DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-14 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brown et al1 [Brown] PGPUB 2021-0301985.
Referring to claim 12, Brown teaches the method of monitoring a water flow system, comprising:
providing a connected water monitoring system having a sensor and a hub device configured to receive information from the sensor indicative of a current status of the water flow system [0064, 0070];
sensing, with the sensor, one or more values corresponding to water flowing through the water flow system [0064];
transmitting the one or more values to the hub device [0070];
transmitting the one or more values from the hub device to a cloud server [0061, 0065, 0070, 0129];
analyzing the one or more values to predict whether one or more components of the water flow system will perform below a threshold level of operation at a future point in time [0021-0026, 0144]; and
sending a notification that indicates an action to be taken prior to the future point in time [0036, 0129, 0135, 0144].
In summary, Brown teaches a connected water monitoring system that includes a plurality of IoT devices that include sensors to detect a plurality of conditions including vibration, fluid flow, fluid pressure, temperature, humidity, etc.… and can send that information to a remote server providing cloud service to analyze the sensor data and predict/determine any issues that may require maintenance and alert a user accordingly. The sensors can send their data directly to the remote servers or through an additional IoT device used as a bridge or a router/gateway to the remote servers (the additional IoT device can be interpreted as a hub device).
Referring to claim 13, Brown teaches replacing the cartridge [0090, 0100, 0140].
Referring to claim 14, Brown teaches shutting off a valve [0088].
Referring to claim 17, Brown teaches storing operational data, including operational signatures, in a log [0014].
Referring to claim 18, Brown teaches that the system generates the alert upon recognizing a problem [0135]. Brown additionally teaches that an action can automatically be taken such as alerting the system to automatically backwash a filter if needed [0022].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown as applied to claims 12-14 and 17-18 above.
Referring to claim 1, Brown teaches the connected water monitoring system comprising:
a plurality of sensors, each of which monitors a respective condition [0064];
a hub device configured to receive and store respective information from each of the plurality of sensors indicative of a current status of the respective condition monitored by a respective one of the plurality of sensors [0065, 0083]; and
a cloud server configured to communicate with the hub device via a network [0061-0062, 0070-0073],
wherein the respective information includes one or more values sensed by each of the plurality of sensors [0027, 0064, 0070],
wherein the hub device is configured to transmit the one or more values from each of the plurality of sensors to the cloud server [0065, 0129],
wherein the cloud server is configured to determine when the one or more values from each of the plurality of sensors indicate that one or more connected water flow system components require maintenance at a future point in time and, responsive thereto, execute an automatic maintenance process [0021-0026, 0035-0036, 0129, 0135, 0144].
In summary, Brown teaches a connected water monitoring system that includes a plurality of IoT devices that include sensors to detect a plurality of conditions including vibration, fluid flow, fluid pressure, temperature, humidity, etc.… and can send that information to a remote server providing cloud service to analyze the sensor data and predict/determine any issues that may require maintenance and alert a user accordingly. The sensors can send their data directly to the remote servers or through an additional IoT device used as a bridge or a router/gateway to the remote servers (the additional IoT device can be interpreted as a hub device).
While Brown details monitoring the water flow system components, the same details are not also provided with respect to the water monitoring components themselves. Brown does suggest that constituent components, which include sensors, can also be included in the same health monitoring environment [0137]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill before the effective filing date to implement similar mechanisms to monitor and handle the water flow system components to also monitor and handle water monitoring components because doing so would provide the same benefit of proactively alerting a user to the maintenance or replacements of the sensing components similar to that water flow system components as taught by Brown.
Referring to claim 2, Brown teaches allowing a user’s smartphone having software to access the IoT platform to allow for modification of the data and operations [0081]. This describes API functionality.
Referring to claim 3, Brown teaches the sensors including a flow sensor [0064].
Referring to claim 8, Brown teaches using the data to determine that one of the components require maintenance [0131, 0141].
Referring to claim 9, Brown teaches detecting that the filter will be performing at a lower performance rate in the future and in response, recommends maintenance be performed [0144]. Brown teaches that the threshold is set low which indicates that there will be an issue in “2-3 months”.
Referring to claim 10, Brown teaches sending a maintenance or repair request to a service provider [0016, 0030, 0135, 0146].
Referring to claim 11, Brown teaches that if an emerging problem is detected (1014) but the component is still operating normally (1026), the system can automatically order a replacement for the device for the user [Fig. 10, 0135]. Since Brown is also directed to “constituent components” such as sensors [0137], it is believed that replacement of sensors (i.e., monitoring system components) anticipated by Brown.
Referring to claim 15, while Brown does not explicitly teach battery powered sensors and sending an alert to replace the sensors battery, the examiner is taking official notice that both are well known concepts and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Brown to include at least one battery powered sensor and to further provide an alert when the battery gets low because it would allow for sensors to be installed and operate in locations where power is not readily available and also provide notice to replace the battery so that the sensor does not stop operating due to a dead battery.
Referring to claim 16, while Brown does not teach an light ring to provide a connectivity status indicator, it would have been obvious to include one on the hub (i.e., IoT device, gateway/router) because doing so would provide a mechanism for a user to validate that the hub is in communication with the cloud server.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown as applied to claims 1-3, and 8-18 above, and further in view of Bonnelye et al2 [Bonnelye] PGPUB 2011/0147285.
Referring to claim 19, Brown further teaches that filtration can further be performed via reverse osmosis (RO) [0089]. Brown also teaches allowing for automatic control of components [0022]. Brown does not teach the action comprises increasing production of the RO component. Bonnelye teaches that an RO speed can be adjusted based on detected salinity or temperature [0086, 0088]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to control the pump speed based on sensed water parameters like temperature because doing so would allow for the RO system to be operated with a minimal amount of power ss taught by Bonnelye [0029].
Referring to claim 20, Brown teaches further controlling smart valves [0082, 0084-0085].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the REMARKS, applicants argue in substance that 1) Brown does not teach or suggest a “future point in time”; 2) Brown does not teach a “defined future point in time”; and 3) Brown does not teach a “discrete future point in time”.
In response to applicants first argument, the examiner disagrees that Brown does not teach or suggest a future point in time. Brown explicitly teaches setting a threshold “so that the system proactively alerts the user to a future… need to backwash or replace the filter media” [0144].
In response to applicants second and third arguments, the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “defined future point in time” and “discrete future point in time”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest either individually or in combination, that the sensors and hub are provided as a kit that includes a unique identifier (claim 4).
Examiners Note
While claims 1-11 and 12-20 are directed to different subject matter, the examiner does not yet believe they result in a serious search burden. Specifically, claims 1-11 are directed to monitoring and maintaining the sensing infrastructure while claims 12-20 deal with monitoring and maintaining the water flow system. The examiner reserves the right to restrict these groups at a later date if a serious search burden presents itself.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK A CONNOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115 10/7/26
1 Cited by applicant
2 Cited by applicant