DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 06/25/2024.
Claims 1-15, 17 are currently pending.
Claim 16, 18-19 are canceled in a preliminary amendment.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15, 17 are rejected.
Claims 6, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 12, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin Yang et al (US 20250219781 A1) in view of Bo Gong et al (US 20230403126 A1).
For Claim 1, Yang discloses a method performed by a station (STA) in a wireless local area
network (WLAN) system (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0054, lines 1-3, that an AP 102 may distribute the RUs across the channel bandwidth to improve frequency diversity and available power for communications), the method comprising:
receiving, from an access point (AP), distributed resource allocation information
related to a plurality of resource units (RUs) allocated to the STA (Yang shows, in FIG. 7, step 610, At 610, the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA 104-b. For example, the AP 102-b may allocate the distributed RU to the STA 104-b such that the STA 104-b may receive information on the downlink, or may allocate the distributed RU to the STA 104-b such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink); and
performing an uplink transmission or a downlink reception with the AP based on the
distributed resource allocation information (Yang shows, in FIG. 7, At 620, the AP 102-b and the STA 104-b may communicate using the set of tones of the distributed RU. In a first example, the AP 102-b may transmit data over the subset of data tones to the STA 104-b on the downlink),
wherein the distributed resource allocation information is based on a number of the
plurality of RUs (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0054 that the RU allocation may indicate which RU each of the STAs is to use to transmit an uplink (UL) OFDMA communication to the AP. Each of the RUs includes a fixed number of tones or subcarriers).
Yang fails to expressly disclose that the distributed resource allocation information is based on a resource allocation information for each of the plurality of RUs.
However, Gong, in analogous art, discloses that the distributed resource allocation information is based on a resource allocation information for each of the plurality of RUs (Gong teaches, in ¶ 0169, that the resource allocation information may be carried in a resource unit allocation subfield (RU Allocation subfield) in a user information field in the trigger frame).
Gong further teaches, in ¶ 0055, that The first transmission bandwidth is a bandwidth corresponding to a distributed RU that is allocated by an access point AP to the at least one STA for transmitting the uplink PPDU.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang with the trigger frame taught in Gong. The motivation is to trigger at least one STA including the STA to transmit an uplink physical layer protocol data unit PPDU based on the allocated RU.
For Claim 2, Yang discloses a method, wherein: the each of the plurality of RUs is allocated to one of a plurality of frequency units (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0054 that the RU allocation may indicate which RU each of the STAs is to use to transmit an uplink (UL) OFDMA communication to the AP. Each of the RUs includes a fixed number of tones or subcarriers).
For Claim 3, Yang discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the distributed resource allocation information is indicated based on user information (user info) fields a number of which corresponds to the number of the plurality of RUs within a trigger frame.
However, Gong, in analogous art, discloses that the distributed resource allocation information is indicated based on user information (user info) fields a number of which corresponds to the number of the plurality of RUs within a trigger frame (Gong teaches, in ¶ 0018, that any STA in the at least one STA may determine, from the matrix P based on an indication of an SS Allocation field in a User Info Field in a trigger frame received by the STA, a row corresponding to the STA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang with the trigger frame taught in Gong. The motivation is to trigger at least one STA including the STA to transmit an uplink physical layer protocol data unit PPDU based on the allocated RU.
For Claim 5, Yang discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the distributed resource allocation information is indicated based on one trigger dependent user information field.
However, Gong, in analogous art, discloses that the distributed resource allocation information is indicated based on one trigger dependent user information field (Gong teaches, in ¶ 0172, that the After receiving the trigger frame, the STA parses the trigger frame to obtain the user information field that matches the AID12 of the STA, so that the allocated distributed RU can be determined based on the resource unit allocation subfield in the user information field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang with the trigger frame taught in Gong. The motivation is to trigger at least one STA including the STA to transmit an uplink physical layer protocol data unit PPDU based on the allocated RU.
For Claim 7, Yang discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the distributed resource allocation information is indicated based on at least one of RU allocation information included in common information of a signal (SIG) field, or user fields a number of which corresponds to the number of the plurality of RUs.
However, Gong, in analogous art, discloses that the distributed resource allocation information is indicated based on at least one of RU allocation information included in common information of a signal (SIG) field, or user fields a number of which corresponds to the number of the plurality of RUs (Gong teaches, in ¶ 0173 that FIG. 11(b) shows a composition of the Common Field in the trigger frame shown in FIG. 11a. Gong teaches, in ¶ 0175 that The uplink bandwidth field indicates a bandwidth in an HE-SIG-A of an HE TB PPDU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang with the trigger frame taught in Gong. The motivation is to trigger at least one STA including the STA to transmit an uplink physical layer protocol data unit PPDU based on the allocated RU.
For Claim 9, Yang discloses all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that for the uplink transmission, whether a distributed resource allocation is supported is
included in a common information field of a trigger frame.
However, Gong, in analogous art, discloses that for the uplink transmission, whether a distributed resource allocation is supported is included in a common information field of a trigger frame (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0179 that The resource unit allocation field may join with the uplink bandwidth field in the common information field to indicate a size and a location of an allocated RU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang with the trigger frame taught in Gong. The motivation is to trigger at least one STA including the STA to transmit an uplink physical layer protocol data unit PPDU based on the allocated RU.
For Claim 12, Yang discloses a method, wherein: the plurality of RUs have a same or different size of 242-tones or less (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0037, lines 1-4, that In some examples, a distributed RU including 26 tones (for example, 24 data tones and 2 pilot tones) may be distributed across a channel bandwidth spanning 242 tones (such as by spreading data tones across 216 useful tones of the total 242 tones)).
