DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a coding module, configured to code…, a first register group, configured to store in claim 1…, a second register group, configured to store …, a third register group, configured to directly store…, a decoding module, configured to decode …, the logic module, configured to …, in claim 1.
spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to…; in claim 3.
spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to…; in claim 4.
the coding module is configured to …, in claim 7.
the decoding module is configured to decode…, in claim 8.
the logic module is configured to…, in claim 9.
the first coding module is configured to code…, and the second coding module is configured to code …, in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 10, 12 – 14 and 16 – 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation:
a coding module, configured to code…, a first register group, configured to store in claim 1…, a second register group, configured to store …, a third register group, configured to directly store…, a decoding module, configured to decode …, the logic module, configured to …, in claim 1.
spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to…; in claim 3.
spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to…; in claim 4.
the coding module is configured to …, in claim 7.
the decoding module is configured to decode…, in claim 8.
the logic module is configured to…, in claim 9.
the first coding module is configured to code…, and the second coding module is configured to code …, in claim 10.
invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The correct requirement for satisfying the definiteness requirement is that the corresponding structure (or material or acts) of a means- (or step-) plus-function limitation must be disclosed in the specification itself in a way that one skilled in the art will understand what structure (or material or acts) will perform the recited function. If there is no disclosure of structure, material or acts for performing the recited function, the claim fails to satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See Atmel Corp. v. Information Storage Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1374, 1381, 53 USPQ2d 1225, 1230 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1 – 10, 12 – 14 and 16 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In step 1, of the 101-analysis set forth in the MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined
that the following limitations recite a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, falls within one or more statutory categories (processes).
In step 2A prong 1, of the 101-analysis set forth in MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined
that the following limitations recite a process that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, recites abstract idea but for the recitation of generic computer components:
Regarding claim 1,
… code one or both of a first data and a second data input externally or from a logic module;
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves determining and applying a coding operation to input data. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
… decode one or both of the coded first data and the coded second data in an error checking and correcting (ECC) mode; and recode a decoding result,
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves analyzing coded information according to an error-checking and correction procedure to obtain decoded data. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
select one or both of a decoded first data and a decoded second data as an input for a configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, or select one or both of the first data and the second data in the third register group as the input for both the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit and the coding module;
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves selecting and applying an error-coding procedure to data. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
If the claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the mental process. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 of the 101-analysis, set forth in MPEP 2106, the examiner has determined that
the following additional elements do not integrate this judicial exception into a practical application:
a coding module, configured to …
(i.e.: deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claim recites limitation which does not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
a first register group, configured to store a coded first data; a second register group, configured to store a coded second data; a third register group, configured to directly store one or both of the first data and the second data;
(i.e.: deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claim recites limitation directed to mere data gathering as deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception because claimed elements are considered insignificant extra-solution activity, See MPEP (2106.05(g))).
a decoding module, configured to …
(i.e.: deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claim recites limitation which does not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
wherein a decoding mode of the decoding module corresponds to a coding mode of the coding module; the logic module, configured to, based on the decoding result
(i.e.: deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claim recites limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, capable of being configured according to one or both of an input first data and an input second data.
(i.e.: deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the claim recites limitation which does not amount to more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
In Step 2B of the 101-analysis set forth in the 2019 PEG, the examiner has determined that the
claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception:
Regarding limitation (I, III and V), recite mere application of the abstract idea or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitations generally apply the use of a generic computer and/or process with the judicial exception, see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Regarding limitation (II), additional elements considered extra/post solution activity, as analyzed above, are activity that are well-understood routine and conventional, specifically: the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions.
Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
Regarding limitation (IV), additional elements are deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention to a patentable invention because they generally link the judicial exception to the technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 13 recites similar subject matter as claim 1, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 2, dependent upon claim 1, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the first data is configuration information, and the second data is a model parameter.
The recitation in the additional limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Limitations directed to field of use cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Regarding claim 3, dependent upon claim 2, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to be a Leaky-Integrate-and-Fire (LIF) neuron, an Izhikevich neuron, or a Hodgkin-Huxley neuron according to the configuration information.
The recitation in the additional limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Limitations directed to field of use cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim 14 recites similar subject matter as claim 3, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 4, dependent upon claim 2, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to generate a corresponding exciting or inhibiting spiking signal by neuron firing according to the model parameter.
