Status of Claims
Claims 14-24, as filed 25 June 2024, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-21 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batson (US 20160351966 A1) in view of Sung (KR20080025435 A, with paragraph numbers to the provided English translation).
Regarding claims 14 and 20, Batson teaches a center pin (FIG. 4A core 400) for a secondary cell (abstract) the center pin comprising:
a length extending along an axis from a first end to a second end; (FIG. 4A and [0033] cylindrical winding core 400)
a first engagement portion arranged at the first end, wherein an inner surface of the first engagement portion comprises an engagement profile with a regular polygonal geometry, (FIG. 4A and [0033] keyed ends 416, hexagon) configured to engage with a torque-applying tool to thereby enable the center pin to be rotated about the axis by the torque-applying tool; (FIG. 1 and [0029] “cylindrical core 100 may have a keyed center to facilitate mounting and dismounting to a winding mandrel”)
Batson does not explicitly teach a recess on an outer surface of the center pin, extending along the length, configured to receive an edge of an electrode assembly, wherein the recess extends through a thickness of the center pin, thereby forming an open seam extending along the length of the center pin.
Sung, in the field of (page 4 final paragraph) a center pin for electrode winding, discloses at FIG. 6b electrode pin 100 which has a laminate sheet (FIG. 9 sheet 200) inserted into an opening (FIG. 5 bent portions 120, 121). At (page 11 para 1) “Accordingly, since the laminated sheet is inserted into the bent portions at both ends of the center pin and stably fixed, a winding process can be performed while applying a predetermined tension, thereby enabling the manufacture of a jelly-roll having a denser structure.” (Examiner notes that the opening at 120 121 is equivalent to the claimed recess forming an open seam.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the center pin of Batson by adding the bent portions of Sung, with a reasonable expectation of stably fixing the laminated sheet during the winding process, enabling a desirable denser structure.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 20, wherein the recess has a rounded profile.
Regarding claim 15, Batson in view of Sung teach all of the limitations set forth above. Batson further teaches wherein at least a portion of an outer surface of the center pin has an outer surface profile corresponding to a shape of a casing of the secondary cell. (FIG. 4A winding core 400 with circular outer profile; [0007] cylindrical electrochemical cell)
Regarding claim 16, Batson in view of Sung teach all of the limitations set forth above. Batson further teaches wherein the casing is cylindrical and the outer surface of the center pin has a circular outer surface profile. (FIG. 4A winding core 400 with circular outer profile; [0007] cylindrical electrochemical cell)
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Batson in view of Sung teach all of the limitations set forth above. Batson further teaches further comprising a second engagement portion arranged at the second end, wherein an inner surface of the second engagement portion comprises a second engagement profile configured to engage with a torque-applying tool to thereby enable the center pin to be rotated about the axis by the torque-applying tool. (FIG. 7 and [0036] showing cylindrical winding core 630 and conductive core inserts 710, 720). This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 18, wherein inner surfaces of the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion have the same engagement profile.
Regarding claim 19, Batson in view of Sung teach all of the limitations set forth above. Batson further teaches Batson shows (FIG.4A and [0033]) that the central winding core 400 may also comprise keyed ends 416. Therefore, Batson teaches the keyed ends as optional rather than necessary to carry out the winding process. However, Batson does not explicitly teach an example wherein the inner surface of the center pin has the same profile along the length of the center pin.
Sung, in the field of (page 4 final paragraph) a center pin for electrode winding, discloses at FIG. 4, FIG. 5 an electrode pin 100 which has the same profile along the length of the center pin. A person of ordinary skill would understand based on the teachings of Batson and Sung that a winding core can have keyed ends or can have a continuous profile. The person of ordinary skill would be motivated to select the continuous profile as it represents one of two known solutions to the need for a winding core, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 21, Batson in view of Sung teach all of the limitations set forth above. Batson further teaches wherein the shape of the center pin defines an axial aperture configured to permit passage of a laser along the length of the center pin. ([0032] hollow center core 400 and FIG. 4A.)
Regarding claim 23, Batson in view of Sung teach all of the limitations set forth above. Batson further teaches a secondary cell, comprising: the center pin according to claim 14; and an electrode assembly comprising a series of sheets wound around the center pin. ([0049] electrochemical storage cell)
Regarding claim 24, Batson in view of Sung teaches all of the limitations set forth above. Batson further teaches a method for manufacturing the secondary cell of claim 23, comprising:
engaging the first engagement portion and the torque-applying tool; ([0052] “mounts the winding core on the winding machine”)
rotating the center pin about the axis using the torque-applying tool to thereby wind the electrode assembly around the center pin. ([0054] “the winding core is rotated to wind at least one revolution.”)
Batson does not explicitly teach attaching an edge of the electrode assembly to the center pin at the recess on the outer surface thereof;
Sung, in the field of (page 4 final paragraph) a center pin for electrode winding, discloses at FIG. 6b electrode pin 100 which has a laminate sheet (FIG. 9 sheet 200) inserted into an opening (FIG. 5 bent portions 120, 121). At (page 11 para 1) “Accordingly, since the laminated sheet is inserted into the bent portions at both ends of the center pin and stably fixed, a winding process can be performed while applying a predetermined tension, thereby enabling the manufacture of a jelly-roll having a denser structure.” (Examiner notes that the opening at 120 121 is equivalent to the claimed recess forming an open seam.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the winding process of Batson by adding the bent portions of Sung, and inserting the laminated sheet as taught by Sung, with a reasonable expectation of stably fixing the laminated sheet during the winding process, enabling a desirable denser structure.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batson (US 20160351966 A1) in view of Sung (KR20080025435 A, with paragraph numbers to the provided English translation), as set forth in claim 14, above, and in further view of Han (US 20100167120 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Batson in view of Sung teach all of the limitations set forth above. Batson does not explicitly teach wherein the thickness of the center pin is provided with compression zones configured to enable deformation of the center pin under radial pressure.
Han, in the field of (abstract) cores for electrode assemblies for cylindrical batteries, discloses (FIG. 8 core 210 elastic deforming member 210b support portion 211; FIG. 9 core 230) At [0088], the deforming members allow the core to deform, preventing stress from excessively concentrating at the support portion 211.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the center pin of modified Batson with the compression zones of Han, with a reasonable expectation of successfully preventing excessive stress concentration at the support portion.
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751
9/15/2026