DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/13/26 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 17 and 31, filed 9/9/26, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11-14 of the applicant’s response, the applicant argues that Liang nor OPPO teach “receiving a signal comprising an indication of one or more of the plurality of wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment”. Liang indicates the network in which a candidate UE is located and OPPO the serving PLMN of a relay.
Regarding the arguments above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. The limitation requires that the signal indicate the networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path. The information in Liang teaches not only the PLMN that the relay UE is located [0095], but also the RNA and the cell. Each of these provide an indication that the relay UE supports them (because it is connected to them). Therefore, as the claim language reads, Liang does teach the argued limitations.
On page 14 of the applicant’s response, the applicant argues that Liang nor OPPO teach the limitations of claim 15 and 16.
Regarding the arguments above, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Liang [0182] refers to figure 2, which refers to the connections presented in figure 1 and their methods. In figure 1, shows a direct connection as a piece of the route to the infrastructure/base station. Further [0192] discusses a base station connection that is direct. For claim 16, similarly, the path also includes the relay UE and use of the relay UE to the base station indicates support as shown in [0182].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al (Pub No: 2023/0026021), and further in view of OPPO: "KI#3, New Sol: New solution for Layer-2 based UE-to-Network Relay discovery and selection based on PLMN selection", 3GPP DRAFT S2-2006557, 2 September 2020 (2020-09-02), as disclosed in the IDS.
As to claim 1, Liang teaches a method of operating a communications device configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a first wireless communications network via an infrastructure equipment (Liang, Figure 1 [0056-59], operating a UE that transmits signals in a wireless network via a network device), the method comprising
determining that the communications device is to switch from a first path of communications with the infrastructure equipment to a second path of communications with the infrastructure equipment, wherein the second path comprises a relay node for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0052] determining reselection from a [0058] first path via UE 02 to a second path via other UE 02/candidate UE)
receiving a signal comprising an indication of one or more of the plurality of wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0068] [0078] [0081-0082], Step 201 relay related information is received corresponding to the candidate UE (second path relay) with a PLMN identifier (indication of supported networks), for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0058], the candidate UE is a relay which is the second path for relaying between the UE 03 and 01 infrastructure Fig 1)
determining, based on the received indication, if the first wireless communications network is among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0178][0180], Step 202b, the first UE determines the candidate UE that meets a first preset condition. The condition includes a first PLMN identifier of a candidate), and
switching, if the first wireless communications network is among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path, from the first path to the second path (Liang, [0179], triggering a reselection when the relay UE is a UE that meets the first preset condition…matches first PLMN identifier) .
Liang does not explicitly teach supporting radio access network, RAN, sharing between a plurality of wireless communications networks comprising the first wireless communications network.
However, OPPO teaches supporting radio access network, RAN, sharing between a plurality of wireless communications networks comprising the first wireless communications network (OPPO, Fig 6.X.1-1 Inter-PLMN Layer 2 Relay in case RAN sharing, in a configuration with a relay UE between a RAN and remote UE, sharing RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “RAN sharing” as taught by OPPO in the system of Liang, so that it shows that RAN sharing is well known in a relay UE and Remote UE setup (OPPPO, Discussion).
As to claim 2, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising receiving, from the relay node of the second path, a discovery signal, wherein the discovery signal comprises the indication of the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0074][0077], receiving a RRC broadcast message with the relay related information that has the PLMN supported).
As to claim 3, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches wherein the indication of the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path is comprised within a radio resource control, RRC, container of the discovery signal (Liang, [0074][0077], receiving a RRC broadcast message with the relay related information that has the PLMN supported)..
As to claim 4, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches wherein the one or more wireless communications networks that are indicated within the discovery signal as being supported by the relay node of the second path is only a subset of a plurality of wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (OPPO, page 3 Table 6.X.1-1, the relay indicates the serving PLMN information in a discover announce/response, relay forwards SI).
As to claim 5, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising receiving, from the infrastructure equipment, the indication of the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with supported PLMN corresponding to candidate UE [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection).
As to claim 6, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising receiving reference signals from the relay node of the second path, performing one or more measurements on the received reference signals, transmitting an indication of the performed one or more measurements to the infrastructure equipment, and receiving, in response to the transmitted indication of the performed one or more measurements, the indication of the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with supported PLMN corresponding to candidate UE [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection)..
As to claim 7, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches wherein the transmitted indication of the performed one or more measurements comprises a query by the communications device of the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with supported PLMN corresponding to candidate UE [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection)..
As to claim 8, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising receiving, from a core network via the infrastructure equipment, the indication of the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with supported PLMN corresponding to candidate UE [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection).
As to claim 9, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising determining, if the first wireless communications network is not among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path, that the communications device is not to transmit an indication of the relay node of the second path to the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with where the candidate UE PLMN does not match the first preset condition “not supported” [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection)..
As to claim 10, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising transmitting to the infrastructure equipment, if the first wireless communications network is not among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path, an indication of the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with where the candidate UE PLMN does not match the first preset condition “not supported” [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection).
As to claim 11, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches wherein the transmitted indication of the relay node of the second path comprises an indication that the relay node of the second path does not support the first wireless communications network (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with where the candidate UE PLMN does not match the first preset condition “not supported” [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection).
As to claim 12, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising determining, if the first wireless communications network is not among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with where the candidate UE PLMN does not match the first preset condition “not supported” [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection)., that the communications device is to switch from the first path to a third path of communications with the infrastructure equipment, wherein the third path comprises a second relay node for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment, the second relay node supporting the first wireless communications network (Liang, [0052] determining reselection from a [0058] first path via UE 02 to another path via other UE 02/candidate UE (multiple paths exist with different candidate relay UE)).
