DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kirchner et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0315234).
Kirchner discloses an installation for treating arthropod larvae, comprising at least one piece of equipment (Figures 1 & 2) producing glue water (numeral 400; paragraphs 75-80), which is extracted from a mixture of ground larvae (paragraphs 70-73), and a glue water circuit supplying a ground larvae treatment equipment comprising a glue water evaporator (7) as set forth in paragraphs 87-90.
Regarding claim 2, Kirchner also discloses a decanting system (5-1) for separating solid and liquid phases of the ground larvae, having three outlets including:
A solid phase outlet (shown at 500) connected to a meal dryer (8) as set forth in paragraph 90;
A first liquid outlet (shown at 400) connected to the glue water circuit (paragraphs 77-80); and
A second liquid outlet (shown at 600) connected to an oil collection circuit (paragraphs 77-82 and 88).
Concerning claim 7, Kirchner continues to disclose that the meal dryer (8) intrinsically has disks at an outlet of the meal dryer with extraction scoops for directing the meal toward the outlet of the meal dryer (paragraph 90).
With respect to claim 13, the reference also discloses a thermal regulation means for ensuring that a temperature of the ground larvae at an inlet to the decanting system (5-1) is between 80°C and 95°C (paragraphs 31, 59 and 101-109).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirchner et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0315234) in view of Leo (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0137137).
Kirchner is relied upon as set forth above. Kirchner does not appear to disclose that the meal dryer comprises a vacuum chamber. Leo discloses an installation for treating arthropod larvae that includes at least one piece of equipment for producing glue water, and a meal dryer to dry a solid phase of the grown insects (Abstract; Figures 1 & 5-12). The reference continues to disclose that the meal dryer comprises a vacuum chamber in order to successfully deplete the solid phase of water without burning or charring said solid phase (paragraphs 76, 479 and 677). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the meal dryer of Kirchner with a vacuum chamber in order to successfully deplete the solid phase of water without burning or charring said solid phase as exemplified by Leo.
Thus, claim 4 is not patentable over Kirchner in view of Leo.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 6 and 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799