Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. There are no drawings filed. The drawings may be a step by step of the claimed method, a graph of the pre-sintering, sintering temperature, particle size graphs
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (JP 2016060687) as cited in the machine translation provided herein.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses a method for manufacturing an oxide ceramic molded body (Abstract- step II), comprising subjecting a powder containing oxide ceramic particles of zirconia.
Yoshida discloses the maximum particle size of zirconia powder being 10 microns or less and an average particle size 30 nm or less (page 3 step (I), last ¶-page 4 first ¶) to press molding under reduced pressure (page 3; step (II).
Thus overlapping the claimed ranges which is a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida discloses the press molding involves a loading pressure of 50-1000 MPa (Page 6 ¶1) which overlaps with the claimed range of 10 MPa or more and 200 MPa or less.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida discloses the powder containing oxide ceramic particles is a powder containing zirconia particles, and/or a powder containing alumina particles.
Regarding claims 5-7, Yoshida discloses the powder containing oxide ceramic particles additionally contains a stabilizing agent of yittria of 2-4 mol % (page 3; step (I) yttria is capable of stabilizing zirconia thus preventing a phase transformation of zirconia.
Regarding claims 8-12, Yoshida manufacturing an oxide ceramic zirconia press-molded body and sintering at a temperature 900-12000C thus overlapping both pre-sintering and the sintering temperature (page 5 last ¶-page 6 first ¶) in order to sinter the ceramic molded body it must go through pre-sintering as well
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (JP 2016060687) as cited in the machine translation provided herein as applied above as applied to Ito (WO 2018056331).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida discloses press-molding the powder body to a desired density (page 6 ¶1) however Yoshida fails to state press molding is conducted under a reduced pressure between 0.1 kPa -100 kPa.
In an analogous art of forming a zirconia with yttria stabilizer by press molding (page 11, ¶1-5) Ito discloses reducing the pressure inside the mold during press molding produces a higher density. It would be obvious to modify the method of Yoshida with the reduction in pressure as motivated to achieve a lower density because Ito has established the pressure reduction during press molding yielding a higher density as a result-effective variable.
Conclusion
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741