DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 7 [figure 12], and claims 1 and 15-17 in the reply filed on 07/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention:
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 17, the statement “the magnetic field frame being formed, at least in part, by this stack of metal laminations” is vague and unclear. The statement appears to claim the stack of claim 16, which contradicts with paragraph [0116] of the PGPUB of this application [US 20250062059 A1] that teaches - The magnetic cap 29 is made up of an axial stack of metal, for example sheet metal, laminations that perform the shock absorbing function. For examining purposes, the limitation will be read as the magnetic field frame being formed, at least in part, by metal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 | 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazaki US 10233915 B2 [Yamazaki].
Regarding claim 1, Yamazaki teaches An electromagnetic actuation assembly [see electromagnet 52, figures 4-5] comprising: an actuator [52] comprising a magnetic field frame [54] provided with an annular housing [54 and 20, see first casing 22] extending circumferentially about a reference axis [figures 4-5], a coil [see the coil of 52] arranged in the annular housing [20, see first casing 22] of the magnetic field frame [54], and a plunger [46] able to be moved axially between a first axial zone and a second axial zone [see the zones under and above element 46, figures 4-5] with respect to the magnetic field frame [the frame of 54 and 22] as a function of the magnetic field produced by the coil when this coil is supplied with current [Abstract teaches that a coil spring that presses the drive-side clutch plate against the driven-side clutch plate; an electromagnet that produces a magnetic force counter to a pressing force and pulls the drive-side clutch plate away from the driven-side clutch plate; and a jutting wall portion that is disposed in the casing and receives the driven-side clutch plate on which the pressing force acts and a jutting wall portion that supports one end portion of the coil spring], a first shock absorber [50 and 56] mounted either on the plunger [figures 4-5] or on the magnetic field frame [inside 54, figures 4-5] or on an actuator support [28 and 21, figures 4-5] to which the actuator is fixed [figures 4-5], the first shock absorber [50 and 56] being arranged in such a way as to be deformed by the movement of the plunger when the plunger reaches the first axial zone [figure 5 shows that element 56 is deformed by the movement of the plunger 46 when the plunger reaches the first axial zone under element 54].
Regarding claim 15, Yamazaki teaches The electromagnetic actuation assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first shock absorber [50 and 56] is arranged in such a way as to dissipate the vibrations [inherent property of the coil spring 56] generated by contact between the plunger [46] and either the magnetic field frame [54] or the actuator support [28 and 21, figures 4-5].
Regarding claim 16, Yamazaki teaches The electromagnetic actuation assembly as claimed in claim 15, wherein the first shock absorber [50 and 56] comprises an axial stack of metal [see the coil spring 56].
Regarding claim 17, Yamazaki teaches The electromagnetic actuation assembly as claimed in claim 16, wherein the magnetic field frame [54 and 22] comprises a casing defining the annular housing [figures 4-5] and a magnetic cap [the bottom part of elements 54 or 22] partially closing the casing [figures 4-5], the magnetic cap of the magnetic field frame being formed [figures 4-5], at least in part, by metal [column 7 teaches that It should be noted that the connection between the first casing 22 and the second casing 32 can be accomplished with bolts, for example. In a case where the first casing 22 and the second casing 32 are formed by a metal material].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See (PTO-892).
/Mohamad A Musleh/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837