DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 24 December, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-7 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed 24 December, 2025, with respect to the objection to Applicant’s Specification have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While the replacement Abstract is 150 words, the Abstract is not written in narrative form. Instead, the abstract has been written as a run-on sentence that generally mimics the claim. The abstract should be in narrative form, which should include a series of complete sentences.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claim 4 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim has been amended to clarify the indefinite language. The rejection of claim 4 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 5 and 6 under 35 USC 102 and the rejection of claims 1-4 and 7 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues:
However, the cited references do not explicitly suggest each and every elements of amended claim 1. For example, the cited references do not suggest a computing device that (i) extracts non-overlapping partial maps from a periphery map and determines a respective coordinate conversion parameter for each partial map to align it with a reference map, (ii) computes a gap parameter that includes information regarding at least a correlation between coordinate conversion parameters of adjacent converted partial maps, (iii) generates a new partial map for a region corresponding to a converted partial map based on an offset between the converted partial map and the reference map being greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, and (iv) connects the new partial map with one or more adjacent converted partial map using the gap parameter to form a continuous map. Indeed, the Office Action does not provide any passages of the cited references suggesting the specific operations executed by such computing device. Therefore, the cited references fail to disclose, teach, or suggest the subject matter of the independent claims.
The Examiner has carefully considered the argument, however it is not persuasive. The prior art does teach each of the limitations of claim 1 as was set forth in the Non-Final Office Action. Mori teaches a computing device that extracts non-overlapping partial maps from a periphery map and determines a respective coordinate conversion parameter for each partial map to align it with a reference map (See Mori Paragraph 0049 The partial map generator 140 combines point cloud data of the start point or end point for a predetermined number of cycles based on a change in the position and orientation of the vehicle M, which is included in the solution derived by the third probability distribution derivation part 136, thereby generating partial map information.). Mori further teaches that the computing device computes a gap parameter that includes information regarding at least a correlation between coordinate conversion parameters of adjacent converted partial maps (See Mori Paragraph 0058 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route in which the vehicle M goes around and returns to the original location and partial map information to be finally joined is deviated, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information (moving or rotating one partial map information with respect to the other) in order to eliminate the deviation. Partial map information (1) and partial map information (n) indicate locations where the vehicle M has gone around and returned to the original positions, and need to be joined originally. Arrows in the drawing indicate the direction in which the partial map information needs to be moved in order to correct the deviation. The corrector 144 roughly determines that the vehicle M has returned to the same location, based on information of, for example, a global positioning system (GPS) and the like, compares point cloud data related to the partial map information (1) and point cloud data related to the partial map information (n), and determines whether the point cloud data indicate the same location based on the matching rate.). McClelland teaches a computing device which generates a new partial map for a region corresponding to a converted partial map based on an offset between the converted partial map and the reference map being greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold (See McClelland Paragraph 0054 As discussed above, in some embodiments, when the number of features offset by a substantially similar distance offset exceeds a threshold value, updating the previously generated map may include modifying the previously generated map by shifting the entire work area to correct for the offset.). Finally, Mori teaches that the computing device connects the new partial map with one or more adjacent converted partial map using the gap parameter to form a continuous map (See Mori Paragraph 0059 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route for moving from a first position known on the reference map information 152 to a second position known on the same reference map information 152 and a result obtained by joining the partial map information is deviated from the second position, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information in order to eliminate the deviation.). Therefore, the prior art teaches all elements of the independent claims and the rejections under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 are maintained.
Specification
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not written in narrative form. Instead, the abstract has been written as a run-on sentence that generally mimics the claim. The abstract should be in narrative form, which should include a series of complete sentences. Correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: “…wherein the own-position estimating device…” should read – …wherein the position estimating device… – . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mori (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0245777).
