Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 17 February 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 14-20 have been added. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with only claims 1 and 14 being independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 June 2004 and 2 October 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ichikawa (US 2021/0111514; hereinafter ‘Ichikawa’).
Regarding claim 1, Ichikawa discloses an attachment device (at least 100; as seen in at least figs. 1-3) attachable to a cable connector (120; as seen in at least fig. 3) disposed at an end of a cable (124; at least fig. 3) and configured to establish a connection between the cable (124) and an input device (200; at least figs. 1-3), the attachment device comprising: a connector retaining section (102; at least figs. 1-3) that is attachable to and detachable from the cable connector (120); and an engagement member (110; at least fig. 3) that is provided on the connector retaining section (102), wherein the engagement member (110) includes at least one engagement section (fig. 3 shows two engagement sections) for engaging with the input device; and the engagement member (110) is movable between a protrusion position and an accommodation position, the protrusion position (at least 112; as disclosed in at least paragraph [0061]; as seen in at least fig. 7) being a position where the at least one engagement section is protruded from the connector retaining section, the accommodation position being a position where the at least one engagement section is accommodated in the connector retaining section (as seen in at least figs. 1-7).
Regarding claim 2, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 1, further comprising: an operation member (at least 108), wherein the engagement member, when in the protrusion position, is movable between a position for an engaged posture and a position for a disengaged posture, the engaged posture being a posture where the engagement section engages with the input device, the disengaged posture being a posture where the engagement section does not engage with the input device, and the operation member is movable relative to the engagement member between an engagement operation position and a disengagement operation position, the engagement operation position being a position for placing the engagement member in the engaged posture, the disengagement operation position being a position for placing the engagement member in the disengaged posture (as disclosed in paragraph [0072-0076]).
Regarding claim 3, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 2, wherein the operation member (108), when in the disengagement operation position, is configured to press a first section of the engagement member to place the engagement member (110) in the disengaged posture (as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0072-0073]), and the operation member (108), when in the engagement operation position, is configured to press a second section of the engagement member to place the engagement member in the engaged posture (as seen in at least fig. 7 and as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0072-0076]).
Regarding claim 4, Ichikawa the attachment device of claim 2, wherein the engagement member (110) is supported such that the at least one engagement section (112) is movable in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to a first direction in which the cable connector and a connector of the input device fit together, and the operation member is movable relative to the engagement member in the first direction (wherein the first direction is inserting into the connector and the second is perpendicular thereto when the operation member is squeezed).
Regarding claim 7, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 1, wherein, when the engagement member (110) is in the protrusion position, at least one the engagement section (112) is elastically deformable in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to a first direction in which the cable connector and a connector of the input device fit together (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0072-0076]) wherein the first direction is inserting into the connector and the second is perpendicular thereto when the operation member is squeezed).
Regarding claim 8, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 7, further comprising: an operation member (at least 108; as seen in at least fig. 3) that is positioned in the second direction with respect to the at least one engagement section (112), wherein the operation member (108) includes a section protruded from the connector retaining section (as seen in at least figs. 1-3), and is movable in the second direction according to deformation of the at least one engagement section (wherein the first direction is inserting into the connector and the second is perpendicular thereto when the operation member is squeezed).
Regarding claim 9, Ichikawa the attachment device of claim 8, wherein the operation member (108) is movable in the first direction together with the engagement member (as assembled in at least figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 1, wherein the connector retaining section (102) includes an outer case (102A; as seen in at least fig. 3) and an inner case (102B; as seen in at least fig. 3), the inner case (102B) being disposed inside the outer case (102A) and provided with an accommodation chamber (128; fig. 3) for accommodating the cable connector (120), and the engagement member (110) is disposed between the inner case and an inner surface of the outer case (as seen in at least figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, Ishikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 11, wherein, when the engagement member (110) is in the protrusion position, the at least one engagement section (112) is elastically deformable in a second direction (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0072-0076]), the second direction being perpendicular to a first direction in which the cable connector (120) and the connector of the input device fit together, the inner case (102B) has a side surface (seen in at least figs. 7 and 8), the at least one engagement section (112) is disposed along the side surface of the inner case, and the side surface of the inner case includes a slope that is tilted with respect to the first direction (tilted and angled surfaces seem on at least fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 1, further comprising: an elastic member (at least 114; as seen in at least figs. 3 and 7) that presses the engagement member (112) toward the accommodation position in the first direction (as seen in at least figs. 3, 7, and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 10, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2017/0141514; hereinafter ‘Tanaka’).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Ichikawa discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Ichikawa further teaches an accommodation position which allows for the user to easily insert and remove the cable from the cable connector.
However, Ichikawa alone does not specify a movable support member to support engagement member, wherein the movable support member is movable between an accommodation support position and a protrusion support position, the accommodation support position being a position for placing the engagement member in the accommodation position, the protrusion support position being a position for placing the engagement member in the protrusion position, the operation member is movable between an accommodation operation position, the disengagement operation position, and the engagement operation position, the operation member, when in the accommodation operation position, is configured to place the movable support member in the accommodation support position, and the operation member, when in the disengagement operation position, is configured to place the movable support member in the protrusion support position (claim 5).
Tanaka teaches a movable support member, namely, with respect to claim 5, movable member (50) including body member (510), supporting lock members (560) having lock portions (568), wherein the movable member (50) is movable between rear position (PR) and front position (PF) corresponding to accommodation and protrusion support positions. Tanaka further teaches operating member (60) movable between rear position (PRO), an intermediate unlock/disengagement position rearward of front position (PFO) by distance (D3), and front position PFO, corresponding respectively to accommodation, disengagement, and engagement operation positions (as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0084]–[0093], [0101]–[0108], [0118]–[0126]), wherein, with respect to claim 6, the accommodation operation position, the disengagement operation position, and the engagement operation position are arranged in order, in a direction in which the cable connector is inserted into a connector of the input device (as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0084]–[0093], [0101]–[0108], [0118]–[0126]) (claim 6).
