DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-15 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 7 recite the limitation "the mounting tabs". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Price (U.S. Patent No. 8,001,737).
Regarding claim 1, Price discloses a firestop device (Fig. 2) comprising a sleeve structure (400) having an inner surface and an opposite outer surface; a first smoke-seal ring (600) positioned on the inner surface of the sleeve structure; a first intumescent ring (500) positioned below the first smoke-seal ring on the inner surface of the sleeve structure; a second smoke-seal ring (200) positioned on the outer surface of the sleeve structure; and a second intumescent ring (300) positioned below the second smoke-seal ring on the outer surface of the sleeve structure (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (U.S. Patent No. 8,001,737) in view of Thoreson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,103,609).
Regarding claim 2, Price discloses the sleeve structure (400), but does not disclose the sleeve structure is movable between an unrolled configuration and a rolled configuration, wherein, when in the rolled configuration, the sleeve structure has a first end, an opposite second end, and a longitudinal axis extending between the first and second ends. However, Thoreson et al. teaches that it is known to sleeve structure (12, Fig. 2) that is movable between an unrolled and rolled configuration, wherein the sleeve structure has a first and second end in the rolled configuration to help to easily package, transport and assemble the sleeve structure. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a sleeve structure that was unrolled to help with the easy of packaging and transport.
Regarding claim 3, Thoreson et al. further teaches the first and second ends of the sleeve structure (12) including locating tabs with tab portions (44).
Regarding claim 4, Thoreson et al. further discloses support brackets (50) configured to be selectively positioned at the first end of the sleeve structure via the mounting tabs (48) to mount the firestop device to a top side of a concrete structure.
Regarding claim 5, Price discloses wherein the concrete structure is a corrugated concrete deck (Abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Thoreson et al. further discloses the concrete structure is a flat concrete deck (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Thoreson et al. discloses wing plates (50) configured to be selectively positioned at the second end of the sleeve structure via the mounting tabs (48) to mount the firestop device to a bottom side of a concrete structure.
Regarding claim 8, Price discloses the sleeve structure in the rolled configuration, but does not disclose a latch arrangement to lock the sleeve in a rolled position. However, Thoreson et al. teaches that it is known to sleeve structure (12, Fig. 2) that is movable between an unrolled and rolled configuration, wherein the sleeve structure has a first and second end in the rolled configuration to help to easily package, transport and assemble the sleeve structure and a latch arrangement (20) to lock the sleeve structure in the rolled configuration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a sleeve structure that was unrolled to help with the easy of packaging and transport.
Regarding claim 9, Thoreson et al. further discloses the latch arrangement (20) includes a tab member (44) and a tab opening (42) for receiving the tab member.
Regarding claim 10, Price discloses the sleeve structure as set forth above, but does not disclose a plurality of ring locating tabs. However, Thoreson et al. teaches that it is known to have a sleeve structure (12, Fig. 2) having a plurality of locating tabs (26) to help secure the sleeve to other structures. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a sleeve structure with locating tabs to help secure sleeve to other structures.
Regarding claim 11, Price discloses the first and second smoke-seal rings and the first and second intumescent rings as set forth above, it would be obvious to have the rings secured to the inner and outer surfaces of the sleeves structure by the plurality of ring locating tabs (44) as taught by Thoreson et al. (by the securing of the ring).
Regarding claim 12, Thoreson et al. discloses the plurality of ring locating tabs (26) are unitary with the sleeve structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Thoreson et a. discloses the plurality of ring locating tabs (26) are stamped into the sleeve structure (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Price (U.S. Patent No. 8,001,737) and Thoreson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,103,609) further in view of Porter (U.S. Patent No. 6,725,615)
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Price and Thoreson et al. discloses the sleeve structure as set forth above, but it does not include elongated segments each separated by score lines to allow the sleeve structure to be movable between the unrolled configuration and the rolled configuration. However, Porter teaches that it is known to have a sleeve structure (Fig. 16) having a plurality of locating tabs, that are each defined by elongated segments (121) that are separated by score lines (122) that help the sleeve structure move between the rolled and unrolled configuration. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a sleeve structure that was easier to roll by having elongated segments with score lines.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633