Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 6/25/2024 and 4/21/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 11, 21-22 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sihotang (US. Pub. No. 2021/0337374 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sihotang discloses an information processing method, executed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element (See Par. [39]-[40] of Sihotang for a reference to a computer-implemented method 400 performed by/at the AMF entity of a base station to register a UE) and comprising:
receiving request information sent by user equipment (UE) wherein the request information comprises identification information of the UE (See Par. [41] and Fig. 4; Step 402 of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF receives a UE ID from the UE to initiate registration. The UE ID 'may be a subscriber identification or SUPI, a Permanent Equipment Identifier or PEI, a Globally Unique Temporary Identifier or GUTI, a subscription concealed identifier or SUCI, an Internal Group Identifier, a General Public Subscription Identifier);
determining, based on the identification information, whether the UE has an authorized subscription service (See Par. [42]-[44] and Fig. 4; Step 404, 406 & 408 of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF forwarding the UE ID to the UDM, and the UDM (or the UDR behind it) matching that UE ID to a UE Group ID / configuration-and-subscription data record to determine whether a match i.e., authorized subscription data exists for that identification); and
sending, in response to determining that the UE has the authorized subscription service, requested target information to the UE; wherein the requested target information comprises subscription information requested by the request information (See Par. [45], [48]-[49] and Fig. 4; Step 414, 418 & 420 of Sihotang for a reference to that upon a successful match the UE Group ID (a pointer to the configuration-and-subscription data) is sent to the AMF and used to retrieve and apply that configuration-and-subscription data to complete registration).
Regarding claim 2, Sihotang discloses wherein the determining, based on the identification information, whether the UE has the authorized subscription service comprises:
querying, based on the identification information, authorized management information of a unified data management (UDM) network element, to and determining whether the UE has the authorized subscription service (See Par. [42] of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF sending a registration request; the instructions 132A may include a registration request via a service-based interface ("Nudm_UECM_Registration_Request") to the UDM 136. The instruction may include the UE ID [Querying the UDM's authorized management information using the identification information]).
Regarding claim 11, Sihotang discloses wherein the receiving request information comprises any one of:
receiving a registration request message sent by the UE and carrying the request information; or receiving a service request message sent by the UE and carrying the request information (See Par. [41] of Sihotang for a reference to the UE ID is sent/received to initiate a registration process at the base station; a registration request message carrying the request information (the UE ID) [Registration request option is cited]).
Regarding claim 21, Sihotang discloses an information processing method, executed by a unified data management (UDM) network element (See Par. [42]-[44] of Sihotang for a reference to corresponding UDM-side steps to complete the described AMF-UDM exchange (matching UE ID to UE Group ID/subscription record) and comprising:
receiving request information sent by an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element, wherein the request information comprises identification information of UE (See Par. [42] and Fig. 4; Step 404 of Sihotang for a reference to the UDM receiving the UE ID forwarded by the AMF as part of the “Nudm_UECM_Registration_Request”);
determining, based on the identification information, whether the UE has an authorized subscription service (See Par. [43]-[44] and Fig. 4; Step 406 & 408 of Sihotang for a reference to the UDM matching the received UE ID against UE Group ID / subscription records to determine whether authorized subscription data exists); and
sending, in response to determining that the UE has the authorized subscription service, requested target information to the AMF network element; wherein the requested target information comprisesSee Par. [45] and Fig. 4; Step 414of Sihotang for a reference to the UDM returning the UE Group ID (subscription-data pointer) to the AMF upon a successful match).
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 49, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1, including a communication device (See Sihotang; Fig. 2; Bases Station 104), comprising: one or more processors (See Sihotang; Fig. 2; Processor 230); and a memory (See Sihotang; Fig. 2; Memory 234) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors (See Sihotang; Fig. 2; Executable Code 236).
