Response to Amendment
This is an office action in response to communications filed on June 25,
2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-10 and cancelled claims 4, 7, and 22. Examiner withdraws all objections. Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21 remain pending in the
application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21. Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-19 are drawn to a method for obtaining a clue in a virtual scene (i.e., a process). Claims 20-21 are drawn to a computing device and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium performing the steps of the method according to claim 1 (i.e., a manufacture).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21.
Claim 1 recites:
A method for obtaining a clue in a … scene, comprising: … a first … scene comprising multiple … characters and multiple … objects, the multiple … characters comprising a first … character corresponding to a first user and a second … character corresponding to a second user; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and controlling … the first … character to interact with a first … object in response to a control instruction from the first user for the first … character, and generating interaction information; (Mental Process: evaluation)
sending … the interaction information, the interaction information … being configured to … obtain a first search clue corresponding to the first … object based on the interaction information and send the first search clue; (Mental Process: evaluation)
receiving the first search clue; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and adding the first search clue to a clue pool; (Mental Process: evaluation)
wherein the clue pool comprises a shared clue pool and a private clue pool; (Mental Process: evaluation)
the shared clue pool is configured to contain search clues obtained through interactions between different … characters and … objects, and the search clues contained in the shared clue pool are configured to be viewed by each user; (Mental Process: evaluation)
different users each have a corresponding private clue pool, the private clue pool is configured to contain search clues obtained through an interaction between the corresponding … character and the … objects, and the search clues contained in the private clue pool are configured to be viewed by the corresponding user; (Mental Process: evaluation)
wherein adding the first search clue to the clue pool comprises one of the following: in response to a sharing instruction triggered by the first user, sending a first add instruction … to add the first search clue to the shared clue pool, and receiving the shared clue pool with the first search clue; (Mental Process: evaluation)
or in response to a privatization instruction triggered by the first user, sending a second add instruction to add the first search clue to the private clue pool corresponding to the first user, and receiving the private clue pool with the first search clue from the server. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 2 recites:
controlling the first … character to interact with the first … object comprises: controlling the first … character to approach a predetermined range around the first … object, the first … character enters the predetermined range around the first … object; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and controlling, in response to a first trigger instruction from the first user for the interaction control, the first … character to interact with the first … object in an interaction manner corresponding to the first … object. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 3 recites:
receiving a password input …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and sending the password as the interaction information to verify the password and send the first search clue if the password is successfully verified. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 5 recites:
The method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the sharing instruction triggered by the first user, sending, …, the first add instruction … to add the first search clue to the shared clue pool comprises: … a sharing control around the first … object; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and in response to a second trigger instruction from the first user for the sharing control … to add the first search clue to the shared clue pool. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 6 recites:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: if the shared clue pool lacks a target search clue associated with a target … object … (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 8 recites:
The method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the privatization instruction triggered by the first user …; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and in response to a third trigger instruction from the first user for the privatization control ... (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 9 recites:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: … a navigation interface for the first … scene, the navigation interface comprising location information of a … space in the first … scene that is accessible to the multiple … characters. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 10 recites:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: … a second … scene comprising the multiple … characters; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and … the search clue obtained from the first … scene. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 11 recites:
The method according to claim 10, wherein the second … scene comprises … the multiple … characters … and … the search clue … (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 12 recites:
The method according to claim 10, wherein … the search clue obtained from the first … scene comprises: … the search clue according to a field of view of the first … character; (Mental Process: evaluation)
or … the search clue according to a field of view corresponding to a target location, the target location being located outside of the multiple … characters. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 13 recites:
The method according to claim 12, further comprising: … according to the field of view of the first … character, in response to a field of view change instruction from the first user for the first … character, … according to a changed field of view. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 14 recites:
The method according to claim 10, wherein … the search clue obtained from the first … scene comprises: … the clue pool … in response to a clue pool … operation by the first user; (Mental Process: evaluation)