Regarding claim 5, Mori teaches a position estimating device comprising: a processor configured to: store, in a memory, (i) a reference map, (ii) a partial map group comprising partial maps representing respective regions of a periphery map, (iii) a plurality of coordinate conversion parameters associated with converted partial maps, and (iv) a gap parameter including information regarding a correlation between the coordinate conversion parameters of the converted partial maps that are adjacent to each other (Paragraph 0049 The partial map generator 140 combines point cloud data of the start point or end point for a predetermined number of cycles based on a change in the position and orientation of the vehicle M, which is included in the solution derived by the third probability distribution derivation part 136, thereby generating partial map information.), wherein the coordinate conversion parameters are applied to the partial maps for converting the partial maps into the converted partial maps aligned with the reference map; determine an offset between a converted partial map of the converted partial maps and the reference maps based on the offset being greater than a predetermined threshold, update the partial map group to reduce the offset associated with the converted partial map to be at or below the predetermined threshold (Paragraph 0058 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route in which the vehicle M goes around and returns to the original location and partial map information to be finally joined is deviated, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information (moving or rotating one partial map information with respect to the other) in order to eliminate the deviation. Partial map information (1) and partial map information (n) indicate locations where the vehicle M has gone around and returned to the original positions, and need to be joined originally.); detect, based on an output from one or more sensors mounted on a vehicle, a position of a vehicle on the converted partial map in the partial map group (Paragraph 0058 The corrector 144 roughly determines that the vehicle M has returned to the same location, based on information of, for example, a global positioning system (GPS) and the like, compares point cloud data related to the partial map information (1) and point cloud data related to the partial map information (n), and determines whether the point cloud data indicate the same location based on the matching rate.) based on the detected position of the vehicle approaching a boundary between two converted partial maps, generate a continuous map in which the two converted partial maps are continuous by correcting relative positions of the two converted partial maps using the gap parameter (Paragraph 0059 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route for moving from a first position known on the reference map information 152 to a second position known on the same reference map information 152 and a result obtained by joining the partial map information is deviated from the second position, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information in order to eliminate the deviation.).
Regarding claim 6, Mori teaches the system of claim 5 as set forth above. Mori further teaches wherein the own-position estimating device is mounted on the vehicle, and the processor is configured to: receive the partial map group and the gap parameter from an external device (Paragraph 0070 In the map generation system 2, a map generation device 100A is configured as a cloud server other than a vehicle M. One or more vehicles M are provided with a communication device 50 that processes information from the LIDAR 10, the speed calculation device 22, the steering angle sensor 30, the yaw rate sensor 40, and the like as needed, and transmits the processed information to the map generation device l00A. The map generation device l00A acquires information from the communication device 50 via a network NW.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClelland (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0050205) in view of Mori.
Regarding claim 1, McClelland teaches a computing device comprising: a processor configured to: store a reference map in a memory (Paragraph 0024 As discussed in detail below, the vehicle controller 34 may receive the first set of data indicative of the previously generated map 28 and the second set of data indicative of the present position(s) and/or coordinates of the feature(s) in the work area 12. For example, the first set of data may be stored in the memory devices 38 and the second set of data may be determined by the vehicle controller 34 based on information from the sensor assembly/assemblies 54, as discussed above.); acquire environment information and movement information from one or more sensors mounted on a vehicle generate a periphery map using the environment information and the movement information (Paragraph 0022 In the illustrated embodiment, each work vehicle 10 includes a sensor assembly 54 configured to facilitate determination of the second set of data indicative of the positions or coordinates of the present features in the work area 12… In addition, the sensors may detect physical objects in the work area, such as the first feature 21, the second feature 22, the third feature 23, other vehicles, other obstacles, and/or other object(s) in the area surrounding the work vehicle. Detecting the physical objects in the work area may be used to determine the second set of data indicative of the positions or coordinates of the present features in the work area.); determine an offset between a converted partial map of the converted partial maps and the reference map; generate a new partial map for a region corresponding to the converted partial map based on the offset being greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold (Paragraph 0051 Furthermore, the vehicle controller is configured to receive (process block 120) presently (e.g., currently) mapped data. As mentioned above, the vehicle controller may receive (process block 120) the second set of data indicative of the present position and/or coordinates of the features in the work area, for example, via the sensor assembly. Paragraph 0052 Alternatively or additionally, the entire previously generated map may have shifted, such that the present position and/or coordinates of the features and the work area are inaccurate. In some instances, the offset may be along any suitable direction (e.g., the lateral axis, the longitudinal axis, the vertical axis, etc.). The vehicle controller (and/or the base station controller) is configured to determine any of these difference(s) between the previous position or coordinates and the present position and coordinates.); and generate, based on a location of the vehicle, a continuous map by connecting the new partial map with at least one of the converted partial maps adjacent to the new partial map using the gap parameter between the new partial map and the at least one adjacent converted partial map (Paragraph 0054 As discussed above, in some embodiments, when the number of features offset by a substantially similar distance offset exceeds a threshold value, updating the previously generated map may include modifying the previously generated map by shifting the entire work area to correct for the offset.).
