DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 26, 34, 35 and 39 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 26: there appears to be an extra space between “one or more” and “of nickel”;
Claims 34 and 35: the word “component” is not capitalized, whereas it has been capitalized in all other claims; the word should either always be capitalized or never capitalized, for consistency;
Claim 39: there appears to be an extra space between “film-forming” and “composition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 27, 29, 33, 35, 26, 37, and 39–41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26, 27, 29, 33, 36 and 37 each recite “comprises”, followed by a plurality of alternative species. Pursuant to MPEP 2117, these lists of alternative members are considered Markush groupings, regardless of the exact wording used. Further pursuant to MPEP 2117 and MPEP 2173.05(h), claim language defined by a Markush grouping requires selection from a closed group “consisting of” the alternative members. When written with the open-ended term “comprises”, it is unclear if the recited alternatives encompass the full scope of the claim, or if they are merely preferred species (see MPEP 2111.03 regarding transitional phrases). The metes and bounds of the above-named claims cannot be determined, and thus the claims are rendered indefinite. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will herein treat the claims according to their broadest reasonable interpretation; the term “comprises” will be given its plain meaning, allowing for the inclusion of other, unrecited species. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner will also apply art when possible that reads on the recited species, in anticipation of “comprises” being amended to “consisting of”.
Regarding claims 27, 33 and 40, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claims without regard to the species that Applicants have identified as preferable, as the preferable species are still included in the recited alternatives.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “wherein the corrosion inhibiting composition further comprises at least one organic corrosion inhibitor, and the organic corrosion inhibitor is present in an amount of 0 to 1.5% by weight” (emphasis added). The phrases “further comprises” and “is present” indicate that the corrosion inhibitor must exist in the composition, but the allowed amount includes 0% by weight, which leads to indefiniteness because it is unclear if the inhibitor is actually required by the claim or not. Parent claim 23 only recites the presence of a corrosion inhibiting composition, and does not explicitly require the composition to be organic. Claim 35 explicitly states that the composition further requires at least one organic corrosion inhibitor, which establishes that the amount cannot be 0%. Therefore, for purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret this claim according to its broadest reasonable interpretation in view of its own language, which is for “0 to 1.5% by weight” to be interpreted instead as “greater than 0% and less than or equal to 1.5% by weight”.
Claim 39 recites the limitation wherein Component A comprises “0–65% by weight of the additional additives”, but parent claim 23 recites Component A as comprising additional additives. Only carriers are identified as optional in claim 23, and so the plain reading of claim 23 is for the additional additives to be required. This leads to indefiniteness because claim 39 includes 0% by weight as a valid amount of additional additives, which suggests the additives may not be required. For purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in view of its parent claim is for “0 to 65% by weight” to be interpreted instead as “greater than 0% and less than or equal to 65% by weight”.
Claim 41 recites an article comprising a coating formed from the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition, but there is ambiguous antecedent basis for said coating composition. Claims 23–40 are each drawn to an anticorrosive coating composition, and it is unclear if claim 41 is meant to refer to the most broad recitation of said composition, i.e., the composition of claim 23, or if claim 41 is meant to incorporate the narrower scope of any of claims dependent from claim 23. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret this claim according to its broadest reasonable interpretation, which is that it refers to the broadest coating composition, i.e., the composition of claim 23.
Claims 26, 32 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 26, in view of the indefiniteness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, claim 26 is considered to recite an open-ended list of preferred alternatives. As preferences are not given patentable weight, claim 26 fails to introduce any new limitations on parent claim 25, and is therefore of improper dependent form. The Examiner notes that this rejection will resolve if Applicants suitably amend claim 26 to overcome the 112(b) rejection, as the 112(d) rejection only exists due to the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 26 in view of its present indefiniteness.