and … in response to a triggered instruction of the first user for the search clue in the clue pool, a triggered search clue. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 15 recites:
The method according to claim 10, further comprising: … the … object associated with the search clue in the second … scene. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 16 recites:
The method according to claim 10, wherein … the search clue obtained from the first … scene comprises: … a content play … in the second … scene …;
and playing the search clue in response to a fourth trigger instruction from the first user for the content play … (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 17 recites:
The method according to claim 10, further comprising: collecting a first voice … from the first user and sending speech information…, the speech information carrying the first voice … and instructing … to send the first voice … to the … characters for play. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 18 recites:
The method according to claim 17, wherein collecting the first voice … from the first user comprises: when a current moment is determined to be a speaking moment of the first … character according to a predetermined speaking order, … a speaking prompt for the first … character in the second … scene and collecting the first voice signal, wherein the speaking prompt is used to prompt the first user to speak. (Mental Process: evaluation)
Claim 19 recites:
The method according to claim 17, wherein collecting the first voice signal from the first user comprises: … a speaking control in the second … scene;
and collecting the first voice signal in response to a fifth trigger instruction from the first user for the speaking control. (Mental Process: evaluation)
But for the generic recitation of a computer, a server, memory, processors, virtual scenes, terminals, virtual characters, and virtual objects, the identified steps are practically capable of being performed by human analog, including mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity. These identified steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because humans can analyze scenes and obtain clues by identifying patterns or relevant information within the data. The claimed invention discloses “In puzzle-solving games, users typically investigate … objects in … scenes and solve puzzles using the clues obtained from the investigations.” [0004].
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II) discusses certain methods of organizing human activity.
The Supreme Court has identified a number of concepts falling within the “certain
methods of organizing human activity” grouping as abstract ideas. Sub-groupings of
organizing human activity encompass both activity of a single person and activity that
involves multiple people, and thus, certain activity between a person.
These sub-groupings fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity”.
Dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-21 are directed towards mini-tasks (controlling characters, obtaining passwords, obtaining and displaying search clues, etc.) for a method that obtains a clue in a scene. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-21 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
Examiner interprets the following limitations as additional elements.
A computer device
a memory
a processor
a computer program
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium
a virtual scene
a terminal
virtual characters
virtual objects
a server
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using a computer device, a memory, a processor, a computer program, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, a virtual scene, a terminal, virtual characters, virtual objects, and a server is recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception (independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-21)and thus is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer and/or instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer device, a memory, a processor, a computer program, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, a virtual scene, a terminal, virtual characters, virtual objects, and a server in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-21 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-21 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a computer, and/or link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Moreover, the specification of the instant application further demonstrates that the additional elements are recited for their well-understood, routine, and conventional functionality, which refers to elements of the computer device in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)(e.g., see [0024], “In a second aspect, a computer device is provided, including a memory and a processor. The memory stores a computer program. The processor, when executing the computer program, performs steps of any one of the above methods according to the first aspect.”; [0025], “In a third aspect, a computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program is provided. The computer program, when executed by a processor, implements steps of any one of the above methods according to the first aspect.”; [0026], “In a fourth aspect, a computer program product including a computer program is provided. The computer program, when executed by a processor, implements steps of any one of the above methods according to the first aspect.”; [0050], “The terminal 102 can be various devices such as a personal computer, a laptop, a smartphone, a tablet, etc. The server 104 can be implemented as an independent server or a server cluster including multiple servers.”) Further, to the extent the claims require virtual objects and virtual characters, they serve merely as tools to execute the abstract idea, and thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception based on the high level of generality for which the generating steps are recited in the claims. Thus, the additional elements defining the field of use as an application environment that uses a terminal to display a virtual scene amount to merely automating a manual process, which the courts have held to be insufficient in showing an improvement in computer functionality. See Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017); see also LendingTree, LLC v. Zillow, Inc., 656 Fed. App'x 991, 996-97 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (non-precedential).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated under US 20240131431 A1 (“Han”).