However, McClelland does not teach that the processor is configured to: extract, from the periphery map, partial maps comprising regions that are not overlapping each other; determine a respective one of a plurality of coordinate conversion parameters for each of the partial maps to generate a corresponding one of a plurality of converted partial maps aligned with the reference map; and compute, based on the coordinate conversion parameters for the converted partial maps, a gap parameter including information regarding at least a correlation between the coordinate conversion parameters of the converted partial maps that are adjacent to each other.
Mori, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for creating and updating maps based on information gathered by a vehicle. The system generates partial maps of an overall map area (Paragraph 0049 The partial map generator 140 combines point cloud data of the start point or end point for a predetermined number of cycles based on a change in the position and orientation of the vehicle M, which is included in the solution derived by the third probability distribution derivation part 136, thereby generating partial map information.) and calculates a coordinate conversion parameter for converting each of the partial maps into a converted partial map which is a map in a reference coordinate system of the overall map area (Paragraph 0058 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route in which the vehicle M goes around and returns to the original location and partial map information to be finally joined is deviated, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information (moving or rotating one partial map information with respect to the other) in order to eliminate the deviation. Partial map information (1) and partial map information (n) indicate locations where the vehicle M has gone around and returned to the original positions, and need to be joined originally. Arrows in the drawing indicate the direction in which the partial map information needs to be moved in order to correct the deviation. The corrector 144 roughly determines that the vehicle M has returned to the same location, based on information of, for example, a global positioning system (GPS) and the like, compares point cloud data related to the partial map information (1) and point cloud data related to the partial map information (n), and determines whether the point cloud data indicate the same location based on the matching rate.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified McClelland with the teachings of Mori which teaches generating partial maps of an overall map area and calculating a coordinate conversion parameter for converting each of the partial maps into a converted partial map which is a map in a reference coordinate system of the overall map area in order to eliminate errors in the position of each of the partial maps when the maps are joined together (See Mori Paragraph 0058 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route in which the vehicle M goes around and returns to the original location and partial map information to be finally joined is deviated, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information (moving or rotating one partial map information with respect to the other) in order to eliminate the deviation.).
Regarding claim 7, the claim is commensurate in scope with claim 1 with the exception that claim 7 is directed to a method. Therefore, the same prior art can be applied to claim 7 as was applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, McClelland in view of Mori teaches the system of claim 1 as set forth above. McClelland further teaches wherein the periphery map is divided into a confirmed region which is a region of the partial map and an unconfirmed region obtained by excluding the confirmed region from the periphery map (Paragraph 0050 The vehicle controller is configured to receive previously mapped data (process block 110). As mentioned above, the vehicle controller may receive the first set of data indicative of the previously generated map of the work area (process block 110). The previously generated map may be generated at any time prior to the work vehicle(s) presently operating in the work area.), and the processor is configured to: calculate a latest coordinate conversion parameter by matching, with the reference map, a matching target region obtained by excluding a region of the new partial map from the unconfirmed region (Paragraph 0054 The updated map may include present positions and coordinates for the various features in the work area, such that the present positions and coordinates more close match the present position of the various features presently in the work area.); and based on an offset from the reference map in an unconfirmed converted partial map, obtained by calculating the unconfirmed region by using the latest coordinate conversion parameter being greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold, extract, as the new partial map, the unconfirmed region corresponding to the unconfirmed converted partial map having an offset of less than a predetermined threshold (Paragraph 0054 As discussed above, in some embodiments, when the number of features offset by a substantially similar distance offset exceeds a threshold value, updating the previously generated map may include modifying the previously generated map by shifting the entire work area to correct for the offset.).
