DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the coverage of a cross-section of the long-tubular implanted medical device as recited in claim 12; the surface coverage of the long-tubular implanted medical device as recited in claim 13; and the magnetically conductive patch must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 1 recites “. The term “implanted” implies that the medical device has been inserted into the body, which contradicts the description and the drawings, which shows and describes a medical device outside of the body to be manufactured by a laser beam. The examiner suggests amending the claims to reflect the disclosure provided.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: “magnetic traction force” recited in claim 2. The medical device as claimed could have an external force, such as gravity, be provided to the suspended end of the tubular medical device to ensure the device remains flat and straight while being held by a hand.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: “covering material” recited in the specification pg. 5. The medical device as claimed could have a surface coverage based on the opening parts/struts of the stents.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "magnitude of the magnetic traction force" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 7 is dependent upon claim 1 which does not recite a magnetic traction force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugimura et al. JP 2005-198853A.
Sugimura discloses a method of keeping a long-tubular implantable medical device (4) flat and straight, wherein the long-tubular implantable medical device has a fixed end (5) and a suspended end; characterized in that an external force (applied by support 6) is applied to the suspended end of the long-tubular implanted medical device to ensure that the device remains flat and straight. Sugimura discloses wherein the supporting member (6) serves as a support unit thus as the holding means (5) grips the end tubular member (4), the tubular member is suspended and held in a flat and straight position by the supporting member (6).
As for claim 8, Sugimura depicts in Fig. 2 wherein the length of the device fixed at the fixed end of the implantable medical device is less than 2/3 the length of the medical device.
As for claim 9, Sugimura discloses wherein the fixing method for the fixed end of the implantable medical device includes clamping (5), physical interference fit, magnetic connection, and chemical fixation.
As for claim 15, Sugimura discloses that the long-tubular implantable medical device is a raw material (4) or semi-finished product (fig. 4) to be processed into a stent, or a finished stent product (fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sugimura et al. JP 2005-198853A as evident by Gluschenko et al. US 11096808.
As for claim 6, Sugimura discloses wherein the long-tubular implanted medical device (4) is a stent but does not specify a length of 5mm to 200mm. However, stents are well known to come in various sizes and shapes. the claimed length of 5mm to 200mm is well known in the art as evidence by Gluschenko who teaches a stent having a length between 5mm to 250mm (abstract). It therefore would have been anticipated and/or obvious by Sugimura to have a stent length of 5mm to 200mm as claimed.
As for claim 10, Gluschenko further teaches a stent outer diameter of 0.25-40mm (abstract). It therefore would have been anticipated and/or obvious by Sugimura to have a stent outer diameter of 1-20mm as claimed.
As for claim 11, Sugimura teaches a stent having a wall thickness but does not specify the thickness being 10µm to 600µm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the wall thickness of Sugimura to 10µm to 600µm as claimed as a mere design consideration through routine engineering depending on the use of the medical device.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimura et al. JP 2005-198853A in view of Barry US 6673104.
As for claim 14, Sugimura discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein the implantable medical device itself has magnetic conductivity or a magnetically conductive patch is added onto the implantable medical device. However, Barry teaches a magnetic stent (10) provided with magnetic conductivity or magnetically conductive patches (12, 18) to provide magnetic conductivity to the stent (10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify and/or substitute the stent of Sugimura with a magnetic stent as taught by Barry in order to provide a magnetic stent that can provide repair and/or support to surrounding tissues with magnetic properties (Barry, col. 2, lines 12-19).
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723