In regard to claim 1, Han discloses
A method for obtaining a clue in ([0042], “the … virtual object may obtain the clue information”) a virtual scene, comprising: displaying by a first terminal a first virtual scene comprising ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”) multiple virtual characters and multiple virtual objects, the multiple virtual characters comprising a first virtual character corresponding to ([0020], “the virtual object is a character”) a first user and a second virtual character corresponding to a second user ([0016], “the virtual scene is a scene of user(s)”);
and controlling, by the first terminal, the first virtual character to interact with a first virtual object in response to a control ([0016], “the virtual scene is a scene of user(s) controlling virtual object”) instruction from the first user for the first virtual character ([0030], “the player operates the client to send … instructions”), and generating interaction information ([0028], “The … embodiment provides a method and an apparatus for … information interaction”)
sending, by the first terminal, the interaction information a server ([0029], “The method for … information interaction … may run on a terminal or a server.”), the interaction information being configured to trigger the server to obtain a first search clue corresponding to the first virtual object based on the interaction information and send the first search clue to the first terminal ([0034], “the … embodiment introduces a clue system, and some … operations … may leave clue information … after discovering the clue information);
receiving, by the first terminal, the first search clue from the server ([0030], “a client functions to receive … data”);
and adding, by the first terminal, the first search clue to a clue pool ([0030], “a client functions to … transmit data”);
wherein the clue pool comprises a shared clue pool ([0091], “the clue information is shared”) and a private clue pool ([0026], “the … virtual objects may be divided into two groups … The first virtual objects have a first identity, the second virtual objects have a second identity, and the first identity and the second identity are opposite.);
the shared clue pool is configured to contain search clues obtained through interactions between different virtual characters and virtual objects ([0027], “the first virtual objects … conduct … searching and investigating”), and the search clues contained in the shared clue pool are configured to be viewed by each user ([0031], “The local terminal may provide the graphical user interface to the player … the graphical user interface may be rendered and displayed on a display screen of the terminal”);
different users each have a corresponding private clue pool, the private clue pool is configured to contain search clues obtained through an interaction between the corresponding virtual character and the virtual objects ([0027], “the second virtual objects … conduct … searching and investigating”), and the search clues contained in the private clue pool are configured to be viewed by the corresponding user ([0031], “The local terminal may provide the graphical user interface to the player … the graphical user interface may be rendered and displayed on a display screen of the terminal”);
wherein adding, by the first terminal, the first search clue to the clue pool comprises one of the following ([0030], “a client functions to … transmit data”): in response to a sharing instruction triggered by the first user ([0091], “the clue information is shared among … virtual objects”), sending, by the first terminal, a first add instruction to the server to trigger the server to ([0030], “the player operates the client to send … instructions to the … server, the … server runs the game according to the … instruction”) add the first search clue to the shared clue pool, and receiving the shared clue pool with the first search clue from the server ([0030], “a client functions to receive and transmit data”);
or in response to a privatization instruction triggered by the first user, sending, by the first terminal, a second add instruction to the server to trigger the server to ([0030], “the player operates the client to send … instructions to the … server, the … server runs the game according to the … instruction”) add the first search clue to the private clue pool corresponding to the first user, and receiving the private clue pool with the first search clue from the server ([0030], “a client functions to receive and transmit data”).
In regard to claim 2, Han discloses
wherein controlling the first virtual character to interact with the first virtual object comprises: controlling the first virtual character to approach a predetermined range around the first virtual object ([0097], “the clue information includes a clue value; and the corresponding display manner of the identifier information is determined according to a threshold range” Examiner notes that a threshold range can be a predetermined range.), and displaying an interaction control when the first virtual character enters the predetermined range around the first virtual object ([0018], “this interface includes a UI interface and a game screen … for player(s) to interact … the UI interface may include a game control … an information display area”);
and controlling, in response to a first trigger instruction from the first user for the interaction control, the first virtual character to interact with the first virtual object in an interaction manner corresponding to the first virtual object ([0074], “the user may perform the above … operation by triggering a … control”).
In regard to claim 3, Han discloses
wherein the method further comprises: displaying, by the first terminal, a password input interface during interaction of the first virtual character with the first virtual object, and receiving a password input through the password input interface ([0047], “virtual object may crack … intelligence by inputting … password information”);
and sending, by the first terminal, the password as the interaction information to the server to cause the server to verify the password and send the first search clue to the first terminal if the password is successfully verified ([0033], “the … virtual object … needs to … acquire … password information, transmit the … password information, and obtain final intelligence using the password information, etc.”).
