This office correspondence is in response to the application filed on June 25, 2024. Claims 14-17 and 20-33 are canceled.
Claims 1-13, and 18-19 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application dated on 06/25/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRECHIN et al. (US Publication 2024/0251432) hereafter FRECHIN, in view of Han et al. (US Publication 2024/0357413) hereafter Han.
As per claim 1, and 18, FRECHIN discloses a method, and a Next Generation (NG)-Radio Access Network (RAN) performed by a Next Generation (NG)-Radio Access Network (RAN) adapted to operate in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a Session Management Function (SMF), a Quality of Service (QOS) profile generated based on a Policy rule including information for an Uplink (UL)/Downlink (DL) notification request (paragraphs 0031-32, 0042-47, 0097: wherein it emphasizes a next generation (5G Network) of wireless communication system receiving a quality of service configuration based on network rules which includes some vales for uplink and downlink notification request); and based on an event occurring with respect to the UL/DL notification request, transmitting, to the SMF, a notification message including response information to the UL/DL notification request (paragraphs 0048-68, 0083-88, 00129-135; wherein it elaborates that when the UL/DL current value is less or higher than the notification request then a notification message which includes a response information to the UL/DL notification will be transferred). Although, FRECHIN discusses about quality of service-based policy regulation, but fails to elaborately discloses Quality of Service (QOS) profile generated based on a Policy and Charging Control (PCC).
However, in the the same field of endeavor, Han discloses Quality of Service (QOS) profile generated based on a Policy and Charging Control (PCC) (paragraphs 0029-31).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Han’s teachings of Quality of Service (QOS) profile generated based on a Policy and Charging Control (PCC) with the teachings of Han, for the purpose of effectively maintaining the quality of a wireless communication.
As per claim 2, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses the method, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if QOS cannot be satisfied, information for whether UL QoS cannot be satisfied, DL QOS cannot be satisfied, or both UL/DL QOS cannot be satisfied (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0031-32, and 0034).
As per claim 3, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if QOS cannot be satisfied, information for whether there is any currently ongoing traffic (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0065-67).
As per claim 4, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if QoS cannot be satisfied, information for whether UL traffic is present, DL traffic is present, or both UL/DL traffic is present, if there is any currently ongoing traffic (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0083-86).
As per claim 5, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if the QoS cannot be satisfied, information informing that a QoS flow is released or removed (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0030-31, 0039).
As per claim 6, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if QOS can be satisfied again, information for whether UL QOS can be satisfied again, DL QOS can be satisfied again, or both UL/DL QOS can be satisfied again (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0042-44).
As per claim 7, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if the QoS can be satisfied again, information for whether there is any currently ongoing traffic (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0097-101).
As per claim 8, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if QoS can be satisfied again, information for whether UL traffic is present, DL traffic is present, or both UL/DL traffic is present, if there is any currently ongoing traffic (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0068, 0080-81).
As per claim 9, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if a QoS requirement of a lowest priority cannot be satisfied, information for whether UL QoS cannot be satisfied, DL QoS cannot be satisfied, or both UL/DL QOS cannot be satisfied (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0070-71, 0075).
As per claim 10, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if a QoS requirement of a lowest priority cannot be satisfied, information for whether there is any currently ongoing traffic (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0088-92).
As per claim 11, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if a QoS requirement of a lowest priority cannot be satisfied, information for whether UL traffic is present, DL traffic is present, or both UL/DL traffic is present, if there is any currently ongoing traffic (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0059, 0063-64).
As per claim 12, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request includes, if a QoS requirement of a lowest priority cannot be satisfied, information informing that a QoS flow is released or removed (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0025-28).
As per claim 13, FRECHIN in view of Han discloses, wherein the response information to the UL/DL notification request is transmitted to a User Equipment (UE) (FRECHIN, paragraphs 0029, 0040-41).
As per claim 19, FRECHIN discloses a method performed by an Application Function (AF) adapted to operate in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting information for an Uplink (UL)/Downlink (DL) notification request to a Session Management Function (SMF) via a Policy (paragraphs 0031-32, 0042-47, 0097); receiving response information to the UL/DL notification request from the SMF via the PCF; and performing an operation related to Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) based on the response information (paragraphs 0048-68, 0083-88, 00129-135). Although, FRECHIN discusses about quality of service-based policy regulation, but he fails to elaborately disclose Policy and Charging Function (PCF) and performing an operation related to Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) based on the response information.
In the same field of endeavor, Han discloses Policy and Charging Function (PCF) and performing an operation related to Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) based on the response information (paragraphs 0029-31, 0095).
Accordingly, it would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the network art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Han’s teachings of Policy and Charging Function (PCF) and performing an operation related to Artificial Intelligence (AI)/Machine Learning (ML) based on the response information with the teachings of FRECHIN, for the purpose of effectively maintaining the quality of a wireless communication based on AI information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FARZANA B HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455