Regarding claim 3, McClelland in view of Mori teaches the system of claim 2 as set forth above. McClelland further teaches wherein the processor is configured to: detect, based on the environment information and the movement information, a position of the vehicle (Paragraph 0051 In some embodiments, the spatial locating device may be configured to determine the position or coordinates of the work vehicle, for example, relative to a fixed point within the field (e.g., via a fixed radio transceiver) or relative to a fixed global coordinate system (e.g., via the GPS). Furthermore, the sensor assembly may detect features in proximity to sensors of the sensor assembly. For example, the sensor assembly may detect the first feature, the second feature, and the third feature of FIGS. 1 and 2, and the spatial locating device may facilitate associating a position or coordinates to the detected first, second, and third features.); determine a matching target region in the reference map based on the position of the vehicle (Paragraph 0052 Alternatively or additionally, the entire previously generated map may have shifted, such that the present position and/or coordinates of the features and the work area are inaccurate. In some instances, the offset may be along any suitable direction (e.g., the lateral axis, the longitudinal axis, the vertical axis, etc.). The vehicle controller (and/or the base station controller) is configured to determine any of these difference(s) between the previous position or coordinates and the present position and coordinates.).
Regarding claim 4, McClelland in view of Mori teaches the system of claim 1 as set forth above. However, McClelland does not teach wherein the processor is configured to: store a partial map group comprising a set of the converted partial maps, and the gap parameter; detect, based on the environment information and the movement information, a position of the vehicle on the converted partial map; and correct relative positions of two converted partial maps adjacent to each other using the gap parameter associated with the two converted partial maps based on the position of the vehicle approaching a boundary between the two converted partial maps; and generate a continuous map in which the two converted partial maps are continuous subsequent to correcting the relative positions of the two converted partial maps.
Mori, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system for creating and updating maps based on information gathered by a vehicle. The system stores a set of converted partial maps (Paragraph 0037 Furthermore, the map generation device 100 writes information such as primary generation map information 150, reference map information 152, and corrected map information 154 in the storage device such as an HDD, an RAM, and a flash memory, or holds the information in advance.), estimates a position of the vehicle based on sensor information (Paragraph 0058 The corrector 144 roughly determines that the vehicle M has returned to the same location, based on information of, for example, a global positioning system (GPS) and the like, compares point cloud data related to the partial map information (1) and point cloud data related to the partial map information (n), and determines whether the point cloud data indicate the same location based on the matching rate.), and corrects the relative positions of two maps which are adjacent to each other based on a coordinate conversion parameter and the position of the vehicle when joining the partial maps into a continuous map (Paragraph 0059 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route for moving from a first position known on the reference map information 152 to a second position known on the same reference map information 152 and a result obtained by joining the partial map information is deviated from the second position, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information in order to eliminate the deviation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified McClelland with the teachings of Mori which teaches storing a set of converted partial maps, estimating a position of the vehicle based on sensor information, and correcting the relative positions of two maps which are adjacent to each other based on a coordinate conversion parameter and the position of the vehicle when joining the partial maps into a continuous map in order to eliminate errors in the position of each of the partial maps when the maps are joined together (See Mori Paragraph 0058 For example, when the vehicle M travels on a route in which the vehicle M goes around and returns to the original location and partial map information to be finally joined is deviated, the corrector 144 performs a process of gradually correcting the joining between the partial map information (moving or rotating one partial map information with respect to the other) in order to eliminate the deviation.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK DANIEL MOHL/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666