DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 06/24/2024.
Claims 6, 15, 16, 20, 21 are canceled.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 17-19 and 22-25 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 11-13, 17 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US 2022/0386342 A1) hereinafter “Takeda.”
Regarding Claim 1, Takeda teaches A physical downlink control channel receiving method (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, receiving NR PDCCH), performed by a terminal (Takeda: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 24, user equipment), comprising:
in response to determining that a Long Term Evolution Cell-specific Reference Signal (LTE CRS) conflicts with a New Radio Physical Downlink Control Channel (NR PDCCH) (Takeda: paragraphs 0041-0042, mapping or determining NR PDCCH overlaps with at least one LTE CRS), determining a receiving manner for receiving the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, receive NR PDCCH based on mapping rules); and
receiving the NR PDCCH according to the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, said receiving NR PDCCH according to mapping rules; see also paragraph 0107 & Fig. 18, receiving NR PDCCH from base station based on whether CRS LTE overlaps).
Regarding Claim 2, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the receiving manner comprises at least one of:
a first receiving manner of puncturing a second resource where the NR PDCCH is located according to a first resource corresponding to the LTE CRS (Takeda: paragraph 0088 & Fig. 9, Resource Elements (REs) of NR PUCCH is punctured where CRS is not present); or
a second receiving manner of performing rate matching on the NR PDCCH according to a first resource corresponding to the LTE CRS (Takeda: paragraph 0088 & Fig 9, NR PDCCH is rate-matched around the LTE-CRS resource elements where LTE-CRS is present) .
Regarding Claim 3, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein in response to determining that the LTE CRS conflicts with the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042 & 0088, said NR PDCCH overlaps with LTE CRS), determining the receiving manner for receiving the NR PDCCH comprises:
receiving indication information transmitted by a network side device (Takeda: paragraph 0106 & Fig. 18, base station may map NR PDCCH based on whether CRS overlaps); and
determining the receiving manner according to the indication information (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, said receiving NR PDCCH according to mapping rules obtained from base station; see also paragraph 0107 & Fig. 18, receiving NR PDCCH from base station based on whether CRS LTE overlaps).
Regarding Claim 4, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the indication information is carried in at least one of:
radio resource control signaling; or broadcast information (Takeda: paragraph 0079, NR signals are mapped/allocated via radio resource control messaging).
Regarding Claim 5, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein in response to determining that the LTE CRS conflicts with the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042 & 0088, said NR PDCCH overlaps with LTE CRS), determining the receiving manner for receiving the NR PDCCH comprises:
determining the receiving manner according to a support capability of the terminal for the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraphs 0077-0078, UE is configured to receive/monitor signals supporting either the first RAT, the second RAT or both), comprising:
in a case where the terminal only supports the first receiving manner, determining the first receiving manner as the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraphs 0077-0078, using a first set of resources for UE only supporting LTE);
in a case where the terminal only supports the second receiving manner, determining the second receiving manner as the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraphs 0077-0078, using a second set of resources for UE supporting 5G NR); and
in a case where the terminal supports the first receiving manner and the second receiving manner, determining a default manner in the first receiving manner and the second receiving manner as the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraph 0078, an NR UE that supports both 5G NR and 5G LTE may be configured to receive/monitor the NR signals.
Regarding Claim 8, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein in response to determining that the LTE CRS conflicts with the NR PDCCH, determining the receiving manner for receiving the NR PDCCH comprises:
determining an aggregation level of a PDCCH candidate in the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0103, mapping PDCCH candidates); and
determining the receiving manner according to the aggregation level (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, said receiving NR PDCCH according to mapping rules obtained from base station; see also paragraph 0107 & Fig. 18, receiving NR PDCCH from base station based on whether CRS LTE overlaps).
Regarding Claim 11, Takeda teaches A physical downlink control channel transmitting method (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, transmitting NR PDCCH), performed by a network side device (Takeda: paragraph 0138 & Fig. 21, base station), comprising:
in response to determining that a Long Term Evolution Cell-specific Reference Signal (LTE CRS) conflicts with a New Radio Physical Downlink Control Channel (NR PDCCH) (Takeda: paragraphs 0041-0042, mapping or determining NR PDCCH overlaps with at least one LTE CRS), determining a receiving manner for a terminal (Takeda: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 24, user equipment) receiving the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, transmit NR PDCCH based on mapping rules); and
transmitting indication information to the terminal, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, said receiving NR PDCCH according to mapping rules; see also paragraph 0107 & Fig. 18, receiving NR PDCCH from base station based on whether CRS LTE overlaps).
