Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/032024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim 1 said in line 9: “to assist inducing a propulsion force…”. The term “assist inducing” is unclear and does not define the structural relationship between the coils and the propulsion force.
The claim 1 said in line 11 and also see claim 11: “ferromagnetic core shaped to form one or more total forces…”. The claim does not define the structural shape of the core or explain how much shape produces the recited forces.
Therefore, the claim 1 fails to particularly point out the structure that performs the recited function.
Claim 1 said: “a propulsion force perpendicular to the magnetic flux pathway…” and “one or more total forces perpendicular to the propulsion force..”. However, the claim 1 does not specify the structural elements that generate the recited propulsion force or the total forces, nor does it explain how the claimed perpendicular relationships are structurally achieved.
The claim 9 said in page 31, line 23 and also see claim 11: “to assist inducing a propulsion force…”. The term “assist inducing” is unclear and does not define the structural relationship between the armature coils and the propulsion force.
The claim 9 said in page 32, line 7: “two respective forces are formed..”. The claim does not specify which structural components generates the recited forces or how such forces produced within the propulsion motor.
The claim 9 said in page 32, line 9: “the two respective forces of about equal magnitude…”. The term “about equal magnitude” lacks a clear standard for determining the required degree of equality between forces. Thus metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, does not reasonably provide enablement the claimed configuration in which two forces of about equal magnitude but opposite direction result in a total force of zero. The specification does not adequately describe how the claimed magnetic structure ensures that the forces will always be equal and opposite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jedinger (WO2020061173).
As to independent claim 1, Jedinger teaches a propulsion motor (111) comprising: at least one ferromagnetic core (307) having opposite ends joined by a body (103, 105) forming a magnetic flux pathway between the opposite ends; a magnetic flux inducing device (330) to induce a first magnetic flux in the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) along the magnetic flux pathway; and armature coils (321) to induce a varying second magnetic flux in the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) perpendicular to the magnetic flux pathway, to assist inducing a propulsion force perpendicular to the magnetic flux pathway, the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) shaped to form one or more total forces perpendicular to the propulsion force due to the first magnetic flux, (see paragraph [0033, 00103, 00108] as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 2/1, Jedinger teaches wherein the opposite ends of the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) are portions of respective intersecting planes that intersect at an angle that is between 0 degrees, and less than 180 degrees as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 3/1, Jedinger teaches wherein the opposite ends of the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) are at about 90 degrees such that the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) form: a first total force normal to a first end, of the opposite ends; and a second total force normal to a second end, of the opposite ends, the first total force and the second total force being about 90 degrees relative to each other as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 4/1, Jedinger teaches wherein the body (103, 105) between the opposite ends of the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) may have an about 180 degrees shape, such that the opposite ends are in a same plane and the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) forms:a first total force normal to a first end, of the opposite ends; and a second total force normal to a second end, of the opposite ends, the first total force and the second total force about parallel relative to each other as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 5/1, Jedinger teaches wherein the opposite ends of the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) are a given angle relative to a center plane of the at least one ferromagnetic core (307), such that the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) form:a first force normal to a first end, of the opposite ends; and a second force normal to a second end, of the opposite ends, the first force and the second force summing together to form the one or more total forces perpendicular to the propulsion force as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 6/5, Jedinger teaches wherein the given angle is selected such that first components of the first force and the second force, perpendicular to the propulsion force, cancel out, and second components of the first force and the second force, perpendicular to the propulsion force, sum to form a total force perpendicular to the propulsion force (see ferromagnetic core (307)) as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 7/1, Jedinger teaches wherein the opposite ends of the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) form a non-zero angle relative to each other, the opposite ends