Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on June 24, 2024.
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), which the certified copy has been placed in the record of the file..
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. Drawing submitted on 06/24/2024 is acceptable.
Specification
5.The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai “WO2020171095” in a view of Chen “JP20100572268”.
In re to claim 1, Dai discloses a power supply device comprising (Fig. 4 :the power supply device): a main circuit (filter circuit 40);
a switching unit (power supply equipment 300 ) connected to the main circuit (40); and
a noise attenuation unit (a combination of resistors R .sub.CT, Rg, Rs, Rf, inductance L .sub.a, capacitor C .sub.f, operational amplifier 41 and current injection network 42)) configured to attenuate noise generated in the switching unit (300)
wherein the main circuit includes a core (10) , a first common mode coil including a first winding (11) and a first coating configured to coat the first winding and wound around the core (10) , a second common mode coil (12) including a second winding and a second coating configured to coat the second winding and wound around the core (10) , a first connection line (112) configured to connect the first winding (11) and the switching unit (300) , and a second connection line (122) configured to connect the second winding (12) and the switching unit (300), and
the noise attenuation unit (resistor R .sub.CT, Rg, Rs, Rf, inductance L .sub.a, capacitor C .sub.f, operational amplifier 41 and current injection network 42) includes an auxiliary coil including a third winding (13) and a third coating configured to coat the third winding and wound around the core such that the third winding is spaced apart from the first winding and the second winding by a predetermined insulation distance (Examiner noted that it is common and understood in the art that coating/insulation/jacket of common mode choke coils serves several critical electrical, mechanical, and environmental purposes, ensuring the component's reliability and performance within electronic circuits. Furthermore, it is understood that the coating/Insulated windings are spaced apart, particularly in high-voltage applications, to manage heat dissipation, prevent insulation degradation from heat, and ensure safety against arc flash),
a capacitor (C1 and C2) connected to at least one of the first connection line (112) and the second connection line (122), and a resonance suppression unit including an amplification unit (opamp 41) and a low-pass filter ( opamp 41, compensation capacitor Cf, feedback resistor Rf and Rg are connected to opam 41, thus are considered as low pass filter ) connected to the amplification unit (41) and provided between the auxiliary coil (13) and the capacitor (C1 and C2) but fails to discloses to attenuate noise generated in the switching unit.
Whereas, Chen discloses a conductive noise filter that reduces conductive noise generated in power electronics equipment (figs.1-13) attenuate noise generated in the switching unit (a common mode voltage detecting means for detecting a common mode voltage generated during the switching operation of the power semiconductor element via a ground capacitor connected to a line between the AC power supply and the rectifier; and the detected common Based on the mode voltage, a canceling voltage of the opposite polarity having the same magnitude as the common mode voltage is generated, and this canceling voltage is superimposed between the connection point of the AC power source and the grounding capacitor in the line, see parag. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified common mode choke coil 10 to switching circuit as taught by Dai to include the attenuate noise generated in the switching unit as taught by Chen in order to prevent the effective of EMI by the switching unit, thus improve the reliability of the circuit.
In re to claim 2, Dai as modified discloses (Figs. 1-13), wherein an input terminal of the amplification unit is electrically connected to the third winding (Fig. 4 : input terminal of opam is coupled to winding 13), and an output terminal of the amplification unit is electrically connected to the capacitor (output of opamp is coupled between C1 and C2).
In re to claim 3, Dai as modified discloses (Figs. 1-13), wherein an input terminal of the amplification unit is electrically connected to the capacitor (Fig.4: one end of C1 connected to 112 which is electrically coupled to 41) , and an output terminal of the amplification unit is electrically connected to the third winding (Fig.4: other end of C2 is electrically coupled to 41).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 is objected because the prior art in record fails to discloses or suggest the power supply device including the limitation of “wherein the capacitor is connected to the first connection line, and the predetermined insulation distance is a distance at which a gain of a closed circuit becomes 0 or less when a phase of an input and a phase of an output at a predetermined point of the closed circuit including a parasitic capacitance generated between the first winding and the third winding, the third winding, the resonance suppression unit, the capacitor, and the first connection line are in phase. ”
Claim 7 is objected because the prior art in record fails to discloses or suggest the power supply device including the limitation of “wherein the capacitor is connected to the first connection line, the auxiliary coil is wound around a portion of the core around which the first common mode coil and the second common mode coil are not wound, and the predetermined insulation distance is a distance at which a gain of a closed circuit becomes 0 or less when a phase of an input and a phase of an output at a predetermined point of the closed circuit including a parasitic capacitance generated between the first winding and the third winding, the third winding, the resonance suppression unit, the capacitor, and the first connection line are in phase. ”
Claims 5-6 are dependent on claim 4, thus are also objected because of their dependency.
Claims 8-9 are dependent on claim 7, thus are also objected because of their dependency.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miyamoto “20210012949” this disclosure relates to a common mode choke coil, and more particularly to a wire wound type common mode choke coil having a structure in which a plurality of wires is wound around a winding core portion provided on a core.
Hashimoto “20160111204” it is an object of the present disclosure to provide a common mode choke coil capable of increasing a rated current value.
Umetani “20140306788” the present disclosure relates to a filter component that provides a common mode choke coil function and a reactor function.33*1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838