DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 14 August 2026. These drawings are accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As a preliminary matter, it appears Applicant only provided arguments against the prior art rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) of U.S. 2005/02457133 to Fessele et al., and provided no arguments regarding the prior art rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) of U.S. 2008/0034877 to Fessele et al. Applicant argues that U.S. 2005/02457133 to Fessele et al. fails to teach or disclose the newly added limitations of: “said partition along with said substrate completely surrounding said sensor” in instant independent claim 8. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. U.S. 2005/02457133 to Fessele et al. clearly disclose a housing (1), a housing interior defined by partition/outer wall (12) that contains/surrounds the sensor element (9) and from which the partition/outer wall is spaced apart from the sensor element, wherein the sole Figure shows a “cross section” through the entire pressure sensor (see paras 0009-0010), and, although not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art clearly understands that rotating the entire “cross section” 360° results in the partition/outer wall that completely surrounds the sensor along with the substrate, meeting the newly added limitations recited in instant independent claim 8. In addition, U.S. 2005/02457133 to Fessele et al. clearly states in para 0013 that the protective covering 21 is applied to the inside (14) of the housing (2), inside the region delimited (emphasis added) by the outer wall/partition (12), thus, the sensor being bounded by, or surrounded by, the outer wall/partition. As such, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is maintained by the Examiner.
As to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of instant independent claim 8 under U.S. 2008/0034877 to Fessele et al., Fessele et al. clearly discloses in para 0018, that the partition (25) is a “peripheral wall.” Broadly defined, a “peripheral wall” completely surrounds something, and in this case, completely surrounds the sensor (12). As such, the rejection of instant independent claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is maintained by the Examiner.
In view of Applicant’s amendments to the instant filed specification and drawings, previous objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2005/0247133 to Fessele et al. Fessele et al. disclose a device for measuring pressure, force or temperature including a sensor (9); a substrate (8, 2) for said sensor; a housing (3) sealing said sensor off from an ambient pressure, wherein said housing has a connection element (4), via which a carrier medium of the pressure to be measured or the force to be measured is in communication with an inside of said housing; a corrosion-resistant gel (21) covering said sensor for preventing direct contact between said sensor and the carrier medium transmitting the pressure or the force; and a partition (12) along with the substrate completely surrounding (i.e. is delimiting (see para 0013), and cross section of the Figure being rotated) said sensor with the substrate and the partition being spaced apart from said housing is disposed between said housing and said sensor (see Figure) (as recited in instant independent claim 8); wherein a space between said housing and said partition is filled with the carrier medium of the pressure to be measured or the force to be measured (see Fig. 1, which clearly discloses the space which inherently will be filled by the carrier medium) (as recited in instant dependent claim 9).
Claim(s) 8-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2008/0034877 to Fessele et al. Fessele et al. disclose a device for measuring pressure, force or temperature including a sensor (12); a substrate (13) for said sensor; a housing (29) sealing said sensor off from an ambient pressure, wherein said housing has a connection element (30), via which a carrier medium of the pressure to be measured or the force to be measured is in communication with an inside of said housing; a corrosion-resistant gel (14) covering said sensor for preventing direct contact between said sensor and the carrier medium transmitting the pressure or the force; and a partition (25) along with the substrate is completely surrounding (being a peripheral wall, see para 0018) said sensor and being spaced apart from said housing is disposed between said housing and said sensor (see Fig. 2) (as recited in instant independent claim 8); wherein a space between said housing and said partition is filled with the carrier medium of the pressure to be measured or the force to be measured (see Fig. 2, which clearly discloses the space which inherently will be filled by the carrier medium) (as recited in instant dependent claim 9); an outer housing (2) and a potting compound (8), wherein a free spaced between said housing and said outer housing is filled with said potting compound (see Fig. 2, wherein potting compound (8) is clearly also filling a free space between partition (25) and element (6) (as recited in instant dependent claim 10); bondings (see paras 0005, 0006, 0017, 0020) and conductor tracks inherently running through the substrate and are connected to the sensor by means of said bondings (as recited in instant dependent claim 11); wherein said sensor is a capacitive pressure sensor (see para 0002) (as recited in instant dependent claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2005/0247133 to Fessele et al.as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. 2008/0060441 to Toyoda and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter AAPA). Fessele et al. disclose a device for measuring pressure, force or temperature having all of the elements stated previously. Fessele et al. do not explicitly disclose the device further including bondings; and conductor tracks running through the substrate and are connected to the sensor by means of said bondings (as recited in instant dependent claim 11); or comprising a connection between the substrate and the partition being a friction welding connection (as recited in instant dependent claim 14); or wherein the friction welding connection being formed by means of ultrasonic welding (as recited in instant dependent claim 15).
In specific regards to claim 11, Applicant discloses on page 4 of the instant filed specification that AAPA (instant Fig. 1) employs a silicon-based sensor (1) which is attached to a substrate (3) and the sensor is connected to conductor tracks running through the substrate via microwires or bondings (2), and the sensor is connected to an electrical evaluation unit via the bondings and conductor tracks. As such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to employ known prior art bondings and conductor tracks through the substrate of the device disclosed by Fessele et al., as disclosed by the AAPA, to provide electrical connections for signals to an electrical evaluation unit to measured/determine the pressure/force/temperature, thus meeting all of the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 11.