Regarding Claim 12, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the receiving manner comprises at least one of:
a first receiving manner of puncturing a second resource where the NR PDCCH is located according to a first resource corresponding to the LTE CRS (Takeda: paragraph 0088 & Fig. 9, Resource Elements (REs) of NR PUCCH is punctured where CRS is not present); or
a second receiving manner of performing rate matching on the NR PDCCH according to a first resource corresponding to the LTE CRS (Takeda: paragraph 0088 & Fig 9, NR PDCCH is rate-matched around the LTE-CRS resource elements where LTE-CRS is present).
Regarding Claim 13, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the indication information is carried in at least one of:
radio resource control signaling; or broadcast information (Takeda: paragraph 0079, NR signals are mapped/allocated via radio resource control messaging).
Regarding Claim 17, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein in response to determining that the LTE CRS conflicts with the NR PDCCH, determining the receiving manner for the terminal receiving the NR PDCCH comprises:
determining an aggregation level of a PDCCH candidate in the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0103, mapping PDCCH candidates); and
determining the receiving manner according to the aggregation level (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, said receiving NR PDCCH according to mapping rules obtained from base station; see also paragraph 0107 & Fig. 18, receiving NR PDCCH from base station based on whether CRS LTE overlaps).
Regarding Claim 22, Takeda teaches A communication device (Takeda: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 24, user equipment), comprising:
one or more processors (Takeda: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 24, processor); and
one or more memories for storing a computer program (Takeda: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 24, memory storing software);
wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
in response to determining that a Long Term Evolution Cell-specific Reference Signal (LTE CRS) conflicts with a New Radio Physical Downlink Control Channel (NR PDCCH) (Takeda: paragraphs 0041-0042, mapping or determining NR PDCCH overlaps with at least one LTE CRS), determine a receiving manner for receiving the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, receive NR PDCCH based on mapping rules); and
receive the NR PDCCH according to the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042, said receiving NR PDCCH according to mapping rules; see also paragraph 0107 & Fig. 18, receiving NR PDCCH from base station based on whether CRS LTE overlaps).
Regarding Claim 23, Takeda teaches A communication device (Takeda: paragraph 0138 & Fig. 21, base station), comprising:
one or more processors (Takeda: paragraph 0138 & Fig. 21, processor); and
one or more memories for storing a computer program (Takeda: paragraph 0138 & Fig. 21, memory storing software);
wherein the one or more processors are configured to perform the method according to claim 11 (Takeda: paragraph 0138, corresponding apparatus of the method).
Regarding Claim 24, Takeda teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to perform the physical downlink control channel receiving method according to claim 1 (Takeda: paragraph 0170 & Fig. 24, corresponding computer readable medium for storing instructions executed by processor).
Regarding Claim 25, Takeda teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to perform the physical downlink control channel transmitting method according to claim 11 (Takeda: paragraph 0138 & Fig. 21, corresponding computer readable medium for storing instructions executed by processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9, 10, 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0322978 A1) hereinafter “Liu.”
Regarding Claim 7, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach reporting information of the support capability to a network side device. However, Liu from an analogous art similarly teach a first node (i.e. user equipment) sending a capability report to the network indicating whether the UE supports CRS Puncturing PDCCH (Liu: paragraph 0271). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include sending a capability report indicating whether CRS Puncturing PDCCH is supported as taught by Liu so as to ensure correct reception of data based on capabilities of the user equipment.
Regarding Claim 9, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach in response to determining that the aggregation level is greater than/less than a first preset threshold, determining the first receiving manner/second receiving as the receiving manner. However, Liu from an analogous art similarly teaches the presence of a control channel candidate with resource elements overlapping with other signals is associated with a threshold related to characteristic relationship to determine how to process or receive a signal. For example a threshold greater than 4 is used to indicate the characteristic relationship is the second relationship indicating a second receiving manner (Liu: paragraphs 0035, 0449 & 0504-0510). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include a threshold to determine a receiving manner as taught by Liu to ensure the receiving manner meets the aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate.
