Detailed Action
Priority
This application filed 06/24/2024, is a national stage application of PCT/AU2022/051592, filed 12/23/2022, which claims the benefit of a foreign application filed in Australia, AU2021904274, on 12/24/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 5/16/2025, 5/23/2025, and 1/29/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 6/24/2024 are objected to because Figures 1, 2, and 3 have font that isn’t legible. Please correct Figures 1, 2, and 3.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Status
Claims rejected: 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (Xi-Ling Jiang et al. “Modification of 5-methoxy-N, N-dimethyltryptamine-induced hyperactivity by monoamine oxidase A inhibitor harmaline in mice and the underlying serotonergic mechanisms” Pharmacological Reports 68, Pb. Date February 5 2016, Pgs. 608-615) in view of Sun (Shaoyi Sun et al. “Methyl-containing pharmaceuticals: Methylation in drug design”, Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Letters, Volume 28, Issue 20, Pub. Date: November 1, 2018, Pgs. 3283-3289).
Jiang discloses 5-Methoxy-N, N-dimethyltryptamine, herein 5-MeO-DMT,
bottom left, as a synthesis compound used pharmaceutically (Abstract). To map 5-MeO-DMT disclosed in Jiang, with compound P-50 of Formula (I) in the instant application, R1 is a C1 alkyl, R2 is a C1 alkyl, R3 is hydrogen, R6 is a hydrogen, R7 is a hydrogen, R8 is a hydrogen, R9 is a C1 alkoxy group, and R10 is a hydrogen.
5-MeO-DMT in Jiang does not teach an additional methyl group at position R11.
Sun teaches that adding a methyl group to a compound increases drug potency, selectivity, and solubility and plays an important role in drug design (Abstract).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take 5-MeO-DMT disclosed in Jiang, and add a methyl group to arrive at Compound P-50 disclosed in the present application because Sun teaches methylation of compounds was known in the art of pharmaceutics and methylation has increased benefits of potency, selectivity, and solubility of drugs. It would have been obvious to add a methyl group at position R11 in the present application, because there are a finite number of positions that a methyl group can be added in Compound P-50, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the increase potency, selectivity, and solubility for pharmaceutical use of methylation known in the art.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/723,836 (reference application).
Claim 1 in the present application, bottom left, and Claim 1 in copending application ‘836, bottom right, both disclose compounds of the same genus, Formula (I).
R1-R11 and L are defined identically in present claim 1, and Copending application ‘836.
Therefore Claim 1 in the present application as written is claiming the same invention as Claim 1 in copending application ‘836.
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/C.M.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627