It would have been obvious to modify Ichikawa’s locking housing with Tanaka’s movable support and operating-member arrangement to allow the locking mechanism to be accommodated during insertion and advanced for locking after mating.
One would have been motivated to do so thereby avoiding interference during connector mating and facilitating reliable attachment/detachment (as taught by Tanaka’s paragraphs [0006]–[0010] and [0134]–[0136]).
Regarding claim 10, Ichikawa discloses the claimed invention as indicated above. Ichikawa further teaches two engagement sections positioned on opposite sides of the cable connector in the second direction, namely locking pawls (112) disposed on opposite sides of connector unit (120) in the width direction (as shown in at least figs. 1, 3, and 7; as described in at least paragraphs [0061], [0065], and [0071]–[0073]).
However, Ichikawa does not expressly disclose that the engagement member includes a coupling section connected to both of the two engagement sections.
Tanaka teaches a connector locking mechanism having two lock portions 568 positioned on opposite sides of a fit portion (310) in the lateral direction, wherein the lock portions (568) are provided on lock members (560) held by body member (510) of movable member (50; as disclosed in at least figs. 9–11 and paragraphs [0084]–[0093] and [0099]). Tanaka therefore teaches an engagement member/movable member (50) having a coupling section, namely body member (510), connected to and supporting both lock members (560) having lock portions (568).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Ichikawa’s opposed locking pawls/engagement sections with a common coupling/support structure as taught by Tanaka in order to move and support the opposed locking portions as a unit.
One would have been motivated to do so thereby improving coordinated movement and alignment of the opposed lock portions during engagement and disengagement. Such modification represents the predictable use of a known coupling/support structure for opposed connector lock members according to its established function.
Regarding claim 14, Ichikawa discloses an attachment device (at least 100; as seen in at least figs. 1-3) attachable to a cable connector (120; as seen in at least fig. 3) disposed at an end of a cable (124; at least fig. 3) and configured to establish a connection between the cable (124) and an input device (200; at least figs. 1-3), the attachment device comprising: a connector retaining section (102; at least figs. 1-3) that is configured to be attached to and detached from the cable connector (102);
an engagement member (110; at least fig. 3) disposed on the connector retaining section (102), the engagement member (110) being configured to move between a protrusion position (112) and an accommodation position and comprising at least one engagement section (fig. 3 shows two engagement sections) configured to engage with the input device, the at least one engagement section (112) protruding from the connector retaining section (102) when the engagement member (110) is in the protrusion position, and the at least one engagement section (112) is accommodated in the connector retaining section (102) when the engagement member is in the accommodation position (as seen in at least figs. 1-3);
an elastic member (at least 114; as seen in at least figs. 3 and 7) that is configured to bias the engagement member (112) toward one of the protrusion position and the accommodation position; and
a movable support member that is configured to support the engagement member in each of the protrusion position and the accommodation position.
Regarding claim 15, Ichikawa discloses attachment device of claim 14, further comprising an operation member (at least 108) that is movable relative to the engagement member (110) between an engagement operation position and a disengagement operation position to place the engagement member in one of an engaged posture and a disengaged posture (as disclosed in at least figs. 7 and8; as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0072-0076]).
Regarding claim 16, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 15, wherein the operation members (108) configured to press a first section of the engagement member to place the engagement member (110) in the disengaged posture (as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0072-0073]), and the operation member (108), and press a second section of the engagement member to place the engagement member in the engaged posture (as seen in at least fig. 7 and as disclosed in at least paragraphs [0072-0076]).
Regarding claim 17, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 14, wherein, when the engagement member (110) is in the protrusion position, at least one the engagement section (112) is elastically deformable in a second direction, the second direction being perpendicular to a first direction in which the cable connector and a connector of the input device fit together (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0072-0076]) wherein the first direction is inserting into the connector and the second is perpendicular thereto when the operation member is squeezed).
Regarding claim 18, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 17, further comprising: an operation member (at least 108; as seen in at least fig. 3) that is positioned in the second direction with respect to the at least one engagement section (112), the operation member (108) comprising a section protruded from the connector retaining section (as seen in at least figs. 1-3), and is movable in the second direction responsive to deformation of the at least one engagement section (wherein the first direction is inserting into the connector and the second is perpendicular thereto when the operation member is squeezed).
Regarding claim 19, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 14, wherein the connector retaining section (102) includes an outer case (102A; as seen in at least fig. 3) and an inner case (102B; as seen in at least fig. 3), the inner case (102B) being disposed inside the outer case (102A) and provided with an accommodation chamber (128; fig. 3) for accommodating the cable connector (120), and the engagement member (110) is disposed between the inner case and an inner surface of the outer case (as seen in at least figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 20, Ichikawa discloses the attachment device of claim 19, wherein, when the engagement member (110) is in the protrusion position, the at least one engagement section (112) is elastically deformable in a second direction (as disclosed in at least paragraph [0072-0076]), the second direction being perpendicular to a first direction in which the cable connector (120) and the connector of the input device fit together, the inner case (102B) comprising a side surface (seen in at least figs. 7 and 8), the at least one engagement section (112) being disposed along the side surface of the inner case.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and are cited as teaching similar attachment devices for attachment to a cable.
/LEAH MACCHIAROLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831