For Claim 15, please refer to the rejection of claim 1, above.
For Claim 17, please refer to the rejection of claim 1, above.
Claims 4, 8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin Yang et al (US 20250219781 A1) in view of Bo Gong et al (US 20230403126 A1) as applied to claim 1, or 7 above, and further in view of Jeongki Kim et al (US 20190052353 A1).
For Claim 4, Yang and Gong disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the user information fields include same STA identification information,
any one of the user information fields includes information on the number of the
plurality of RUs, or includes indication information on whether a remaining user information
field presents or indication information on whether the user information field is a last user
information field.
However, Kim, in analogous art, discloses that the user information fields include same STA identification information (Kim teaches, in ¶ 0159, that a GID (group ID) instead of per STA ID (e.g., AID or PAID) may be used in HE-SIG (e.g., HE-SIG B)), any one of the user information fields includes information on the number of the plurality of RUs, or includes indication information on whether a remaining user information field presents or indication information on whether the user information field is a last user information field (Kim teaches, in ¶ 0175, that only one GID (e.g., GID=a) among available GIDs may be explicitly indicated through a trigger frame and the remaining GIDs may be implicitly signaled to STAs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang and Gong with the a GID (group ID) taught in Kim. The motivation is to in order to reduce the processing load of STAs.
For Claim 8, Yang and Gong disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the user fields include same STA identification information, any one of the user fields includes indication information on whether a remaining user field presents or indication information on whether the user field is a last user field.
However, Kim, in analogous art, discloses that the user fields include same STA identification information (Kim teaches, in ¶ 0159, that a GID (group ID) instead of per STA ID (e.g., AID or PAID) may be used in HE-SIG (e.g., HE-SIG B)), any one of the user fields includes indication information on whether a remaining user field presents or indication information on whether the user field is a last user field (Kim teaches, in ¶ 0175, that only one GID (e.g., GID=a) among available GIDs may be explicitly indicated through a trigger frame and the remaining GIDs may be implicitly signaled to STAs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang and Gong with the a GID (group ID) taught in Kim. The motivation is to in order to reduce the processing load of STAs.
For Claim 11, Yang and Gong disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that for the downlink reception, whether a distributed resource allocation is supported is
indicated based on a part of bits of a common field for an orthogonal frequency domain
multiple access (OFDMA) transmission of a second SIG field.
However, Kim, in analogous art, discloses that for the downlink reception, whether a distributed resource allocation is supported is indicated based on a part of bits of a common field for an orthogonal frequency domain multiple access (OFDMA) transmission of a second SIG field (Kim teaches, in ¶ 0242, that the trigger frame may be used for M-BA ID allocation. The M-BA frame may be transmitted in the OFDMA PPDU format, and the STA ID subfield of the HE-SIG B field of the M-BA frame may be set to an allocated M-BA ID. According to option 1, an M-BA ID is included in a Per User Info field. According to option 2, a reference M-BA ID may be included in a common user information field and an M-BA ID index which indicates an M-BA ID to be actually allocated may be included in the Per User Info field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang and Gong with the a GID (group ID) taught in Kim. The motivation is to in order to reduce the processing load of STAs.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin Yang et al (US 20250219781 A1) in view of Bo Gong et al (US 20230403126 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alfred Asterjadhi et al (US 20200014509 A1).
For Claim 13, Yang teaches excluding a punctured or inactive frequency unit (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0037, lines 1-4, that Contiguous RUs may be separated by a null subcarrier (such as a DC subcarrier) [i.e., punctured], for example, to reduce interference between contiguous RUs, to reduce receiver DC offset, and to avoid transmit center frequency leakage).
Yang and Gong fail to expressly teach that the plurality of RUs are distributively allocated within an available frequency domain.
However, Asterjadhi, in analogous art, discloses that the plurality of RUs are distributively allocated within an available frequency domain (Asterjadhi teaches, in ¶ 0090, that each available RU may be identified by a respective RU value (for example, an RU index number), and the map may map each RU to a respective non-contiguous set of tones by mapping the respective RU value to the respective non-contiguous set of tones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system taught in Yang and Gong with the RU map taught in Asterjadhi. The motivation is to enhance the reliability of messages transmitted by the device in the RUs.
For Claim 14, Yang discloses a method, wherein: the plurality of RUs are contiguous (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0061, that The tone set 220 may be mapped to tones within the channel bandwidth 215 and may include a subset of data tones that may be mapped to distributed groups of one or more contiguous tones over the channel bandwidth 215) or non-contiguous within the available frequency domain (Yang teaches, in ¶ 0062, lines 1-4, that Additionally, the set of tones may include a subset of pilot tones. The pilot tones may be non-contiguous or may be separated by at least a threshold quantity of tones).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6, 10 are considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations:
“the one trigger dependent user information field includes information on a value
obtained by subtracting 1 from the number of the plurality of RUs, and RU allocation
information for each of at least one remaining RU excluding the first RU among the plurality
of RUs” as recited in dependent claim 6.
“for the downlink reception, whether a distributed resource allocation is supported is
indicated based on a combination of a value of a downlink/uplink flag field of a first SIG
field, and a value of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) type and compression mode
field” as recited in dependent claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: JEON (US 20220158696 A1) is pertinent to a method for a first device to communicate with at least one second device in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system includes providing a first trigger frame to at least one second device. The access point may transmit data through at least one allocated resource unit, and at least one station may receive data through at least one allocated resource unit.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412