The recitation in the additional limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Limitations directed to field of use cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Regarding claim 5, dependent upon claim 1, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the third register group is spatially isolated from the first register group and the second register group, or the third register group is independently reinforced;
The recitation in the additional limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Limitations directed to field of use cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim 16 recites similar subject matter as claim 5, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 6, dependent upon claim 5, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the third register group is spatially isolated from the first register group and the second register group in a criss-cross layout, and a first spatial distance between the third register group and the first register group, as well as a second spatial distance between the third register group and the second register group, are determined in accordance with spatial environment where the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit operates, wherein the spatial environment comprises a space orbital altitude, a spatial irradiation environment, and a spatial layout for the first register group, the second register group and the third register group.
The recitation in the additional limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Limitations directed to field of use cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim 17 recites similar subject matter as claim 6, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 7, dependent upon claim 1, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the coding module is configured to
Deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitation is directed to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and are considered to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Limitations directed to using the computer as a tool for implementing an abstract idea cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
… code one or both of the first data and the second data in an ECC mode.
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves selecting and applying an error-coding procedure to data. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
Claim 18 recites similar subject matter as claim 7, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 8, dependent upon claim 1, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the decoding module is configured to
Deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitation is directed to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and are considered to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Limitations directed to using the computer as a tool for implementing an abstract idea cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
decode one or both of the coded first data and the coded second data in the error checking and correcting mode, for error checking and 1-bit error correcting.
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves analyzing coded information, identifying an error and correcting the identified error according to a predetermined procedure. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
Claim 19 recites similar subject matter as claim 8, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, dependent upon claim 1, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein in response to the decoding result of positive multiple-bit error checking, the logic module is configured to
The recitation in the additional limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Limitations directed to field of use cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
… select the first data and the second data in the third register group as the input for both the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit and the coding module.
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves selecting and applying a coding operation to a particular data input. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
Claim 20 recites similar subject matter as claim 9, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, dependent upon claim 1, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the coding module comprises a first coding module and a second coding module,… the first coding module is configured to…, the second coding module
Deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitation is directed to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and are considered to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Limitations directed to using the computer as a tool for implementing an abstract idea cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
the first decoding module is configured to…, the second decoding module is configured to
Deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitation is directed to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and are considered to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Limitations directed to using the computer as a tool for implementing an abstract idea cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
code the first data input externally or from the logic module, …, code the second data input externally or from the logic module,…,
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves selecting and applying a coding operation to a particular data input. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
… decode the coded first data in the error checking and correcting mode, …decode the coded second data in the error checking and correcting mode.
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves selecting and applying a decoding procedure to coded information for purpose of evaluating and correcting the information. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
wherein the decoding module comprises a first decoding module and a second decoding module,
The recitation in the additional limitation simply links the judicial exception to a field of use and/or technology environment, see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Limitations directed to field of use cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim 22 recites similar subject matter as claim 10, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, dependent upon claim 1, and fail to resolve the deficiencies identified above by integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, or introducing significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites:
wherein the coding mode of the coding module and the decoding mode of the decoding module
Deemed insufficient to transform the judicial exception to a patentable invention because the limitation is directed to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and are considered to adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Limitations directed to using the computer as a tool for implementing an abstract idea cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
codes/decodes an input data by different coding/decoding bits depending on different neuron models, for error checking and 1- to 4-bit error correcting.
(i.e.: the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim recites abstract idea: mental process: It involves selecting different coding or decoding parameters based on a selected neuron model and applying those parameters to detect and correct errors in data. See (MPEP 2106.04)).
Claim 21 recites similar subject matter as claim 12, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 7, 9 – 10, 13, 18, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., Pub. No.: US11307864B2 in view of TALATHI et al., Pub. No.: US10339447B2 and Rivera et al., Pub. No.: US20180082173A1.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches: A spiking neuron reinforcing circuit, comprising: a first register group, configured to store a coded first data; a second register group, configured to store a coded second data;
(Chen, (col. 33 line [39 – 47]), “In the example, referring to FIG. 4, the task configuration information storage unit may include a first storage unit and a second storage unit. The tasks are allocated to the first storage unit or the second storage unit according to the configuration information respectively. The first storage unit stores a high-priority task queue [a first register group, configured to store a coded first data], and the second storage unit stores a low-priority task queue [a second register group, configured to store a coded second data]. For the tasks in the task queues, launching and execution of the tasks may be completed according to the respective launching modes.”)