In regard to claim 5, Han discloses
wherein in response to the sharing instruction triggered by the first user, sending ([0030], “the player operates the client to send … instructions”), by the first terminal ([0029], “The method for … information interaction … may run on a terminal”), the first add instruction to the server to trigger the server to add the first search clue ([0030], “a client functions to … transmit data”) to the shared clue pool comprises ([0034], “the present embodiment introduces a clue system ... specific operations of the first virtual object ... may leave clue information, and after discovering the clue information, the second virtual object may ... identify ... the first virtual object using the clue information”): displaying, by the first terminal, a sharing control around the first virtual object ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”);
and in response to a second trigger instruction from the first user for the sharing control ([0074], “the user may perform the above … operation by triggering a … control”), sending ([0030], “the player operates the client to send … instructions”), by the first terminal ([0029], “The method for … information interaction … may run on a terminal”), the first add instruction to the server to trigger the server to add the first search clue to the shared clue pool ([0030], “a client functions to … transmit data”).
In regard to claim 6, Han discloses
if the shared clue pool lacks a target search clue associated with a target virtual object ([0091], “the … virtual objects … collect the clue information” Examiner notes that a collection of clue information is a clue pool and that clue information can lack search clues.), displaying, by the first terminal, the target search clue in the shared clue pool ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”).
In regard to claim 8, Han discloses
wherein in response to the privatization instruction triggered by the first user sending ([0030], “the player operates the client to send … instructions”), by the first terminal ([0029], “The method for … information interaction … may run on a terminal”), the second add instruction to the server to trigger the server to add the first search clue ([0030], “a client functions to … transmit data”) to the private clue pool corresponding to the first user comprises ([0034], “the present embodiment introduces a clue system ... specific operations of the first virtual object ... may leave clue information, and after discovering the clue information, the second virtual object may ... identify ... the first virtual object using the clue information”): displaying, by the first terminal, a privatization control around the first virtual object ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”);
and in response to a third trigger instruction from the first user for the privatization control ([0074], “the user may perform the above … operation by triggering a … control”), sending ([0030], “the player operates the client to send … instructions”), by the first terminal ([0029], “The method for … information interaction … may run on a terminal”), the second add instruction to the server to trigger the server to add the first search clue ([0030], “a client functions to … transmit data”) to the private clue pool corresponding to the first user ([0034], “the present embodiment introduces a clue system ... specific operations of the first virtual object ... may leave clue information, and after discovering the clue information, the second virtual object may ... identify ... the first virtual object using the clue information”).
In regard to claim 9, Han discloses
further comprising: displaying, by the first terminal, a navigation interface for the first virtual scene, the navigation interface comprising ([0042], “the identifier information corresponding to the … virtual object is displayed in the graphical user interface” Examiner notes that a navigation interface can be a type of graphical user interface if it uses visual elements to help users navigate through a system.) location information of a virtual space in the first virtual scene that is accessible to the multiple virtual characters ([0044], “virtual object enters a specific location”).
In regard to claim 10, Han discloses
further comprising: displaying a second virtual scene comprising the multiple virtual characters ([0020], “the virtual object is a character”);
and displaying, in the second virtual scene, the search clue obtained from the first virtual scene ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”).
In regard to claim 11, Han discloses
wherein the second virtual scene comprises a virtual desktop ([0029], “this method may be … executed based on a cloud interaction system, where the cloud interaction system includes the server and a client” Examiner notes that a virtual desktop is a cloud service that allows users to access a desktop environment hosted in the cloud.), the multiple virtual characters being located around the virtual desktop ([0020], “the virtual object is a character”), and a display area for the search clue being located above the virtual desktop ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”).
In regard to claim 12, Han discloses
wherein displaying the search clue obtained from the first virtual scene comprises: displaying the search clue according to ([0078], “the area where the … virtual object is located, indicated by the clue information, may be displayed in a … display format”) a field of view of the first virtual character ([0067], “connecting line between a virtual camera and the … virtual object in the game scene and a second connecting line between the virtual camera and the … character form an … angle” Examiner notes that a field of view is the angular extent of the observable world.);
or displaying the search clue according to ([0078], “the area where the … virtual object is located, indicated by the clue information, may be displayed in a … display format”) a field of view corresponding to a target location, the target location being located outside of the multiple virtual characters ([0067], “connecting line between a virtual camera and the … virtual object in the game scene and a second connecting line between the virtual camera and the … character form an … angle” Examiner notes that a field of view is the angular extent of the observable world.).
