DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 4-12, 14-20 and 24 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 21 and 23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ln. 35 should read ---received from the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit,---
Claim 5, ln. 4 should read ---a reference electrode, and---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a second extracorporeal blood sensor unit fluidically coupled to the extracorporeal blood circuit downstream or upstream of the dialyser, wherein the second extracorporeal blood sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the extracorporeal blood circuit upstream or downstream of the dialyser, respectively”. Claim 10 repeats the same limitation twice. It is unclear what is meant by the second recitation of the second extracorporeal blood sensor unit being fluidically coupled to the extracorporeal blood circuit upstream or downstream of the dialyser.
Claim 11 is rejected due to dependency on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-11, 16-17 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandl et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0208105 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Brandl discloses (fig. 2, 4, 6c) a hemodialysis machine comprising:
An extracorporeal blood circuit (202’),
A dialyser (dialysis filter 205a’),
A dialysis circuit (see inflow 207 and discharge 208, fig. 2 ¶ 0071) and
A control unit (controller 225’),
Wherein the extracorporeal blood circuit and the dialysis circuit are respectively in fluid communication with the dialyser (fig. 4, ¶ 0071); and
Wherein the hemodialysis machine further comprises:
A first extracorporeal blood sensor unit (Ca-ion sensor 224c, fig. 6c, ¶ 0132) comprising:
An analyte sensor (see first sensor surface 630, second sensor surface 631), configured to provide signals responsive to sensing of analytes (¶ 0075, ¶ 0132), and
An auxiliary circuit (anti-coagulant line 635, calibration solution lines 636, 637, further bypass lines 632a, 632b, 632c), wherein the auxiliary circuit comprises:
A pump (first pump 638a, second pump 638b, further pumps 638c, 638d),
A valve (634) and
A set of reservoirs including at least one of a solution and a solvent (¶ 0132), and
Wherein the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the extracorporeal blood circuit (¶ 0132, fig. 4, fig. 6c);
Wherein the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is arrangeable in:
A first arrangement, wherein the analyte sensor is in fluid communication with the extracorporeal blood circuit and wherein the analyte sensor is configured to provide a first set of signals when the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is in the first arrangement (when the valve 634 is open allowing blood to enter bypass line 632a, 632b, ¶ 0132); and
A second arrangement,
Wherein the analyte sensor is in fluid communication with the auxiliary circuit (when valve 634 is closed and a redundant or alternating measurement occurs, ¶ 0132)
Wherein the analyte sensor is configured to provide a second set of signals when the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is in the second arrangement (¶ 0132), and
Wherein the auxiliary circuit is configured to provide at least one of a set of solutions and a set of solvents (¶ 0132);
Wherein the control unit is configured to:
Control the dialysate circuit based, at least in part, on the first set of signals received from the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit (¶ 0077),
Control the auxiliary circuit, based at least in part on the second set of signals received from the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit (¶ 0132); and
Control at least one of conditioning, calibration and recalibration of the analyte sensor, when the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is arranged in the second arrangement (¶ 0132).
Regarding claim 4, Brandl discloses wherein the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is configured to periodically or intermittently move between the first arrangement and the second arrangement (¶ 0075, ¶ 0132).
Regarding claim 7, Brandl discloses wherein the analyte sensor is in fluid communication with only the extracorporeal blood circuit in the first arrangement and wherein the analyte sensor is in fluid communication with only the auxiliary circuit in the second arrangement (fig. 6c, ¶ 0132).
Regarding claim 8, Brandl discloses wherein the analyte sensor is in flowing fluid communication with the extracorporeal blood circuit in the first arrangement (fig. 6c, ¶ 0132).
Regarding claim 9, Brandl discloses wherein the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the extracorporeal blood circuit upstream or downstream of the dialyser (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Brandl discloses a second extracorporeal blood sensor unit (224a, ¶ 0111) fluidically coupled to the extracorporeal blood circuit downstream or upstream of the dialyser (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Brandl discloses wherein the control unit is configured to control the dialysate circuit based, at least in part, on a difference between the first set of signals received from the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit and a third set of signals received from the second extracorporeal blood sensor unit (¶ 0111, ¶ 0114).
Regarding claim 16, Brandl discloses wherein the dialysate circuit comprises at least one of a proportioning unit configured to provide a dialysate, a dialysate pump (207a) (¶ 0071), a temperature sensor, a conductivity sensor and a dialysate regeneration unit.
Regarding claim 17, Brandl discloses wherein the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit is configured to separate plasma from extracorporeal blood and to direct the separated plasma to the analyte sensor (see plasma circuit 229, ¶ 0113).
Regarding claim 24, Brandl discloses wherein the control unit is configured to control the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit to periodically perform one or more checks (¶ 0075).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandl and further evidenced by Van Antwerp et al. (Pub. No.: US WO 2006/029293 A1)
Regarding claim 6, Brandl fails to explicitly disclose wherein the analyte sensor is replaceably received in the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit.
However, Brandl discloses an exemplary sensor device described by Van Antwerp. Van Antwerp teaches an analyte sensor (apparatus 14) that is replaceably received in a first extracorporeal blood sensor unit (blood loop 10) (via luer lock 18, ¶ 0016).
