DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Applicant(s) are reminded that optional or conditional elements do not narrow the claims because they can always be omitted. See e.g. MPEP §2106 II C: "Language that suggest or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. [Emphasis in original.]"; and In re Johnston, 435 F.3d 1381, 77 USPQ2d 1788, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2006) "As a matter of linguistic precision, optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted." In re Johnston, 435 F.3d 1381, 77 USPQ2d 1788, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2006)(where the Federal Circuit affirmed the Board's claim construction of “further including that said wall may be smooth, corrugated, or profiled with increased dimensional proportions as pipe size is increased” since “this additional content did not narrow the scope of the claim because these limitations are stated in the permissive form 'may.'”).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged with the benefit of an earlier filing date of December 27, 2021 for PCT/CN2021/141814.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 2, 2024, May 6, 2025, and May 5, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 12, 15, and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0124675). Hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a resource determining method, wherein the method is performed by a network device (base station), and comprises:
determining a first resource according to first information (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123]; the base station determines the first resource including the indications to transmit to the UE);
wherein the first information indicates: providing a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) to a terminal of a first type or not providing the MBS to the terminal of the first type; and the first resource comprises at least one of: a common frequency resource (CFR), or an initial downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) used by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the indication provides multicast and broadcast BWP/CFR to the UE to determine whether it is first-type broadcast CFR or the initial BWP in the downlink communication (i.e. DL BWP)).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first resource according to the first information comprises:
in response to providing the MBS to the terminal of the first type, determining that the CFR is comprised in the initial DL BWP (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the indication provides multicast and broadcast BWP/CFR to the UE to determine whether it is first-type broadcast CFR or the initial BWP in the downlink communication (i.e. DL BWP)); or
in response to providing the MBS to the terminal of the first type, determining that the initial DL BWP and the CFR are within a bandwidth supported by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining the first resource comprises:
determining a configuration operation for a CFR used by the terminal of the first type according to a time-frequency domain position relationship between the initial DL BWP and a CFR used by a terminal of a second type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]);
wherein the time-frequency domain position comprises at least one of a time domain position or a frequency domain position; a capability of the terminal of the second type is different from a capability of the terminal of the first type; the CFR used by the terminal of the first type is comprised in the initial DL BWP, or the CFR used by the terminal of the first type and the initial DL BWP are within a bandwidth supported by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein determining the configuration operation for the CFR used by the terminal of the first type according to the time-frequency domain position relationship between the initial DL BWP and the CFR used by the terminal of the second type, comprises:
in response to that the CFR used by the terminal of the second type is not comprised in the initial DL BWP, configuring the CFR used by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE when the second-type broadcast CFR is different than the initial BWP, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]); or
in response to that the CFR used by the terminal of the second type is comprised in the initial DL BWP, not configuring the CFR used by the terminal of the first type.
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses a method for monitoring a multicast and broadcast service (MBS), wherein the method is performed by a terminal of a first type, and comprises:
performing a processing operation for the MBS according to a configuration result of a first resource (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE monitors the downlink configuration for selecting the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR);
wherein the first resource comprises at least one of: a common frequency resource (CFR), or an initial downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) used by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]); and the processing operation comprises: monitoring the MBS or not monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE monitors the downlink configuration for selecting the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein performing the processing operation for the MBS according to the configuration result of the first resource comprises:
in response to that the initial DL BWP comprises the CFR, monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]);
in response to that the initial DL BWP does not comprise the CFR, not monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE does not monitor deactivated multicast BWP even if it is contained within the active dedicated BWP, but may only monitor the activated multicast BWP if it is within the active dedicated BWP, paragraph [0091]);
in response to that the initial DL BWP and the CFR are within a bandwidth supported by the terminal of the first type, monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]); or
in response to that the initial DL BWP and the CFR are not within the bandwidth supported by the terminal of the first type, not monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE does not monitor deactivated multicast BWP even if it is contained within the active dedicated BWP, but may only monitor the activated multicast BWP if it is within the active dedicated BWP, paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein performing the processing operation for the MBS according to the configuration result of the first resource comprises:
in response to determining that a CFR used by the terminal of the first type is configured, monitoring the MBS based on the CFR used by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]);
wherein the CFR used by the terminal of the first type is comprised in the initial DL BWP, or the CFR used by the terminal of the first type and the initial DL BWP are within a bandwidth supported by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein monitoring the MBS comprises:
in response to that the terminal of the first type monitors first information on the initial DL BWP and an opportunity for monitoring the MBS is reached, switching to monitor the MBS on the CFR (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising:
in response to an end of monitoring the MBS on the CFR, switching to monitor the first information on the initial DL BWP (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising:
in response to a conflict between an opportunity for monitoring first information and an opportunity for monitoring the MBS, determining a monitoring operation according to priority levels of monitoring the first information and monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE determines whether to perform dynamic BWP switching based on priority indicated by the DCI, where the UE waits until the reception of the multicast or unicast downlink communication is complete or the active time expires before performing the BWP switching if the priority indicated by the DCI that includes the dynamic switching indication is lower or the same as a priority associated with a multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, and the UE performs BWP switching immediately if the priority indicated by the DCI is higher than the priority associated with the multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, paragraph [0121]);
wherein the monitoring operation comprises: monitoring the first information or monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein determining the monitoring operation according to the priority levels of monitoring the first information and monitoring the MBS comprises:
in response to that the priority level of monitoring the first information is higher than the priority level of monitoring the MBS, monitoring the first information (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE determines whether to perform dynamic BWP switching based on priority indicated by the DCI, where the UE waits until the reception of the multicast or unicast downlink communication is complete or the active time expires before performing the BWP switching if the priority indicated by the DCI that includes the dynamic switching indication is lower or the same as a priority associated with a multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, and the UE performs BWP switching immediately if the priority indicated by the DCI is higher than the priority associated with the multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, paragraph [0121]); or
in response to that the priority level of monitoring the first information is lower than the priority level of monitoring the MBS, monitoring the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE determines whether to perform dynamic BWP switching based on priority indicated by the DCI, where the UE waits until the reception of the multicast or unicast downlink communication is complete or the active time expires before performing the BWP switching if the priority indicated by the DCI that includes the dynamic switching indication is lower or the same as a priority associated with a multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, and the UE performs BWP switching immediately if the priority indicated by the DCI is higher than the priority associated with the multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising:
determining the priority level of monitoring the MBS according to a type of the MBS (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]; the UE determines whether to perform dynamic BWP switching based on priority indicated by the DCI, where the UE waits until the reception of the multicast or unicast downlink communication is complete or the active time expires before performing the BWP switching if the priority indicated by the DCI that includes the dynamic switching indication is lower or the same as a priority associated with a multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, and the UE performs BWP switching immediately if the priority indicated by the DCI is higher than the priority associated with the multicast or unicast downlink communication to be received in the active BWP, paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses a network device (base station), comprising:
a memory (the base station includes memory, paragraph [0065]); and
a processor connected to the memory and, by executing an executable instruction stored in the memory (the base station includes controller/processor for providing means to perform operations described herein, paragraph [0065]), configured to:
determine a first resource according to first information (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123]; the base station determines the first resource including the indications to transmit to the UE);
wherein the first information indicates: providing a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) to a terminal of a first type or not providing the MBS to the terminal of the first type; and the first resource comprises at least one of: a common frequency resource (CFR), or an initial downlink bandwidth part (DL BWP) used by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the indication provides multicast and broadcast BWP/CFR to the UE to determine whether it is first-type broadcast CFR or the initial BWP in the downlink communication (i.e. DL BWP)).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses the network device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to providing the MBS to the terminal of the first type, determine that the CFR is comprised in the initial DL BWP (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the indication provides multicast and broadcast BWP/CFR to the UE to determine whether it is first-type broadcast CFR or the initial BWP in the downlink communication (i.e. DL BWP)); or
