CTNF 18/724,010 CTNF 100637 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in or on is missing in line 1 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-6, 9-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwano et al (JP H06341965 A) in view of Schmidt et al (US 20160202126 A1) . Regarding claim 5, Kuwano discloses in figures 1-4 an observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device) comprising: a light source (infrared lamp) configured to radiate infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019]) on a surface (Fig.3) of a target coating film (2000); an infrared camera (300; para [0027]) configured to capture a thermal image (not mentioned but implied) of a location (Fig.3) on the surface (Fig.3) of the target coating film (2000) that was irradiated (Fig.3; para [0019]) with the infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019])); and a display (ex: the deterioration area calculation / display circuit 39) configured to display the thermal image captured (para [0036]) by the infrared camera (300). Examiner notes Schmidt teaches an infrared camera (16) to take IR images of a surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kuwano’s coating film deterioration inspection device with Schmidt’s infrared camera because this will provide a faster assessment of the surface being evaluated for defects and will greatly reduce or completely eliminate the need to destroy the surface/structure under evaluation. Regarding claim 6, Kuwano discloses in figures 1-4 the observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device), wherein the light source (infrared lamp) is an infrared projector (100). Regarding claim 9, Kuwano discloses in figures 1-4 the observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device), wherein the light source (infrared lamp) is configured to radiate infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019]) across an entirety of the surface (Fig.3) of target coating film (2000). The motivation would be the same as the one stated for claim 5. Regarding claim 10, Kuwano discloses in figures 1-4 the observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device), wherein the light source (infrared lamp) is configured to radiate infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019]) across the entirety of the surface (Fig.3) of target coating film (2000) by sequentially scanning across (claim 2) the entirety of the surface (Fig.3) of the target coating film (2000). The motivation would be the same as the one stated above. Regarding claim 11, Kuwano discloses in figures 1-4 the observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device), wherein the target coating film (2000) is disposed a structure located underground (para [0039]). Regarding claim 12, Kuwano discloses a method (coating film deterioration inspection method) comprising: radiating (claim 2), by a light source (infrared lamp), infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019]) on a surface (Fig.3) of a target coating film (2000); capturing, by an infrared camera (300; para [0027]), a thermal image (not mentioned but implied) of a location on the surface of the target coating film (2000) that was irradiated with the infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019]); displaying (ex: the deterioration area calculation / display circuit 39) the thermal image (not mentioned but implied) captured by the infrared camera (300) on a display (ex: the deterioration area calculation / display circuit 39); and determining whether there is a defect (claim 1) in the target coating film (2000) based on the thermal image. Examiner notes Schmidt teaches an infrared camera (16) to take IR images of a surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kuwano’s coating film deterioration inspection device with Schmidt’s infrared camera because this will provide a faster assessment of the surface being evaluated for defects and will greatly reduce or completely eliminate the need to destroy the surface/structure under evaluation. Regarding claim 13, Kuwano discloses the method (coating film deterioration inspection method), wherein the defect in the target coating film (2000) is swelling or peeling (para [0038]) of the target coating film (2000). Regarding claim 14, Kuwano discloses the method (coating film deterioration inspection method), wherein determining whether there is the defect (ex: deterioration) in the target coating film (2000) based on the thermal image (para [0036]) comprises determining there is the defect (ex: deterioration) in the target coating film (2000) in response to detecting a temperature difference (claims 1 and 4) at the location on the surface of the target coating film (2000). Regarding claim 15, Kuwano discloses the method (coating film deterioration inspection method), wherein the light source (infrared lamp) is an infrared projector (100). Regarding claim 17, Kuwano discloses the method (coating film deterioration inspection method), further comprising radiating infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019]) across an entirety of the surface (Fig.3) of target coating film (2000). Regarding claim 18, Kuwano discloses the method (coating film deterioration inspection method), wherein radiating infrared rays (Fig.3; para [0019]) across the entirety of the surface (Fig.3) of target coating film (2000) comprises sequentially scanning across (claim 2) the entirety of the surface of the target coating film (2000). The motivation would be the same as the one stated above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwano et al in view of Schmidt et al in further view of Hatakeyama et al (JP 2019041060 A) . Regarding claim 7, Kuwano discloses the observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device), wherein the light source (infrared lamp). Kuwano and Schmidt are silent on an infrared laser and a diffractive optical element configured to widen an irradiation distribution of infrared laser light emitted from the infrared laser. Hatakeyama teaches an infrared laser (ex: laser light source; ex: The light source unit 30 includes a light emitting element 31 that emits infrared light) and a diffractive optical element (10) configured to widen (para [0023]) an irradiation distribution of infrared laser light emitted from the infrared laser (ex: laser light source). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kuwano’s coating film deterioration inspection device with Hatakeyama’s infrared laser because an infrared laser has a high precision focus and will provide a contact-free, non-destructive detection of defects. Regarding claim 16, Kuwano discloses the method (coating film deterioration inspection method), wherein the light source (infrared lamp). Kuwano and Schmidt are silent on an infrared laser and a diffractive optical element configured to widen an irradiation distribution of infrared laser light emitted from the infrared laser. Hatakeyama teaches an infrared laser (ex: laser light source; ex: The light source unit 30 includes a light emitting element 31 that emits infrared light) and a diffractive optical element (10) configured to widen (para [0023]) an irradiation distribution of infrared laser light emitted from the infrared laser (ex: laser light source). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kuwano’s coating film deterioration inspection device with Hatakeyama’s infrared laser because an infrared laser has a high precision focus and will provide a contact-free, non-destructive detection of defects. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim. Regarding claim 8, Kuwano discloses the observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device), a power supply (ex: power source) of the light source (infrared lamp); and the observation device (coating film deterioration inspection device) further comprises an image processing circuit (infrared image processing apparatus 400). The prior art alone or in combination fails to disclose the voltage of a set frequency; to extract a component vibrating at a same cycle as a frequency in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MIREILLE SANDRA SADATE-MOUALEU whose telephone number is (571)272-2862. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 0730-1700. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter Macchiarolo can be reached at 571-272-2375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MIREILLE S SADATE-MOUALEU/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 /PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 2 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 3 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 4 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 5 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 6 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 7 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 8 Art Unit: 2855 Application/Control Number: 18/724,010 Page 9 Art Unit: 2855