DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 06/26/2024.
Claims 1-15 are canceled.
Claims 16-37 are added.
Claims 16-37 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
New claims 28-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Line 3 of claim 28 teaches the base station comprising a plurality of “transceivers” however only one transceiver of the base station is disclosed and depicted throughout the instant specification.
Line 2 of claim 33 teaches the terminal comprising a plurality of “transceivers” however only one transceiver of the terminal is disclosed and depicted throughout the instant specification.
Examiner requests support of the multiple transceivers in the instant specification or amendments in a future response to overcome the current rejection. Claims 29-32 and 34-37 are also rejected based on their dependency of rejected claims 28 and 33 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19, 21-25, 27-31 and 33-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US 2024/0298256 A1) hereinafter “Wei.”
Regarding Claim 6. A method performed by a base station (Wei: paragraphs 0119-0121 & Figs. 1-3, base station or network device) in a communication system (Wei: paragraph 0019 & Figs. 1-3, network), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a terminal (Wei: paragraphs 0119-0121 & Figs. 1-3, terminal device), configuration information on a base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0125 & Fig. 3, network device sends first power saving information to the terminal device);
transmitting, to the terminal, information indicating a mode switching of the base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0126 & Fig. 3, indicate first network device enters a power saving state);
identifying that the base station energy saving mode is activated or deactivated at a slot n+k (Wei: paragraphs 00458, 0139, start slot indicating start time point of the first power saving cycle), in case that the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is transmitted in a slot n (Wei: paragraph 0139, said start slot indicating start time point of the power saving cycle); and
performing an energy saving operation in a duration (Wei: paragraph 0136 & Fig. 4, duration of power saving cycle) transmitted via higher layer signaling in case that the base station energy saving mode is activated (Wei: paragraph 0205, first network device communicates with the terminal device based on the first power saving information).
Regarding Claim 17, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the base station energy saving mode is applied to a downlink operation and not applied to an uplink operation (Wei: paragraph 0131, power saving state or cycle is applied in downlink).
Regarding Claim 18, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode indicates an activation or a deactivation of the base station energy saving mode and to which cell the mode switching is applied (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Regarding Claim 19, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is cell-specific (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Regarding Claim 21, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmitting, to another base station (Wei: paragraph 0189 & Fig. 5, second network device) information associated with the base station energy saving mode of the base station (Wei: paragraph 0189 & Fig. 5, first network device sends a power saving information update to the second network device).
Regarding Claim 22, Wei teaches A method performed by a terminal (Wei: paragraphs 0119-0121 & Figs. 1-3, terminal device) in a communication system (Wei: paragraph 0019 & Figs. 1-3, network), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (Wei: paragraphs 0119-0121 & Figs. 1-3, base station or network device), configuration information on a base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0125 & Fig. 3, network device sends first power saving information to the terminal device);
receiving, from the base station, information indicating a mode switching of the base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0126 & Fig. 3, indicate first network device enters a power saving state);
identifying that the base station energy saving mode is activated or deactivated at a slot n+k based on the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraphs 00458, 0139, start slot indicating start time point of the first power saving cycle), in case that the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is transmitted in a slot n (Wei: paragraph 0139, said start slot indicating start time point of the power saving cycle); and
performing an energy saving operation in a duration (Wei: paragraph 0136 & Fig. 4, duration of power saving cycle) configured via higher layer signaling in case that the base station energy saving mode is activated (Wei: paragraph 0205, first network device communicates with the terminal device based on the first power saving information).
Regarding Claim 23, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the base station energy saving mode is applied to a downlink operation and not applied to an uplink operation (Wei: paragraph 0131, power saving state or cycle is applied in downlink).
Regarding Claim 24, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode indicates an activation or a deactivation of the base station energy saving mode and to which cell the mode switching is applied (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Regarding Claim 25, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is cell-specific (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Regarding Claim 27, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches transmitting, to another base station (Wei: paragraph 0189 & Fig. 5, second network device), information associated with the base station energy saving mode of the base station (Wei: paragraph 0189 & Fig. 5, first network device sends a power saving information update to the second network device).
Regarding Claim 28, Wei teaches A base station (Wei: paragraphs 0119-0121 & Figs. 1-3, base station or network device) in a communication system (Wei: paragraph 0019 & Figs. 1-3, network), the base station comprising:
transceivers (Wei: paragraph 0320 & Fig. 11, transceiver); and
a controller (Wei: paragraph 0320 & Fig. 11, processor) configured to:
transmit, to a terminal (Wei: paragraphs 0119-0121 & Figs. 1-3, terminal device), configuration information on a base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0125 & Fig. 3, network device sends first power saving information to the terminal device),
transmit, to the terminal, information indicating a mode switching of the base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0126 & Fig. 3, indicate first network device enters a power saving state),
identify that the base station energy saving mode is activated or deactivated at a slot n+k (Wei: paragraphs 00458, 0139, start slot indicating start time point of the first power saving cycle), in case that the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is transmitted in a slot n (Wei: paragraph 0139, said start slot indicating start time point of the power saving cycle), and
perform an energy saving operation in a duration (Wei: paragraph 0136 & Fig. 4, duration of power saving cycle) transmitted via higher layer signaling in case that the base station energy saving mode is activated (Wei: paragraph 0205, first network device communicates with the terminal device based on the first power saving information).
