DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this regular application filed on 06/25/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitano et al. (US 2017/0172149 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Kitano et al. discloses a sterilization method [0002] and device (Fig.12:1) wherein peroxynitric acid gas [0013] is applied to a sterilization target to sterilize the sterilization target;
a peroxynitric acid gas generation section [0064-0068] that generates peroxynitric acid gas obtained by gasifying a peroxynitric acid-containing liquid; and
a sterilization treatment section [0157-0161] that applies the peroxynitric acid gas to a sterilization target to sterilize the sterilization target.
Regarding claim 2, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid gas [0013-0014] is vaporized gas generated from a peroxynitric acid mist obtained by atomizing a peroxynitric acid-containing liquid.
Regarding claim 3, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid mist [0013] is generated by atomizing the peroxynitric acid-containing liquid by ultrasonic
atomization.
Regarding claim 4, the plasma generator [0013] of Kitano et al. device is capable of generating ultrasonic waves at kilohertz frequencies that are used to deaerate the peroxynitric acid-containing liquid, and ultrasonic waves at megahertz frequencies are used to atomize the deaerated peroxynitric acid-
containing liquid.
Regarding claim 5, the plasma generator [0013] of Kitano et al. device is capable of generating vacuum-deaerated, and the vacuum-deaerated peroxynitric acid-containing liquid is atomized by the ultrasonic atomization.
Regarding claim 6, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid mist is generated by atomizing [0013] the peroxynitric acid-containing liquid by spraying the peroxynitric acid-containing liquid.
Regarding claim 7, Kitano et al. discloses that heated air [0013-0014 and 0148-0161] is brought into collision with the peroxynitric acid-containing liquid to generate the peroxynitric acid mist and the peroxynitric acid gas.
Regarding claim 8, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid- containing liquid is sprayed in a space supplied with heated air [0159-0168].
Regarding claim 9, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid mist is removed [0013-0014 and 0148-0161] from a gas containing the peroxynitric acid mist and the peroxynitric acid gas, and the gas from which the peroxynitric acid mist has been removed is applied to the sterilization target.
Regarding claim 10, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid gas is generated by bubbling the-peroxynitric acid-containing liquid [0013-0014 and 0148-0161].
Regarding claim 11, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid gas is applied to the sterilization target that is housed ([0013-0014 and 0148-0161] and Fig.12) in a container in a negative pressure state.
Regarding claim 12, Kitano et al. discloses an interior of the container is evacuated in a period in which the peroxynitric acid gas is applied to the sterilization target [0013-0014 and 0148-0161] that is housed in the container.
Regarding claim 13, Kitano et al. discloses that the peroxynitric acid-containing liquid has pH of 5.85 or lower [0014].
Regarding claim 14, Kitano et al. discloses that carbon dioxide is applied to the sterilization target [0031-0044].
Regarding claim 15, Kitano et al. discloses that the acid gas is applied to the sterilization target [0031-0044].
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799