Regarding claim 32, the limitation “wherein the at least one cation exchange silica gel is porous” fails to limit the cation exchange silica gel of parent claim 31, as all silica gel is inherently porous. Britannica (“Silica Gel”, Encyclopaedia Britannica) explicitly defines silica gel as a “highly porous, noncrystalline form of silica”. The inherent porosity of silica gel is a natural consequence of the hydrogelation process used to synthesize it, and thus any cation exchange silica gel is inherently porous (see MPEP 2112.01 regarding inherency of compositions). The limitation of claim 32 is therefore already implicitly encompassed by parent claim 31.
Regarding claim 39, parent claim 23 explicitly recites Component A as comprising additional additives, but claim 39 includes “0% by weight of the additional additives”. Parent claim 23 is interpreted as requiring additional additives, as only carriers are recited as being optional. By including “0% by weight” as a valid amount of additional additives, claim 39 is broader than its parent claim, and is therefore of improper dependent form.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23, 25–27, 29, 36–38, 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Visser (WO 2010/112605 A, hereinafter “Visser”). Evidentiary support for the stability of lithium molybdate is provided by Yip et al. (“Spontaneous formation of crystalline lithium molybdate from solid reagents at room temperature”, Dalton Transactions, 39(2), 2010, 411–417, hereinafter “Yip”), and is applied to claim 23 and all claims dependent thereon.
Regarding claim 23, Visser teaches a curable coating composition (see generally abstract), which is chromium-free and anticorrosive (see pg. 1, ll. 4–5; also see pg. 3, ll. 1–6 referring to “other hexavalent chromium-free coating systems” in comparison to Visser’s disclosure). Visser teaches the composition as comprising a film-forming composition (see pg. 4, ll. 5–24 teaching film-forming resins), a corrosion inhibiting composition (see pg. 3, ll. 13–15 teaching lithium salts as corrosion inhibitors), optional carriers (see pg. 3, ll. 17–20 teaching organic solvents and water; see Applicants’ specification, paragraph 0086 teaching the optional carriers as water and/or organic solvents), and additional additives (see pg. 9, l. 29–pg. 10, l. 6 teaching various other additives). Visser further teaches the corrosion inhibiting composition as comprising at least one lithium-containing metal compound having a spatially stable crystal structure (see pg. 7, ll. 15–18 teaching a plurality of anticorrosive lithium compounds, including, e.g., lithium molybdate, which is well-understood to exist in the form of highly stable trigonal crystals under ambient conditions, as evidenced by Yip, who teaches the spontaneous formation of such crystals under ambient conditions), and at least one aluminum-containing phosphate (see pg. 8, ll. 2–17 teaching a plurality of aluminum phosphates as corrosion inhibitors). Visser additionally teaches a curing agent (see pg. 5, ll. 4–5). Thus, Visser anticipates each and every limitation of claim 23.
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Visser teaches the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition according to claim 23, and further teaches the at least one lithium-containing metal compound as further comprising at least one transition metal element (see pg. 7, ll. 15–18 teaching the use of lithium molybdate, wherein molybdate includes the transition metal molybdenum). Regarding claim 26, although Visser does not explicitly teach any of the recited transition metal elements, claim 26 is interpreted as failing to properly limit claim 25 in view of the indefiniteness of the claim (see the above 112(b) and 112(d) rejections of claim 25). Therefore, Visser sufficiently anticipates claim 26 as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 27, Visser further teaches the limitation wherein the at least one lithium-containing metal compound comprises, inter alia, lithium phosphate (see pg. 7, ll. 15–18 teaching lithium phosphate).
Regarding claim 29, Visser further teaches the limitation wherein the at least one aluminum-containing phosphate comprises one or more of, inter alia, aluminum-containing orthophosphate and aluminum-containing metaphosphate (see pg. 8, ll. 1–9 teaching zin aluminum orthophosphate, strontium aluminum polyphosphate, zinc aluminum polyphosphate hydrate, and magnesium aluminum polyphosphate).