As to claim 13, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising receiving from the infrastructure equipment, if the first wireless communications network is not among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path, an indication that the communications device is not to switch from the first path to the second path (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with where the candidate UE PLMN does not match the first preset condition “not supported” [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection).
As to claim 14, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches comprising receiving from the infrastructure equipment, if the first wireless communications network is not among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path, an indication that the communications device is to perform a handover procedure from the infrastructure equipment to a second infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0077], receiving the relay related information with where the candidate UE PLMN does not match the first preset condition “not supported” [0166] the UE can determine whether to trigger reselection).
As to claim 15, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches wherein the first path comprises direct communications between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0182], direct communication link).
As to claim 16, the combination of Liang and OPPO teaches wherein the first path comprises a relay node for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment, wherein the first wireless communications network is supported by the relay node of the first path (Liang, [0182], the first route supports the current network).
As to claim 17, Liang teaches a communications device comprising transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a first wireless communications network via an infrastructure equipment (Liang, Figure 1 [0056-59], a UE that transmits signals in a wireless network via a network device), and controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry to
determine that the communications device is to switch from a first path of communications with the infrastructure equipment to a second path of communications with the infrastructure equipment, wherein the second path comprises a relay node for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0052] determining reselection from a [0058] first path via UE 02 to a second path via other UE 02/candidate UE),
to receive a signal comprising an indication of one or more of the plurality of wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0068] [0078] [0081-0082], Step 201 relay related information is received corresponding to the candidate UE (second path relay) with a PLMN identifier (indication of supported networks), for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0058], the candidate UE is a relay which is the second path for relaying between the UE 03 and 01 infrastructure Fig 1)
to determine, based on the received indication, if the first wireless communications network is among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0178][0180], Step 202b, the first UE determines the candidate UE that meets a first preset condition. The condition includes a first PLMN identifier of a candidate), and
to switch, if the first wireless communications network is among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path, from the first path to the second path (Liang, [0179], triggering a reselection when the relay UE is a UE that meets the first preset condition…matches first PLMN identifier).
Liang does not explicitly teach supporting radio access network, RAN, sharing between a plurality of wireless communications networks comprising the first wireless communications network.
However, OPPO teaches supporting radio access network, RAN, sharing between a plurality of wireless communications networks comprising the first wireless communications network (OPPO, Fig 6.X.1-1 Inter-PLMN Layer 2 Relay in case RAN sharing, in a configuration with a relay UE between a RAN and remote UE, sharing RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “RAN sharing” as taught by OPPO in the system of Liang, so that it shows that RAN sharing is well known in a relay UE and Remote UE setup (OPPPO, Discussion).
As to claim 31, Liang teaches an infrastructure equipment (Liang, Figure 1 [0056-59], a network device), the infrastructure equipment comprising transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a communications device via a first path of communications with the communications device, the transmitted and/or received signals being signals in accordance with a first of the wireless communications networks (Liang, Figure 1 [0056-59], communicate via a first path), and controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry to determine that a second path of communications with the communications device exists, the second path comprises a relay node for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0052] determining reselection from a [0058] first path via UE 02 to a second path via other UE 02/candidate UE), to determine, based on an indication received from the relay node of the second path, if the first wireless communications network is among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path, and to determine, if the first wireless communications network is among the one or more wireless communications networks that are supported by the relay node of the second path (Liang, [0178][0180], Step 202b, the first UE determines the candidate UE that meets a first preset condition. The condition includes a first PLMN identifier of a candidate), for relaying signals between the communications device and the infrastructure equipment (Liang, [0058], the candidate UE is a relay which is the second path for relaying between the UE 03 and 01 infrastructure Fig 1) that the communications device is able to switch the from the first path to the second path (Liang, [0179], triggering a reselection when the relay UE is a UE that meets the first preset condition…matches first PLMN identifier).
Liang does not explicitly teach supporting radio access network, RAN, sharing between a plurality of wireless communications networks comprising the first wireless communications network.
However, OPPO teaches supporting radio access network, RAN, sharing between a plurality of wireless communications networks comprising the first wireless communications network (OPPO, Fig 6.X.1-1 Inter-PLMN Layer 2 Relay in case RAN sharing, in a configuration with a relay UE between a RAN and remote UE, sharing RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “RAN sharing” as taught by OPPO in the system of Liang, so that it shows that RAN sharing is well known in a relay UE and Remote UE setup (OPPPO, Discussion).
As to claim 46, Liang teaches wherein the first wireless communications network is a home public land mobile network (PLMN) of the communications device (Liang, [0134][0139], the first UE is connected to a PLMN network)
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang and OPPO as applied to claims above, and further in view of Ryu (WO 2015026111).
As to claim 47, Liang teaches the indication received from the relay node of the second path.
Liang and OPPO does not explicitly teach is received by the infrastructure equipment when the relay node of the second path enters a connected mode with the infrastructure equipment.
However, Ryu (Ryu, Pg. 17 Paragraph 1, when a UE enters into a connected mode it advertises its capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “capability sharing upon connected mode” as taught by Ryu in the system of Liang and OPPO, because it would improve cell boundary throughput (Ryu, Pg. 2 Paragraph 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al (Pub No: 2023/0090887) [0059].
Van Phan et al (Pub No: 2024/0340984) [0083] [0098]
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469