Regarding Claim 10, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach in response to determining that the aggregation level is greater than/less than a second preset threshold, determining the first receiving manner/second receiving as the receiving manner. However, Liu from an analogous art similarly teaches the presence of a control channel candidate with resource elements overlapping with other signals is associated with a threshold related to characteristic relationship to determine how to process or receive a signal. For example a threshold greater than 4 is used to indicate the characteristic relationship is the second relationship indicating a second receiving manner (Liu: paragraphs 0035, 0449 & 0504-0510). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include a threshold to determine a receiving manner as taught by Liu to ensure the receiving manner meets the aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate.
Regarding Claim 14, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein in response to determining that the LTE CRS conflicts with the NR PDCCH (Takeda: paragraph 0041-0042 & 0088, said NR PDCCH overlaps with LTE CRS), determining the receiving manner for the terminal receiving the NR PDCCH comprises:
determining a support capability of the terminal for the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraphs 0077-0078, UE is configured to receive/monitor signals supporting either the first RAT, the second RAT or both); and
determining the receiving manner according to a support capability of the terminal for the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraphs 0077-0078, UE is configured to receive/monitor signals supporting either the first RAT, the second RAT or both),
wherein determining the receiving manner according to the supporting ability of the terminal for the receiving manner comprises:
in a case where the terminal only supports the first receiving manner, determining the first receiving manner as the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraphs 0077-0078, using a first set of resources for UE only supporting LTE);
in a case where the terminal only supports the second receiving manner, determining the second receiving manner as the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraphs 0077-0078, using a second set of resources for UE supporting 5G NR); and
in a case where the terminal supports the first receiving manner and the second receiving manner, determining a default manner in the first receiving manner and the second receiving manner as the receiving manner (Takeda: paragraph 0078, an NR UE that supports both 5G NR and 5G LTE may be configured to receive/monitor the NR signals.
Takeda fails to explicitly teach receiving information of the support capability reported by the terminal. However, Liu from an analogous art similarly teach a first node (i.e. user equipment) sending a capability report to the network indicating whether the UE supports CRS Puncturing PDCCH (Liu: paragraph 0271). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include sending a capability report indicating whether CRS Puncturing PDCCH is supported as taught by Liu so as to ensure correct reception of data based on capabilities of the user equipment.
Regarding Claim 18, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach in response to determining that the aggregation level is greater than/less than a first preset threshold, determining the first receiving manner/second receiving as the receiving manner. However, Liu from an analogous art similarly teaches the presence of a control channel candidate with resource elements overlapping with other signals is associated with a threshold related to characteristic relationship to determine how to process or receive a signal. For example a threshold greater than 4 is used to indicate the characteristic relationship is the second relationship indicating a second receiving manner (Liu: paragraphs 0035, 0449 & 0504-0510). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include a threshold to determine a receiving manner as taught by Liu to ensure the receiving manner meets the aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate.
Regarding Claim 19, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach in response to determining that the aggregation level is greater than/less than a second preset threshold, determining the first receiving manner/second receiving as the receiving manner. However, Liu from an analogous art similarly teaches the presence of a control channel candidate with resource elements overlapping with other signals is associated with a threshold related to characteristic relationship to determine how to process or receive a signal. For example a threshold greater than 4 is used to indicate the characteristic relationship is the second relationship indicating a second receiving manner (Liu: paragraphs 0035, 0449 & 0504-0510). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda to include a threshold to determine a receiving manner as taught by Liu to ensure the receiving manner meets the aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeda et al. (US 2023/0180031 A1) teaches LTE-CRS based rate-matching or puncturing for NR PDCCH (paragraph 0066 & Fig. 8).
Park et al. (US 2022/0182843 A1) teaches a BS allocates the CORESET to an NR PDCCH, the BS may puncture allocation of a DMRS to a resource and may transmit the NR PDCCH, on which resource allocation is completed, to the UE (paragraph 0099 & Fig. 9).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463