in response to providing the MBS to the terminal of the first type, determine that the initial DL BWP and the CFR are within a bandwidth supported by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses the network device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine a configuration operation for a CFR used by the terminal of the first type according to a time-frequency domain position relationship between the initial DL BWP and a CFR used by a terminal of a second type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]);
wherein the time-frequency domain position comprises at least one of a time domain position or a frequency domain position; a capability of the terminal of the second type is different from a capability of the terminal of the first type; the CFR used by the terminal of the first type is comprised in the initial DL BWP, or the CFR used by the terminal of the first type and the initial DL BWP are within a bandwidth supported by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses the network device according to claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to that the CFR used by the terminal of the second type is not comprised in the initial DL BWP, configure the CFR used by the terminal of the first type (the base station transmits indications of a unicast BWP (bandwidth part), a multicast BWP/CFR (e.g., a multicast CFR (common frequency resource) associated with a BWP), and a broadcast BWP/CFR (e.g., a broadcast CFR associated with a BWP) to the UE, where the indication of the unicast BWP and/or the indication of the multicast BWP/CFR is included in an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration), a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), or DCI, and the UE determines whether to switch BWP for receiving downlink communications based on the indication of the first CFR for unicast, multicast, and broadcast downlink communications, where the indication of the first CFR is included in configuration information identifying an initial BWP, the first CFR configured for multicast downlink communications, and a unicast BWP configured for unicast downlink communications, and the indication of second CFR includes an indication of a first-type broadcast CFR that is the same as an initial BWP and an indication of a second-type broadcast CFR that is different than the initial BWP, which selects the first-type broadcast CFR or the second-type broadcast CFR as the second CFR configured for broadcast downlink communications based at least in part on a capability or type of the UE when the second-type broadcast CFR is different than the initial BWP, paragraphs [0088], [0122], [0123], [0126], [0135]; the UE monitors broadcast downlink communications in the broadcast BWP and system information when the initial BWP is included within the broadcast BWP, paragraph [0095]); or
in response to that the CFR used by the terminal of the second type is comprised in the initial DL BWP, not configure the CFR used by the terminal of the first type.
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses a terminal of a first type (user equipment (UE)), comprising:
a memory (the UE includes memory, paragraph [0047]); and
a processor connected to the memory and, by executing an executable instruction stored in the memory (the UE includes controller/processor for providing means to perform operations described herein, paragraph [0047]), configured to perform the method according to claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
LIU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0250918) – indicating downlink control information (DCI) for multicast and/or broadcast (MB) communications using DCI formats that is based on existing DCI formats and/or size for unicast communications, paging signals, system information signals, etc., or includes shortened formats without fields for information that is not used in MB communications
LIN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0093727) – receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message that indicates a search space dedicated for the MBS from a base station (BS), and monitoring MBS Downlink Control Information (DCI) for MBS-related control information in a control resource set (CORESET) in the search space dedicated for the MBS, where the MBS DCI includes a common frequency resources
YAO et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0097512) – configuring and using multicast or broadcast services resource sets includes allocating common frequency resources for MBS service by configuring and defining an MBS resource set
LIU et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0354382) – receiving Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) traffic information and MBS control information by a wireless communication device from a base station, and receiving MBS traffic based on the MBS traffic information and the MBS control information by the wireless communication device, including the wireless communication device determines Common Frequency Range (CFR) for the MBS control information from an initial downlink Bandwidth Part (BWP) or from signaling, wherein the CFR for the MBS control information comprises at least one of a CFR index, a starting Resource Block (RB) of the CFR, a number of RBs of the CFR, a Subcarrier Spacing (SCS), and a Cyclic Prefix (CP) type
ZHANG et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0032072) – receiving a common Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) on at least one Multimedia Broadcast Service Bandwidth Part (MBS BWP) associated with an active dedicated unicast BWP, where the MBS BWP is a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) for MBS, and each of the at least one MBS BWP having a frequency domain range within a frequency domain range of the active dedicated unicast BWP, and receiving a common Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the common PDCCH
SHRIVASTAVA et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0089704) – receiving configuration information associated with the MBS from a base station, and receiving MBS data on a common frequency resource (CFR) configured based on the configuration information from the base station, wherein the CFR is configured in a unicast bandwidth part (BWP)
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468