DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter as follows. Claim 12 defines a program embodying functional descriptive material. However, the claim does not define a non-transitory computer-readable medium or memory and is thus non-statutory for that reason (i.e., “When functional descriptive material is recorded on some non-transitory computer-readable medium it becomes structurally and functionally interrelated to the medium and will be statutory in most cases since use of technology permits the function of the descriptive material to be realized” – Guidelines Annex IV). That is, the scope of the presently claimed a program can range from paper on which the program is written, to a program simply contemplated and memorized by a person.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENETTI et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0024733) in view of Suzuki (patent No. 4,125,025) further in view of Miyasako (Pub. No. US 2011/0317024).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 11 and 12, BENETTI teaches a personal care device (appliance/toothbrush) [fig. 1, 3 and related description] comprising: an image capture device adapted, in use, to capture images of one or more features of a user [Para. 61 “the appliance is in the form of a handheld appliance, which is in the form of an electric toothbrush having an integrated assembly for dispensing a working fluid for improved interproximal cleaning”; Para. 68 “The received light is conveyed to a camera 67 for capturing images of the illuminated oral cavity”; and “the images generated by the camera 67 can indicate the presence of plaque or an interproximal gap, or a gum line, in response to which the control circuit can activate the dental treatment system to treat the oral cavity”, Para. 1, and 68];
a vibrator (driver motor) adapted to vibrate (oscillate) the personal care device (appliance) so that, in use, the personal care device vibrates (oscillate) with a periodic vibration cycle having a vibration frequency (frequency F1) [Para. 70 “The drive unit comprises a drive motor 72 which is located within the body 16 of the handle 12”; Para. 71 “The drive unit is preferably arranged to oscillate the shaft 74 so that it oscillates about the longitudinal axis Z of the handle 12, preferably at a first frequency F1 in the range from 200 to 300 Hz”]; an illumination device (LEDS) configured, in use, to generate a pulsed illumination (illumination events) for illuminating part of the user [Para. 12 “The illuminating means preferably comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs).”; Para. 17 “In one embodiment, the illuminating means illuminates the optical cavity at a frequency F2 of 250 Hz, and so there are 250 pulsed illuminations of the oral cavity, or “illumination events”, each second”];
BENETTI teaches a control unit adapted to control the illumination device (LEDs) to generate pulses of illumination (events) [Para. 80].
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Suzuki teaches a control unit adapted to control the illumination device to generate two or more pulses of illumination during a single vibration cycle of the personal care device [Col. 2 lines 39-44 “Assume now that the stroboscope S flashes at a frequency which is twice as high as that of the vibration of the vibrating object O and that these flashes occur one at the top and one at the bottom of each vibration cycle, that is when the vibration amplitude is at its maximum positive and negative values”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s control circuit 56 for actuating LEDs 65 by incorporating Suzuki’s twice per cycle stroboscopic timing so that the LEDs generate two pulses of illumination during a single vibration cycle, one at each extremal portion of BENETTI’s oscillating bristle carrier movement. This medication improves BENETTI by increasing the number of short, phase synchronized illumination opportunities during each oscillation cycle while preserving motion freezing illumination timing for improved image capture.
BENETTI teaches wherein the control unit (control circuit 56) is adapted to control the illumination device (LEDs) to generate a pulse of illumination [Para. 80].
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Suzuki teaches wherein the control unit is adapted to control the illumination device to generate a first pulse of illumination during the first portion of the vibration cycle and to generate a second pulse of illumination during the second portion of the vibration cycle (one at the top and one at the bottom of each vibration cycle) [Col. 2 lines 39-45 “Assume now that the stroboscope S flashes at a frequency which is twice as high as that of the vibration of the vibrating object O and that these flashes occur one at the top and one at the bottom of each vibration cycle, that is when the vibration amplitude is at its maximum positive and negative values”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s LED activation at position M by incorporating Suzuki’s twice per vibration cycle stroboscopic timing so that BENETTI’s LEDs generate a first pulse at one angular extremum and a second pulse at the opposite angular extremum of the bristle carrier. This modification improves BENETTI by synchronizing separate illumination pulses to the low motion end portions of the oscillation cycle, thereby reducing motion artifacts while providing two illuminated imaging opportunities per cycle.
