DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are pending and under examination herein.
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in light of the cancellation of the claim in the amendment dated 8/6/2026.
The rejection of claims 2-3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is withdrawn in light of the cancellation of the claims in the amendment dated 8/6/2026.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in light of the cancellation of the claim in the amendment dated 8/6/2026.
Priority
This application, filed on 6/24/2024, is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/003074 filed on 3/7/2023, which claims benefit to REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2022-0048368, filed on 4/19/2022. The effective filing date of the instant application is March 7, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 6/4/2026 complies with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. All references have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 4 and 6 contain the transitional language “consisting essentially of”. Applicant has not pointed to where in the specification the basic and novel characteristics are identified, and what particular components are excluded by the claimed composition that would materially affect the novel characteristics. Furthermore, the Examiner cannot identify any compositions taught in the prior art that differentiate from the instantly claimed composition. For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, “consisting essentially of” will be construed as equivalent to “comprising.” If an applicant contends that additional steps or materials in the prior art are excluded by the recitation of “consisting essentially of,” applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or components would materially change the characteristics of applicant's invention. PPG Industries Inc. V Guardian Industries Corp. 48 USPQ2d 1351 (Fed. Cir. 1998) and In re De Lajarte 337 F.2d 870, 143 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1964) See MPEP §2111.03.
The instant specification does not define the term “consisting essentially of” in a
manner that would allow one skilled in the art to determine what basic and novel
characteristics are being materially affected. The specification of the instant application discloses a composition comprising advanced DMEM/F12, L-glutamine, HEPES, an antibiotic, B27 supplement, N2 supplement, N-acetylcysteine, nicotinamide, gastrin and EGF (p.2, [0005]; p.10 [0045]). The specification identifies that the composition may further comprise at least one of Y-27632, Wnt3a or Noggin (p.3, [0009]; p.12, [0056]). The composition components are the same components described by Zheng and the same method steps described by Geevimaan and Zheng.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Maintained rejection: Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Zheng et al. (“A new murine esophageal organoid culture method and organoid-based model of esophageal squamous cell neoplasia” iScience, 2021, Vol. 24, Issue 12, Article 103440, 17 pages; previously cited) as further evidenced by ThermoFisher (“GlutaMAX supplement and L-Glutamine for Cell Culture”, https://www.thermofisher.com/us/en/home/life-science/cell-culture/mammalian-cell-culture/media-supplements/glutamax-media.html accessed on May 2, 2026; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng teaches 3D culture of esophageal cells to establish murine esophageal organoids (p.1, last paragraph). Zheng teaches a culture medium containing DMEM/F12, N2 supplement, B27 supplement, GlutaMAX supplement, HEPES buffer, penicillin/streptomycin (i.e. antibiotic), N-acetyl-L-Cysteine, gastrin, nicotinamide, SB202190, epidermal growth factor (EGF), Wnt3A, R-Spondin1, Noggin and A83-01 (p.1, last paragraph). As evidenced by ThermoFisher, GlutaMAX supplement is a dipeptide, L-alanyl-L-glutamine, which slowly releases L-alanine and L-glutamine into the culture media.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 now defines a culture medium which includes DMEM/F12, N2 supplement, gastrin and other listed components but as indicated by the consisting essentially of transition, the Applicant now claims embodiments which do not include components disclosed by Zheng as essential: R-spondin1, A83-01 and SB202190 (See Remarks dated 8/6/2026, p.3 last 2 paragraphs). Applicant argues that Zheng teaches that R-Spondin is a Wnt agonist and A83-01 and SB202190 are essential for EO differentiation, and only the Applicant has discovered and teaches a composition for predicting efficacy of oxaliplatin drug consisting essentially of advanced DMEM/F12, L-glutamine, HEPES, an antibiotic, B27 supplement, N2 supplement, N-acetylcysteine, nicotinamide, gastrin and EGF, and at least one of Y-27632, Wnt3a, or Noggin (See Remarks dated 8/6/2026, p.3 last paragraph – p.4 1st paragraph).
Applicant's arguments filed August 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As identified above, the specification supports compositions comprising advanced DMEM/F12, L-glutamine, HEPES, an antibiotic, B27 supplement, N2 supplement, N-acetylcysteine, nicotinamide, gastrin and EGF, and at least one of Y-27632, Wnt3a, or Noggin. The phrase “consisting essentially of” is not defined in the specification, and is being interpreted as “comprising”. Thus, the composition taught by Zheng anticipates the claimed composition in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Maintained rejection: Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geevimaan et al. (“Patient-Derived Organoid Serves as a Platform for Personalized Chemotherapy in Advanced Colorectal Cancer Patients”, Frontiers in Oncology, 2022, Vol. 12, article 883437, 15 pages; previously cited) in view of Zheng et al. (“A new murine esophageal organoid culture method and organoid-based model of esophageal squamous cell neoplasia” iScience, 2021, Vol. 24, Issue 12, Article 103440, 17 pages; previously cited). The rejection of claim 4 is further evidenced by ThermoFisher (“GlutaMAX supplement and L-Glutamine for Cell Culture”, https://www.thermofisher.com/us/en/home/life-science/cell-culture/mammalian-cell-culture/media-supplements/glutamax-media.html accessed on May 2, 2026; previously cited).