a third register group, configured to directly store one or both of the first data and the second data;
(Chen, (col. 9 line [64] – col. 10 line [2]), “In some examples, a neural network processor may include a storage unit, a control unit, and an operation unit. The storage unit is configured to receive external input data, to store neurons, weights, and an instruction of a neural network, to send the instruction to the control unit, and to send the neurons and the weights to the operation unit [a third register group, configured to directly store one or both of the first data and the second data].”)
a decoding module, configured to decode one or both of the coded first data and the coded second data
(Chen, (col. 13 line [41 – 51]), “The storage unit is configured to receive external input data, to store neurons, weights, and an instruction of a neural network, to send the instruction to the control unit, and to send the neurons and the weights to the operation unit. The control unit is configured to receive the instruction sent by the storage unit and to decode the instruction to generate control information to control the operation unit [a decoding module, configured to decode one or both of the coded first data and the coded second data]. The operation unit is configured to receive the weights and the neurons sent by the storage unit, to complete neural network training computation, and to transmit output neurons to the storage unit for storage.”)
in an error checking and correcting (ECC) mode; and
(Chen, (col. 8 line [32 – 40]), “In some examples, data redundancy processing may include replica redundancy processing and/or ECC processing. In some examples, ECC processing may include cyclic redundancy check (CRC) and/or error checking and correcting (ECC) [in an error checking and correcting (ECC) mode]. In some examples, performing ECC processing on the data may include the follows. Redundancy storage is performed on the data with a CRC manner.”)
recode a decoding result, wherein a decoding mode of the decoding module corresponds to a coding mode of the coding module;
(Chen, (col. 8 line [37 – 43]), “the control unit reads the instruction from the instruction cache unit and decode it; the operation unit receives the decoded instruction and executes corresponding computation according to the instruction [recode a decoding result, wherein a decoding mode of the decoding module corresponds to a coding mode of the coding module]; the operation unit executes neural network operation until computation for all the data is completed to obtain a final computational result.”)
Chen does not teach:
a coding module, configured to code one or both of a first data and a second data input externally or from a logic module;
the logic module, configured to, based on the decoding result, select one or both of a decoded first data and a decoded second data as an input for a configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, or select one or both of the first data and the second data in the third register group as the input for both the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit and the coding module;
the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, capable of being configured according to one or both of an input first data and an input second data.
TALATHI teaches:
a coding module, configured to code one or both of a first data and a second data input externally or from a logic module;
(TALATHI, (col. 13 line [39 – 56]), “FIG. 8 illustrates an example implementation of a neural network 800 in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the neural network 800 may have multiple local processing units 802 that may perform various operations of methods described herein. Each local processing unit 802 may comprise a local state memory 804 and a local parameter memory 806 that store parameters of the neural network [and a second data input externally or from a logic module]. In addition, the local processing unit 802 may have a local (neuron) model program (LMP) memory 808 for storing a local model program, a local learning program (LLP) memory 810 for storing a local learning program, and a local connection memory 812. Furthermore, as illustrated in FIG. 8, each local processing unit 802 may be interfaced with a configuration processor unit 814 for providing configurations for local memories of the local processing unit [a coding module, configured to code one or both of a first data], and with a routing unit 816 that provide routing between the local processing units 802.”)
TALATHI and Chen are related to the same field of endeavor (i.e.: implementation of neural networks). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of TALATHI with teachings of Chen to reduce the number of active model neurons based on sparse decoding vectors to allow the configured tasks to execute using a reduced neural network model and potentially reducing computational and resource requirement. (TALATHI, Abstract)
Chen in view of TALATHI do not teach:
the logic module, configured to, based on the decoding result, select one or both of a decoded first data and a decoded second data as an input for a configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, or select one or both of the first data and the second data in the third register group as the input for both the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit and the coding module;
the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, capable of being configured according to one or both of an input first data and an input second data.
