DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the submission filed on 7/20/2026.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 11, 18 and 20 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Request for Continued Examination
Response to Remarks
Applicant's remarks filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered and have been found not persuasive in full. The 101 rejections are overcome, as the claims are directed to a technological solution to the technological problem as outlined in the specification’s paragraphs 3 and 4: software’s lack of accounting for discrepancies due to human error. The claims use amplitude or resonant frequency analysis to determine human usage/take inventory of items within a container. The amended claims are still taught by Gurumohan, as the scope of the “item unit” includes solids and liquids, and Gurumohan teaches amplitude or resonant frequency analysis, including comparison to parameterized values that account for an estimated amount of units, to determine amount of units in container. Updated citations to Gurumohan to teach these amended limitations are added to the art rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gurumohan (US 2020/0249070).
Claims 1, 11 and 18. Gurumohan teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
storing training data based on sensor measurements of non-radio based transmissions into an internal space within a respective container, each sensor measurement being taken while the respective container is storing a different number of item units, the training data mapping each sensor measurement to a respective number of item units (para. 211 stored data of past measurements, data including volume of content of container, volume being a number of units of the item) (para. 170 showing configuration of reference measurement database to determine “numbers of content items remaining”)
monitoring each of a plurality of containers for a change event associated with the container, (para. 27 showing sensing a triggering condition for measuring) the change event comprising an indication of at least one of: a fill order for the container, a dispense of an item unit stored within the container, an opening or closing of the container, sensing a user within a predetermined proximity of the container, or a predetermined time; and (para. 27 showing trigger as container opened)
based on an occurrence of the change event for a container of the plurality of containers:
emitting, using an emitter, a non-radio based transmission of one or more light or acoustic waves to the internal space within the container for measurement, by a sensor associated with the container, of a light wave amplitude when the non-radio based transmission comprises a light wave or a resonant frequency of the container when the non-radio based transmission comprises an acoustic wave, (para. 152 showing sound based signal for measuring container capacity, and transmitter) (para. 165 showing light or sound signal for measuring) (para. 176 showing matching measured data to profiled data; paragraphs 183 and 184 showing profiles including amplitude or spectrum levels) (para. 226, 227, and 229 showing signal characterized by amplitude measure; paras. 230-231 showing amplitude levels corresponding to fill level of container)
wherein the internal space is fashioned to store one or more item units; (para. 152 showing fill of container as liquid, item units including units of liquid)
receiving a measurement of the one or more light or acoustic waves from the sensor; (para. 152 showing measurement of ultrasonic signal)
comparing the measurement with the training data, including comparing the measurement with a plurality of predetermined light wave amplitudes when the non-radio based transmission comprises a light wave and with a plurality of predetermined resonant frequencies when the non-radio based transmission comprises an acoustic wave, wherein each predetermined light wave amplitude and each predetermined resonant frequency is associated with a predetermined number of item units within the container; (para. 279 showing comparison of new measurement with previous measurement; paragraphs 172-173 showing comparison to reference data) (Para. 322 shows using the historical measurements to determine current amount in container.) (para. 170 showing configuration of reference measurement database to determine “numbers of content items remaining”) (para. 176 showing matching measured data to profiled data; paragraphs 183 and 184 showing profiles including amplitude or spectrum levels) (para. 226, 227, and 229 showing signal characterized by amplitude measure; paras. 230-231 showing amplitude levels corresponding to fill level of container)
determining a supply status of an item unit within the container based on comparing the measurement with the training data, wherein the determined supply status comprises an estimated number of item units within the container; and (para. 164 showing comparing measurement with reference measurement from full status; para. 203 showing comparing measurement with past measurements; para. 322 and 323 showing comparison of past measurements with current measurement to determine current amount of units of the item in the container)
generating, when the supply status satisfies a predetermined status, a notification pertaining to the container and the supply status. (para. 123 showing notification to reorder supply)
Claim 11 additionally: a system comprising one or more containers each configured to store a supply of an item unit; one or more sensors, each configured to measure waves transmitted to an internal space of a container of the one or more containers, wherein the internal space of the container is fashioned to store one or more item units; one or more emitters, each configured to emit a non-radio based transmission of one or more waves to the internal space within for receipt by a respective sensor; (para. 45 showing said container and sensors/transmitters) and one or more processors. (para. 43, processor)
Claim 18 additionally: a non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions (para. 43 showing computer embodiment, memory and processor) executed by a dispensing device, (para. 49 showing dispensing device) and cause an adjustment to the container or the dispensing device when the status satisfies a predetermined threshold. (para. 123 showing notification to reorder supply)
Claims 3 and 13. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein the notification comprises a replenishment request for additional supply of the item unit stored within the container, the method further comprising: (para. 123 showing server connected to process reordering) sending the replenishment request to a server configured to facilitate replenishment of the item unit. (para. 123 showing server connected to process reordering)
Claims 4 and 12. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein the training data comprises an intended supply status and a geometry of an interior of the container. (paras. 159 and 153 showing supply status and geometry)
Claims 5, 14 and 19. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a plurality of resonance frequencies of the container at different supply levels from the training data; (para. 153 and 159 showing container geometry and intended supply levels from configuration parameters; para. 156 showing resonance frequencies in signal))
wherein emitting the non-radio based transmission of one or more waves to the internal space comprises inducing an acoustic wave within the container for measurement by the sensor; and (para. 81 showing ultrasonic waves as signal)
comparing the measurement with one or more predetermined acoustic wave amplitudes and the plurality of resonant frequencies (para. 159 showing determination of supply status based on preset measurement thresholds).
