DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant’s preliminary amendments to the claims filed on 24 June 2024 have been entered and considered for this action.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 24 June 2024 has been received and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8-9, and 15 are objected to because of the following minor informalities.
In claim 1, “In a separation step” should not start with a capital letter, “ratio (H+(SA) I H+(L))” should be replaced with “ratio (H+(SA) : H+(L))”, and “molar ratio (H+(L) I Ca)” should be replaced with “molar ratio (H+(L) : Ca)”;
Claim 8 should read “has a duration less
In claim 9, the spaces following the decimal in “1.3” and “1.9” should be deleted.
In claim 10, “ratio (H+(SA) I H+(L))” should be replaced with “ratio (H+(SA) : H+(L))”;
In claim 11, “molar ratio (H+(L)Z Ca)” should be replaced with “molar ratio (H+(L) : Ca)”;
Claims 15 should use proper chemical subscripts for the formulas recited therein, the “m(CaSC>4)” should be replaced with ”m(CaSO4)”, and the % symbol in “and 30%”, which appears to have been removed in the preliminary amendment, should be reinserted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation “ashes” and the claim also recites “preferably ashes from one or more of incinerated sewage sludge, bones, manure” which is the narrower statement of limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
It is also unclear if everything following the word “preferably” is mere preference, or if the term only extends to the source of the ashes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hague (US 4,012,491 A) in view of Wavreille (US 2020/0165133 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hauge teaches a process for producing a phosphate containing product from a phosphate source (col. 1, lines 13-15), the process comprising:
feeding one a reactor with a raw material issued from a phosphate source, the raw material comprising an equivalent amount of P2O5 at a level or 8.50 wt% (Calif. Ore in Table, row 1);
in a digestion step, digesting the raw material with a digestion liquor in the reactor (leaching in a leaching vessel; col. 6, lines 35-40), wherein the digestion liquor (leach acid) is an aqueous solution of sulfuric acid and the mineral acid HCl, wherein the ratio of a mole content of H+ issued from the sulfuric acid to a mole content of H+ ions in the digestion liquor is 75% (0.75 moles HCl, 1.125 moles H2SO4, for a total of 3 moles H+ wherein 2.25 moles come from H2SO4; col. 3, lines 58-60) to form a digested suspension comprising an aqueous phosphate rich solution comprising phosphate ions (leach liquor) and a first solid phase containing calcium sulfate and impurities (slurry comprising ore tailings and gypsum; col. 7, lines 26-30 and 39-53), wherein the digestion step occurs at approximately 50 °C (120 °F; col. 7, line 11) and has a duration of less than about 30 min (col. 7, lines 8-11); and,
in a separation step, separating the digested suspension into the aqueous rich solution and the first solid phase (col. 7, lines 38-53).
Hague further teaches that the phosphatic material subjected to leaching contains about 1 mole of calcium for 1 mole of P2O5, or 56 g CaO equivalent per 142 g of P2O5 equivalent (col. 3, lines 21-23), and therefore a phosphate source that is 8.50 wt% P2O5 would be about 3.35 wt% CaO, thereby meeting the limitation of having a required calcium amount of at least 0.7 wt% CaO.
Hague does not teach that the digestion liquor is added to the raw material in an amount such that a molar ratio of the total amount of H+ ions in the digestion liquor to the total amount of calcium atoms present in both the digestion liquor and the raw material is between 0.8 and 1.95.
However, Hague does teach that there should be control of the amount of the calcium coming into solution from the phosphatic mineral source, and that both too much calcium and too little are detrimental (col. 4, lines 41-57). Hague further teaches that there should be a sufficient quantity of acid present to replace the calcium ion in the phosphorus material source, but not an excess of hydrogen as in other process in the prior art (col. 2, lines 37-42).
Additionally, Wavreille teaches a similar process of leaching phosphate from a phosphate source using acid solution (abstract) and Wavreille further teaches that the ratio of sulfate to calcium should be within a range or 0.6 to 0.8.