BENETTI teaches first and second portion (first angular position, second angular position) of the vibration cycle [Para. 72 “With reference to FIG. 8(a), in this embodiment, the bristle carrier 26 is moved about the longitudinal axis Z of the handle 12 between a first angular position, indicated at R in FIG. 8(a) and a second angular position, indicated at L in FIG. 8(a), which are each angularly spaced from a central reference position, indicated at M in FIG. 8(a), by the angle α.”];
However, BENETTI in view of Suzuki doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Miyasako teaches processor arrangement (fixed point capturing determination unit 125) configured to determine, as a target part of the vibration cycle, first and second portions of the vibration cycle for which the angular velocity (angular velocity data) of a part of the personal care device meets a predetermined requirement (threshold fix_gyro_th) [Para. 50 “The fixed point capturing determination unit 125 determines in step S101 whether or not the angular velocity data as the output from the A/D converter 105 is smaller than a threshold Fix_gyro_th. If the angular velocity data is smaller than the threshold Fix_gyro_th, the process advances to step S102”; Para. 57 “In the fixed point capturing state, the angular velocity data is stably output to always fall below the threshold Fix_gyro_th, as shown in FIG. 6A”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s control circuit 56 and oscillation timing logic by incorporating Miyasako in view of Suzuki’s processor arrangement and angular velocity threshold logic to determine target portions when angular velocity meets the predetermined requirement of being below the threshold. This modification improves BENETTI by providing an objective angular velocity-based rule for selecting low motion portions of the angularly oscillating bristle carrier, thereby reducing blur in captured oral cavity images.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENETTI et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0024733) in view of Suzuki (patent No. 4,125,025) further in view of SCHREIER (Pub. No. US 2013/0329953).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, BENETTI teaches a personal care device (appliance/toothbrush) [fig. 1, 3 and related description] comprising: an image capture device adapted, in use, to capture images of one or more features of a user [Para. 61 “the appliance is in the form of a handheld appliance, which is in the form of an electric toothbrush having an integrated assembly for dispensing a working fluid for improved interproximal cleaning”; Para. 68 “The received light is conveyed to a camera 67 for capturing images of the illuminated oral cavity”; and “the images generated by the camera 67 can indicate the presence of plaque or an interproximal gap, or a gum line, in response to which the control circuit can activate the dental treatment system to treat the oral cavity”, Para. 1, and 68]; a vibrator (driver motor) adapted to vibrate (oscillate) the personal care device (appliance) so that, in use, the personal care device vibrates (oscillate) with a periodic vibration cycle having a vibration frequency (frequency F1) [Para. 70 “The drive unit comprises a drive motor 72 which is located within the body 16 of the handle 12”; Para. 71 “The drive unit is preferably arranged to oscillate the shaft 74 so that it oscillates about the longitudinal axis Z of the handle 12, preferably at a first frequency F1 in the range from 200 to 300 Hz”]; an illumination device (LEDS) configured, in use, to generate a pulsed illumination (illumination events) for illuminating part of the user [Para. 12 “The illuminating means preferably comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs).”; Para. 17 “In one embodiment, the illuminating means illuminates the optical cavity at a frequency F2 of 250 Hz, and so there are 250 pulsed illuminations of the oral cavity, or “illumination events”, each second”];
BENETTI teaches a control unit adapted to control the illumination device (LEDs) to generate pulses of illumination (events) [Para. 80].