Thus, Brandl discloses wherein the analyte sensor is replaceably received in the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit, as evidenced by Van Antwerp.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 12, 14-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandl, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meyer et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0217029 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Brandl fails to disclose wherein the analyte sensor comprises: an ion-selective electrode cell comprising: a reference electrode, and a set of ion-selective electrodes.
Meyer teaches (fig 1) a hemodialysis machine (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising an analyte sensor (conductivity sensor 613), wherein the analyte sensor comprises: an ion-selective electrode cell comprising: a reference electrode, and a set of ion-selective electrodes (¶ 0244), wherein such analyte sensor is a suitable analyte sensor for a hemodialysis machine (¶ 0244).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the analyte sensor of Brandl for the analyte sensor of Meyer comprising an ion-selective electrode cell comprising: a reference electrode, and a set of ion-selective electrodes, as such substitution provides the predictable result of an analyte sensor suitable for a hemodialysis machine (Meyer, ¶ 0244).
Regarding claim 12, Brandl fails to disclose a first dialysate sensor unit comprising an analyte sensor, wherein the first dialysate sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the dialysate circuit.
Meyer teaches (fig. 1) a hemodialysis machine (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a first dialysate sensor unit (conductivity sensor 613) comprising an analyte sensor, wherein the first dialysate sensor unit is fluidically coupled to a dialysate circuit (fig. 1, ¶ 0364), the first dialysate sensor unit configured to determine whether the dialysate is inside a predetermined range (¶ 0365).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hemodialysis machine of Brandl such that it comprises a first dialysate sensor unit comprising an analyte sensor, wherein the first dialysate sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the dialysate circuit, as taught by Meyer, in order to determine whether the dialysate is inside a predetermined range (Meyer ¶ 0365).
Regarding claim 14, Brandl in view of Meyer disclose wherein the first dialysate sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the dialysate circuit downstream or upstream of the dialyser (fig. 1).
Brandl in view of Meyer fail to disclose a second dialysate sensor unit comprising an analyte sensor, wherein the second dialysate sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the dialysate circuit downstream or upstream of the dialyser.
Meyer further teaches a second dialysate sensor unit (ammonia sensor 611) comprising an analyte sensor (¶ 0350), wherein the second dialysate sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the dialysate circuit downstream or upstream of the dialyser (fig. 1), wherein the second dialysate sensor unit is configured to detect a potentially hazardous condition (¶ 0363).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hemodialysis machine of Brandl in view of Meyer such that it comprises a second dialysate sensor unit comprising an analyte sensor, wherein the second dialysate sensor unit is fluidically coupled to the dialysate circuit downstream or upstream of the dialyser, as taught by Meyer, in order to detect a potentially hazardous condition (Meyer, ¶ 0363).
Regarding claim 15, Brandl in view of Meyer disclose wherein the control unit is configured to control the dialysate circuit based, at least in part, on a difference between a first set of dialysate analyte signals received from the first dialysate sensor unit and a second set of dialysate analyte signals received from the second dialysate sensor unit (Meyer, ¶ 0363-¶ 0364).
Regarding claim 18, Brandl fails to disclose wherein the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit comprises at least one of a temperature sensor for temperature-controlled recalibration of the analyte sensor and a flow sensor for flow-controlled recalibration of the analyte sensor.
Meyer teaches (fig. 1) a hemodialysis machine (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a temperature sensor (614) for temperature-controlled recalibration (¶ 0377) in order to provide an actual concentration determined from empirical temperature-solubility curves (¶ 0377).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit of Brandl such that it comprises at least one of a temperature sensor for temperature-controlled recalibration of the analyte sensor and a flow sensor for flow-controlled recalibration of the analyte sensor, as taught by Meyer, in order to provide an actual concentration determined from empirical temperature-solubility curves (Meyer ¶ 0377).
Regarding claim 20, Brandl fails to disclose wherein the control unit is configured to control a composition of a dialysate.
Meyer teaches (fig. 1) a hemodialysis machine (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a control unit, wherein the control unit is configured to control a composition of a dialysate (¶ 0364) in order to confirm that the dialysate falls within a predetermined range (¶ 0364).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control unit of Meyer such that it is configured to control a composition of a dialysate, as taught by Meyer, in order to confirm that the dialysate falls within a predetermined range (Meyer ¶ 0364).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandl, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kotanko et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0193317 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Brandl fails to disclose wherein the control unit comprises a trained machine learning algorithm, wherein the trained machine learning algorithm is trained to control the dialysate circuit based, at least in part, the first set of signals received from the first extracorporeal blood sensor unit.
Kotanko teaches (fig. 1) a hemodialysis machine (system 100, ¶ 0036) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a control unit comprising a trained machine learning algorithm, wherein the trained machine algorithm is trained to control a dialysate circuit based, at least in part, on a first set of signals received from a first extracorporeal blood sensor unit (¶ 0041) in order to adjust the patient’s treatment and update a machine learning model based on the results (¶ 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control unit of Brandl such that it comprises a control unit comprising a trained machine learning algorithm, wherein the trained machine algorithm is trained to control a dialysate circuit based, at least in part, on a first set of signals received from a first extracorporeal blood sensor unit, as taught by Kotanko, in order to adjust the patient’s treatment and update a machine learning model based on the results (Kotanko ¶ 0041).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ponomarev et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0149608 A1) discloses an analyte sensor. Wilt et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0299544 A1) discloses a hemodialysis machine.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781