It is noted that Hague’s method utilizes an acid solution with 3 moles of H+ provided from 1.125 mole H2SO4 and 0.75 mol HCl; i.e., each 1.125 mole sulfate is accompanied by 3 moles of H+. Therefore, applying Wavreille’s teaching on amount of sulfate to Hague’s method utilizing mixed acids would lead one to a method that utilizes 1.6-2.1 moles of H+ for each mole of calcium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to in the method of Hague add an amount of digestion liquor (leach acid) to the raw material in an amount such that a molar ratio of the total amount of sulfate ions in the digestion liquor to the total amount of calcium atoms present in both the digestion liquor and the raw material is between 0.6 and 0.8, as taught by Wavreille, thereby arriving at a method where the molar ratio of the total amount of H+ ions in the digestion liquor to the total amount of calcium atoms present in both the digestion liquor and the raw material is between 1.6 and 2.1, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of between 0.8 and 1.9. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wavreille teaches that this ratio of sulfate to calcium reduces sulfuric acid consumption, provides great flexibility of the method ([0035]), and enables the extraction of MCP with high recovery ([0065]).
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Furthermore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the ratio of acid to calcium by routine experimentation, including into the claimed range, because Hague teaches that there should be precise control over the amount of calcium coming into solution and that one should use a sufficient amount of acid to remove calcium from the phosphate material without using too much acid.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hague teaches the method of claim 1 where Hague teaches the solid phosphate source contains calcium in an amount of at least the required calcium amount, approximately 3.35 wt% as analyzed for claim 1, and thus forms the raw material.
Regarding claim 3, modified Hague teaches the method of claim 1 where Hague teaches the one or more mineral acid is hydrochloric acid or nitric acid (col. 3, lines 58-60).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hague teaches the method of claim 1, and Hague further teaches that a portion of the aqueous phosphate rich solution can be recirculated into the digestion step as a component of the digestion liquor (col. 8, lines 19-22 and lines 48-55).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where Hague teaches the at least one raw material comprises phosphate in an amount of 8.50 wt% for Calif Ore, but also 17.4 wt%-35.5% P2O5 for other ores treated in Table 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to us raw materials comprising phosphate in these amounts, thereby meeting the limitation of the instant claim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hague teaches that their method extracts phosphate from these phosphate-rich materials with high efficiency (Table 1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1 where Hague teaches the phosphate source is a phosphate ore (Table 1 and col. 9, lines 65-68).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where Hague teaches the digestion step occurs at approximately 50 °C (120 °F; col. 7, line 11). While Hague does not specify the pressure at which the digestion takes place, in the absence of instruction to operate at high or low pressure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to carry out the digestion step at atmospheric pressure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because this is generally the most operationally simple pressure at which to operate, and no other conditions are suggested.
Regarding claim 8, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where Hague teaches the digestion step has a duration of less than about 30 minutes (col. 7, lines 8-11).
Regarding claim 9, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where a combined concentration of the sulfuric acid and the one or more mineral acids in the digestion liquor is 0.1276 tons of acid 0.8724 tons of water (col. 4, lines 3-5), for an overall concentration of 12.8 wt%, which falls within the claimed range of less than 20 wt%.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where Hague teaches one embodiment where the ratio of hydrochloric acid to sulfuric acid is 0.75 moles HCl to 1.125 mole H2SO4, or 1:1.5, for a ratio of H+ from each being 1:3 and a mole content of H+ issued from the sulphuric acid to the total amount of H+ ions in the digestion liquor of 3:4, or 75%. However, Hague further teaches that the ratio of H+ being issued from each acid may be anywhere in the range of 1:2 to 1:4 (col. 2, line 15 and Fig. 2), for a mole content of H+ issued from the sulphuric acid to the total amount of H+ ions in the digestion liquor of 2:3 to 4:5, or 67-80%, which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 5% to 70%.
It is again noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 11, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where the combination of Hague and Wavreille suggest a method that utilizes 1.6-2.1 moles of H+ for each mole of calcium in both the digestion liquor and the raw material, as analyzed for claim 1. This range overlaps with the instantly claimed range of 1.3 to 1.9.
It is again noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the values of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 12, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where Hague teaches the aqueous phosphate rich solution is neutralized in a neutralizing step to form dicalcium phosphate, wherein the neutralization step is performed in presence of a source of calcium that is calcium carbonate or calcium hydroxide (col. 8, lines 28-44, and Fig. 3 showing DCP).
