DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figs. 1, 2, and 4 feature circled numerals which appear to have insufficient description in the instant Specification. An Example is provided below. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]Example:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “producing aluminum hydroxide” in Lines 2-3. It is unclear the metes and bounds of what amounts to “producing” and the term in context is a relative term rendering the claim indefinite. The term “producing” does not convey a specific actionable and repeatable method step to persons of ordinary skill in the art and could include for example addition, or some other meaning entirely.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, and 11, it is unclear whether the “aluminum hydroxide” in Claim 1 is the same “aluminum hydroxide” in Claims 2, 8, 9, and 11. Appropriate correction is required to establish a clearer nexus between the limitation “aluminum hydroxide” and the act of “producing” in Claim 1 and the recitation of “aluminum hydroxide” in Claims 2, 8, 9, and 11.
Claim 8 recites “a compound contained in the second slurry” in Lines 16-17 and “the compound” in Line 17. As used, the term “compound” is an indefinite term rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear the source of any “compound” which renders the metes and bounds of what constitutes a “compound” unclear from the claim as presently recited. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites “a first aqueous lithium salt solution” in Line 4. It is unclear whether this is the same “aqueous liquid” of Claim 1 on which Claim 8 depends, or some other solution entirely. Similarly, Claim 9 recites “the first aqueous liquid salt solution” in Lines 2-3 and Claim 10 recites “the first aqueous liquid salt solution” in Line 4. Claims 8 and 10 additionally recite a “second aqueous lithium salt solution.” Appropriate correction is required to establish a nexus between the steps of Claims 8-10 and the step of Claim 1 on which Claims 8-10 depend regarding the presence of a lithium salt solution.
Claim 8 recites “high-purity aqueous lithium salt solution” in Line 12. As used the term “high-purity” is a relative term rendering the claim indefinite. The term “high-purity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required to present actionable and repeatable method claims with positive active claim language.
Claim 12 recites “producing aluminum phosphate from the second slurry” in Lines 2-3, presenting the following issues of clarity:
Claim 12 recites “producing aluminum phosphate” in Lines 2-3. It is unclear the metes and bounds of what amounts to “producing” and the term in context is a relative term rendering the claim indefinite. The term “producing” does not convey a specific actionable and repeatable method step to persons of ordinary skill in the art and could include for example addition, or some other meaning entirely.
It is unclear the nexus between “producing aluminum phosphate” in Claim 12 and the limitation “to provide a precipitate of aluminum phosphate” in Lines 5-6 of Claim 8 on which Claim 12 depends. A clearer nexus must be provided to establish the presence of aluminum phosphate in Claim 12.
Claims 3-7 are rejected for their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Harrison et al. US 20190225854 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, Harrison et al. ‘854 discloses a method for recovering lithium from aqueous liquid containing a lithium salt, the method comprising producing aluminum hydroxide in an aqueous liquid containing the lithium salt [0119].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. US 20190225854 A1 as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Ishimori et al. JP 5632169 B2 and further in view of Zheng et al. CN 112310500 B.
Regarding Claims 2 and 7, Harrison et al. ‘854 discloses the limitations set forth above and teaches separating lithium as lithium carbonate [0270] but does not expressly teach a phosphorylation step, first and second solid-liquid separation steps, pH adjustment step.
