DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ying et al. (US 2020/0287287, hereby referred as Ying).
Regarding claim 1, Ying teaches the following:
a patch antenna comprising:
a radiating element (130, figures 1-3);
a dielectric (110, figures 1-3, “non-conductive substrate material of the PCB 110”) located on one surface side of the radiating element;
a first metal body (123, figures 1-3) located on a side opposite to the one surface side of the radiating element, the first metal body being located so as to correspond to a wave source of the radiating element;
and a first holding member (122, figures 1-3) configured to hold the first metal body,
wherein the radiating element is located between the dielectric and the first metal body (as shown in figures 1-3),
the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to the one surface of the radiating element (as shown in figures 1-3), and
the first holding member is shaped to surround the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Ying as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Ying as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body has an overlapping region in which the first metal body overlaps the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figure 3).
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Panther et al. (US 2019/0302271, hereby referred as Panther).
Regarding claim 1, Panther teaches the following:
a patch antenna comprising:
a radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14);
a dielectric (210, figures 2B and 14) located on one surface side of the radiating element;
a first metal body (1310A, figure 14) located on a side opposite to the one surface side of the radiating element, the first metal body being located so as to correspond to a wave source of the radiating element (“outer directors 1310A to 1310D”, paragraph [0075]);
and a first holding member (1510, figure 14) configured to hold the first metal body,
wherein the radiating element is located between the dielectric and the first metal body (as shown in figure 14),
the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to the one surface of the radiating element (as shown in figure 14), and
the first holding member is shaped to surround the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figure 14).
Regarding claim 2, Panther as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (1310A, figure 14) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) in the plan view.
Regarding claim 3, Panther as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (1310A, figure 14) has an overlapping region in which the first metal body overlaps the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) in the plan view.
Regarding claim 4, Panther as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (1310A, figure 14) and the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) are electrically coupled (“outer directors 1310A to 1310D”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Panther as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
further comprising a second metal body (1310B, figure 14), wherein the first metal body (1310A, figure 14) is located between the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) and the second metal body.
Regarding claim 8, Panther as referred in claim 7 teaches the following:
wherein the second metal body (1310B, figure 14) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) in the plan view.
Regarding claim 15, Panther teaches the following:
an antenna device comprising:
a case (the combination of 1510 and the radome, paragraph [0074]);
a base (260, figure 2B) and the case form a housing space (as shown in figures 2B, 12, and 14); and
a patch antenna housed in the housing space, the patch antenna supporting radio waves in a first frequency band, wherein the patch antenna includes
a dielectric (210, figures 2B and 14),
a radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) located on an upper surface side of the dielectric, and
a first metal body (1310A, figure 14) located above a wave source of the radiating element, wherein the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in a plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the radiating element (as shown in figure 14),
the first metal body and the radiating element are electrically coupled (“outer directors 1310A to 1310D”, paragraph [0075]), and
the first metal body is attached to the case (as shown figure 14).
Regarding claim 16, Panther as referred in claim 15 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (1310A, figure 14) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) in the plan view.
Regarding claim 17, Panther as referred in claim 15 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (1310A, figure 14) has an overlapping region in which the first metal body overlaps the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) in the plan view.
Regarding claim 19, Panther as referred in claim 15 teaches the following:
further comprising a second metal body (1310B, figure 14), wherein the first metal body (1310A, figure 14) is located between the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) and the second metal body.
Regarding claim 20, Panther as referred in claim 19 teaches the following:
wherein the second metal body (1310B, figure 14) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element (240, figures 2B and 14) in the plan view.
Claims 1-5 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bisiules et al. (US 2004/0263392, hereby referred as Bisiules).
Regarding claim 1, Bisiules teaches the following:
a patch antenna comprising:
a radiating element (11, figures 1-4);
a dielectric (16’s between element 11 and 15, figures 1-4) located on one surface side of the radiating element;
a first metal body (10, figures 1-4) located on a side opposite to the one surface side of the radiating element, the first metal body being located so as to correspond to a wave source of the radiating element;
and a first holding member (16’s between element 10 and 11, figures 1-4) configured to hold the first metal body,
wherein the radiating element is located between the dielectric and the first metal body (as shown in figures 1-4),
the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to the one surface of the radiating element (as shown in figures 1-4), and
the first holding member is shaped to surround the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Bisiules as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (10, figures 1-4) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Bisiules as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (10, figures 1-4) has an overlapping region in which the first metal body overlaps the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, Bisiules as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (10, figures 2) and the radiating element (11, figures 1-4) are electrically coupled (“the lower ring 11, which couples capacitively in turn with the upper ring 10”, paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Bisiules as referred in claim 1 teaches the following:
wherein the radiating element (11, figures 2) has at least one opening, and
the first metal body (10, figures 2) and the opening are non-overlapping in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 9, Bisiules teaches the following:
an antenna device comprising:
a case (“multiband base station antenna”, abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0009], [0111], a base station antenna inherently has a case to cover the antenna elements and internal components);
a base (as shown in figure 22) and the case form a housing space (which would be formed from the base and the case covering the base);
a patch antenna housed in the housing space, the patch antenna supporting radio waves in a first frequency band (element 2, figures 1-4); and
at least one antenna that supports radio waves in a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (elements 3, figures 1-4),
wherein the patch antenna includes
a dielectric (16’s between element 11 and 15, figures 1-4),
a radiating element (11, figures 1-4) located on an upper surface side of the dielectric,
a first metal body (10, figures 2) located above a wave source of the radiating element, and
a first holding member (16’s between element 11 and 10, figures 1-4) configured to hold the first metal body, wherein
the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in a plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the radiating element (as shown in figures 1-4), the first metal body and the radiating element are electrically coupled (“the lower ring 11, which couples capacitively in turn with the upper ring 10”, paragraph [0075]), and
the first holding member is shaped to surround the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 10, Bisiules as referred in claim 9 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (10, figures 1-4) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 11, Bisiules as referred in claim 9 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (10, figures 1-4) has an overlapping region in which the first metal body overlaps the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 12, Bisiules as referred in claim 9 teaches the following:
wherein the radiating element (11, figures 2) has at least one opening, and
the first metal body (10, figures 2) and the opening are non-overlapping in the plan view (as shown in figures 1-4).