Rivera teaches:
the logic module, configured to, based on the decoding result, select one or both of a decoded first data and a decoded second data as an input for a configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, or select one or both of the first data and the second data in the third register group as the input for both the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit and the coding module;
(Rivera, “[0171] When the spike-to-data converter system 350 receives spike event data X, the multiplexor 411 selects between a first programmable weight ω1 [the logic module, configured to, based on the decoding result, select one or both of a decoded first data] and a second programmable weight ω0 [and a decoded second data as an input for a configurable spiking neuronal computing unit], wherein the second programmable weight ω0 is a default programmable weight. The scaling unit 414 multiplies an accumulated value maintained in the first register unit 413 by a constant value α, wherein the constant value α<1. The integration unit 412 adds the programmable weight selected by the multiplexor 411 to the scaled accumulated value, and stores the resulting sum in the first register unit 413. The accumulated value in the first register unit 413 is output as output data Y. When configured in accordance with the example configuration 410, the spike-to-data converter system 350 generates output data Y represented by equation (5) below:”)
the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, capable of being configured according to one or both of an input first data and an input second data.
(Rivera, “[0121] … When input data D arrives, the input data D is sent directly to coefficients of the first value a [the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit, capable of being configured according to one or both of an input first data] or coefficients of the second value b [both of an input first data and an input second data], and the serial conversion control function unit 120 asserts an enable signal to output a spike event packet for the input data D. Therefore, when configured in accordance with the example configuration 170, the serial conversion control function unit 120 generates a single spike event packet for each input data D, wherein the spike event packet is outputted at a time offset or address offset based on the input data D.”)
Rivera, Chen and TALATHI are related to the same field of endeavor (i.e.: implementation of neural networks). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Rivera with teachings of Chen and TALATHI to add conversion of input numeric data into spike event data using one or more supported spike codes to represent task inputs in a spike based neural processing format for execution by the configured tasks. (Rivera, Abstract)
Claim 13 recites limitations analogous to claim 1, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 1.
TALATHI further teaches: wherein the first data is configuration information, and the second data is a model parameter.
(TALATHI, (col. 13 line [39 – 56]), “FIG. 8 illustrates an example implementation of a neural network 800 in accordance with certain aspects of the present disclosure. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the neural network 800 may have multiple local processing units 802 that may perform various operations of methods described herein. Each local processing unit 802 may comprise a local state memory 804 and a local parameter memory 806 that store parameters of the neural network [and the second data is a model parameter]. In addition, the local processing unit 802 may have a local (neuron) model program (LMP) memory 808 for storing a local model program, a local learning program (LLP) memory 810 for storing a local learning program, and a local connection memory 812. Furthermore, as illustrated in FIG. 8, each local processing unit 802 may be interfaced with a configuration processor unit 814 for providing configurations for local memories of the local processing unit [wherein the first data is configuration information], and with a routing unit 816 that provide routing between the local processing units 802.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present application to combine the teachings of TALATHI with teachings of Chen and Rivera for the same reasons disclosed for claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 1.
Chen further teaches: wherein the coding module is configured to code one or both of the first data and the second data in an ECC mode.
(Chen, (col. 8 line [32 – 40]), “In some examples, data redundancy processing may include replica redundancy processing and/or ECC processing. In some examples, ECC processing may include cyclic redundancy check (CRC) and/or error checking and correcting (ECC) [wherein the coding module is configured to code one or both of the first data and the second data in an ECC mode]. In some examples, performing ECC processing on the data may include the follows. Redundancy storage is performed on the data with a CRC manner.”)
Claim 18 recites limitations analogous to claim 7, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 1.
Chen further teaches: wherein in response to the decoding result of positive multiple-bit error checking
(Chen, (col. 8 line [28 – 37]), “Data is divided into M importance ranks; important bit of each piece of data in each importance rank is extracted; data redundancy processing is carried out on the important bit, where M is a positive integer [wherein in response to the decoding result of positive multiple-bit]. In some examples, data redundancy processing may include replica redundancy processing and/or ECC processing. In some examples, ECC processing may include cyclic redundancy check (CRC) and/or error checking and correcting (ECC) [error checking].”)
Rivera further teaches: the logic module is configured to select the first data and the second data in the third register group as the input for both the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit and the coding module.
(Rivera, “[0171] When the spike-to-data converter system 350 receives spike event data X [spiking neuronal computing unit and the coding module], the multiplexor 411 selects between a first programmable weight ω1 and a second programmable weight ω0, wherein the second programmable weight ω0 is a default programmable weight [the logic module is configured to select the first data and the second data in the third register group as the input for both the configurable]. The scaling unit 414 multiplies an accumulated value maintained in the first register unit 413 by a constant value α, wherein the constant value α<1. The integration unit 412 adds the programmable weight selected by the multiplexor 411 to the scaled accumulated value, and stores the resulting sum in the first register unit 413. The accumulated value in the first register unit 413 is output as output data Y. When configured in accordance with the example configuration 410, the spike-to-data converter system 350 generates output data Y represented by equation (5) below:”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present application to combine the teachings of Rivera with teachings of Chen and TALATHI for the same reasons disclosed for claim 1.