Regarding claim 36, Visser further teaches the limitation wherein the film-forming composition comprises at least one of, inter alia, inorganic silicates (see pg. 8, ll. 2–3 teaching potassium silicate), epoxy resin, polyaspartic esters, alkyd resins, polyurethanes, polysiloxanes, polyesters, and (meth)acrylates (see pg. 4, ll. 5–13; polyaspartic esters are synonymous with polyaspartate).
Regarding claims 37 and 38, Visser further teaches the limitations wherein the carrier comprises water, a water-miscible organic solvent, or a water immiscible organic solvent, or a combination thereof (see pg. 3, ll. 17–20; Visser teaches organic solvents in general, which is a genus that only includes water-miscible and water-immiscible organic solvents, and thus this teaching is considered to anticipate both of the claimed organic solvents; Visser also teaches water-borne liquid diluent as comprising at least 50 wt.% water, indicating that organic solvents can be used in combination with water). This teaching further anticipates claim 38, wherein the composition is an aqueous composition (see pg. 3, ll. 17–20 teaching water-borne solvent, which can be up to 100 wt.% water, i.e., aqueous).
Regarding claim 40, Visser further teaches the limitation wherein the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition is a primer or a direct-to-metal coating (see pg. 10, ll. 8–11 teaching the coating composition as a primer for non-ferrous substrates; see pg. 10, ll. 30–31 teaching the composition as a self-priming topcoat; while primers and direct-to-metal coatings both adhere directly to a metal substrate, a primer requires an additional topcoat, while a direct-to-metal coating combines primer and topcoat into one composition, and thus a self-priming topcoat is considered synonymous with the claimed direct-to-metal coating).
Regarding claim 41, Visser further teaches an article comprising a metal substrate and a coating formed from the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition [of claim 23] (see the above 112(b) rejection of claim 41) directly applied to the metal substrate, wherein the metal substrate is selected from one or more of, inter alia, steel, iron, aluminum, zinc, or alloys thereof (see pg. 10, ll. 8–22 teaching the coating as an anticorrosive primer applied to a metal substrate, including aluminum, steel, and Zn/Fe A45 alloy [zinc and iron]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 28, 30, 35, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visser. Evidentiary support for the chemical identity of Visser’s disclosed Heucophos® SRPP is provided by Sudarshan (“Heucophos® SRPP” Technical Data Sheet, 2025, hereinafter “Sudarshan”), and is applied to claims 30 and 39. Evidentiary support by Yip, as applied to claim 23, is incorporated herein by virtue of dependence on claim 23.
Regarding claims 28, 30 and 39, Visser teaches the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23. Visser teaches an embodiment comprising the following:
Table 3.1, Sample 3-A
Constituent Name
Constituent Function
( from pgs. 12–14)
Constituent Mass (kg)
Dispersion Phase
Methyl Amyl Ketone
Solvent
21.10
Epikote® 828
Bisphenol A Epoxy Resin
10.76
Solsperse® 32500
Pigment Dispersion Additive
5.76
Kronos® 2310
Titanium Dioxide
41.10
Lithium Carbonate
Corrosion Inhibitor
23.27
**Heucophos® SRPP
Corrosion Inhibitor
31.97
Wollastocoat® 10 ES
Treated Wollastonite Extender
38.34
MPA®-2000X
Rheology Modifier
2.45
High Speed Dissolver
Methyl Amyl Ketone
Solvent
6.05
Epikote® 828
Bisphenol A Epoxy Resin
15.57
Let Down Phase
Epikote® 828
Bisphenol A Epoxy Resin
47.31
Methyl Amyl Ketone
Solvent
14.61
BYK® 358N
Surface Active Additive
1.24
Total Mass of Component A:
259.53 kg
**Heucophos® SRPP is a strontium aluminum polyphosphate-based corrosion inhibitor (see Sudarshan)
Total Film-Forming Agent:
73.64 kg
28.4 wt.%
Total Corrosion Inhibitor:
55.24 kg
21.3 wt.%
Total Carrier:
41.76 kg
16.1 wt.%
Total All Other Additives:
88.89 kg
34.2 wt.%
In the above table, which corresponds to Sample 3-A, Component A of Visser’s Table 3.1 (see pg. 31), the various constituents correspond to specific functions, which are outlined separately (see pg. 12–14), but which are incorporated into the above table.