Claim 19 additionally: wherein causing the adjustment comprises generating a notification pertaining to the container and the status. (para. 123 showing server connected to process reordering)
Claims 6, 15 and 20. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, further comprising:
identifying a light wave profile of the container from the training data; (para. 159 configuration parameters matched to signal to determine supply status)
wherein emitting the non-radio based transmission of one or more waves to the internal space comprises inducing a light wave within the container for measurement by the sensor; (para. 165 showing light signal)
comparing the measurement with one or more predetermined light wave amplitudes; and (para. 159 configuration parameters matched to signal to determine supply status; para. 156 showing said parameters including amplitude of signal)
wherein determining the supply status based on the measurement comprises determining the supply status based on the comparing. (para. 159 configuration parameters matched to signal to determine supply status)
Claim 20 additionally: wherein causing the adjustment comprises generating a notification pertaining to the container and the status. (para. 123 showing notification to reorder supply)
Claims 8 and 17. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, wherein generating the notification comprises:
sending a replenishment signal to an inventory system, the replenishment signal requesting a restock of the item unit. (para. 123 showing notification to reorder supply)
Claim 9. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 8, further comprising:
receiving an indication that an amount of the item unit was restocked within the container; and (para. 47 showing indication of automatic restock)
updating the training data based on the determined supply status and the amount. (para. 47 initial control measurement performed)
Claims 10 and 17. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim l, wherein generating the notification comprises:
providing a visual or auditory alert at a dispensing device associated with the container. (para. 291 flashing light on sensor device, including spout)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurumohan (US 2020/0249070) in view of Savage (US 2015/0366377).
Claims 2 and 12. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1. It does not, but Savage teaches wherein monitoring each of the plurality of containers comprises: monitoring each of a plurality of containers within a drawer of a dispensing device. (para. 19 showing drawers, compartments, and cabinet)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of supply measuring in Gurumohan, with the known technique of compartmentalizing in Savage, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for customizable configuration. See para. 18 of Savage for broad scope in configurations for item storage.)
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurumohan (US 2020/0249070) in view of Morita (US 2023/0245185).
Claims 7 and 16. Guruomohan teaches the computer-implemented method of Claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the supply status satisfies the predetermined threshold. (para. 168 showing threshold determination of amount)
Guruomohan details using a scale to determine the remaining amount in the container. Para. 166. It does not teach the following, but Morita does:
responsive to determining that the supply status satisfies the predetermined threshold: (para. 93 showing threshold met, proceeding to step of acquiring new weight data)
activating a load cell associated with the container to measure a weight associated with the determined supply status; (para. 93 showing threshold met, proceeding to step of acquiring new weight data)
measuring the weight associated with the determined supply status; and (para. 93 showing threshold met, proceeding to step of acquiring new weight data)
determining that the measured weight corresponds to the determined supply status. (para. 93 determining new weight data matches said remaining amount)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of acoustic modeling in Gurumohan, with the known technique of secondary confirmation in Morita, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system by allowing for accurate measurements. (Morita para. 93 showing confirmation of amount.)
Conclusion
Please consider pertinent reference(s) not relied upon in the rejection: Vasgaard (US 2017/0219354) teaching inventory and tracking of physical item units. See para. 17 of Vasgaard.
/AARON TUTOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627