DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the router" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “at least one designated mediating channel/bot module”. The claim is dependent upon claim 1, which previously recited designated mediating channel/bot modules. It is unclear if applicant intends to be referencing the previously recited modules or intends to recite a different, additional module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “channel/bot modules ” and “mediating module”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0366478 to Mohammed et al.
As concerns claim 1, a mediating system for communicating between at least two users of an instant messaging platform, implemented by one or more processors (0008; 0122; 0127) operatively coupled to a non-transitory computer readable storage device (0008; 0122; 0127), which comprises:
a plurality of designated mediating channel/bot modules (0004-bot; 0008-modules; 0068-bot) having at least one designated address (0087-identifier) configured for communicating with each user (0004-user; 0007-communications between users) through an instant messaging platform (0005-platform; 0031-messaging session), including a first mediating module (0004-bot; 0007; 0008-modules; 0068-bot; Fig. 1) intermediate between an instant chat platform of the first user (Fig. 1, users 102, plurality of users shown thus a “first” user) and the router (0007-message relay; 0021) and a second mediating module (0004-bot; 0007; 0008-modules; 0068-bot; Fig. 1, 2C, 3 and 4, multiple bot “modules” 110, 116, thus a first and second) intermediate between the router and an instant chat platform of the second user (Fig. 1, users 102, plurality of users shown thus a “second” user);
at least one router (0007-message relay; 0021; Fig. 4-214R; 0099-0100-214R-message relay) configured to exchange communication between the first mediating module (0008-code modules) and the second mediating module (0008-code modules) or second user (0004-communication between a user and a bot) and identifying destination addresses (0061-address lookup database, network address) of users by applying business rules (0022-reject relay based on identifier, signature) based on the identified destination using a routing/map table (0013-look-up table; 0014-cryptographic database; 0018; 0022-identifer, message relay; 0061);
wherein messages are transferred between the users by at least two mediating channel/bot modules (0004-bot; 0008-modules; 0068-bot; Fig. 1, 2C, 3 and 4-multiple bot “modules” shown) though the at least one router (0007-message relay);
wherein the users communicate only through the mediating system, using the at least one designated address, maintaining users addresses private (0007-anonymized user identifier; 0033).
As concerns claims 2 and 11, the invention of claims 1 and 10 wherein the mediating entity/mediating channel/bot module further process said communication for identifying destination (0007-user identifier destination) and context of message (0093-intent of message).
As concerns claim 12, the invention of claim 10 wherein the mediating entity comprises at least two mediating modules: a first mediating module (0004-bot; 0008-modules; 0068-bot) to intermediate between the instant chat platform for the first user and the router (Fig. 1, 2C, 3 and 4) and a second mediating module (0004-bot; 0008-modules; 0068-bot) intermediate between the router and the instant chat platform for the second user or a business bot (0004-bot; 0008-modules; 0068-bot; Fig. 1, 2C, 3 and 4 ).
As concerns claims 4 and 13, the invention of claims 1 and 10 wherein at least one designated mediating channel/bot module is configured for processing the request to identify functionality (0093; 0095-intent) and destination (0087-identifier; 0059; 0061; 0082) and chatting (0004-communication between a user and a bot; 0091-conversational interface) with the user for receiving required destination information (0093).
As concerns claims 5 and 14, the invention of claims 1 and 10 wherein a response process that includes analysing context of content, to check if the required information is provided based on request message (0092-0098).
As concerns claims 6 and 15, the invention of claims 1 and 10 further comprising at least one designated mediating channel/bot module that is configured to keep chatting with an agent/user if necessary (0094-intent recognition, 0097-0098-chatting until intent determined; 0091-conversational interface), until a predetermined amount of information is received (0094-0097).
As concerns claims 7 and 16, the invention of claims 1 and 10 wherein a response process includes checking quality of response matching to request details (0095-intent recognition, is a “quality” check for the process to determine a next step; 0096-dialogue manager).
As concerns claims 8 and 17, the mediating system of claims 1 and 10 wherein at least one designated mediating channel/bot module/mediating entity is further configured to save the communication session chat information (0057-store messages).