Regarding claim 28, Visser teaches the at least one lithium-containing metal salt as being present in an amount of approximately 9 wt.% (constituent “lithium carbonate”, which forms spatially stable crystals in the form of the mineral zabuyelite and thus satisfies the limitations of parent claim 23; the amount of lithium carbonate relative to the total mass of all recited constituents is 23.27 kg ÷ 259.53 kg ≈ 9 wt.%; while this exceeds the claimed range of 0.5–6 wt.%, it is sufficiently close to support a prima facie obviousness rejection; see MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding the obviousness of ranges that do not overlap, but are merely close; MPEP 2144.05(II) further states that, absent any evidence of criticality, differences in concentration will not support patentability because they are achievable through routine optimization).
Regarding claim 30, Visser’s Sample 3-A includes at least one aluminum-containing phosphate in an amount of approximately 12.3 wt.% (constituent “Heucophos® SRPP”, which is a strontium aluminum polyphosphate-based corrosion inhibitor [see Sudarshan]; the amount of aluminum-containing phosphate relative to the total mass of all recited constituents is 31.97 kg ÷ 259.53 kg ≈ 12.3 wt.%; while this exceeds the claimed range of 1.0–7.0 wt.%, it is sufficiently close to support a prima facie obviousness rejection; see MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding the obviousness of ranges that do not overlap, but are merely close; MPEP 2144.05(II) further states that, absent any evidence of criticality, differences in concentration will not support patentability because they are achievable through routine optimization).
Regarding claim 39, Visser’s Sample 3-A includes a film-forming composition in the amount of 28.4 wt.% (all Epikote® 828 constituents, which have a combined mass of 73.64 kg ÷ 259.53 kg ≈ 28.4 wt.%), a corrosion inhibiting composition in the amount of 21.2 wt.% (the combined mass of lithium carbonate and Heucophos® SRPP [see Sudarshan] is 55.24 kg ÷ 259.53 kg ≈ 21.3 wt.%), a carrier in the amount of 16.1 wt.% (all methyl ethyl ketone constituents, which have a combined mass of 41.76 kg ÷ 259.53 kg ≈ 16.1 wt.%), and additional additives in the amount of 34.2 wt.% (all remaining components, which can all be considered additives, in a combined mass of 88.89 kg ÷ 259.53 kg ≈ 34.2 kg). The film-forming composition falls short of the claimed range of 30–70 wt.%, while the corrosion inhibiting composition and carrier both exceed the claimed ranges of 3–15 wt.% and 0 wt.%, respectively. However, absent any evidence of criticality, the recited constituent weight percentages are each sufficiently close to the claimed ranges to support a prima facie obviousness rejection (see MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding the obviousness of ranges that do not overlap, but are merely close; MPEP 2144.05(II) further states that, absent any evidence of criticality, differences in concentration will not support patentability because they are achievable through routine optimization). Claims 28, 30 and 39 are therefore rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 35, Visser further teaches the limitation wherein the corrosion inhibiting composition further comprises at least one organic corrosion inhibitor (see pg. 8, ll. 19–29 teaching organic corrosion inhibitors including, e.g., azoles, amines, and Schiff bases). Visser fails to teach an embodiment using an organic corrosion inhibitor, and only teaches the volume percentage as 0.1–50 vol.% based on the sum of the volumes of the non-volatile components of the coating system (see pg. 9, ll. 9–12). However, Visser’s volume percentage range is considered sufficiently broad as to encompass weight percentages that are at least sufficiently close to the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding the obviousness of ranges that do not overlap, but are merely close; MPEP 2144.05(II) further states that, absent any evidence of criticality, differences in concentration will not support patentability because they are achievable through routine optimization). Claim 35 is therefore rendered prima facie obvious.