In regard to claim 13, Han discloses
further comprising: in a case of displaying the search clue according to ([0078], “the area where the … virtual object is located, indicated by the clue information, may be displayed in a … display format”) the field of view of the first virtual character, in response to a field of view change ([0067], “connecting line between a virtual camera and the … virtual object in the game scene and a second connecting line between the virtual camera and the … character form an … angle” Examiner notes that a field of view is the angular extent of the observable world.) instruction from the first user for the first virtual character, displaying the search clue according to a changed field of view ([0030], “the player operates the client to send operation instructions”).
In regard to claim 14, Han discloses
wherein displaying the search clue obtained from the first virtual scene comprises ([0078], “the area where the … virtual object is located, indicated by the clue information, may be displayed in a … display format”): displaying the clue pool on a current interface in response to ([0078], “the area where the … virtual object is located, indicated by the clue information, may be displayed in a … display format”) a clue pool invocation operation by the first user ([0074], “the user may perform the above … operation by triggering a … control”);
and displaying, in response to a triggered instruction of the first user for the search clue in the clue pool, a triggered search clue ([0074], “the user may perform the above … operation by triggering a … control”).
In regard to claim 15, Han discloses
further comprising: displaying ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”) the virtual object associated with the search clue in the second virtual scene ([0016], “the virtual scene is a scene of user(s) controlling virtual object”).
In regard to claim 16, Han discloses
wherein displaying the search clue obtained from the first virtual scene comprises: displaying a content play control in the second virtual scene if the search clue is of a multimedia type ([0067], “the player may trigger an attack control displayed on the graphical user interface”);
and playing the search clue in response to a fourth trigger instruction from the first user for the content play control ([0030], “the player operates the client to send operation instructions”).
In regard to claim 17, Han discloses
further comprising: collecting a first voice signal from the first user and sending speech information to ([0016], “the virtual scene is a simulation environment of real world, or a semi-simulated semi-fictional virtual environment, or a purely fictional virtual environment” Examiner notes that a virtual scene can include voice signals and speech information.) a server, the speech information carrying the first voice signal and instructing the server to send the first voice signal to terminals corresponding to the virtual characters for play ([0030], “the terminal that performs information processing is the cloud game server”).
In regard to claim 18, Han discloses
wherein collecting the first voice signal from the first user comprises: when a current moment is determined to be a speaking moment of the first virtual character according to a predetermined speaking order, displaying ([0016], “the virtual scene is a simulation environment of real world, or a semi-simulated semi-fictional virtual environment, or a purely fictional virtual environment” Examiner notes that a virtual scene can include voice signals and speech information.) a speaking prompt for the first virtual character in the second virtual scene and collecting the first voice signal, wherein the speaking prompt is used to prompt the first user to speak ([0095], “related identifier may be displayed on a path that the first virtual object passes by, to prompt the second virtual object that the first virtual object has passed by the position where the identifier is located”).
In regard to claim 19, Han discloses
wherein collecting the first voice signal from the first user comprises ([0016], “the virtual scene is a simulation environment of real world, or a semi-simulated semi-fictional virtual environment, or a purely fictional virtual environment” Examiner notes that a virtual scene can include voice signals and speech information.): displaying a speaking control in the second virtual scene ([0016], “Virtual scene is a virtual scene that is displayed”);
and collecting the first voice signal in response to a fifth trigger instruction from the first user for the speaking control ([0074], “the user may perform the above … operation by triggering a … control”).
In regard to claim 20, Han discloses
a computer device comprising a memory and a processor, the memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, performs steps of the method according to claim 1 ([0030], “the client may be … a computer” Examiner notes that a computer inherently includes a processor and memory.).
In regard to claim 21, Han discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements steps of the method according to claim 1 ([0162], “A computer program product of the method … includes a computer-readable storage medium storing … instructions”).