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Suzuki teaches a control unit adapted to control the illumination device to generate two or more pulses of illumination during a single vibration cycle of the personal care device [Col. 2 lines 39-44 “Assume now that the stroboscope S flashes at a frequency which is twice as high as that of the vibration of the vibrating object O and that these flashes occur one at the top and one at the bottom of each vibration cycle, that is when the vibration amplitude is at its maximum positive and negative values”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s control circuit 56 for actuating LEDs 65 by incorporating Suzuki’s twice per cycle stroboscopic timing so that the LEDs generate two pulses of illumination during a single vibration cycle, one at each extremal portion of BENETTI’s oscillating bristle carrier movement. This medication improves BENETTI by increasing the number of short, phase synchronized illumination opportunities during each oscillation cycle while preserving motion freezing illumination timing for improved image capture.
BENETTI teaches a control unit adapted to control the illumination device (LEDs) to generate pulses of illumination (events) [Para. 80].
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Suzuki teaches wherein the control unit is adapted to control the illumination device to generate a first pulse of illumination during the first portion of the vibration cycle and to generate a second pulse of illumination during the second portion of the vibration cycle (one at the top and one at the bottom of each vibration cycle) [Col. 2 lines 39-45 “Assume now that the stroboscope S flashes at a frequency which is twice as high as that of the vibration of the vibrating object O and that these flashes occur one at the top and one at the bottom of each vibration cycle, that is when the vibration amplitude is at its maximum positive and negative values”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s LED activation at position M by incorporating Suzuki’s twice per vibration cycle stroboscopic timing so that BENETTI’s LEDs generate a first pulse at one angular extremum and a second pulse at the opposite angular extremum of the bristle carrier. This modification improves BENETTI by synchronizing separate illumination pulses to the low motion end portions of the oscillation cycle, thereby reducing motion artifacts while providing two illuminated imaging opportunities per cycle.
BENETTI teaches processor arrangement configured to determine the first and second portions of the vibration cycle [Para. 72 “the bristle carrier 26 is moved about the longitudinal axis Z of the handle 12 between a first angular position, indicated at R in FIG. 8(a) and a second angular position, indicated at L in FIG. 8(a), which are each angularly spaced from a central reference position, indicated at M in FIG. 8(a), by the angle α.” And, first 3 and related description];
However, BENETTI in view of Suzuki doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitation.
SCHREIER teaches a processor arrangement configured to determine, as a target part (time of interest) of the vibration cycle, first and second portions (reversal points) of the vibration cycle for which the angular velocity (object 1 speed) of a part of the personal care device meets a predetermined requirement (object 1 speed is low) [Para. 41 “the synchronization unit 12 can determine one or more parameters regarding oscillations or other excitation performed by the excitation unit 22 (e.g., a time of interest related to an occurrence of an oscillation or related pattern or specific movement begins or occurs, a force, direction, etc. of an oscillation or other movement, and/or the like), and can use this information to accordingly synchronize image recording device 3 and/or illuminating device 2 actions with the oscillation or other movement”; Para. 75 “For those cases where the periodic response as a function of phase has been determined, special emphasis may be placed on the reversal points, e.g., at maximum amplitude or minimum amplitude where the object 1 speed is low”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI in view of Suzuki’s LED timing control by incorporating SCHREIER’s synchronization unit determination of a target part (time of interest) at first and second portions (reversal points) where angular velocity (object 1 speed) meets a predetermined requirement (object 1 speed is low) and applying that timing to BENETTI’s angularly oscillating bristle carrier. This modification improves BENETTI by timing illumination to lower motion portions of the angular oscillation, thereby reducing blur in oral-cavity images captured by the camera.
Regarding claim 2, BENETTI teaches wherein the personal care device comprises a toothbrush (fig. 1 and related description), and wherein the illumination device is configured, in use, to generate a pulsed illumination for illuminating part of the user's oral cavity [Para. 39 “Alternatively, the appliance may be in the form of a toothbrush which has the additional function of improved interproximal cleaning through the emission of working fluid into the interproximal gap”; Para. 68 “The optical system comprises a plurality of LEDs 65 for illuminating the oral cavity, and a window 66 for receiving light from the oral cavity”; and Para. 17 “ the illuminating means illuminates the optical cavity at a frequency F2 of 250 Hz, and so there are 250 pulsed illuminations of the oral cavity, or “illumination events”, each second”].