Claims 24–26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visser as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Xu (CN 105063587 A, hereinafter “Xu”). Evidentiary support for the crystal structure of lithium iron phosphate is provided by Ossila (“What is an LFP Battery?”, Ossila, 2025, hereinafter “Ossila”), and is applied to only to claim 24. Evidentiary support by Yip, as applied to claim 23, is incorporated herein by virtue of dependence on claim 23.
Regarding claim 24, Visser teaches the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition according to claim 23, but fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the at least one lithium-containing metal compound has a layered structure, a spinel structure, an olivine structure or a tunnel structure. Xu teaches a surface treatment composition for steel structures offering high rust protection (see generally abstract), wherein the composition comprises a composite lithium iron phosphate-calcium sulfate-calcium phosphate film (see paragraph 0005). Xu explicitly teaches the film as being composed of fine, lamellar crystalline structures (see paragraph 0005; lamellar crystals are a type of layered crystal), but the layer comprising lithium iron phosphate will also exist in its native olivine crystal structure [see Ossila, section “LFP Crystal Structure”]). Xu further teaches the composite crystalline film as having advantages including high temperature resistance, rust prevention (i.e., anticorrosive), oxidation resistance, low cost, and porosity that allows paint to strongly adhere to the coating (see paragraphs 0026–0029). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood to be obvious that the lithium-containing salt of Visser (e.g., lithium phosphate [pg. 7, ll. 15–16]) can be modified to instead use the lithium-containing composite crystalline film as taught by Xu. The motivation supporting this combination most closely aligns with KSR Rationale G, which states it is prima facie obvious for some teaching, suggestion or motivation in the prior art (Xu’s disclosed benefits of the LiFeP-composite crystalline coating) to lead a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (modifying Visser to use Xu’s LiFeP-composite coating over Visser’s lithium phosphate coating) to arrive at the claimed invention, if there is a reasonable expectation of success (both references teach an anticorrosive coating composition that can be directly applied to steel, and there is no teaching in either reference that would suggest that Xu’s LiFeP-composite coating is incompatible with Visser’s coating, so one of ordinary skill in the art could have arrived at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success). Claim 24 is therefore rendered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 25 and 26, Visser teaches the chromium-free anticorrosive coating of claim 23, and further teaches the limitations of claims 25 and 26 (see the above rejections of 25 and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)). Xu further teaches the limitation of claim 25 wherein the at least one lithium-containing metal compound comprises a lithium-containing composite metal compound further comprising at least one transition metal element, and the limitation of claim 26 wherein the at least one transition metal element comprises, inter alia, iron (see paragraph 0005 teaching a lithium iron phosphate composite). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood to be obvious that the coating composition of Visser can be modified according to Xu for the reasons previously stated (see the above rejection of claim 24, and the rationale under KSR G supporting the proposed modification). Claims 25 and 26 are therefore rendered prima facie obvious.
Claims 31–34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visser as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Zhu (CN 104449349 A, hereinafter “Zhu”). Evidentiary support for the role of ion-exchange silica gel is provided by Ecosil (“‘Release-on-demand’ ion-exchange anticorrosive pigments”, Ecosil, 2025, hereinafter “Ecosil”), and is applied only to claim 34. Evidentiary support by Yip, as applied to claim 23, is incorporated herein by virtue of dependence on claim 23.
