DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/027019. The Office notes that WO 2019/027019 was submitted as part of an IDS filed 24 June 2024.
With respect to claim 13, WO ‘019 discloses a liquid component for an electrolytic capacitor, comprising: a non-aqueous solvent (see paragraph [0065]); and an antioxidant component dissolved in the non-aqueous solvent (see paragraph [0065], noting that the electrolytic solution contains the additive, which is the antioxidant), wherein the non-aqueous solvent includes at least an alcohol solvent (see paragraph [0065]), and the antioxidant component includes a first antioxidant having no boiling point or a boiling point of 320°C or higher (see paragraph [0049]).
With respect to claim 14, WO ‘019 discloses that the first antioxidant at least includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a phenol antioxidant IA having a phenolic hydroxy group and a phosphorus antioxidant. See paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 15, WO ‘019 discloses that the phenol antioxidant IA includes at least one selected from the group consisting of (a) a phenol antioxidant in which an aromatic ring has one or two or more phenolic hydroxy group and at least one selected from the group consisting of an alkyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms and an alkoxy group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, (b) a phenol antioxidant in which an aromatic ring has one or two or more phenolic hydroxy group and a hydrogen atom is linked to at least one of carbon atoms adjacent to a carbon atom having the phenolic hydroxy group, and (c) a phenol antioxidant in which an aromatic ring has one or two or more phenolic hydroxy group and have no substituents. See paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 16, WO ‘019 discloses that a concentration of the first antioxidant in the liquid component for an electrolytic capacitor is 0.1 mass% or more and 50 mass% or less. See paragraph [0051].
With respect to claim 17, WO ‘019 discloses that the alcohol solvent at least includes at least one first alcohol solvent selected from the group consisting of an alkylene glycol having 2 to 6 carbon atoms and glycerin. See paragraph [0065].
With respect to claim 18, WO ‘019 discloses that a mass ratio of the first antioxidant to the first alcohol solvent (= first antioxidant / first alcohol solvent) is 0.005 or more and 2 or less. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2019/027019 in view of Kubo et al. (US 2020/0203082). The Office notes that WO 2019/027019 was submitted as part of an IDS filed 24 June 2024.
With respect to claim 1, WO ‘019 teaches an electrolytic capacitor (see abstract) comprising: a container with an opening (see paragraph [0084]); a capacitor element contained in the container (see paragraph [0084]); and a sealing body that seals the opening (see paragraph [0084]), wherein the capacitor element includes an anode body provided with a dielectric layer on its surface (see paragraphs [0084]-[0085]), and a conductive polymer that covers a portion of the dielectric layer (see paragraphs [0084]-[0085]), an antioxidant component is present in a space closed by the container and the sealing body, and the antioxidant component includes a first antioxidant having no boiling point or a boiling point of 320°C or higher (see paragraph [0049]).
WO ‘019 fails to teach that the sealing body includes an elastic polymer.
Kubo, on the other hand, teaches that the sealing body includes an elastic polymer and a hindered phenol compound. See the abstract. Such a modification results in the suppression of thermal degradation of the sealing body. See paragraphs [0004]-[0005].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date of the invention, to modify WO ‘019, as taught by Kubo, in order to suppress the thermal degradation of the sealing body.
With respect to claim 2, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that the first antioxidant includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a hydroxy group, a nitrogen atom, an oxygen atom, a sulfur atom, and a phosphorus atom. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 3, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that the first antioxidant at least includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a phenol antioxidant IA having a phenolic hydroxy group and a phosphorus antioxidant. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 4, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that the first antioxidant at least includes a phenol antioxidant Ia having two or more phenolic hydroxy groups. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 5, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that the first antioxidant at least includes a hindered phenol compound. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0049].
With respect to claim 9, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that the electrolytic capacitor includes a solid electrolyte layer that includes the conductive polymer and covers a portion of the dielectric layer (see WO ‘019, paragraph [0086]), and the solid electrolyte layer includes the first antioxidant (see WO ‘019, paragraphs [0048] and [0049]).
With respect to claim 10, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that a mass ratio of the first antioxidant to the conductive polymer (= first antioxidant / conductive polymer) is 0.01 or more and 300 or less. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0051].
With respect to claim 11, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that the conductive polymer includes a conjugated polymer and a dopant, and a molar ratio of the first antioxidant to total monomer units of the conjugated polymer (= first antioxidant / total monomer units) is 0.1 or more and 200 or less. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0051].
With respect to claim 12, the combined teachings of WO ‘019 and Kubo teach that a mass ratio of the first antioxidant to the elastic polymer (= first antioxidant / elastic polymer) is 0.001 or more and 1 or less. See WO ‘019, paragraph [0051].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claim 6, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, that a portion of the first antioxidant is present in a state of being undissolved in the liquid component, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of base claim 1. Claims 7 and 8 are allowable based on their dependency from claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ning et al. (US 2011/0171366) discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor including an antioxidant, but fails to teach the specifics of the antioxidant. WO 2013/094462 discloses a conductive polymer wherein the antioxidant suppresses deterioration.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848