DETAILED ACTIONAcknowledgment is made of applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 6/25/24.Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, line 2, it appears that “though” should read through. In claim 12, line 4, it appears that “senor” should read sensor. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mott et al. (2007/0229248, hereinafter Mott). Regarding claim 12, Mott discloses an apparatus comprising receiving an input, wherein the input includes information about a method used to mount a vibration sensor device 10 to a piece of equipment; determining a vibration transfer function based on the input; and applying the vibration transfer function to vibration data generated by a vibration sensor 16 of the vibration sensor device to generate calibrated vibration data (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 1, Paras. 0003 and 0007 and Pg. 2, Para. 0014).
Regarding claim 13, the input is stored in a memory 20 of the vibration sensor device (See Pg. 2, Para. 0021).
Regarding claim 15, the calibrated vibration data is wirelessly transferred to another device, wherein the other device utilizes the calibrated vibration data to monitor equipment vibration, alarms, analytics, and/or diagnostics (See Pg. 3, Para. 0024). 6. Claims 12, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernal Castillo et al. (10,433,087, hereinafter Bernal Castillo). Regarding claim 12, Bernal Castillo disclose a method and apparatus comprising receiving an input, wherein the input includes information about a method used to mount a vibration sensor device to a piece of equipment; determining a vibration transfer function based on the input; and applying the vibration transfer function to vibration data generated by a vibration sensor 306 of the vibration sensor device to generate calibrated vibration data (See Figs. 1 and 3, See Col. 3, lines 48 – 64, Col. 4, lines 1 – 25 and 47 – 53, Col. 5, lines 16 – 67, Col. 9, lines 4 – 67 and Col. 10, lines 1 – 67).
Regarding claim 13, the input is stored in a memory 330 of the vibration sensor device (See Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, the calibrated vibration data is wirelessly transferred to another device, wherein the other device utilizes the calibrated vibration data to monitor equipment vibration, alarms, analytics, and/or diagnostics (See (See Figs. 1 and 3, See Col. 3, lines 48 – 64, Col. 4, lines 1 – 25 and 47 – 53, Col. 5, lines 16 – 67, Col. 9, lines 4 – 67 and Col. 10, lines 1 – 67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter is that the prior art does not anticipate or make obvious the provisions of “receiving the input through a graphic user interface of the vibration sensor device; and outputting the calibrated vibration data on the graphic user interface to be displayed” (referring to claim 14) and “receiving the input through a graphic user interface of the device; storing the input in a memory of the device; determining the vibration transfer function based on the input stored in the memory of the device; and transmitting the calibrated vibration data to another device” (referring to claim 16) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 12). 9. Claims 1 – 11 and 17 – 20 are allowed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter is that the prior art does not anticipate or make obvious the provisions of “the processor is in communication with the vibration sensor, the graphic user interface, and the memory and is configured to receive an input, wherein the input includes information about a method used to mount the device to the piece of equipment; determine a vibration transfer function from the memory based on the input; and apply the vibration transfer function to vibration data generated by the vibration sensor to generate calibrated vibration data” as well as, “further comprising a housing, wherein the housing includes an orifice though the housing and a stud through the orifice secures the device to the piece of equipment” (referring to claim 2), “the input includes information that the device is stud-mounted to the piece of equipment and the processor determines a stud-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function” (referring to claim 3), “the input includes information that the device is stud-mounted to the piece of equipment, the processor stores the input in the memory, and the processor determines a stud-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function based on the input stored in the memory” (referring to claim 4), “a housing; and a magnetic mount attached to a bottom side of the housing” (referring to claim 5), “the input includes information that the device is magnetically-mounted to the piece of equipment and the processor determines a magnetic- mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function” (referring to claim 6), “the input includes information that the device is magnetically-mounted to the piece of equipment, the processor stores the input in the memory, and the processor determines a magnetic-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function based on the input stored in the memory” (referring to claim 7), “the input includes information that the device is epoxy mounted to the piece of equipment and the processor determines an epoxy-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function” (referring to claim 8), “the input includes information that the device is epoxy mounted to the piece of equipment, the processor stores the input in the memory, and the processor determines an epoxy-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function based on the input stored in the memory” (referring to claim 9), “further comprising a transmitter, wherein the processor is in communication with the transmitter, and the processor is further configured to wirelessly transmit the calibrated vibration data to another device wherein the other device utilizes the calibrated vibration data to monitor equipment vibration, alarms, analytics, and/or diagnostics” (referring to claim 10), “the processor is further configured to output the calibrated vibration data on the graphic user interface to be displayed” (referring to claim 11) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 1 and “receive an input through the graphic user interface, wherein the input includes information about a method used to mount the device to the piece of equipment; store the input in the memory; determine a vibration transfer function from the memory based on the input stored in the memory; apply the vibration transfer function to vibration data generated by the vibration sensor to generate calibrated vibration data”, as well as, “the input includes information that the device is stud-mounted to the piece of equipment and the processor determines a stud-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function” (referring to claim 18), “the input includes information that the device is magnetically-mounted to the piece of equipment and the processor determines a magnetic-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function” (referring to claim 19) and “the input includes information that the device is epoxy-mounted to the piece of equipment and the processor determines an epoxy-mount transfer function as the vibration transfer function” (referring to claim 20) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 17. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. 11. Beacham et al. (2026/0147129) disclose sensor systems for medical devices, mobile imaging vehicles, and work vehicles. Reitano (12,529,372) discloses a configurable graphical vibration band alarm for pump monitoring. Dutta et al. (2024/0214486) disclose user equipment inputs based on sounds and/or vibrations. Li et al. (CN102202131) disclose application activation of the vibration of a portable electronic device. Hansen et al. (CN103201592) disclose an integrity monitoring system and method of monitoring integrity of a stationary structure. Shimomura (JPH0755837) discloses a calibrating device for a vibration sensor.12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 8/3/26