Regarding claims 31–34, Visser teaches the chromium-free anticorrosive coating according to claim 23, but fails to explicitly teach the limitation wherein the corrosion inhibiting composition further comprises at least one cation exchange silica. Zhu teaches an anticorrosive paint comprising resin, zinc molybdate, calcium ion-exchange silica gel, and other additives (see generally abstract; resin is a film-forming component, and zinc molybdate is an anticorrosive component). Although Zhu fails to explicitly teach the substrate on which the coating is applied, the compositional similarity to Visser’s coating is sufficient to consider Zhu’s coating to be applicable to steel or other metal substrates (see MPEP 2141.01 regarding analogous art; Zhu is considered to at least be “reasonably pertinent” to the problem faced by Visser, and teaches a composition with close similarities in both structure [components] and function). Zhu teaches calcium ion exchange silica gel (see paragraph 0007), which is a cation exchange silica as claimed in claim 31, and is inherently porous as claimed in claim 32 (also see the above 112(d) rejection of claim 32), and is further one of the species recited in claim 33. Regarding the limitation of claim 34, wherein the silica is present in an amount of 1.0% by weight or more but not more than 2.5% by weight, Zhu teaches the silica gel as being present in an amount of 2–8 weight parts out of 113.1–267.1 weight parts total (see paragraph 0007; the total weight range is the sum of all the minimum weights and the sum of all the maximum weights). This equates to a Ca-ion silica gel concentration of 0.77–6.7 wt.% (the minimum amount of silica ÷ the maximum amount of everything else, 2 ÷ 261.1 ≈ 0.77 wt.%; the maximum amount of silica ÷ the minimum amount of everything else, 8 ÷ 119.1 ≈ 6.7 wt.%). This range overlaps with the range claimed in claim 34 (see MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding the obviousness of overlapping ranges).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have understood to be obvious that the inherent function of ion-exchange silica gel in coatings motivates their inclusion in anticorrosive coatings: as aggressive ions (such as H+ and Cl-) permeate the coatings, the ion-exchange gel traps them and releases corrosion-inhibiting ions such as Ca2+ (see Ecosil; also see MPEP 2112 regarding the inherency of structure-dependent properties, like ion-exchange). The motivation supporting this combination most closely aligns with KSR Rationale C, which states it is prima facie obvious to use a known technique (anticorrosive ion-exchange silica gel, as taught by Zhu) to improve similar devices, methods or products (the anticorrosive coating of Visser) in the same way (both references teach similar coating compositions, and there is no teaching in either reference that suggests the calcium ion-exchange silica gel is incompatible with the coating composition taught by Visser, so the results of the proposed modification are predictable). Claims 31–34 are therefore rendered prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 23, 25, 26, 28, 30–34, 36–39 and 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23, 25, 30, 36, 37, 38, 40 and 42 of copending Application No. 18/724,040 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite substantially overlapping subject matter:
Present Application
18/724,040
[Claim 23]
A chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition, comprising:
Component A, comprising
a film-forming composition;
a corrosion inhibiting composition;
optional carriers; and
additional additives, wherein the corrosion inhibiting composition comprises
at least one lithium-containing metal compound having a spatially stable crystalline structure;
at least one aluminum-containing phosphate; and
optionally Component B, comprising curing agent.
(Claim 23)
A chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition, comprising:
Component A, comprising:
a film-forming composition,
a corrosion inhibiting composition;
optionally one or more carriers; and
additional additives, wherein the corrosion inhibiting composition comprises
anti-rust particles containing at least one phosphate compound of lithium [Wingdings font/0xE0] spatially stable crystalline structure [Wingdings font/0xE0] derived from phosphorous-lithium-aluminum fillers (Claim 25: also contains aluminum)
optionally Component B comprising a curing agent
[Claim 25]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition according to claim 23, wherein the at least one lithium-containing metal compound comprises a lithium-containing composite metal compound further comprising at least one transition metal element.
(Claim 25)
wherein the anti-ruse particles further comprise one or more of…iron, manganese, strontium and nickel element (all transition metals)
[Claim 26]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition according to claim 25, wherein the at least one transition metal element comprises one or more of nickel, cobalt, manganese, iron and titanium.
(Claim 25)
wherein the anti-ruse particles further comprise one or more of…iron, manganese, and nickel element
[Claim 28]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23, wherein relative to the total weight of Component A, the at least one lithium-containing metal compound is present in an amount of 0.5% by weight or more but not more than 6% by weight.
