DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 3-9 have been amended. Thus, claims 1-9 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-6, 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 1:
At line 2, expand acronym “VoLTE” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 3, expand acronym “sms” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 13, expand acronym “SIM” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
For claim 3:
At line 3, expand acronym “IMS” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
For claim 4:
At line 4, expand acronym “IMS” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
For claim 5:
At line 14, expand acronym “IPX” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 17, expand acronym “MME” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 16, expand acronym “CUPS” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 20, expand acronym “SGW-C” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
For claim 6:
At line 4, expand acronym “GTP” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 5, expand acronym “IMS” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 5, expand acronym “SIP” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
For claim 9:
At line 5, expand acronym “SGW-U” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 5, expand acronym “GTP-U” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
At line 6, expand acronym “CUPS” and enclose the acronym by parenthesis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The Examiner respectfully submits that, for each of the following rejected claims, in view of the indefiniteness of each of them, it is difficult to understand the scope of these claims.
For claim 1:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
Also, along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of limitations enclosed by “– –” and it is unclear whether the limitations are to be considered or not.
At line 3, “of said persons” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 4, “the data traffic” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, “the network” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, it is unclear whether “foreigners” are different from “foreigners” at line 3.
At lines 7-8, “the user” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 8, it is unclear whether “other persons” are different from previous recitation.
At line 9, it is unclear whether “communicate network” is different from previous recitations of networks.
At lines 11-12, it is unclear whether “with other persons” should refer to previous recitation.
At line 12, it is unclear the scope of “s/he can”.
At line 12, it is unclear the scope of “his/her”.
At line 15, “the roaming data” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 15, it is unclear whether “voice, video, sms” should refer to previous recitations.
At line 17, “the communication network” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 18, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
At lines 21-23, it is unclear whether “call detail records of voice data, call detail records of video data and detail records of sms data…” should refer to previous recitations.
At lines 26, “the roaming electronic device” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 28, “the call detail records of the roaming user” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 29, it is unclear the scope of “his/her”.
For claim 2:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”; otherwise, it would unclear whether it is an independent or dependent claim.
At line 2, it is unclear whether it should be “by the at least one electronic device”.
At line 3, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
At line 5, it is unclear the scope of “s/he”.
For claim 3:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”.
At line 3, “the IMS subnetwork” lacks of antecedent basis.
For claim 4:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”.
At line 4, “the IMS subnetwork” lacks of antecedent basis.
At lines 4-5, “the step” lacks of antecedent basis.
For claim 5:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”.
At line 7, “the incoming call detail” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 8, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
At line 9, “the wholesale teams” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 9, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
At lines 11-12, “the regulatory authority” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 12, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
At line 14, “the form of IPX” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 14, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
At line 14, “the number of connections” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 17, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
At line 19, “the signalling side” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 19, “the CUPS” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 20, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
For claim 6:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”.
At lines 3-4, “the GTP tunnel” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 4, “the form” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
At line 5, “the IMS traffic” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, “the IMS network” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 6, “the entrance of the IMS network” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 7, “the form of session” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 7, it is unclear the scope of “itself”.
For claim 7:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”.
At line 3, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
At line 4, “the call” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, “the form of service” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 6, “the invitation message” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 7, “the IMS subnetwork” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 8, “the call” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 8, “the ringing message” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 9, “the “bye” message” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 10, it is unclear whether “bye” belongs or not to the claim.
For claim 8:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”.
At line 3, it is unclear whether it should be “by the at least one server”.
At line 4, “the calling party” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, “the called party information” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, “the information of device identity” lacks of antecedent basis.
At lines 5-6, “the information of cell” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 6, “the information of ringing message” lacks of antecedent basis.
At lines 6-7, “the information of “bye”” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 7, it is unclear whether “bye” belongs or not to the claim.
At line 7, “the sender” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 8, “the session initiation” lacks of antecedent basis.
For claim 9:
Along the preamble and body of the claim, there is a plurality of “( )” including numbers and letters. It is unclear whether these ones are variables or acronyms and what they mean.
At line 1, it is unclear whether it should be “The system for generating..”.
At line 3, it is unclear whether it should be “by the at least one server”.
At lines 4-5, “the network element of SGW-U” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 5, “the GTP-U tunnel” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 6, “the form” lacks of antecedent basis.
At line 6, “the CUPS” lacks of antecedent basis.
For claims 2-9:
These claims are also rejected as they depend upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)-(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yau et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0227357).
Regarding claim 1, Yau teaches a system (Fig. 2) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming ([Paragraphs 65-71]) which enables to generate call detail records related to voice and sms voice communications ([Paragraph 40]) of the said persons upon foreigners -who are roaming- ([Paragraph 8]) communicate with each other over voice and sms by using VoLTE, and ensures that the data traffic occurring in the network as a result of voice, sms, video-based agreements made with foreigners can be observed by the network ([Paragraphs 9-11]), comprising
at least one electronic device (UE 22) which is configured to enable the user to communicate with other persons over at least one communicate network ([Paragraph 34]);
at least one visited public land mobile network ([Paragraph 12]) which is configured to enable the user (U) to communicate with other persons by ensuring that s/he can roam in another region ([Paragraph 31]) by his/her own local SIM card, and has a plurality of network elements (NE) ([Paragraphs 61, 89]);
at least one local public land mobile network ([Paragraph 31]) which is configured to terminate the roaming data such as voice, video, sms -that arise from the visited public land mobile network including the communication network whereto the user (U) is a subscriber- on itself and has a plurality of network elements (NE) ([Paragraph 67]);
and characterized by
at least one server which is included in the visited public land mobile network and is configured to generate call detail records of voice data, call detail records of video data and detail records of sms data by using the voice, video, sms data traffic information of the user (U) upon running the roaming data ([Paragraphs 40-41]) -that occurs from the visited public land mobile network towards the local public land mobile network by the roaming electronic device ([Paragraphs 40, 104]) - by means of a production function of voice call detail record on itself ([Paragraphs 9, 19]); and to ensure that the call detail records of the roaming user (U) generated related to his/her electronic device remain in the visited public land mobile network ([Paragraphs 34, 43, 58]).