Claim 20 recites limitations analogous to claim 9, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 1.
Chen further teaches: wherein the coding module comprises:
a first coding module and a second coding module, the first coding module is configured to code the first data input externally or from the logic module, the second coding module is configured to code the second data input externally or from the logic module, and
((Chen, col. 3 line [47 – 54]), “The conversion processing circuit is configured to execute preprocessing on the data. The specific operations are as follows. Exchange between a first data structure and a second data structure is executed for data or intermediate results received by the primary processing circuit, or exchange between a first data type and a second data type is executed for data or intermediate results received by the primary processing circuit [a first coding module and a second coding module, the first coding module is configured to code the first data input externally or from the logic module, the second coding module is configured to code the second data input externally or from the logic module,].”)
wherein the decoding module comprises a first decoding module and a second decoding module, the first decoding module is configured to decode the coded first data in the error checking and correcting mode, the second decoding module is configured to decode the coded second data in the error checking and correcting mode.
((Chen, col. 3 line [22 – 33]), “an input neuron cache unit configured to cache an input neuron input into the operation unit; an output neuron cache unit configured to cache an output neuron output by the operation unit; a control unit configured to read the instruction from the instruction cache unit, decode the instruction into an operation unit instruction and input the operation unit instruction to the operation unit [wherein the decoding module comprises a first decoding module and a second decoding module, the first decoding module is configured to decode the coded first data]; and a DMA configured to read and write data or instructions in the storage unit, the instruction cache unit, the weight cache unit, the input neuron cache unit, and the output neuron cache unit.”)
… in the error checking and correcting mode
((Chen, col. 3 line [22 – 33]), “In some examples, data redundancy processing may include replica redundancy processing and/or ECC processing. In some examples, ECC processing may include cyclic redundancy check (CRC) and/or error checking and correcting (ECC) [… in the error checking and correcting mode]. In some examples, performing ECC processing on the data may include the follows. Redundancy storage is performed on the data with a CRC manner. When a read operation is executed, a stored CRC code is read, a CRC code operation is performed on raw data, and if the two CRC codes are inconsistent, the data is corrected according to the stored CRC code.”)
Claim 22 recites limitations analogous to claim 10, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3 – 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of TALATHI, Rivera and in further view of Gupta et al., Pub. No.: US20150170027A1.
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 2.
Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera do not teach:
wherein the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to be a Leaky-Integrate-and-Fire (LIF) neuron, an Izhikevich neuron, or a Hodgkin-Huxley neuron according to the configuration information.
Gupta teaches:
wherein the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to be a Leaky-Integrate-and-Fire (LIF) neuron, an Izhikevich neuron, or a Hodgkin-Huxley neuron according to the configuration information.
(Gupta, “[0057] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the dynamics of the model 400 may be divided into two (or more) regimes. These regimes may be called the negative regime 402 (also interchangeably referred to as the leaky-integrate-and-fire (LIF) regime [wherein the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to be a Leaky-Integrate-and-Fire (LIF) neuron], not to be confused with the LIF neuron model) and the positive regime 404 (also interchangeably referred to as the anti-leaky-integrate-and-fire (ALIF) regime, not to be confused with the ALIF neuron model).”)
Gupta, Chen, TALATHI and Rivera are related to the same field of endeavor (i.e.: implementation of neural networks). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Gupta with teachings of Chen, TALATHI and Rivera to add diversity among neurons by perturbing their parameters based on neurons specific identification values and perturbation levels to allow different task configurations to use varied neuron behaviors. (Gupta, Abstract)
Claim 14 recites limitations analogous to claim 3, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 2.
Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera do not teach:
wherein the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to generate a corresponding exciting or inhibiting spiking signal by neuron firing according to the model parameter.
Gupta teaches:
wherein the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit is configured to generate a corresponding exciting or inhibiting spiking signal by neuron firing according to the model parameter.