Claims 9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Le et al. (US 7358922, hereby referred as Le).
Regarding claim 9, Le teaches the following:
an antenna device comprising:
a case (“wideband dual polarized base station antenna”, a base station antenna inherently has a case to cover the antenna elements and internal components);
a base (22, as shown in figure 1) and the case form a housing space (which would be formed from the base and the case covering the base);
a patch antenna housed in the housing space, the patch antenna supporting radio waves in a first frequency band (elements 94 and 92, figures 12-14); and
at least one antenna that supports radio waves in a second frequency band different from the first frequency band (14, figures 12-14),
wherein the patch antenna includes
a dielectric (non-conductive spacer under and connected to element 94, figure 14),
a radiating element (94, figures 12-14) located on an upper surface side of the dielectric,
a first metal body (bottom 92, figures 12-14) located above a wave source of the radiating element, and
a first holding member (“electrically non-conductive spacers” between elements 92, figures 12-14) configured to hold the first metal body, wherein
the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in a plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the radiating element (as shown in figures 12-14), the first metal body and the radiating element are electrically coupled (“ring directors 92”), and
the first holding member is shaped to surround the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 12-14).
Regarding claim 13, Le as referred in claim 9 teaches the following:
further comprising a second metal body (top 92, figures 12-14), wherein the first metal body (bottom 92, figures 12-14) is located between the radiating element (94, figures 12-14) and the second metal body.
Regarding claim 14, Le as referred in claim 13 teaches the following:
wherein the second metal body (top 92, figures 12-14) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figures 12-14).
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tatarnikov (US 2018/0166773, hereby referred as Tatarnikov).
Regarding claim 15, Tatarnikov teaches the following:
an antenna device (figure 5) comprising:
a case (this is an antenna installed in a vehicle or in a navigation receiver, and would inherently have a cover as shown as element 40 in figure 4);
a base (53, figure 5) and the case form a housing space; and
a patch antenna housed in the housing space, the patch antenna supporting radio waves in a first frequency band (“low frequency radiator”, paragraph [0036]), wherein the patch antenna includes
a dielectric (524, figure 5),
a radiating element (521, figure 5) located on an upper surface side of the dielectric, and
a first metal body (51, figure 5) located above a wave source of the radiating element, wherein the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in a plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the radiating element (as shown in figure 5),
the first metal body and the radiating element are electrically coupled (“matching parasitic element 51”), and
the first metal body is attached to the case (“511 are the screws to six the matching parasitic element to the housing of the antenna assembly”, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 18, Le as referred in claim 15 teaches the following:
wherein the radiating element (52, figure 5) has at least one opening (opening in element 52 for the bolts, opening in the center of element 52, figure 5; also clearly shown in figure 7), and
the first metal body and the opening are non-overlapping in the plan view (as shown in figure 5).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sampo (US 2021/0295444).
Regarding claim 15, Sampo teaches the following:
an antenna device comprising:
a case (11 and 12, figure 11);
a base (13, figure 11) and the case form a housing space (as shown in figure 11); and
a patch antenna housed in the housing space (as shown in figure 11), the patch antenna supporting radio waves in a first frequency band, wherein the patch antenna includes
a dielectric (32, figure 11),
a radiating element (31, figure 11) located on an upper surface side of the dielectric, and
a first metal body (40b-1/2, figure 11) located above a wave source of the radiating element, wherein the first metal body and a center of the radiating element are non-overlapping in a plan view, the plan view being a view in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the radiating element (as shown in figure 11),
the first metal body and the radiating element are electrically coupled (“a pair of parasitic elements 40b-1 and 40b-2”, paragraph [0071]), and
the first metal body is attached to the case (“the parasitic elements 40b-1 and 40b-2 may be placed by being pasted to an inner surface of the second housing 12”, paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 16, Sampo as referred in claim 15 teaches the following:
wherein the first metal body (40b-1/2, figure 11) has a surrounding shape that surrounds the center of the radiating element in the plan view (as shown in figure 11).
Additional Comments
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Le et al. (US 7358922) could also be used to reject other claims using figures 10-14. Tatarnikov (US 2018/0166773) can also reject claims 1-2, 4-5, 9-10, and 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AB SALAM ALKASSIM JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845