DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-3, claims 1-12, 14 and 15 in the reply filed on 7/14/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
Page 3, Applicant argued that:
s/he will note that Figure 4 is a perspective view of the locking device of Figure 1. Hence, Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner should examine Species 1 and 2 together. Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are reasonable on Species 1 and 2.
Examiner agreed to examine claims 1-12, 14 and 15 on Species 1 and 2.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, claims 2 and 14, the phrase “the electromagnetic device” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2 and 14, there is no element number for “the electromagnetic device” in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “can be” in claims 1, 8, 11 and 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “can be” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 5: the phrase “further external force influences and/or force influences caused by the trigger unit“ is not clear, and does not make sense. What does “without further external force influences” mean?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choate (US 2002/0071738).
Regarding claim 1, Choate discloses a locking system (see para. [0023]) for releasably connecting two components of a system, comprising:
an insertion device (see the drawing below) with a ball lock pin system (18, 20) and a receptacle device (see the drawing below) which receives the insertion device (see the drawing below), wherein the receptacle device (see the drawing below) is designed to receive the insertion device (see the drawing below) such that the insertion device (see the drawing below) is movable into a locked state (see para. [0043]) in the receptacle device (see the drawing below) by means of the ball lock pin system when introduced into the receptacle device (see the drawing below), wherein the insertion device (see the drawing below) is operatively connected to a first component, and the receptacle device (see the drawing below) is operatively connected to a second component of the system, by means of an electrically operated trigger unit (26) of the locking system (see para. [0023]), the locked state of the insertion device (see the drawing below) in the receptacle device (see the drawing below) can be undone so that the insertion device (see the drawing below) can be removed from the receptacle device (see the drawing below) (see para. [0043]).
[AltContent: textbox (Spring region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ball receiving element)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Receptacle device)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Insertion device)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 3, Choate discloses:
the electrically operated trigger unit (26) is designed, following receipt of a trigger signal to undo the locking after a user-defined adjustable time interval and/or after achieving a user-defined condition (see para. [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 15, Choate discloses:
the trigger signal is from a system external unlocking device (see para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Choate discloses:
the electrically operated trigger unit (26) is designed, following receipt of a trigger signal and as a function of a status of a user-defined adjustable condition detected by a native or system-external unlocking device, to undo the locking (see para. [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 11, Choate discloses:
an unlocking process can only be carried out by means of the electrically operated trigger unit after a previously detected authorization check having a user-defined result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choate (US 2002/0071738) in view of Willburger Winfried et al. (DE 102008049915 A).
Regarding claim 2, Choate teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the electrically operated trigger comprises at least one electromagnetic device.
Willburger discloses a device comprising the electrically operated trigger comprises at least one electromagnetic device (see para. [0001] – [0003])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electromagnet device as taught by Willburger with Choate’s device for the purpose of controlling electronic and reducing lock time.
Regarding claim 14, Willburger discloses:
the electromagnetic device is a lifting magnet device (see para. [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest the locking system comprising:
Claim 5: the ball lock pin system comprises two spring elements and a ball receiving element positioned between these spring elements having at least one ball element and having respective spring receiving regions which are arranged together in a guide cylinder element of the ball lock pin system with at least one ball opening region, so that the ball receiving element is movable to a starting position for an unlocked state of the insertion device by means of the two spring elements and without further external force influences and/or force influences caused by the trigger unit.
Claim 8: the ball lock pin system comprises a cap element which is designed to receive a first spring element and a first spring receiving region of a ball receiving element, so that when the insertion device is received in the receptacle device, a defined displacement process of the ball receiving element can be brought about for locking purposes due to a contact between the cap element and an inner wall region of the receptacle device.
Claim 12: the receptacle and the electrically operated trigger unit are each designed so that the electrically operated trigger unit, during an insertion process of the insertion device into the receiving receptacle device, can substantially also be lowered in the receptacle device or wherein, during an insertion process of the insertion device into the receiving receptacle device, the electrically operated trigger unit is guidably mounted in the receptacle device.
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
September 17, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837