However, Ishimori et al. ‘619 teaches a method for recovering lithium from aqueous liquid containing a lithium salt comprising a phosphorylation step of adding a metal phosphate and an alkali metal hydroxide to an aqueous liquid containing a lithium salt to produce a solid containing lithium phosphate and the metal hydroxide (Page 3, Translation). Ishimori et al. ‘619 teaches a first solid-liquid separation step of separating the sold containing lithium phosphate and metal hydroxide, a pH adjustment step of adding hydrochloric acid, sulfuric acid, or nitric acid (meeting the limitation for mineral acid) (Page 7, Translation) to a suspension obtained by suspending a solid separated in the first solid-liquid separation step in water to adjust pH of the suspension to 1 to 10 (Page 3, Translation). Ishimori et al. ‘619 teaches a second solid-liquid separation step of solid-liquid separation of a metal phosphate-lithium salt aqueous solution obtained in the pH adjustment step; and a lithium separation step of separating lithium as lithium carbonate from an aqueous lithium salt solution obtained in the second solid-liquid separation step, wherein metal phosphate obtained in the second solid-liquid separation step is reused in the phosphorylation step (Pages 5-6, Translation).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Though Ishimori et al. ‘619 teaches the use of alkali or heavy metal phosphates (Page 7, Translation), this does not teach away from the use of an aluminum phosphate. See MPEP 2123.II. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to substitute the metal phosphate of Ishimori et al. ‘619 with aluminum phosphate in order to sufficiently remove aluminum impurity from waste lithium and increase the efficiency of lithium recovery from an aqueous liquid containing lithium salt, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Zheng et al. ‘500 further provides express motivation to remove aluminum impurity from waste lithium by acidifying an aqueous liquid containing a lithium salt with mineral acid (Abstract), [0006]. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Ishimori et al. ‘619 further teaches carbonating an aqueous lithium salt solution obtained in the second-solid liquid separation step to provide lithium carbonate (Page 4, Translation), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Harrison et al. ‘854 further teaches the lithium separation comprises a membrane electrolysis of an aqueous lithium salt solution with an ion-exchange membrane to provide a lithium hydroxide aqueous solution [0282].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to conduct membrane electrolysis on the aqueous lithium salt solution obtained in the second solid-liquid separation step of modified Harrison et al. ‘854 in order to provide a concentrated solution free of impurity ions, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, Ishimori et al. ‘619 further teaches adjusting pH of a first slurry including a mixture of lithium phosphate obtained from a first aqueous lithium salt solution, as a raw material, containing a lithium salt with 3.00 g/L in terms of lithium, lying within the instantly claimed range of 0.1 to 70 g/L, and a metal hydroxide to a pH range of 1 to 10 to precipitate a metal phosphate (Pages 3-4), a step of filtering off and removing the precipitate of metal phosphate from a first slurry containing the mixture of lithium phosphate and metal hydroxide to provide a second aqueous lithium salt solution; and filtering off and removing a precipitate of metal phosphate form a second slurry obtained by adding a metal salt to the second aqueous lithium solution to provide a high concentration lithium solution. The second slurry pH of 1 to 10 satisfies condition 1, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, Harrison et al. ‘854 further teaches adding aluminum salt [0117] and phosphoric acid [0261] to bring the solution to a pH of greater than 10 [0262], overlapping the instantly claimed range of 8 to 14, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Ishimori et al. ‘619 further teaches reusing the metal phosphate residue (Page 5, Translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to add the precipitate of aluminum phosphate filtered off from the first or second slurry or modified Harrison et al. ‘854 to the first or second aqueous lithium salt solution in order to recycle the aluminum phosphate and increase the recovery of lithium based on the teachings of Ishimori et al. ‘619 at (Page 5, Translation), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Ishimori et al. ‘619 further teaches forming a concentrated lithium solution (Page 7, Translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to filter off the mixture of lithium phosphate and aluminum hydroxide from the first slurry and disperse it in a smaller amount of water than the first aqueous lithium salt solution to provide a first slurry containing a mixture of concentrated lithium phosphate and aluminum hydroxide in order to increase the recovery of lithium based on the teachings of Ishimori et al. ‘619 at (Page 2, Translation), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Notwithstanding the 112(b) rejections above, Harrison et al. ‘854 further teaches producing a metal phosphate at a temperature range between about 40 °C and 120 °C [0238], overlapping the instantly claimed range of 50 °C or less.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. US 20190225854 A1 in view of Ishimori et al. JP 5632169 B2 and Zheng et al. CN 112310500 B as applied to Claims 2-4 and 7-12 above and further in view of NPL Diaz Nieto et al.
Regarding Claims 5-6, modified Harrison et al. ‘854 teaches the limitations set forth above. Harrison et al. ‘854 does not expressly teach its membrane electrolysis step is powered with renewable energy.
However, NPL Diaz Nieto et al. teaches powering membrane electrolysis for a lithium recovery process with solar energy in order to reduce energy costs (Section 3.5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to power the membrane electrolysis step of modified Harrison et al. ‘854 with solar energy in order to reduce energy costs based on the teachings of NPL Diaz Nieto at (Section 3.5), meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12294053 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite a method that includes the production of aluminum hydroxide in aqueous liquid containing lithium salt and further include nearly identical method steps regarding the precipitation of aluminum hydroxide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ryabtsev, A. D., L. T. Menzheres, and A. V. Ten. "Sorption of Lithium from Brine onto Granular LiCl· 2Al (OH) 3· m H2O Sorbent under Dynamic Conditions." Russian Journal of Applied Chemistry 75.7 (2002): 1069-1074. teaches using aluminum salt as a sorbent in an aqueous liquid containing lithium salt.
US 20210123119 A1 teaches lithium recovery and selective precipitation of lithium and aluminum from lithium battery slag.
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733