Regarding claim 13, modified Hague teaches the method of claim 12, where Hague further teaches the DCP is processed to produce an animal feed or fertilizer (col. 8, lines 44-46).
Regarding claim 14, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where the reactor is fed with the digestion liquor formed by mixing the aqueous solution of sulphuric acid and the aqueous solution of hydrochloric acid (claim 1, step 1 forms the leach acid) prior to feeding into the reactor (step 2 will involve feeding into a reactor). Figure 3 of Hague also shows a mixer (12) whose contents are then fed to the leach drum (4). While the mixer in Figure 3 depicts NaCl and H2SO4 being mixed, based upon the broader teaching of Hague (e.g., col. 3, lines 58-60) it would have also been obvious to mix HCl itself with H2SO4 in this mixer, rather than to form HCl from NaCl and H2SO4, as implied by the figure.
It is also noted that the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930); Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959)). See MPEP §2144.04 IV C. Thus, the claimed order of adding the mixed acid to a reactor prior to adding the phosphate ore is considered an obvious variant of the steps in the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 15, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where Hague teaches from 95.0-95.4%% of the P2O5 content of the ores is successfully extracted (Table 1, first 4 ores), which implies a P2O5 loss ratio of from 4.6 to 5.0%, where Fig. 3 shows the losses from the process are in the first solid phase (Tails), thereby meeting the limitation of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where the one or more mineral acids is hydrochloric acid (col. 3, lines 58-60).
Regarding claim 17, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 4, but is silent on the portion of the aqueous phosphate rich solution being recirculated.
However, the fact that Hague teaches that the phosphorus rich liquid is routed in many directions (see streams emerging from the bottom of filter (6) in Fig. 3), without specifying the portion of each stream for each purpose, would render it obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize by routine experimentation the portions of the phosphorus rich stream that is recirculated as a component of the digesting liquor, including to amounts in the instantly claimed range. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because there are many uses of the aqueous phosphate rich liquid streams and Hague does not specify the amounts of each steam, leaving it up to the artisan to determine.
It is also noted that the courts have also found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the process in the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 18, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 12, where Hague teaches that in the neutralization step the pH reaches 4.4 (col. 8, lines 31-32).
Regarding claim 19, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 2, and claim 19 only further limits an optional limitation of claim 2. As the method of modified Hague meets the limitation of claim 2 without using lime derivatives, the method taught by Hague also meets the limitations of claim 19.
It is noted however, that should claim 19 require the addition of a lime derivative chosen from those recited in the instant claim, that Wavreille teaches the addition of calcium sources including lime milk to a phosphorus source material that lacks calcium ([0106]).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hague (US 4,012,491 A) in view of Wavreille (US 2020/0165133 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hague ‘738 (US 4,088,738 A).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, modified Hague teaches the process of claim 1, where Hague also appears to teach the limitations of claims 4 and 17, as analyzed above. However, in case the term “a portion of the aqueous phosphate rich solution (P1)” is interpreted as requiring this liquid to be recirculated prior to any further manipulation, Hague ‘491 may not teach the limitations of claims 4 and 17.
However, Hague ‘738 teaches a substantially similar process for making phosphoric acid and calcium sulfate from phosphorus ores (abstract) and further teaches that a portion of the aqueous phosphate rich solution (phosphoric acid solution) may be recirculated directly as a component of the digesting liquor (col. 9, lines 18-22 and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recirculate a portion of the aqueous phosphate rich solution in the method of modified Hague as a component of the digesting liquor, as taught by Hague ‘738. It would have been further obvious to optimize by routine experimentation the amount of P1 that is recirculated for this purpose, including into the claimed range of 1% to 49%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to recirculate some of the liquid because Hague ‘738 teaches that it may be desirable to do so in a substantially similar method, and they would have been motivated to optimize the amount of the liquid P1 that is directed to this use because Hague ‘738 teaches that only a portion should be diverted such, but does not specify how much.
It is also noted that the courts have also found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II. Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the process of the cited prior art.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735