Regarding claim 3, BENETTI teaches the control unit is adapted to control the illumination device to generate a pulsed illumination at a frequency related to the vibration frequency [Para. 71 and 80].
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Suzuki teaches wherein the control unit is adapted to control the illumination device to a generate a pulsed illumination at an integer multiple of twice the vibration frequency of the vibration cycle [Col. 2 lines 39-45 “Assume now that the stroboscope S flashes at a frequency which is twice as high as that of the vibration of the vibrating object O and that these flashes occur one at the top and one at the bottom of each vibration cycle, that is when the vibration amplitude is at its maximum positive and negative values”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s LED activation at position M by incorporating Suzuki’s twice per vibration cycle stroboscopic timing so that BENETTI’s LEDs generate a first pulse at one angular extremum and a second pulse at the opposite angular extremum of the bristle carrier. This modification improves BENETTI by synchronizing separate illumination pulses to the low motion end portions of the oscillation cycle, thereby reducing motion artifacts while providing two illuminated imaging opportunities per cycle.
Regarding claim 5, BENETTI teaches the control unit is adapted to control the illumination device to generate a pulsed illumination at a frequency related to the vibration frequency [Para. 71 and 80].
However, BENETTI in view of Suzuki doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
SCHREIER teaches wherein the image capture device comprises a camera, and wherein the control unit is adapted to control the camera to capture first and second images during the first and second portions of the vibration cycle, respectively [Para. 53, and 68].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI in view of Suzuki’s LED timing control by incorporating SCHREIER’s synchronization unit determination of a target part (time of interest) at first and second portions (reversal points) where angular velocity (object 1 speed) meets a predetermined requirement (object 1 speed is low) and applying that timing to BENETTI’s angularly oscillating bristle carrier. This modification improves BENETTI by timing illumination to lower motion portions of the angular oscillation, thereby reducing blur in oral-cavity images captured by the camera.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENETTI et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0024733) in view of Suzuki (patent No. 4,125,025) further in view of SCHREIER (Pub. No. US 2013/0329953) and further in view of Artsyukhovisch et al. (Pub. No. US 2011/0230728).
Regarding claim 4, BENETTI teaches the control unit is adapted to control the illumination device to generate a pulsed illumination at a frequency related to the vibration frequency [Para. 71 and 80].
However, BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Artsyukhovisch teaches where the control unit is adapted to set an illumination duration of the illumination device to be less than or equal to a quarter of the period of the vibration waveform, and more preferably less than or equal to an eighth of the period of the vibration waveform, and even more preferably less than or equal to a sixteenth of the period of the vibration waveform [Para. 15 “Conventional high-power LEDs are readily capable of providing light pulses as short as 1 .mu.s.”; Para. 14 “To provide a stroboscopic illumination for a vibrating surgical tool, the pulse repetition frequency (PRF) for the electrical pulses provided by pulse generator 105 is selected responsive to the vibration frequency for the particular vibrating surgical tool being illuminated”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by Artsyukhovisch; because the modification improves BENETTI by making each illumination pulse short relative to the 250Hz vibration period, thereby reducing motion blur during image capture.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENETTI et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0024733) in view of Suzuki (patent No. 4,125,025) further in view of SCHREIER (Pub. No. US 2013/0329953), and further in view of Dyer (Pub. No. US 2016/0360086).
BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER doesn’t
explicitly teach the claim limitation.