Regarding claim 50, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1, including a non-transitory computer storage medium, storing a program executable by one or more processors (See Par. [51] of Sihotang for a reference to a code or instructions embodied on a machine-readable medium or in a transmission signal, wherein the code is executed by a processor).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sihotang in view of Bartolome Rodrigo et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0178062 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Sihotang does not explicitly disclose wherein the request information comprises condition information, and the information processing method further comprises: obtaining, based on the condition information, at least part of the
However, Bartolome Rodrigo discloses obtaining, based on the condition information, at least part of the See Par. [16]-[17], [70]-[71] of Bartolome Rodrigo for a reference to the coexistence function first checks the Unified Data Repository 5G (UDR), to see if the user details are already present. If not, the coexistence function requests the 4G UDR, to provide the relevant user information [conditionally obtaining the applicable part of the subscription data depending on where it resides]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bartolome Rodrigo to Sihotang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by implementing the coexistence function in such a way that it interacts with the two different entities; 4G UDR and 5G UDR, over two different interfaces. (Bartolome Rodrigo; Par. [43])
Claims 5, 7, 9, 12-14, 16, 20, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sihotang in view of Yu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2015/0105075 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sihotang discloses the information processing method of claim 1,further comprising:
obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information (See Par. [42]-[45], [48]-[49] and Fig. 4; Step 404-420 of Sihotang for a reference to obtaining the UE Group ID / subscription data in response to the request);
wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises:
obtaining, based on the request information, the subscription information requested by the request information from a unified data repository (UDR) (See Par. [37], [44] of Sihotang for a reference to the UDM 136 may be stateless and store information externally in a Unified Data Repository (UDR) 137. Data is retrieved from the UDM/UDR and sent toward the AMF for the registering UE);_or
wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises:
sending the request information to a UDM network element; and receiving the subscription information that is returned by the UDM network element based on the request information (See Par. [42], [45] of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF sending a registration request; the instructions 132A may include a registration request via a service-based interface ("Nudm_UECM_Registration_Request") to the UDM 136. The instruction may include the UE ID [Querying the UDM's authorized management information using the identification information] The UDM returning the subscription-linked UE Group ID to the AMF).
Sihotang does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises: sending the request information to an authorized subscription management function (ASMF) network element; and receiving the subscription information that is returned by the ASMF network element based on the request information
However, Yu discloses wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises: sending the request information to an authorized subscription management function (ASMF) network element (See Par. [62], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF acquires a first subscription information configuration request, where the first subscription information configuration request includes the IMEI of the UE); and receiving the subscription information that is returned by the ASMF network element based on the request information (See Par. [63], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF transmits an authorization and authentication request to the AMF, where the authorization and authentication request includes the IMEI of the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yu to Sihotang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the efficiency of subscription data configuration through acquiring the UE identity and subscription information. (Yu; Par. [145])
Regarding claim 7, Sihotang does not explicitly disclose wherein the sending the request information to an ASMF network element comprises: sending, in response to determining that the UE has the authorized subscription service, the request information to the ASMF network element.
However, Yu discloses sending, in response to determining that the UE has the authorized subscription service, the request information to the ASMF network element (See Par. [62], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF acquires a first subscription information configuration request, where the first subscription information configuration request includes the IMEI of the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yu to Sihotang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the efficiency of subscription data configuration through acquiring the UE identity and subscription information. (Yu; Par. [145])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sihotang and Yu, specifically Sihotang discloses wherein the sending the request information to the UDM network element comprises:
sending, in response to determining that the UE has the authorized subscription service, the request information to the UDM network element (See Par. [42]-[44] and Fig. 4; Steps 404-408 of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF's Nudm request to the UDM occurring as part of, and based on, the ongoing registration/authorization matching exchange for the identified UE).
Regarding claim 12, Sihotang discloses an information processing method, executed by an authorized subscription management function (ASMF) network element (See Par. [30], [39]-[40] of Sihotang for a reference to a computer-implemented method 400 performed by/at the authorization SMF entity of a base station to register a UE) and comprising:
determining, based on an identification information, whether the UE has an authorized subscription service (See Par. [42]-[44] and Fig. 4; Step 404, 406 & 408 of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF forwarding the UE ID to the UDM, and the UDM (or the UDR behind it) matching that UE ID to a UE Group ID / configuration-and-subscription data record to determine whether a match i.e., authorized subscription data exists for that identification); and
Sihotang does not explicitly disclose receiving request information sent by an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element; wherein the request information comprises identification information of UE;
sending, in response to determining that the UE has the authorized subscription service, requested target information to the AMF network element; wherein the requested target information comprises subscription information requested by the request information.
However, Yu discloses receiving request information sent by an access and mobility management function (AMF) network element; wherein the request information comprises identification information of UE (See Par. [62], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF acquires a first subscription information configuration request, where the first subscription information configuration request includes the IMEI of the UE);
sending, in response to determining that the UE has the authorized subscription service, requested target information to the AMF network element; wherein the requested target information comprises subscription information requested by the request information (See Par. [63], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF transmits an authorization and authentication request to the AMF, where the authorization and authentication request includes the IMEI of the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yu to Sihotang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the efficiency of subscription data configuration through acquiring the UE identity and subscription information. (Yu; Par. [145])
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sihotang and Yu, specifically Sihotang discloses wherein the determining, based on the identification information, whether the UE has the authorized subscription service comprises:
querying, based on the identification information, authorized management information of a unified data management (UDM) network element, to determine whether the UE has the authorized subscription service (See Par. [42] of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF sending a registration request; the instructions 132A may include a registration request via a service-based interface ("Nudm_UECM_Registration_Request") to the UDM 136. The instruction may include the UE ID [Querying the UDM's authorized management information using the identification information]).
