DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/24/2024 has been considered.
EP 21154040 cannot be considered because no copy was provided of the document as required by 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2).
FR 2473440 and BE 852864 cannot be considered because they are not in the English language, nor contain an English abstract or other statement of relevance, as is required by 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains implied phrases, e.g. “The invention relates to”. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) and/or PCT Rule 11.13(m) for the following informalities:
Reference characters “4” and “5” have both been used to designate a piston (see pgh. 0050-0051 of the PGPub).
Reference characters “21” and “23” have both been used to designate an opening (see pgh. 0053-0054).
Reference character “4” has been used to designate both a “body” and a “braking piston” (see pgh. 0051-0053).
Reference character “24” has been used to designate both “balls” and a “piston” (see pgh. 0054 vs. 0057).
Reference character “33” has been used to designate both a “body” and a “casing” (see pgh. 0112-0113).
Reference character “39” has been used to designate both a “space formed in the casing” and a “housing” (see pgh. 0105-0106).
Reference characters “51” and “54” have both been used to designate a sheath (see pgh. 0084).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “a control mechanism”, previously recited in claim 1. This constitutes a double inclusion. It is unclear whether a further control mechanism is being recited.
Dependent claims not specifically mentioned are rejected due to dependency on a rejected base claim for failing to cure the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asano (U.S. 2016/0144843).
Regarding claim 1, Asano discloses (figs. 1-4) A railway braking system for a railway vehicle (pgh. 0033), including
a brake cylinder (e.g. 31) configured to act on braking members (11) of the railway vehicle,
an actuation device (25) configured to lock the brake cylinder in a braking position and an unlocking device (28) configured to unlock the actuation device by actuation of a control mechanism (49/50/51 etc.),
wherein the control mechanism includes a control member (49d) movable in translation according to a first direction (left and right in fig. 3) and housed in a casing (23) of the unlocking device connected to the brake cylinder (as shown), the control member being configured to cooperate with the actuation device (as shown), and
a blocking member (51) mounted movable in translation according to a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of movement of the control member (up and down in fig. 3) and housed in the casing of the unlocking device (as shown),
the control mechanism being configured so that, when the actuation device is in a locking position of the brake cylinder and the control member is urged and moved towards a maintenance position in which it is configured to make the actuation device pass into an unlocking position, the blocking member is urged and moved in a position in which it blocks the control member in position (see pgh. 0099-0104 at least).
Regarding claim 2, Asano discloses (figs. 1-4) the unlocking device (28) includes at least one control rod (shaft 49) connected at one end to the control member (as shown) and mounted so as to partially project from the casing (see fig. 1) so as to be urged from outside of the casing (by wheel 60).
Regarding claim 3, Asano discloses (figs. 1-4) the control member is formed by a clevis (49a-d) movably mounted in a space (bore where 49 resides) formed in a body of the casing (as shown), between a safety position, corresponding to locking the brake cylinder, and a maintenance position corresponding to unlocking the brake cylinder (corresponding to left and right positions of 49 respectively),
with the clevis which has a central orifice (formed by 49c in part) configured to receive a lever (51a) of the actuation device (51 is deemed to be “of the actuation device as it forms a constituent part thereof).
Regarding claim 11, Asano discloses (figs. 1-4) a parking brake or a service brake cylinder (cylinder below 31) configured to act on the braking members of the railway vehicle with the actuation device which is configured to lock the brake cylinder in a parking brake configuration (as shown).
Regarding claim 12, Asano discloses (figs. 1-4) the railway braking system is configured to act on mechanical members (15) of the railway vehicle and the unlocking device of which is configured to unlock the actuation device by actuation of a control mechanism (control mechanism 49/50/51 actuates the unlocking device 28 to unlock the actuation device 25 as shown).
Regarding claims 13-14, Asano discloses (figs. 1-4) the unlocking device (50) is urged from outside of the casing by a control cable (e.g. 60)
Regarding claims 15-16, Asano discloses (figs. 1-4) the parking brake or the service brake cylinder act on brake discs or wheels of the railway vehicle (see pgh. 0032 at least, tread brake on the wheel or a disc brake device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asano (U.S. 2016/0144843) in view of Stohr (U.S. 2020/0180582).
Regarding claim 10, Asano does not appear to disclose a detection module. In the same field of endeavor of vehicle brakes with blocking devices, Stohr teaches (figs. 1 and 2A) a brake unit (32), actuator (14/16), and a control mechanism (48) including blocking member (50), wherein the control mechanism has a detection module (58) provided with at least one sensor (82) housed in a body of the casing (within the device as shown) and configured to detect the position of the control member and/or of the blocking member (50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the detection module of Stohr within the environment of Asano to confirm the position of the blocking member electronically, thereby eliminating the need of the user to visually or physically check the position manually.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome any 112(b) rejections, as appropriate.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose various brake control systems and blocking members thereof.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616