(Claim 30)
wherein relative to the total weight of Component A, the anti-rust particles are present in an amount of 5% by weight or more but not more than 20% by weight (MPEP 2144.05(I))
[Claim 30]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23, wherein relative to the total weight of Component A, the at least one aluminum-containing phosphate is present in an amount of 1.0% by weight or more but not more than 7.0% by weight.
(Claim 30)
wherein relative to the total weight of Component A, the anti-rust particles are present in an amount of 5% by weight or more but not more than 20% by weight (MPEP 2144.05(I))
[Claim 31]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23, wherein the corrosion inhibiting composition further comprises at least one cation exchange silica.
(Claim 23)
wherein the corrosion inhibiting composition comprises…at least one porous cation exchange silica gel
[Claim 32]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 31, wherein the at least one cation exchange silica is porous.
(Claim 23)
at least one porous cation exchange silica gel
[Claim 33]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 31, wherein the at least one cation exchange silica comprises one or more of magnesium ion exchange silica gel, barium ion exchange silica gel, aluminum ion exchange silica gel and calcium ion exchange silica gel, preferably calcium ion exchange silica gel.
(Claim 23)
at least one porous cation exchange silica gel comprising one or more of magnesium ion exchange silica gel, barium ion exchange silica gel, aluminum ion exchange silica gel and calcium ion exchange silica gel
[Claim 34]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 31, wherein relative to the total weight of the component A, the at least one cation exchange silica gel is present in an amount of 1.0% by weight or more but not more than 2.5% by weight.
(Claim 23)
wherein the at least one cation exchange silica gel is present in an amount of 0.5% by weight or more but not more than 5% by weight, relative to the total weight of component A.
[Claim 36]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23, wherein the film-forming composition comprises at least one of inorganic silicates, epoxy resin, chlorinated resin, polyaspartate, alkyd resin, phenolic resin, polyurethane, polysiloxane, polyester resin, and acrylic resin.
(Claim 36)
wherein the film-forming composition comprises at least one of inorganic silicates, epoxy resin, chlorinated resin, polyaspartate, alkyd resin, phenolic resin, polyurethane, polysiloxane, polyester resin, and acrylic resin.
[Claim 37]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23, wherein the carrier comprises water, a water-miscible organic solvent, a water immiscible organic solvent, or a combination thereof.
(Claim 37)
wherein the carrier comprises water, a water-miscible organic solvent, a water-immiscible organic solvent, or a combination thereof.
[Claim 38]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23, wherein the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition is an aqueous coating composition.
(Claim 38)
wherein the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition is an aqueous coating composition
[Claim 39]
The chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23, wherein, relative to the total weight of Component A, the Component A comprises:
30–70% by weight of the film-forming composition;
3–15% by weight of the corrosion inhibiting composition;
0–15% by weight of the carrier; and
0–65% by weight of the additional additives.
(Claim 40)
wherein, relative to the total weight of Component A, the Component A comprises:
30–70% by weight of the film-forming composition;
6–15% by weight of the corrosion inhibiting composition;
0–15% by weight of the carrier; and
0–65% by weight of the additional additives
[Claim 41]
An article comprising
a metal substrate; and
a coating formed from the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition directly applied to the metal substrate, wherein the metal substrate is selected from one ore more of steel, iron, aluminum, zinc, copper, or alloys thereof.
(Claim 42)
An article comprising
a metal substrate selected from steel, iron, zinc, copper, aluminum, and alloys thereof; and
a coating formed from the chromium-free anticorrosive coating composition of claim 23 directly applied to the metal substrate
It is noted that claim 25 of the reference application recites the inclusion of aluminum element, which would normally refer to metallic (i.e., elemental) aluminum, whereas the present claim 23 requires aluminum phosphate. However, paragraph 0026 of the reference application’s specification indicates that the metal “elements” of claim 25 are actually metal ions, and specifically refers to the ions as phosphates. Therefore, the Examiner finds that the reference application teaches substantially overlapping subject matter, and thus the above-named claims of the present application are subject to a non-statutory double-patenting rejection.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/R.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731