4)) that is rotatably attached to the system (Fig 23) with a driving member (“lifting cylinder” (5-35)) and rear conveying template (“conveyor frame” (5-2)) with said rear conveying template being slidably attached to the frame and the direction of sliding being the same as an axial direction (aka first direction) of a laminating drum (“belt drum” (13), [0034]) for the benefit of enabling precise centering ([0034]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Yang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Yang teaches that the first belt layer conveying template can move in a vertical direction so as to approach or move away from the laminating drum ([0040]); the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction ([0040] , Fig 1, 2), a central line of the second belt layer conveying template is parallel to a central line of the first belt layer conveying template (Fig 1, 2), and a plane determined by the two central lines is perpendicular to a plane determined by the first direction and the second direction (Fig 1, 2); the tread conveying template is movable in the vertical direction to be closer to or further from the laminating drum ([0052]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Yang teaches that the first pushing device comprises a triangular lifting device for pushing the first belt layer conveying template before the first belt layer to move along the vertical direction (“second lifting device” (80), and a first driving member for driving the triangular lifting device to move [AltContent: textbox (Modified Yang Fig 2, wherein the apparatus has been modified to focus on the first pushing device, which is circle, and includes related driving members, plates, rails and slide blocks.)]
towards or away from the laminating drum (see Modified Yang Fig 2 below, component A).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yang teaches all limitation of claim 4 as set forth above. Additionally, Yang teaches that the triangular lifting device comprises a bottom plate (component B in Modified Yang Fig 2 above), a first inclined plate (component C in Modified Yang Fig 2 above) and a second inclined plate are provided on the bottom plate (component D in Modified Yang Fig 2 above), and the bottom plate , the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate are connected to form a triangular shape (see Modified Yang Fig 2 above); a first guide rail disposed on the bottom plate, a length direction of the first guide rail being the same as the second direction (component E in Modified Yang Fig 2 above); a first guide rail sliding block disposed on the frame and configured to cooperate with the first guide rail (component F in Modified Yang Fig 2 above); a second guide rail disposed on the first inclined plate (component G in Modified Yang Fig 2 above); and a second guide rail slide block arranged on the first belt layer front conveying template and used for matching with the second guide rail (component H in Modified Yang Fig 2 above), wherein the second guide rail slide block can drive the first belt layer front conveying template to slide on the second inclined plate, so that the first belt layer front conveying template can move in the vertical direction to approach or away from the laminating drum ([0040]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Yang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Yang does not explicitly teach that the systems comprises a first deviation correcting device for correcting the position of the first belt layer, wherein the first deviation correcting device comprises of a first detecting device disposed on the first belt layer conveyor template; a third guide rail slide block provided on the first belt layer rear conveying template; a third guide rail disposed on the frame and configured to cooperate with the third guide rail slider, wherein the length direction of the third guide rail is the same as the first direction; a second driving member arranged on said frame for driving said first belt layer and then transporting the first belt layer conveying template to move along said first direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date to do so, given that:
a) Yang teaches the use of deviation correcting devices (“belt layer guiding mechanism” (90), [0045]) but is silent on how said deviation correcting is achieved;
b) Lin, which is within the tire manufacturing art, teaches that a deviation correcting device for using with a belt feeding system that comprises of a first detecting device disposed on a conveyor template (“correction camera” (5-18)), a guide rail slide block provided on a rear conveying template ([0034] via mounting of "conveyor frame"), a guide rail disposed on the frame and configured to cooperate with the guide rail slider, wherein the length direction of the guide rail is the same as the first direction ("conveyor frame guide rail" (5-22)) and a driving member arranged on said frame for driving a belt layer and then transporting the conveying template to move along a first direction ("correction motor" (5-23)); and
c) the use of the deviation correcting device of Lin in Yang represents the simple substitution of one known element for another to yield the predictable result of more accurately manufacturing a tire (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Yang teaches that the tread conveying template comprising a contiguous, front tread conveying template (Fig 2, “fourth feeding assembly” (60)) and a rear end of the front tread conveying template is rotatably connected to the frame (Fig 2, [0051]-[0052]). While Yang does not explicitly teach that the tread conveying template comprises a trailing tread conveying template, that a front end of the front tread conveying template is provided with a fifth driving member for driving the front tread conveying template to move in a vertical direction so as to approach or move away from the attaching drum and that the trailing tread conveying template is slidably attached to the frame, and the direction of sliding of the trailing tread conveying template is the same as the first direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application date to do so, given that:
a1) Yang teaches that the fourth feeding assembly (60) is actuated to move into position ([0052]);
a2) Yang teaches that the various feeding assemblies comprise of driving members to actuate them into position ([0040] via “second lifting device” (80) and [0043] via “first lifting device” (70)); and
a3) a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the use of a lifting device with the fourth feeding assembly (60)) to achieve the intended purpose of actuating it into position similar to how lifting devices are used in other feeding assemblies;
b) Lin, which is within the tire manufacturing art teaches that a feeding system with a conveying template comprising a contiguous front conveying template (“conveyor template” (5-4)) that is rotatably attached to the system (Fig 23) with a driving member (“lifting cylinder” (5-35)) can further comprise of a trailing conveying template (“conveyor frame” (5-2)) with said trailing conveying template being slidably attached to the frame and the direction of sliding being the same as an axial direction of a laminating drum (“belt drum” (13), [0034]) for the benefit of enabling precise centering ([0034]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yang teaches all limitations of claim 11 as set forth above. Additionally, Lin teaches that the two stage-feeding system further comprises a third deviation correcting device for correcting the position of the tread, wherein the third deviation correcting device comprises a third detecting device provided on the front tread conveying template (“correction camera” (5-18)), a sixth rail slider positioned on the trailing tread conveying template ([0034] via mounting of “conveyor frame”), a sixth guide rail disposed on the rack and configured to cooperate with the sixth guide rail slider, wherein the length direction of the sixth guide rail is the same as the first direction (“conveyor frame guide rail” (5-22)), and a sixth driving member for moving the tread conveying template in the first direction after pushing the tread (“correction motor” (5-23)).
[AltContent: textbox (Second Modified Yang Fig 2, in which the locations of the first and second belt layer automatic feeding templates have been marked.)]
Regarding claim 13, modified Yang teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Yang teaches a first belt layer automatic feeding template which is provided after the first belt layer rear conveying template, and a second belt layer automatic feeding template which is provided after the second belt layer rear conveying template (see Second Modified Yang Fig 2 below).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches a two-stage forming machine, comprising the two-stage feeding system according to claim 1, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches a primary molding machine comprising two-stage molding machine, wherein the two-stage molding machine is the two-stage feeding system according to claim 14, as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art of record is Yang et al. (CN110901122) and Lin et al. (CN111086252), which teach all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Yang teaches that the second belt layer conveying template comprises a second belt layer front conveying template (“first bonding template” ([0039]) and a second belt layer rear conveying template which are positioned in close proximity and aligned with each other (“first feeding body” ([0033]) and the second belt layer front conveying template comprises a flat conveying template (“first bonding template” [0039]). However, the prior art combination fails to teach that the second belt layer front conveying template further comprises an arc-shaped conveying template provided at the front end of the flat conveying template, and the arc-shaped conveying template is used for adhering the second belt ply onto the laminating drum, the arc-shaped conveying template comprises an arc-shaped conveying template frame and a magnet base provided on the arc-shaped conveying template frame, and the magnet base is provided with a magnet for adsorbing the second belt layer. Examiner notes that while Yang does show arc-shaped conveying templates that are upstream of the second feeding structure (21) and first feeding structure (11), these templates are not being used to directly adhere a belt ply to a laminating drum but rather to feed a continuous strip of material for subsequent attachment downstream (see Fig 2) and there is no teaching or suggestion as to how such an arc-shaped conveying template would be utilized to do so without improper hindsight.
As claims 8-10 are dependent on claim 7, they are also objected to for similar reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In response to applicant' s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as set forth above, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to incorporate the sliding of rear conveying template in Lin into the apparatus of Yang for the benefit of enabling precise centering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER D BOOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749