As concerns claims 9 and 18, the invention of claims 1 and 10 further configured to check content of messages and/or response, to block said messages and/or response based on pre-defined rules (0003; 0018; 0061-authentication, allow communication) or generate an alert.
As concerns claim 10, a method for mediating between at least two end users of an instant messaging platform having at least a first mediating module of a mediating entity and a second mediating module of the mediating entity, implemented by one or more processors (0008; 0122; 0127) operatively coupled to a non-transitory computer readable storage device (0008; 0122; 0127), on which are stored modules of instruction code that when executed cause the one or more processors to perform said method comprising the steps of:
a. receiving a request message from a first user (0004-user) through an instant chat platform (0005-platform; 0031-messaging session) of the first user using a designated instant messaging platform address (0087-identifier; 0059; 0061; 0082) of the mediating entity;
b. processing said request message by the first mediating module (0004-bot; 0008-modules; 0068-bot) of the mediating entity, for identifying a destination corresponding to a second user (0087-identifier; 0059; 0061; 0082; 0013-look-up table; 0014-cryptographic database; 0018) and message metadata (0100);
c. sending a message with meta data to a router (0007-message relay) of the mediating entity;
d. receiving/identifying request destination address (0087-identifier; 0059; 0061; 0082; 0013-look-up table; 0014-cryptographic database; 0018)
e. forwarding (0087-identifier; 0059; 0061; 0082; 0013-look-up table; 0014-cryptographic database; 0018) the request message using instant message (Fig. 5B) to the second user by the second mediating module (0004-bot; 0008-modules; 0068-bot) of the mediating entity;
f. processing a response and forwarding the response (0011-response, transmit to message relay) to the router by the second mediating module of the mediating entity;
g. identifying a response destination address (0011-user identifier) and sending the response (0011-response)
h. forwarding the response to the first user (0011-transmit to user), using an instant chat platform of the second user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments are directed to newly amended claim limitations that have been addressed in the rejections cited above.
The applicant argues Mohammed fails to disclose independent chat functionality for each module, further stating Mohammed does not disclose two separate mediating modules where each independently chats with its respective user’s platform.
The claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claims are interpreted in view of 112 sixth paragraph and the applicant’s “modules” are encompassed by computer readable storage device with instruction code. Mohammed discloses at least the equivalent sufficient structure, thus can perform the same claimed functions (see rejection above).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “configured to independently chat”; “each mediating module operates as an independent chat agent that: 1. Maintains its own chat session with its respective user's instant messaging platform; 2. Processes messages independently to understand context and requirements; 3. Engages in autonomous dialogue to gather necessary information; 4. Makes independent decisions about message processing before routing; Each mediating module has its own "intelligence" and chat capability, functioning as an autonomous intermediary that can: ask clarifying questions to its user; gather additional information through chat dialogue; process and understand message context; and make routing decisions based on the chat interaction”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues Mohammed’s “Bot” is not equivalent to the claimed mediating modules, further stating these are not disclosed as: independent chat agents on both sides of a router; modules capable of maintaining separate, autonomous chat dialogues; entities that can independently process and chat with users before routing.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (independent chat agents on both sides of a router; modules capable of maintaining separate, autonomous chat dialogues; entities that can independently process and chat with users before routing) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues the citations refer to look-up tables and cryptographic databases for authentication, NOT business rules applied to routing decisions.
Claim 1 recites “at least one router configured to exchange communication between the first mediating module and the second mediating module or second user and identifying destination addresses of users by applying business rules based on the identified destination using a routing/map table.”
The claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claims recite “applying business rules”. This is interpreted as “applying” rules, wherein “business” is merely a label and does not further limit the applying rules, as set forth in the claims. The “applying rules” is based on “the identified destination” “using” a “routing/map” table.
Mohammed discloses at least paragraphs 0010-0013, wherein the “map table” can be disclosed by the “look-up table” wherein the table comprises user identifiers that is used for message relay, paragraph 0016 disclose mapping users and bots, paragraph 0033 disclose a target bot for exchanging communication from a first user bot; paragraph 0061 disclose an address lookup database thus identifying destination addresses.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451