(Gupta, “[0108] … For instance, if parts of the pattern are missing, or if the inter spike interval between the spikes representing the spikes are jittered (e.g., due to blurry input), the diversity in weights allows the output layer to still generate spiking outputs for the input pattern and enable detection [inhibiting spiking signal by neuron firing according to the model parameter].”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present application to combine the teachings of Gupta with teachings of Chen, TALATHI and Rivera for the same reasons disclosed for claim 3.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of TALATHI, Rivera and in further view of Jensen et al., Pub. No.: US6549443B1.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 1.
Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera do not teach:
wherein the third register group is spatially isolated from the first register group and the second register group, or the third register group is independently reinforced;
Jensen teaches:
wherein the third register group
(Jensen, (col. 3 line 66 – col 4 line [1 – 8]), “In an attempt to address the deficiencies of the redundant semiconductor circuit element approach [wherein the third register group], the prior art has employed a voting approach. The voting approach employs multiple semiconductor circuit elements, with a typical number of three such redundant elements. For a memory read operation, the state of each circuit element is read and compared with a majority vote of the multiple circuit elements governing the overall state of the redundant circuit. Using voting, the circuit can detect an error, and can correct it by rewriting the affected circuit element with the data determined by the other redundant circuit elements.”)
is spatially isolated from the first register group and the second register group, or the third register group is independently reinforced;
(Jensen, (col. 6 line [39 – 50]), “FIG. 11 shows a semiconductor circuit element according to a third embodiment of the invention. In this embodiment, the cell elements of circuit element 1 are interleaved with cell elements of circuit element 2. However, the parallel-connected cell elements are not adjacent to each other. Moreover, the semiconductor cell elements are physically separated by at least one intervening semiconductor cell element of another circuit element [is spatially isolated from the first register group and the second register group, or the third register group is independently reinforced]. This physical distance between the elements is accomplished without increasing an overall area used by each semiconductor circuit element (other than the area required for the redundant cell elements).”)
Jensen, Chen, TALATHI and Rivera are related to the same field of endeavor (i.e.: implementation of neural networks). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Jensen with teachings of Chen, TALATHI and Rivera to add a fault tolerant hardware implementation in which circuit elements are physically separated and redundantly connected in parallel, to improve resistance to single event upset during task execution. (Jensen, Abstract)
Claim 16 recites limitations analogous to claim 5, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 8, 12, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of TALATHI, Rivera and in further view of Song et al., Pub. No.: US20210306006A1.
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 1.
Chen further teaches: wherein the decoding module is configured to decode one or both of the coded first data and the coded second data
((Chen, col. 3 line [47 – 54]), “The conversion processing circuit is configured to execute preprocessing on the data. The specific operations are as follows. Exchange between a first data structure and a second data structure is executed for data or intermediate results received by the primary processing circuit, or exchange between a first data type and a second data type is executed for data or intermediate results received by the primary processing circuit [wherein the decoding module is configured to decode one or both of the coded first data and the coded second data].”)
Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera do not teach:
… in the error checking and correcting mode, for error checking and 1-bit error correcting
Song teaches:
… in the error checking and correcting mode, for error checking and 1-bit error correcting
(Song, “[0099] At a step 730, whether an error exists as a result of the ECC calculation may be discriminated. Specifically, the multiplication result compensating circuit 420 of the MAC operator 400 may analyze bit values [… in the error checking and correcting mode, for error checking and 1-bit error correcting] of the error code EC<0:127> output from the ECC logic circuit 300 to discriminate whether an error exists in the first data DA1<0:127> and to find out an error location if an error exists in the first data DA1<0:127>.”)
Song, Chen, TALATHI and Rivera are related to the same field of endeavor (i.e.: implementation of neural networks). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teaching of Song with teachings of Chen, TALATHI and Rivera to add error detection and correction for task data and MAC processing of the corrected data within a processing in memory device to improve data integrity while performing the configuration tasks. (Song, Abstract)
Claim 19 recites limitations analogous to claim 8, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera teach the method of claim 1.
Chen further teaches: wherein the coding mode of the coding module and the decoding mode of the decoding module codes/decodes an input data by different coding/decoding bits depending on different neuron models,
((Chen, col. 41 line [11 – 16]), “Replica redundancy may include implementing redundancy backup in the same storage medium and may also implement redundancy backup in different storage media. N data replicas may simultaneously be backed up, where N is a positive integer greater than zero. An ECC manner may include CRC and ECC [wherein the coding mode of the coding module and the decoding mode of the decoding module codes/decodes an input data by different coding/decoding bits depending on different neuron models].”)