As to instant dependent claims 14 and 15, the claims are directed to a product-by-process, being a “connection” between the substrate and the partition being “formed” by either friction welding and/or by means of ultrasonic welding. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (see MPEP 2113). As such, although Fessele et al. does not explicitly disclose the process of the forming of the connection of the substrate and the partition, the product disclosed by Fessele et al. is identical in the resulting/formed structure, thus the employment of any well known welding techniques, including friction and/or by friction by ultrasonic welding means (see Toyoda reference, para 0065) to form connections between structural elements, has little to no patentable weight, thus meeting the limitations of instant dependent claims 14 and 15. Furthermore, the instant disclosure fails to state any criticality in regards to the friction and/or friction by ultrasonic welding to form the connection between the partition and the substrate, that these types of welding solve some particular design purpose, or solve a particular engineering problem, and it appears any type of connection means and/or welding means would resulting in a connection that functions equally as well.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2005/0247133 to Fessele et al.as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. 6,601,453 to Miyazaki et al. Fessele et al. disclose a device for measuring pressure, force or temperature having all of the elements stated previously. Fessele et al. do not explicitly disclose that the corrosion-resistant gel is a silicone-based and fluorine doped gel, as recited in instant dependent claim 12. Miyazaki et al. disclose a device to sense pressure (see Fig. 1 and entire reference) wherein a sensor (1) on a substrate (3), wherein the chip case (5) holding the sensor, an aluminum wire (9) and the exposed part of a lead terminal (6) are covered in silicone gel (10) of phlorosilicon series or fluorine series (i.e. fluorine doped silicone gels). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to employ silicone-based and fluorine doped gel, as taught by Miyazaki et al., for the corrosion-resistant gel disclosed by Fessele et al., thus preventing contact with corrosive liquid and gas of the medium whose pressure is to be measured (see col. 4, lines 37-45 of Miyazaki et al.). Furthermore, the instant disclosure fails to state any criticality in regards to the employment of gel that is a silicone-based and fluorine doped gel, that this particular gel serves any particular design purpose, or solves a particular engineering problem, and it appears any suitable gel, including the one disclosed by Fessele et al. would work equally as well.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2008/0034877 to Fessele et al.as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. 2008/0060441 to Toyoda and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (hereinafter AAPA). Fessele et al. disclose a device for measuring pressure, force or temperature having all of the elements stated previously. Fessele et al. do not explicitly disclose the device comprising a connection between the substrate and the partition being a friction welding connection (as recited in instant dependent claim 14); or wherein the friction welding connection being formed by means of ultrasonic welding (as recited in instant dependent claim 15). Instant dependent claims 14 and 15 are directed to a product-by-process, being a “connection” between the substrate and the partition being “formed” by either friction welding and/or by means of ultrasonic welding. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (see MPEP 2113). As such, although Fessele et al. does not explicitly disclose the process of the forming of the connection of the substrate and the partition, the product disclosed by Fessele et al. is identical in the resulting/formed structure, thus the employment of any well known welding techniques, including friction and/or by friction by ultrasonic welding means (see Toyoda reference, para 0065) to form connections between structural elements, has little to no patentable weight, thus meeting the limitations of instant dependent claims 14 and 15. Furthermore, the instant disclosure fails to state any criticality in regards to the friction and/or friction by ultrasonic welding to form the connection between the partition and the substrate, that these types of welding solve some particular design purpose, or solve a particular engineering problem, and it appears any type of connection means and/or welding means would resulting in a connection that functions equally as well.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2008/0034877 to Fessele et al.as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of U.S. 6,601,453 to Miyazaki et al. Fessele et al. disclose a device for measuring pressure, force or temperature having all of the elements stated previously. Fessele et al. do not explicitly disclose that the corrosion-resistant gel is a silicone-based and fluorine doped gel, as recited in instant dependent claim 12. Miyazaki et al. disclose a device to sense pressure (see Fig. 1 and entire reference) wherein a sensor (1) on a substrate (3), wherein the chip case (5) holding the sensor, an aluminum wire (9) and the exposed part of a lead terminal (6) are covered in silicone gel (10) of phlorosilicon series or fluorine series (i.e. fluorine doped silicone gels). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to employ silicone-based and fluorine doped gel, as taught by Miyazaki et al., for the corrosion-resistant gel disclosed by Fessele et al., thus preventing contact with corrosive liquid and gas of the medium whose pressure is to be measured (see col. 4, lines 37-45 of Miyazaki et al.). Furthermore, the instant disclosure fails to state any criticality in regards to the employment of gel that is a silicone-based and fluorine doped gel, that this particular gel serves any particular design purpose, or solves a particular engineering problem, and it appears any suitable gel, including the one disclosed by Fessele et al. would work equally as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See U.S. 2010/0300207 to Ding et al., which discloses a pressure sensor sharing many elements of the instant claimed invention including partition walls surrounding a sensor (7). Applicant is invited to review PTO form 892 accompanying this Office Action listing Prior Art relevant to the instant invention cited by the Examiner.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Primary Examiner John Fitzgerald whose telephone number is (571) 272-2843. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM E.S.T. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor John Breene, can be reached at telephone number (571) 272-4107. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The central fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN FITZGERALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855