Regarding claim 4 and 6, Geevimaan teaches addition of oxaliplatin to adjuvant 5-FU has significantly improved the disease-free survival and served as the first line adjuvant chemotherapy in advanced colorectal cancer (CRC) patients (abstract - background). Geevimaan teaches organoid cell lines were established from advanced CRC patients, and oxaliplatin sensitivity was assessed in patient-derived tumor organoids (PDOs) in vitro and in PDO-xenografted tumors in mice (abstract – methods).
Geevimaan teaches paired primary tumor tissues from the colon along with liver metastases obtained from 3 patients and tumor organoids that are cultured in basal culture medium supplemented with 50% Wnt conditioned medium, 20% R-Spondin conditioned medium, 10% Noggin conditioned medium, 1x B27, 1.25 mM N-acetyl cysteine, 10 mM nicotinamide, 50 ng/ml human EGF, 10 nM gastrin, 500 nM A83-01, 3 M SB202190, 10 nM Prostaglandin E2, and 100 mg/ml Primocin (i.e. antibiotic) (p.3, 1st column – 1st paragraph).
Geevimaan further teaches that based on in vitro oxaliplatin IC50 values, PDOs were classified into either oxaliplatin-resistant (OR) or oxaliplatin-sensitive (OS) PDOs (i.e. determining sensitivity to oxaliplatin of the organoids treated with oxaliplatin) (abstract – methods). Geevimaan teaches that cultures were incubated with oxaliplatin at various concentrations and subjected to CellTiter-Glo cell viability assay (i.e. cell viability); the slope of the dose-response curve was calculated (i.e. AUC); and IC50 values were calculated with the four-parameter nonlinear logistic equation (p.3, 2nd column – In Vitro Drug Sensitivity Assessment).
Geevimaan does not disclose DMEM/F12, L-glutamine, or HEPES.
However, Zheng teaches 3D culture of esophageal cells to establish murine esophageal organoids (p.1, last paragraph). Zheng teaches the culture medium contained DMEM/F12, N2 supplement, B27 supplement, GlutaMAX supplement, HEPES buffer, penicillin/streptomycin (i.e. antibiotic), N-acetyl-L-Cysteine, gastrin, nicotinamide, SB202190, epidermal growth factor (EGF), Wnt3A, R-Spondin1, Noggin and A83-01 (p.1, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the medium taught by Geevimaan with the medium taught by Zheng containing DMEM/F12, L-glutamine and HEPES because it would amount to a simple substitution of one known organoid culture medium for another, and it was known in the art at the time of invention that organoids could be cultured in medium comprising DMEM/F12, HEPES and L-glutamine.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that claim 1 now defines a culture medium which includes DMEM/F12, N2 supplement, gastrin and other listed components but as indicated by the consisting essentially of transition, the Applicant now claims embodiments which do not include components disclosed by Zheng as essential: R-spondin1, A83-01 and SB202190 (See Remarks dated 8/6/2026, p.3 last 2 paragraphs). Applicant argues that Zheng teaches that R-Spondin is a Wnt agonist and A83-01 and SB202190 are essential for EO differentiation, and only the Applicant has discovered and teaches a composition for predicting efficacy of oxaliplatin drug consisting essentially of advanced DMEM/F12, L-glutamine, HEPES, an antibiotic, B27 supplement, N2 supplement, N-acetylcysteine, nicotinamide, gastrin and EGF, and at least one of Y-27632, Wnt3a, or Noggin (See Remarks dated 8/6/2026, p.3 last paragraph – p.4 1st paragraph).
Applicant argues the teaching of Zheng cannot properly be applied to Geevimaan because Zheng’s work relates specifically to esophageal organoids, while Geevimaan was working with colorectal cancer organoids (See Remarks dated 8/6/2026, p.4 3rd paragraph). Applicant argues that the proposed substitution of the Zheng culture media for that of Geevimaan would produce significant change in the growth conditions, and both of these references demonstrate that outcomes are highly sensitive to changes in the culture media (See Remarks dated 8/6/2026, p.4 3rd paragraph). Applicant argues that the combination of Zheng and Geevimaan would not teach or suggest the culture medium now defined by claim 1 or the method of claim 4, or the surprising result discovered by Applicant, i.e. composition because of the different constituent components, and notably Geevimaan and Zheng teach the inclusion of A83-01 and SB8202190, which are not part of the claimed invention (See Remarks dated 8/6/2026, p.4 last paragraph to p.5 top paragraph).
Applicant's arguments filed August 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Each of Geevimaan and Zheng teach culturing organoids in a medium comprising antibiotics, nicotinamide, B27 supplement, EGF, N-acetylcysteine, Noggin, and gastrin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that cell culture medium composition could be adjusted to include or exclude components based on culturing esophageal organoids, colorectal organoids or any other cell type, because it was known in the art that different components are considered essential or omitted based on cell type and cell origin.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPA MISHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/LOUISE W HUMPHREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1657