Regarding Claim 29, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the base station energy saving mode is applied to a downlink operation and not applied to an uplink operation (Wei: paragraph 0131, power saving state or cycle is applied in downlink).
Regarding Claim 30, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode indicates an activation or a deactivation of the base station energy saving mode and to which cell the mode switching is applied (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Regarding Claim 31, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is cell-specific (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Regarding Claim 33, Wei teaches A terminal (Wei: paragraphs 0119-0121 & Figs. 1-3, terminal device) in a communication system (Wei: paragraph 0019 & Figs. 1-3, network), the terminal comprising:
transceivers(Wei: paragraph 0320 & Fig. 11, transceiver); and
a controller (Wei: paragraph 0320 & Fig. 11, processor) configured to:
receive, from a base station, configuration information on a base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0125 & Fig. 3, network device sends first power saving information to the terminal device);
receive, from the base station, information indicating a mode switching of the base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraph 0126 & Fig. 3, indicate first network device enters a power saving state);
identify that the base station energy saving mode is activated or deactivated at a slot n+k based on the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode (Wei: paragraphs 00458, 0139, start slot indicating start time point of the first power saving cycle), in case that the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is transmitted in a slot n(Wei: paragraph 0139, said start slot indicating start time point of the power saving cycle), and
perform an energy saving operation in a duration (Wei: paragraph 0136 & Fig. 4, duration of power saving cycle) configured via higher layer signaling in case that the base station energy saving mode is activated (Wei: paragraph 0205, first network device communicates with the terminal device based on the first power saving information).
Regarding Claim 34, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the base station energy saving mode is applied to a downlink operation and not applied to an uplink operation (Wei: paragraph 0131, power saving state or cycle is applied in downlink).
Regarding Claim 35, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode indicates an activation or a deactivation of the base station energy saving mode and to which cell the mode switching is applied (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Regarding Claim 36, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the information indicating the mode switching of the base station energy saving mode is cell-specific (Wei: paragraphs 0076 & 0194, configuration information includes related power saving information corresponding to a cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 26, 32 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Liang et al. (US 2023/0319830 A1) hereinafter “Liang.”
Regarding Claim 20, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the terminal, capability information associated with supporting the base station energy saving. However, Liang from an analogous art teaches a user equipment transmitting power saving assistance information including power saving capabilities and/or constraints to communicate with a base station based on the received UE assistance information comprising the reported power saving configuration (Liang: paragraphs 0044, 0163, 0168 & Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wei to consider capability of the user equipment for communicating in a power saving mode as taught by Liang so as to further optimize resource usage or power saving features based on capabilities of end user devices.
Regarding Claim 26, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the terminal, capability information associated with supporting the base station energy saving. However, Liang from an analogous art teaches a user equipment transmitting power saving assistance information including power saving capabilities and/or constraints to communicate with a base station based on the received UE assistance information comprising the reported power saving configuration (Liang: paragraphs 0044, 0163, 0168 & Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wei to consider capability of the user equipment for communicating in a power saving mode as taught by Liang so as to further optimize resource usage or power saving features based on capabilities of end user devices.
Regarding Claim 32, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach receive, from the terminal, capability information associated with supporting the base station energy saving. However, Liang from an analogous art teaches a user equipment transmitting power saving assistance information including power saving capabilities and/or constraints to communicate with a base station based on the received UE assistance information comprising the reported power saving configuration (Liang: paragraphs 0044, 0163, 0168 & Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wei to consider capability of the user equipment for communicating in a power saving mode as taught by Liang so as to further optimize resource usage or power saving features based on capabilities of end user devices.
Regarding Claim 37, Wei teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above however fails to explicitly teach receiving, from the terminal, capability information associated with supporting the base station energy saving. However, Liang from an analogous art teaches a user equipment transmitting power saving assistance information including power saving capabilities and/or constraints to communicate with a base station based on the received UE assistance information comprising the reported power saving configuration (Liang: paragraphs 0044, 0163, 0168 & Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wei to consider capability of the user equipment for communicating in a power saving mode as taught by Liang so as to further optimize resource usage or power saving features based on capabilities of end user devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sandhu et al. (US 2024/0357498 A1) teaches a power save mechanism for devices in a neighbor awareness networking (NAN) network wherein a NAN device is able to enter into a power save mode during a window agreed to between the NAN device and a NAN peer device (paragraph 0006).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463