Response to Remarks
Applicant's submissions filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered, but they
are not persuasive. Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-21 remain pending in this application. Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101, Applicant submits that “the amendments to claim 1 clarify that the claimed invention is not merely an abstract idea, but rather a specific technical method implemented on an electronic device (i.e., the first terminal)” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 8, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Applicant did not identify, nor claim, any particular details defining how implementing a specific technical method on an electronic device amount to a technical improvement to the computer functionality itself, or any other technology or technical field. As provided in the rejection, the additional elements defining the computer device using a memory, a processor, a computer program, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, a virtual scene, a terminal, virtual characters, virtual objects, and a server to perform the claimed exception lack sufficient technical detail, as they are recited by name alone to perform a result. Further, the claim lacks sufficient detail defining how the result is achieved. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application. Additionally, these additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as neither the claims, nor the specification provide details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a technological improvement is provided by the claimed invention. Rather, the specification (see Step 2B citations) illustrates the claimed additional elements are recited at a high level of generality to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional functionality using conventional equipment. Although the claims do define “obtaining a clue in a ... scene, comprising: ... a first ... scene comprising multiple ... characters and multiple ... objects ... and controlling ... the first ... character to interact with a first ... object in response to a control instruction from the first user for the first ... character, and generating interaction information; sending ... the interaction information, ... receiving the first search clue; and adding the first search clue to a clue pool” these limitations are interpreted as the abstract idea itself, as it is practically capable of being performed by a human or group of humans, through mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity, including interactions between individuals in a gaming environment.
Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §101, Applicant submits that “These are physical steps that cannot be performed in the human mind, and certainly are not directed to organizing human activity.” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 8, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. The claim limitations define “obtaining a clue in a ... scene, comprising: ... a first ... scene comprising multiple ... characters and multiple ... objects ... and controlling ... the first ... character to interact with a first ... object in response to a control instruction from the first user for the first ... character, and generating interaction information; sending ... the interaction information, ... receiving the first search clue; and adding the first search clue to a clue pool” and are interpreted as the abstract idea itself, as it is practically capable of being performed by in the human mind, through mental processes and certain methods of organizing human activity, including interactions between individuals in a gaming environment. The recited interaction control between the first terminal and the server do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or significantly more because the claims do not specify any particular details that provide a technical improvement for obtaining clues to control interactions between the terminals and the server.
Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant submits that “In summary, Han does not disclose the feature of a user actively triggering whether to share or keep a search clue private, nor does Han distinguish between two different display modes for shared and private clues.” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 11, paragraph 1). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. Applicant is directed to the revised grounds of rejection above, as necessitated by the claim amendment, which shows Han discloses this feature. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the triggering feature is moot in view of the revised ground of rejection.
MPEP §2111 discusses proper claim interpretation, including giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation (“BRI”) in light of the specification during
examination. Under BRI, the words of a claim must be given their plain meaning unless
such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The BRI of a triggering feature for a search clue option is the most inclusive understanding of a specific element that activates or prompts a search function, allowing for a wide range of potential inputs or conditions that could initiate the search. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive
because the BRI is broader than what is argued. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1, as anticipated by Han, is maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-21, as anticipated by Han, are maintained.
Pertaining to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant further submits that “the application scenario of Han is completely different from that of claim 1, and a person skilled in the art would have no motivation and would not be able to modify Han to arrive at the solution of the present application.” (See Amendment, Remarks, page 11, paragraph 2). Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks. To the extent the application scenario of Han is different from Applicant’s claim 1 does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention over Han. Han discloses ([0044], “the first virtual object may hide identity” and ([0005], “the processor is configured to execute the machine-executable instructions so as to implement a method for in-game information interaction”). Using the BRI, as discussed above, a hidden identity can be interpreted as a private identity (i.e., a private clue) and instructions for in-game information interaction may include private or shared information. If the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1, as anticipated by Han, is maintained. Consequently, the rejections of dependent claims 2-3, 5-6, and 8-21, as anticipated by Han, are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is (571) 272-
4252. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday 8:30 am - 6:30 pm
ET.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715