However, Dyer teaches an image processor configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the first and second images [Para. 14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER’s control circuit image processing path by incorporating Dyer’s image reconstruction processing, so that the images captured at the first and second portions are registered and reconstructed into an improved image. This modification improves BENETTI by using multiple captured images to generate a more complete or higher quality reconstructed oral cavity image.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENETTI et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0024733) in view of Suzuki (patent No. 4,125,025) further in view of SCHREIER (Pub. No. US 2013/0329953) and Dyer (Pub. No. US 2016/0360086), and further in view of Miyasako (Pub. No. US 2011/0317024).
Regarding claim 7, BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER and Dyer doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Miyasako teaches wherein the predetermined requirement is that the magnitude of the sensed angular velocity does not exceed a first velocity threshold value [Para. 46 and 54].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER and Dyer to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by Miyasako; because the modification improves the combination by giving the low motion selection an objective sensor-based threshold, thereby improving blur reduction and repeatability.
Regarding claim 9, BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER and Dyer doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, Miyasako teaches wherein the predetermined requirement is that the magnitude of the sensed angular velocity exceeds a second velocity threshold value, and wherein the image processor is configured to process the first and second images with an image combination algorithm to generate a reconstructed image based on the first and second images [Para. 53, 63, and 64].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER and Dyer to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by Miyasako; because the modification improves the combination by giving the low motion selection an objective sensor-based threshold, thereby improving blur reduction and repeatability.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENETTI et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0024733) in view of Suzuki (patent No. 4,125,025) further in view of SCHREIER (Pub. No. US 2013/0329953) and Dyer (Pub. No. US 2016/0360086), and further in view of KARANDE (Pub. No. US 2017/0024864).
Regarding claim 8, BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER and Dyer doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, KARANDE teaches wherein the image processor is configured to process the first and second images with an image processing algorithm to identify a target region of each of the first and second image, to extract image data from the identified target regions, and to generate a reconstructed image comprising the extracted image data [Para. 54, and 69].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify BENETTI in view of Suzuki further in view of SCHEREIER and Dyer to teach the claim limitations, feature as taught by KARANDE; because the modification improves the combination by giving the low motion selection an objective sensor-based threshold, thereby improving blur reduction and repeatability.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BENETTI et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0024733) in view of SCHREIER (Pub. No. US 2013/0329953).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, BENETTI teaches a method of controlling a personal care device (appliance), wherein the personal care device comprises:
an image capture device adapted, in use, to capture images of one or more features of a user [Para. 61 “the appliance is in the form of a handheld appliance, which is in the form of an electric toothbrush having an integrated assembly for dispensing a working fluid for improved interproximal cleaning”; Para. 68 “The received light is conveyed to a camera 67 for capturing images of the illuminated oral cavity”; and “the images generated by the camera 67 can indicate the presence of plaque or an interproximal gap, or a gum line, in response to which the control circuit can activate the dental treatment system to treat the oral cavity”]; a vibrator (drive motor) adapted to vibrate (oscillate) the personal care device (appliance) so that, in use, the personal care device vibrates with a periodic vibration cycle having a vibration frequency (frequency F1) [Para. 70 “The drive unit comprises a drive motor 72 which is located within the body 16 of the handle 12”; Para. 71 “The drive unit is preferably arranged to oscillate the shaft 74 so that it oscillates about the longitudinal axis Z of the handle 12, preferably at a first frequency F1 in the range from 200 to 300 Hz.”]; an illumination device (LEDs) configured, in use, to generate a pulsed illumination (illumination events) for illuminating part of the user [Para. 12 “The illuminating means preferably comprises one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs)”; Para. 17 “In one embodiment, the illuminating means illuminates the optical cavity at a frequency F2 of 250 Hz, and so there are 250 pulsed illuminations of the oral cavity, or “illumination events”, each second”];
BENETTI teaches wherein the method comprises: processor arrangement configured to determine the first and second portions of the vibration cycle [Para. 72 “the bristle carrier 26 is moved about the longitudinal axis Z of the handle 12 between a first angular position, indicated at R in FIG. 8(a) and a second angular position, indicated at L in FIG. 8(a), which are each angularly spaced from a central reference position, indicated at M in FIG. 8(a), by the angle α.” And, first 3 and related description];
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitation.