Regarding claim 14, Sihotang does not explicitly disclose the information processing method of claim 12, further comprising: obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information.
However, Yu discloses obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information (See Par. [62], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF acquires a first subscription information configuration request, where the first subscription information configuration request includes the IMEI of the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yu to Sihotang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the efficiency of subscription data configuration through acquiring the UE identity and subscription information. (Yu; Par. [145])
Regarding claim 16, Sihotang discloses the information processing method of claim 14, further comprising:
obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information (See Par. [42]-[45], [48]-[49] and Fig. 4; Step 404-420 of Sihotang for a reference to obtaining the UE Group ID / subscription data in response to the request);
wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises:
obtaining, based on the request information, the subscription information requested by the request information from a unified data repository (UDR) (See Par. [37], [44] of Sihotang for a reference to the UDM 136 may be stateless and store information externally in a Unified Data Repository (UDR) 137. Data is retrieved from the UDM/UDR and sent toward the AMF for the registering UE);_or
wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises:
sending the request information to a UDM network element; and receiving the subscription information that is returned by the UDM network element based on the request information (See Par. [42], [45] of Sihotang for a reference to the AMF sending a registration request; the instructions 132A may include a registration request via a service-based interface ("Nudm_UECM_Registration_Request") to the UDM 136. The instruction may include the UE ID [Querying the UDM's authorized management information using the identification information] The UDM returning the subscription-linked UE Group ID to the AMF).
Sihotang does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises: sending the request information to an authorized subscription management function (ASMF) network element; and receiving the subscription information that is returned by the ASMF network element based on the request information
However, Yu discloses wherein the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises: sending the request information to an authorized subscription management function (ASMF) network element (See Par. [62], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF acquires a first subscription information configuration request, where the first subscription information configuration request includes the IMEI of the UE); and receiving the subscription information that is returned by the ASMF network element based on the request information (See Par. [63], [81] of Yu for a reference to the authorization SMF transmits an authorization and authentication request to the AMF, where the authorization and authentication request includes the IMEI of the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yu to Sihotang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by improving the efficiency of subscription data configuration through acquiring the UE identity and subscription information. (Yu; Par. [145])
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sihotang and Yu, specifically Sihotang discloses wherein the receiving request information comprises any one of:
receiving a registration request message sent by the UE and carrying the request information; or receiving a service request message sent by the UE and carrying the request information (See Par. [41] of Sihotang for a reference to the UE ID is sent/received to initiate a registration process at the base station; a registration request message carrying the request information (the UE ID) [Registration request option is cited]).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 14.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 5.
Claims 15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sihotang in view of Yu et al. and further in view Bartolome Rodrigo et al..
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sihotang and Yu does not explicitly disclose the information processing method of wherein the request information comprises condition information;
the obtaining the subscription information requested by the request information comprises:
obtaining, based on the condition information, at least part of the subscription information indicated by the condition information.
However, Bartolome Rodrigo discloses obtaining, based on the condition information, at least part of the subscription information indicated by the condition information (See Par. [16]-[17], [70]-[71] of Bartolome Rodrigo for a reference to the coexistence function first checks the Unified Data Repository 5G (UDR), to see if the user details are already present. If not, the coexistence function requests the 4G UDR, to provide the relevant user information [conditionally obtaining the applicable part of the subscription data depending on where it resides]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bartolome Rodrigo to the combination of Sihotang and Yu. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance; by implementing the coexistence function in such a way that it interacts with the two different entities; 4G UDR and 5G UDR, over two different interfaces. (Bartolome Rodrigo; Par. [43])
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 15.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baskaran et al. (US 2023/0262453 Al) teaches Access and Mobility Management Function (MF) reallocation-based User Equipment (UE) Non-Access Stratum (NAS) security handling in Fifth Generation (5G) Systems.
Lee et al. (US 2022/0263788 A1) teaches a method for an edge computing operator to inform a user equipment (UE) of the address of an edge application server registered in an edge computing-supported area.
Rajendran et al. (U.S. 2021/0409941 Al) teaches a method for the security procedures for UE's in 5GLAN Group Communication.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413