forming symmetrical mirror-images of each other as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 8/1, Jedinger teaches wherein the magnetic flux inducing device (330) comprises one or more of a field coil (330) and a magnet as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to independent claim 9, Jedinger teaches a propulsion motor (111) comprising: ferromagnetic cores (307) having respective opposite ends joined by a respective body (103, 105), forming a magnetic flux pathway between the opposite ends; a magnetic flux inducing device (330) to induce a first magnetic flux in the ferromagnetic cores (307) along the magnetic flux pathway; and armature coils (321, 322) to induce respective varying second magnetic flux in the ferromagnetic cores (307) perpendicular to the magnetic flux pathway, to assist inducing a propulsion force perpendicular to the magnetic flux pathway, the ferromagnetic cores (307) arranged in pairs, such that a pair of the ferromagnetic core (307) comprises: a first ferromagnetic core (307) comprising first opposite ends; and a second ferromagnetic core (307) comprising second opposite ends, wherein the first opposite ends and the second opposite ends are about parallel to each other, and are respectively configured to interact with respective ends of a track segment of a track (103) that completes, in combination with the first ferromagnetic core (307) and the second ferromagnetic core (307), the magnetic flux pathway, and wherein two respective forces are formed, perpendicular to the first opposite ends and the second opposite ends, and perpendicular to the propulsion force, the two respective forces of about equal magnitude, but opposite in direction, such that a total force on the first opposite ends and the second opposite ends, due to the two respective forces, is zero as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to independent claim 10, Jedinger teaches a vehicle (see paragraph [0040]) configured to move along a track (103), the vehicle comprising: a payload; and one or more propulsion motors (111) mounted to the payload, the one or more propulsion motors (111) configured to form, in combination with track segments of the track (103): a propulsion force in a direction of the track (103); and one or more total forces perpendicular to the propulsion force configured to one or more of oppose gravity and laterally guide the one or more propulsion motors relative to the track (103) (see paragraph [0033, 0040-0041, 0045] as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 11/10, Jedinger teaches wherein the one or more propulsion motors (111) respectively comprise: at least one ferromagnetic core (307) having opposite ends joined by a body forming a magnetic flux pathway between the opposite ends; a magnetic flux inducing device (330) to induce a first magnetic flux in the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) along the magnetic flux pathway; and armature coils (321, 322) to induce a varying second magnetic flux in the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) perpendicular to the magnetic flux pathway, to assist inducing a propulsion force perpendicular to the magnetic flux pathway, the at least one ferromagnetic core (307) shaped to form the one or more total forces perpendicular to the propulsion force as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 12/10, Jedinger teaches wherein the one or more propulsion motors (111) comprise: one or more first propulsion motors (111) mounted to the payload, the one or more first propulsion motors (111) configured to form, in combination with first track segments of the track (103): one or more first propulsion forces in a direction of the track; and one or more guidance forces perpendicular to the one or more first propulsion forces; and one or more second propulsion motors (103) mounted to the payload, the one or more second propulsion motors (111) configured to form, in combination with second track segments of the track: one or more second propulsion forces in a direction of the track (103); and one or more levitation forces, perpendicular to the one or more second propulsion forces and the one or more guidance forces, the one or more levitation forces opposing gravity (see paragraph [0033, 0040-0041, 0045] as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
As to claim 13/10, Jedinger teaches wherein the one or more propulsion motors (111) comprise: one or more first propulsion motors (111) mounted to the payload, the one or more first propulsion motors (111) configured to form, in combination with first track segments of the track (103): one or more first propulsion forces in a direction of the track (103); and one or more guidance forces perpendicular to the one or more first propulsion forces; and one or more first levitation forces perpendicular to the one or more first propulsion forces, the one or more first levitation forces opposing gravity; and one or more second propulsion motors (111) mounted to the payload, the one or more second propulsion motors (111) configured to form, in combination with second track segments of the track: one or more second propulsion forces in a direction of the track (103); and one or more second levitation forces, perpendicular to the one or more second propulsion forces and the one or more guidance forces, the one or more second levitation forces opposing gravity (see paragraph [0033, 0040-0041, 0045] as shown in figures 2-3, 5A-5B.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 March 4, 2026