SCHREIER teaches determining, as a target part (time of interest) of the vibration cycle, first and second portions (reversal points) of the vibration cycle for which the angular velocity (object 1 speed) of a part of the personal care device meets a predetermined requirement (object 1 speed is low) [Para. 41 “the synchronization unit 12 can determine one or more parameters regarding oscillations or other excitation performed by the excitation unit 22 (e.g., a time of interest related to an occurrence of an oscillation or related pattern or specific movement begins or occurs, a force, direction, etc. of an oscillation or other movement, and/or the like), and can use this information to accordingly synchronize image recording device 3 and/or illuminating device 2 actions with the oscillation or other movement”; Para. 75 “For those cases where the periodic response as a function of phase has been determined, special emphasis may be placed on the reversal points, e.g., at maximum amplitude or minimum amplitude where the object 1 speed is low”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s LED timing control by incorporating SCHREIER’s synchronization unit determination of a target part (time of interest) at first and second portions (reversal points) where angular velocity (object 1 speed) meets a predetermined requirement (object 1 speed is low) and applying that timing to BENETTI’s angularly oscillating bristle carrier. This modification improves BENETTI by timing illumination to lower motion portions of the angular oscillation, thereby reducing blur in oral-cavity images captured by the camera.
BENETTI teaches controlling the illumination device to generate pulses of illumination (illumination events) [Para. 80 “the control circuit 56 is arranged to actuate the LEDs 65 to illuminate the oral cavity at a second frequency F2 to generate a plurality of illumination events each second.”].
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitation.
SCHREIER teaches controlling the illumination device to generate two or more pulses of illumination (rectangular pulses 6, 7) during a single vibration cycle (cycle of oscillation) of the personal care device [Para. 67 “image analyzing device 24, or another device that receives motion, deformation, etc. information from the image analyzing device 24, can obtain and process at least two measurements per cycle of oscillation so that the well-known Nyquist criterion for reconstruction of the periodic response is not violated.”; and Para. 53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s control circuit for actuating the LEDs by incorporating SCHREIER’s trigger signal control of two or more pulses of illumination (rectangular pulses 6, 7) during a single vibration cycle (cycle of oscillation) of BENETTI’s oscillating bristle carrier. This modification improves BENETTI by providing multiple short, phase-controlled illumination events during the same oscillation cycle, thereby increasing usable illuminated image acquisition opportunities while reducing motion blur.
BENETTI teaches wherein control the illumination device (LEDs) comprises controlling the illumination device (LEDs) to generate a pulse of illumination [Para. 80].
However, BENETTI doesn’t explicitly teach rest of claim limitations.
SCHREIER teaches wherein control the illumination device comprises controlling the illumination device to generate a first pulse of illumination during the first portion of the vibration cycle and to generate a second pulse of illumination during (rectangular pulses 6, 7) the second portion of the vibration cycle (relative phase positions 13) [Para. 68 “In one embodiment, the synchronization unit 12 can select relative phase positions 13 of the trigger times (represented by rectangular pulses 6, 7) relative to the observed or known oscillation process of excitation unit 22 or the related object 1 being oscillated.” And Para. 53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data to modify BENETTI’s LED activation at position M by incorporating Schreir’s trigger signal control at selected positions of the vibration cycle (relative phase positions 13) to generate a first pulse and a second pulse of illumination (rectangular pulses 6, 7) during respective positions of BENETTI’s oscillation cycle. This medication improves BENETTI by synchronizing separate LED flashes to selected phase portions of the angular vibration, thereby freezing image acquisition at selected portions and reducing motion artifacts.
Conclusion
/SOLOMON G BEZUAYEHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666