Chen in view of TALATHI and Rivera do not teach:
… for error checking and 1- to 4-bit error correcting.
Song teaches:
… for error checking and 1- to 4-bit error correcting.
(Song, “[0099] At a step 730, whether an error exists as a result of the ECC calculation may be discriminated. Specifically, the multiplication result compensating circuit 420 of the MAC operator 400 may analyze bit values for error checking and 1- to 4-bit error correcting] of the error code EC<0:127> output from the ECC logic circuit 300 to discriminate whether an error exists in the first data DA1<0:127> and to find out an error location if an error exists in the first data DA1<0:127>.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the present application to combine the teachings of Song with teachings of Chen, Rivera and TALATHI for the same reasons disclosed for claim 8.
Claim 21 recites limitations analogous to claim 12, so it is rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action.
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the third register group is spatially isolated from the first register group and the second register group in a criss-cross layout, and a first spatial distance between the third register group and the first register group, as well as a second spatial distance between the third register group and the second register group, are determined in accordance with spatial environment where the configurable spiking neuronal computing unit operates, wherein the spatial environment comprises a space orbital altitude, a spatial irradiation environment, and a spatial layout for the first register group, the second register group and the third register group.
The prior art made of record does not teach, make obvious, or suggest the claim limitations as disclosed in Applicant's claims.
The closest prior art(s), listed below, discloses:
Chen et al. Pub. No.: US11307864B2
Chen teaches the operation module may include a control unit, an operation unit, and a storage unit. The task queue configuration unit is configured to send a configured task queue to the control unit. The control unit is configured to monitor configuration information of a self-launching task queue device, to configure an operation instruction stored in the storage unit, to control the operation unit and the storage unit to execute tasks in the task queue, and to send a first end signal to the task configuration information storage unit every time a task is executed. However, Chen does not teach a register group which is spatially isolated from a first and second register groups in a criss-cross layout, with their respective spatial distances determined based on the operating environment, including orbital altitude, radiation conditions and the physical layout of the register groups.
Rivera et al., Pub. No.: US20180082173A1.
Rivera teaches a system comprising at least one data-to-spike converter unit for converting input numeric data received by the system to spike event data. Each data-to-spike converter unit is configured to support one or more spike codes. Each data-to-spike converter unit is configured to support one or more spike codes. However, Rivera does not teach a register group which is spatially isolated from a first and second register groups in a criss-cross layout, with their respective spatial distances determined based on the operating environment, including orbital altitude, radiation conditions and the physical layout of the register groups.
TALATHI et al., Pub. No.: US10339447B2.
TALATHI teaches selecting a reduced number of model neurons in a neural network includes generating a first sparse set of non-zero decoding vectors. Each of the decoding vectors is associated with a synapse between a first neuron layer and a second neuron layer. The method further includes implementing the neural network only with selected model neurons in the first neuron layer associated with the non-zero decoding vectors. However, TALATHI does not teach a register group which is spatially isolated from a first and second register groups in a criss-cross layout, with their respective spatial distances determined based on the operating environment, including orbital altitude, radiation conditions and the physical layout of the register groups.
In summary, the references made of record fail to disclose the required technical features recited by claim 6 limitations as a whole.
Claim 17 includes limitations analogous to those of claim 6 and therefore would be allowed for the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Perkins et al., Pub. No.: US11429847B2.
Perkins teaches observing spike counts for spiking cells are provided, the methods comprising: receiving a first set of observed spike counts for the spiking cells; determining a set of probabilities by: retrieving the set of probabilities from stored information;
Marais et al., Pub. No.: US20130077820A1.
Marais teaches a plurality of joints and provides a machine readable representation of a human subject observed with a sensor such as a depth camera. A gesture detection module is trained via machine learning to identify one or more features of a virtual skeleton and indicate if the feature(s) collectively indicate a particular gesture.
should be directed to MATIYAS T MARU whose telephone number is (571)270-0902 or via email: matiyas.maru@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached Monday 8:00am - Friday 4:00pm EST.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to
use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Michelle Bechtold can be reached on (571)431-0762. The fax phone number for the organization were this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users.
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA)
or 571-272-1000.
/M.T.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2148
/MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148