Regarding claim 2, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to Claim 1; characterized by the electronic device (2) which is a smart device such as mobile phone, tablet, computer (UE 22) configured to enable the user (U) to initiate a call towards the visited public land mobile network (3) over VoLTE ([Paragraphs 66-102]), to send sms or to send video by ensuring that s/he roams on the visited public land mobile network (3) ([Paragraphs 19, 32]).
Regarding claim 3, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to Claim 1 or 2; characterized by the electronic device (2) which is configured to send invitation message ([Paragraph 5]) to the IMS subnetwork in the local public land mobile network (4) when initiating a call from the visited public land mobile network (3) towards the local public land mobile network (4) ([Paragraphs 33, 35]).
Regarding claim 4, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to claim 1, characterized by the electronic device (2) which is configured to transmit session initiation protocol (SIP) ([Paragraphs 13, 40]) message to the IMS subnetwork in the local public land mobile network (4) at the step of sending sms from the visited public land mobile network (3) towards the local public land mobile network (4) ([Paragraphs 13, 40, 55]).
Regarding claim 5, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to claim 1, characterized by the visited public land mobile network (3) which is configured to provide 4G radio access to the electronic device (2) ([Paragraph 31]) by means of at least one network element (NE) of eNodeB type ([Paragraph 84]); ensure that data traffic of the roaming electronic device (2) is managed by means of at least one network element (NE) ([Paragraphs 80-81]) of service gateway (SGW) type located on itself ([Paragraph 12]); ensure that call detail records are directed to subsystems by enabling the incoming call detail records to be formatted by means of at least one mediation system located on itself ([Paragraphs 9, 11]); ensure that roaming agreements are made with the wholesale teams located on itself and data usage is calculated over summary data ([Paragraph 8]); ensure that information of the electronic device (2) for using the visited public land mobile network (3) is requested from every foreign country operator by means of the regulatory authority located on itself ([Paragraphs 56-57]); ensure that intermediate signalling and intermediate data realized by the local public land mobile network (4) are carried by means of the network element (NE) in the form of IPX on itself and the number of connections is reduced by allowing to establish connection with the local public land mobile network (4) directly ([Paragraph 34]); ensure that network selection and mobility management transactions of subscribers are carried out by means of the network element (NE) of MME type located on itself and descriptions enabling the subscriber to perform VoLTE roaming are stored ([Paragraphs 12-14]); ensure that the network element (NE) of service gateway type can provide service on the signalling side in the CUPS architecture by means of the network element (NE) of SGW-C type on itself ([Paragraphs 12, 38]).
Regarding claim 6, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to claim 1, characterized by the visited public land mobile network (3) which is configured to ensure that the GTP tunnel is terminated ([Paragraphs 38-39, 45]) by means of the network element (NE) in the form of packet gateway (PGW) located on itself and to direct the IMS traffic to the IMS network ([Paragraphs 35, 38, 40]); and ensure that SIP signalling is carried out at the entrance of the IMS network by means of the network element (NE) ([Paragraphs 40, 55]) in the form of session border controller (SBC) located on itself ([Paragraphs 10, 13, 50]).
Regarding claim 7, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to claim 1, characterized by the server (5) which is configured to access data such as calling party ([Paragraph 57]), called party in the call, device identity number (IMEI) ([Paragraph 57]), information of cell where the call is made by establishing connection with the network element (NE) in the form of service gateway (SGW) on the visited public land mobile network (3) ([Paragraphs 12, 34]), by analysing the invitation message transmitted from the electronic device (2) to the IMS subnetwork in the local public land mobile network (4) ([Paragraph 9]); to detect that the call has started ringing by the ringing message transmitted to the electronic device (2) ([Paragraphs 16-17]); to detect that the call is completed by means of the "bye" message transmitted from the electronic device (2) to the IMS subnetwork in the local public land mobile network (4) ([Paragraph 9]).
Regarding claim 8, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to claim 1, characterized by the server (5) which is configured to generate call detail records of voice and video data related to the electronic device (2) in VoLTE roaming by using the calling party information ([Paragraphs 31-33]), the called party information, the information of device identity number, the information of cell where the call is made, the information of ringing message, the information of "bye" message it accessed ([Paragraph 49]); to use the sender, addressee, sms centre, sending time, message size information in the session initiation protocol message when generating the call detail records from the sms data related to the electronic device (2) in VoLTE roaming ([Paragraphs 31-33]).
Regarding claim 9, Yau further teaches the system (1) for generating voice, video and short message call records from data in VoLTE roaming according to claim 1, characterized by the server (5) which is configured to generate the call detail records of the said electronic device (2) by using the voice, video and sms data ([Paragraphs 32-33]) on the side of the network element (NE) of SGW-U type ([Paragraph 38]) terminating the GTP-U tunnel ([Paragraph 9]) when it determines that the network element (NE) in the form of service gateway uses the CUPS architecture in the visited public land mobile network (3) while it generates the call detail records of the electronic device (2) in VoLTE roaming ([Paragraphs 12, 38]).
Conclusion
July 25, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633